Mexican Chicken Casserole - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Mexican Chicken Casserole

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
45
min.
Servings

4 servings

Bring together veggies, black beans, whole wheat tortillas & cheese in this Mexican Chicken Casserole. Serve this Mexican Chicken Casserole on a weeknight!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375ºF.
  • Cook and stir chicken and cumin in nonstick skillet on medium heat 2 min. Add peppers; cook 2 min., stirring occasionally. Stir in salsa; cook 2 min. Add Neufchatel; cook and stir 2 min. or until melted. Stir in beans and tomatoes.
  • Spread 1/3 of the chicken mixture onto bottom of 8-inch square baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; cover with 1 tortilla and half each of the remaining chicken mixture and shredded cheese. Top with remaining tortilla and chicken mixture; cover.
  • Bake 20 min. or until heated through. Sprinkle with remaining shredded cheese; bake, uncovered, 5 min. or until melted.
TACO BELL® and Logo are trademarks owned and licensed by Taco Bell Corp.

Special Extra

Garnish with 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro just before serving.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with a crisp mixed green salad to round out the meal.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Healthy Living

Diet Exchange

  • 2 Starch
  • 1 Vegetable
  • 3 Meat (L)
  • 1/2 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

This flavorful low-calorie low-fat Mexican dish is sure to become a few family favorite.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 350
Total fat 9g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 940mg
Carbohydrate 35g
Dietary fiber 10g
Sugars 6g
Protein 33g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 30 %DV
Calcium 30 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from From the reviews, it sounds like ex nay the tortillas. From the reviews, it sounds like ex nay the tortillas. Perhaps tortilla chips might be better? Also if you read the directions on how to cook, it calls for to add beans and tomatoes. But the list of ingredients does not mention tomatoes. It only say's salsa. Is that what it means? Other than that, sounds good I will have to try it.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe. I love this recipe. It makes way more than the 4 servings that the information designates, it is full of flavor and very yummy, and very easy to make. My youngest two won't eat it (they don't like salsa) but my ten year old, my husband and friends and I all love it. Definitely a regular on my rotation.
Date published: 2010-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh WOW! Oh WOW!!!!!! All I can say is this dish was AWESOME everyone loved it had 2 plates a piece so that says something....Only thing I did different was I used diced up tomatoes with green chilies and also added some onion to the bell pepper It turned out great....Thank you Kraft I love this website so far
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is really good! This is really good! I used a black bean and corn salsa, and I added some extra frozen corn. That made it a little sweeter. I also used a light green pepper (don't know what kind) instead of a bell pepper since bell peppers have a bit of a bitter taste to me. This was delicious, quick and easy.
Date published: 2011-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful recipe! Wonderful recipe! This was full of flavor and easy to fix! I made a few small changes: I added rotel instead of tomoatos, I changed to pinto beans, and I added black olives. Next time I will make this recipe as a skillet. Not putting in the tortillas but add the mix to them as burritos.
Date published: 2011-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is great! This is great! I used canned chicken to save time and it shredded nicely. I also added a can of diced green chillis and used 4 oz of cream cheese vs. 2 oz. This would also make a great dip if you left out the tortillas and just baked the mixture in a pan with the shredded cheese on top.
Date published: 2009-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My Family and I didn't care for this recipe. My Family and I didn't care for this recipe. If I made it again I would definately only use half a can of beans. There were just to many the first time. And I had the chicken pieces to big. Other that that I guess the flavor wasn't that bad, but this recipe wasn't the best either.
Date published: 2009-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to make and also very good! Very easy to make and also very good! Doubled the recipe so used 1 green and 1 red pepper so it was colorful as well as delish! For the cream cheese, I used onion/chive cream cheese spread. Also added a couple of finely chopped jalapenos but that's 'cause we like a little spiciness.
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We loved this, simple to make, very tasty. We loved this, simple to make, very tasty. I doubled the recipe, and I added red bell pepper and onion to cooked chicken breast. I made this casserole and saved one-half of the chicken to make burritos tonight. Very low in calories, but tastes great. I love recipes like this!
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recipe is a good start, but I added onion, jalepenos & black olives. Recipe is a good start, but I added onion, jalepenos & black olives. Tripled the cheese for my never too much cheese clan. Topped it with sour cream and served it with tortilla chips & spanish rice. Mucho yummy ... especially if you don't mind the additional fat & calories!
Date published: 2009-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Although this recipe does not present well aesthetically, the taste is creamy and delicious without... Although this recipe does not present well aesthetically, the taste is creamy and delicious without being too rich so I gave it a four stars due to appearance. I used boneless skinless chicken tenderloin and shredded it after cooking instead of cubing, it was worth the effort.
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great casserole! Great casserole! We loved the suggestion of adding cilantro as a garnish. I even ate a half portion on lettuce the following day with a dab of Greek plain yogurt on top. We loved this recipe and would make it again. If one is following the Weight Watchers plan, it's 8 points!
