Mexican Wedding Cookies Recipe - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Mexican Wedding Cookies Recipe

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
35
min.
Servings

24 servings, 2 cookies each

Try our Mexican Wedding Cookies Recipe now or forever hold your peace. These tasty treats use just five ingredients and need only 20 minutes of prep time.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Beat butter, 1/2 cup sugar and vanilla in large bowl with mixer until light and fluffy. Gradually add flour, beating on low speed after each addition until well blended. Add nuts; mix well.
  • Shape dough into 48 (1-inch) balls. Place, 1-1/2 inches apart, on baking sheets.
  • Bake 14 to 15 min. or until bottoms are lightly browned. Cool 5 min. on baking sheets. Roll warm cookies, 1 at a time, in remaining sugar in small bowl until evenly coated; place on wire racks. Cool completely.

Size Wise

Enjoy your favorite foods on occasion but remember to keep tabs on portions.

Make it Easy

Use a blender or food processor to finely chop the nuts. Just be careful not to overprocess them or you'll end up with nut butter!

How to Store

Store in tightly covered container at room temperature.

Servings

  • 24 servings, 2 cookies each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 24 servings, 2 cookies each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 160
Total fat 11g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 20mg
Sodium 50mg
Carbohydrate 14g
Sugars 5g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 8 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 2 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made these twice so far! I've made these twice so far! my family loves them!! Instead of rolling the cookies in the sugar, put the sugar in a zip lock gallon size bag and shake. makes it a lot easier and less messy.
Date published: 2011-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I didn't make this...but they look exactly like what I've always heard of as Butter Balls. I didn't make this...but they look exactly like what I've always heard of as Butter Balls. If they are the very same cookie, they are amazingly good & simple to make. Delicious!
Date published: 2009-06-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I am not sure what happened with these cookies. I am not sure what happened with these cookies. I am an experienced baker. When I baked these cookies the lost their shape. They all ran into each other and when I tried to get them off of the parchment paper they all crumbled. I wasted my time, butter and pecans. I ended up with a bunch of crumbs.
Date published: 2010-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe has been in our family for generation, but we don't mix the powder sugar in the dough,... This recipe has been in our family for generation, but we don't mix the powder sugar in the dough, we only dip the cookies in the sugar after they are done, this recipe with the powder sugar in the dough mix made a big difference, I love this cookies, thanks a lot for the recipe. I will definitely make it again. My whole family loved it.
Date published: 2009-11-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I followed the recipe exactly using all purpose flour since the recipe didn't specify all purpose or... I followed the recipe exactly using all purpose flour since the recipe didn't specify all purpose or self rising. I was very disappointed and had made two batches before I tasted them. I ended up throwing out all of them. The texture was very dry and the flavor was very bland.
Date published: 2006-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The taste of the cookies is decent. The taste of the cookies is decent. They were too dry. Rolling them in powdered sugar and cinnamon is a nice touch. I added more butter to the second batch and they were still dry. I'll make snickerdoodles next time.
Date published: 2008-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter and I love this recipe. My daughter and I love this recipe. My aunt and my mom both make swedish crescents at Christmas. These cookies taste like them and are so easy to do. My daughter likes to cook and bake but tends to alter the recipes in one way or another when baking, and when she made these they still turned out good.
Date published: 2009-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I agree with some of the previous comments that these cookies have little taste. I agree with some of the previous comments that these cookies have little taste. Next time I will go with my instincts and add some almond extract. I disagree with the comments about the cookies not retaining their shape. These are the easiest cookies ever to make. They mold/keep their shape well.
Date published: 2009-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of the Best Holiday Cookies recipes that I made. This is one of the Best Holiday Cookies recipes that I made. My husband loves them. In fact, I usually have to make an extra batch each year because he has eaten most of them before I can get them wrapped for give away to friends. But then again, I do understand why he does it. They are great!!!
Date published: 2007-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved them! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved them!! We couldn't stop popping them in our mouths. The only issue I had was that the powered sugar turned very moist when I rolled it on the cookies. But other than that, the cookies turned out perfect! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Date published: 2006-12-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from These cookies are grown up and great with tea or coffee. These cookies are grown up and great with tea or coffee. Unfortuntely, the directions did not say DO NOT USE SELF RISING FLOUR, (ahem, Kraft Kitchens?) so mine turned out having a strong baking soda after taste. I drizzeld melted chocolate and chopped nuts over it to cover it up.
Date published: 2006-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe! I loved this recipe! It only requires a few ingredients and didn't take that long to make. I didn't leave them in for 14 mins like it said, my oven is old, just keep checking the bottem of the cookies. A helpful tip: the cookies down turn brown, just the underneaths. Happy Cooking!
Date published: 2007-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made these as is, but also did a variation. I made these as is, but also did a variation. My friend puts chopped dried cherries or cranberries and pistachios vs. the pecans it asks for. I've done that and it comes out good too. I've made them with walnuts before too, but would like to try almonds, but pecans work fine.
