Mexican Beef & Rice Casserole - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Mexican Beef & Rice Casserole

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
15
min.
Servings

8 servings

Here's a tasty way to make a pound of ground beef serve eight: a hearty beef and rice casserole made with Mexican-style cheese and taco seasoning.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375ºF.
  • Brown meat in large nonstick skillet; drain. Return meat to skillet.
  • Reserve 1 cup cheese for later use. Add remaining cheese and all remaining ingredients to meat; mix well.
  • Spoon into 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; cover.
  • Bake 40 to 50 min. or until rice is tender. Top with reserved cheese; bake, uncovered, 5 min. or until melted.
TACO BELL® and Logo are trademarks owned and licensed by Taco Bell Corp.

Special Extra

Garnish this hearty casserole with chopped fresh tomatoes and cilantro before serving.

Substitute

Prepare using KRAFT Mexican Style 2% Milk Finely Shredded Four Cheese.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Healthy Living

  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 1-1/2 Starch
  • 1 Vegetable
  • 2 Meat (L)

Nutrition Bonus

Better-for-you ingredients and extra-lean ground beef team up to help make this hearty main dish one that can fit into a healthful eating plan.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 270
Total fat 9g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 50mg
Sodium 680mg
Carbohydrate 28g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 4g
Protein 19g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 10 %DV
Calcium 15 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Family Hit! I made this with a few slight changes, adding a few chopped onions and minced garlic to the ground meat while browning. I made a half recipe because I never know with my family, but it was all gone except for one serving. My teenage boys ate it as is, my husband and I topped it with sour cream, and I added chipotle Tabasco sauce and it was darn near perfect. The next time I will add a few black beans to see how that is. I cooked it for the 50 minutes plus 10 with the cheese on top and it was done.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to do The entire family liked this.Definately will make again.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and yummy! Wonderful meal. Can adjust ingredients to your taste. Also wonderful filling for burritos, & tostada. Good recipe for beginner cooks!
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick & Simple I thought this was very good, I used canned corn and kidney beans. My husband felt as though there should have been more hamburg, so next time I will increase. ~ but was very tasty!!
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy and pretty tasty I made this for dinner tonight and thought it turned out pretty well.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Delicious I added onion to ground beef while browning otherwise I prepared dish as written. (Did salsa on hand rather than one listed). It looked just like pictured and was so tasty. Ingredients went together quickly and the oven did the rest. Husband loved it.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic & Easy! I topped mine with a dollop of sour cream & crushed up frito chips. Heaven!
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great taste and easy to make I just made this and it is delicious. So easy to make. Husband said keeper and I will be making again. It is just the two of us and I am going to freeze half of it. Next time I will make in two smaller pans.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Sunday dinner. It was great . My grandson made is casserole into a burrito. It is also great with sour cream. This tastes even better the next day for lunch at work.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy and delicious! I make this recipe every few weeks, it's so easy and so good. It's one of the only recipes my kids will eat thats loaded with veggues and they don't care that they have to eat them.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Yummy!! Made this recipe and used canned corn and not frozen vegetables. It was great!! My son asked for seconds. This will be going into the recipe box as a keeper!!
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sooo good! I made this last night. We all thought it was very tasty. And so easy to make. I will be making this again.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tailored to our liking We used homemade salsa which made it nice and spicy. Rice needed more than the 40 minutes to finish cooking.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delicious and Easy But.... The flavor in this dish was amazing but my rice was under cooked. We ate it anyway because it was so flavorful. I don't know if it was because there wasn't enough liquid or because I baked without covering as I didn't notice the recipe says to cover. I will definitely attempt this recipe again as it was a quick and easy weeknight meal for my family.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Delicious Meal This is now one of my husband's favorite Mexican recipes. This was also a crowd pleaser at a potluck tonight. I gave the recipe to two families. I omit the mixed veggies as we prefer to stack veggies (green pepper, lettuce, tomato, etc) on top of dish and serve it with tortilla chips.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Favorite Recipe Made this recipe and it was a big hit with all of us!! I will definitely be making this dish again. You can use ground turkey and make variations on this very versatile recipe. I followed the recipe given except I substituted Low sodium Taco mix and Mild Salsa.
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but can be improved I wish I had read the reviews first. It is good but definitely needs something like beans to give it more substance to bite into. It took 55 minutes for the rice to be soft. And I did add extra cheese. I would make it again but add beans and maybe onions.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from super easy, family LOVED it, left overs are even delish My 11 year old said "this is my new favorite". :) I topped with a few olives, sour cream and green onions just prior to serving My whole family had seconds and said it was a repeater for sure. Would also be good for Potluck sharing.
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to make I made this for dinner tonight and both my husband and I loved it. It was similar to a recipe I made with black beans. I used 2 whole fresh carrots that I chopped, did not use corn or peas as I am diabetic and we do not like peas much.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Very Tasty Made this yesterday and it was so good and very easy to make. I used Spice Island taco seasoning and Kirkland brand organic salsa I get at Costco. I already had them on hand. My husband even liked this and he is picky.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly different! I cut the recipe in half because I cook for two. It was a little too spicy for me, but my husband loved it. In fact, he has asked me to fix it again after eating the leftovers. He again praised how good it is!
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comforting Meal i was hoping to have leftovers but this went in one sitting. My picky eaters ages 3 and 7 asked for multiple servings. I used ground turkey, corn only, and would like add a can of seasoned black beans next time.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't like "spicy" and this is not spicy at all! GREAT! I made this last night to make something different. My husband said it smelled spicy but it wasn't. He added "it was just hot enough to get you warm!" and so easy to put together!
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A New Favorite Gave this recipe a try and it's a keeper. I read the suggestions from others that made this recipe and incorporated a few in my version. Very easy to make and very tasty.
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2 hrs later Two hrs later the rice is still not throughly cooked I would recommend cooking the rice somewhat before putting all the ingredients together.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile Mexican casserole Delicious and simple to make...the family really loves it! I make this often. I have even made a version that is vegetarian for my daughter who doesn't eat meat.
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic dish I have to say this dish was excellent. Very filling and very good. I used Jasmine rice and 1 more can of diced tomatoes. Kids loved it!.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Taste horrible Hard to cook and taste horrible my family hated it 0/5 if I could
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tastes good but is soupy I used cooked brown rice so I omitted the chicken broth. It still turned out rather soupy. The flavors are good together.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Great Tasting! I made this for my family, and everyone loved it. Easy to customize, and a nice change from the same old tacos.
Date published: 2017-04-05
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_182832, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

574497:182832

>