Date published: 2012-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wow, great cassarole. wow, great cassarole. i am not to fond of beans but they are great in this dish. as another reviewer wrote, i also used a little over a half cup of canned diced tomatoes in stead of a tomato. I also added a bit more cheese and it was delish! i will make this again, for sure!
Date published: 2012-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The recipe was great. The recipe was great. I used a red pepper salsa and it was super spicy, so I will use the recommended salsa next time. The spice was a bit much for me, but my boyfriend went back for thirds... so if you like very spicy foods, add some red pepper flakes and tabasco. Wow!
Date published: 2009-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved it. I loved it. I added a little chili powder though to give it an extra hot kick... After taking the first initial bite I felt like something was missing. I added some crunched up tortilla chips on top, and that really did the trick. I cant wait to try this recipe again.
Date published: 2009-02-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The tortilla was a wet blanket. The tortilla was a wet blanket. It was soggy and awful. Luckily I was able to remove them with little trouble. I was fortunate to have tortilla chips on hand to salvage and redistribute to the family as a dip. I may make it again as a dip,but definitely not as directed.
Date published: 2015-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter made this for supper tonight. My daughter made this for supper tonight. Was very good. She did tweek the recipe some though. Instead of the green pepper she used lil sweeties (red, yellow, orange peppers) and only used 1/2 can of black beans and used 1/2 kidney beans. Would definately make it again!
Date published: 2012-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had to improvise as I didn't have any salsa but I had some Delmonte southwestern vegetable mix... I had to improvise as I didn't have any salsa but I had some Delmonte southwestern vegetable mix with beans tomatoes corn peppers etc. I used that in the place of the salsa and it was excellent. I will make it again but using the salsa and see which one I like best.
Date published: 2009-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was only ok. This was only ok. The tortillas were soggy so that was no good. My husband who likes Mexican only gave this a 7 out of 10 and said it would be better as a dip. We had leftovers and I used them in a burrito which was better. I will not be making this again.
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this last night and it was so great, my husband went back for seconds! I made this last night and it was so great, my husband went back for seconds! And it was so easy. I did use corn tortillas instead of wheat because I already had them, but I think it enhanced the flavors even more. Will definitely make this again!
Date published: 2009-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I took the advice of other reviewers and added a can of green chilis and extra cheese. I took the advice of other reviewers and added a can of green chilis and extra cheese. I also used some garlic pepper when frying the chicken. It was great! I think next time I would use more tortillas as they kind of disappear when cooking.
Date published: 2010-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I did omit the peppers - as my kids and I are not crazy for them - more or less trippled the recipe... I did omit the peppers - as my kids and I are not crazy for them - more or less trippled the recipe and served with chopped lettuce, black olives and sour cream -- my family loved it. Served up like lasagna. Will definetly have this again.
Date published: 2009-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this tonight for dinner and loved it. I made this tonight for dinner and loved it. I used a red pepper, a can of diced tomatoes, a can of corn and corn tortillas. Its very tasty and easy to make. We used precooked chicken and it took all but 10 mins to prepare!! Will recommend!!
Date published: 2011-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We loved this! We loved this! Was easy to make, pretty healthy and relatively inexpensive. My fiance, who was steadfast in his dislike for black beans, actually loved this dish and has since requested we start using black beans more in other meals.
Date published: 2011-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was yummy and everyone loved it! This was yummy and everyone loved it! I did make a lager batch and put in a 9x13 pan and used a total of 4 tortillas as I have a family of 5 and all boys..so I need alot of food! Great dish and great next day warmed up.
Date published: 2011-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freezes great! When I make this, I make 4 at once and freeze 3 of them in aluminum pans. They freeze great, and I have dinners available in the freezers. My whole family loves this casserole. I love that it's so easy and convenient.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was SO delicious & super easy! This was SO delicious & super easy! My family loved it! I added a small onion, diced. I substituted the diced tomato for a can of Rotel, drained, which gave it an extra kick of spice. This is definitely a "keeper!"
Date published: 2009-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This turned out great! This turned out great!! Let it sit about 10 minutes out of oven and it holds together like a lasagna. Perfect use of tortillas that were drying out and otherwise would have gone to waste. Will definitely make again.
Date published: 2010-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really yummy! Really yummy! My family loved it. I had leftover chicken breasts that needed to be used. It worked out great in this recipe -- I just added the chicken with the beans and tomatoes so it would not be overcooked.
Date published: 2010-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tried this for dinner the other night and we really enjoyed it. Tried this for dinner the other night and we really enjoyed it. I didn't have a tomato so I substituted a can of diced tomatoes and green chilies. It gave it a little more kick which is a good thing for us.
Date published: 2011-09-27
  • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_150
  • loc_en_US, sid_112394, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

557469:112394

>