Date published: 2009-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These cookies are so good and have been a family tradition for years! These cookies are so good and have been a family tradition for years! I do have to comment though and say there is no way this recipe yields 4 dozen cookies. We even have one of those 1 inch scoopers... Double it if you want 4 dozen... which you do b/c they are sooooo goood!
Date published: 2010-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very similar to Cocoons we make here in Southeast Louisiana. Very similar to Cocoons we make here in Southeast Louisiana. We just roll them in a cocoon shape. I also toast fresh Louisiana pecans to use in my recipe. It's my traditional Holiday gift to neighbors, friends and business associates. They all ask, "where's my cookies"?
Date published: 2008-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe! Great recipe! Will definitely make again. One suggestion, though: I rolled the cookies in the powdered sugar after 5 minutes, then again once they were completely cooled (and dried), just before I put them in a storage container. Much nicer w/ the 2 coatings of sugar!
Date published: 2010-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was fantastic... This recipe was fantastic... I don't understand the reviews that claim it did not have a lot of flavor? In all fairness, I did omit the pecans and added 1C of Hersheys Kissables...buttery goodness with chocolate ... YUM- no one can eat just one! Definitely a keeper!
Date published: 2008-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made these with almonds instead of pecans, and they were delicious! I made these with almonds instead of pecans, and they were delicious! For some reason, they did not stay as balls when I baked them. They got flat at the bottom, but still tasted great after being dipped in the powdered sugar. I will make these again soon!
Date published: 2008-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made for our memorial day BBQ! Made for our memorial day BBQ! When you roll the cookies initially, they will be moist (that is what makes the powdered sugar stick!)...but then before serving, I lay them on a platter and sprinkle them with additional sugar for a fresh look. YUM!
Date published: 2007-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made as a "honeymoon" gift... Made as a "honeymoon" gift... They don't seem that sweet initially but once the powdered sugar is liberally sprinkled all over, you get the full flavor. I'll use 1 1/2C of Pecans next time and Almond extract... Very light in taste and crispy.
Date published: 2013-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from They are good but they're a little too dry for my taste, and i really think they would be better... They are good but they're a little too dry for my taste, and i really think they would be better without the pecans. And i followed the suggestion to put the balls in the fridge before baking to keep them round and it worked! So thank you!
Date published: 2008-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just finished making this cookies, and they are very good,they are very moist, Im going to make... I just finished making this cookies, and they are very good,they are very moist, Im going to make more to give away to friends and co-workers. Im planning to add almonds aswell. Im sure I will make this cookies every year for the holidays.
Date published: 2009-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I make these every year. I make these every year. I had to tweek the recipe. It was too dry so I added 1/4 cup extra of butter, and I only had to bake them at 13 minutes. Other than that, they are always wonderful to add to my gift baskets at Christmas.
Date published: 2012-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these cookies for a Mother`s day treat,Everyone loved them and were sooo easy to make.Had... I made these cookies for a Mother`s day treat,Everyone loved them and were sooo easy to make.Had no problem except to stop eating them.In spanish they are called "Polvorenos"Yummmm.I`ll make more for our senior church group.
Date published: 2010-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are absolutely delicious. These are absolutely delicious. I made them last year as Christmas presents for family and they loved the cookies. I'm making them again this year and probably for years to come. Very easy, yet so tasty, can't have only one.
Date published: 2014-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The recipe got rave reviews from a Mexican themed bachloreter party. The recipe got rave reviews from a Mexican themed bachloreter party. To serve, I put them in individual mini-muffin liners and it worked very well for guests to pick up and looked pretty too. Will definately make again!
Date published: 2011-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from To add decorations to these cookies, you can also sprinke some nonpareils. To add decorations to these cookies, you can also sprinke some nonpareils. They usually have red, white and green for the holidays, or you can use the rainbow nonpareils. They make such a pretty presentation this way! =)
Date published: 2009-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I ground my pecans on a small little food processor and it was outstanding. I ground my pecans on a small little food processor and it was outstanding. My mom loves pecans and when I started to make this recipe for her I suddenly became her favorite daughter and most important it's so easy.
Date published: 2011-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ONLY thing wrong with these cookies is that I could not stop eating them. The ONLY thing wrong with these cookies is that I could not stop eating them. They are fantastic and easy and make me happy to eat. Not diet friendly if you can't stop at one or two but oy vey, they were worth it!
Date published: 2008-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My manager made these to celebrate a co-workers 10th anniversary and they were so good and melted in... My manager made these to celebrate a co-workers 10th anniversary and they were so good and melted in your mouth. My co-worker and I declared these should be called crack cookies because they are so addictive!
Date published: 2016-01-08
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_55, tr_140
  • loc_en_US, sid_91976, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

555722:91976

>