Mint Chocolate Truffle Cookies - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Mint Chocolate Truffle Cookies

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
27
min.
Servings

22 servings, 2 cookies each

Made with crushed candy canes, these Mint Chocolate Truffle Cookies would make a nice, pepperminty addition to your annual holiday cookie exchange.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Microwave chocolate and butter in large microwaveable bowl on HIGH 2 min. or until butter is melted; stir until chocolate is completely melted and mixture is well blended. Add sugar; mix well. Beat in eggs, 1 at a time. Add combined flour and baking powder; mix well. (Dough will be very soft.) Refrigerate 2 hours.
  • Heat oven to 350°F. Roll heaping teaspoonfuls of dough into 1-inch balls. Place, 2 inches apart, on baking sheets sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 10 to 12 min. or until tops are set. (Do not overbake.) Immediately sprinkle with crushed candy. Cool 1 min. on baking sheets. Remove to wire racks; cool completely.

Size-Wise

Chocolate and mint make a terrific winter combination. Enjoy a serving of these truffle cookies at your next holiday celebration.

Make Ahead

Prepare and bake cookies as directed; cool completely. Store in airtight container at room temperature up to 1 week. Or, place in freezer-weight resealable plastic bags and freeze up to 1 month; thaw at room temperature before serving.

Variation

Prepare using BAKER'S Bittersweet Chocolate and increasing sugar to 1-1/4 cups.

Servings

  • 22 servings, 2 cookies each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 22 servings, 2 cookies each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 180
Total fat 9g
Saturated fat 6g
Cholesterol 35mg
Sodium 75mg
Carbohydrate 24g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 14g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these last year for my families Christmas dinner, ( extended family too), they were the... I made these last year for my families Christmas dinner, ( extended family too), they were the favorites even over the frosted sugar cookies. They freeze well too! I was thankful for the recipe cards that came with the issue so I didn't have to write the recipe down over and over. I am making them again this year. They look festive on a cookie tray as well.
Date published: 2005-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dough (after sitting in fridge) was like a solid batter- weird! Dough (after sitting in fridge) was like a solid batter- weird! It was a bit hard to scoop out, so let it sit at room temp for awhile. Dough was also really sticky, so flour up your hands reallly well! And for a little peppermint-y kick I added a couple drops of peppermint extract to the batter- Yum! Otherwise I got pretty good reviews for this cookie!
Date published: 2008-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this a couple of days ago and found them to be very refreshing. I made this a couple of days ago and found them to be very refreshing. The mint from the candy cane gave the cookie a pleasing taste. I did find that after I put the candy cane on the cookie as soon as they came out of the oven, they fell off so what I did was put them back in the oven for 30 seconds to adhere to the cookie. It worked out great.
Date published: 2004-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My friends and I LOOVED this cookie. My friends and I LOOVED this cookie. I made it for our cookie exchange and it was the cookie talked about the most. I took the advice from the other people who rated it and put the cookies back in the oven after placing the cnady canes on top. Next time I will crunch the canes finer for more of a sugary, powdery top. DIFFERENT &DELICIOUS!!!!
Date published: 2005-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These were good, I found that the teaspoon size balls were just too small and went to more of a... These were good, I found that the teaspoon size balls were just too small and went to more of a tablespoon size for the balls. They were a better size and didn't get overcooked. If you press the crushed candy into the cookie a bit immediately after you take them out of the oven they tend to stick better. Overall a good holiday cookie!
Date published: 2007-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Variations I made: add 1 tsp peppermint extract to batter. Variations I made: add 1 tsp peppermint extract to batter. After baking, allow cookies to cool. Dip in melted dark chocolate chips and then dip in peppermint candy bits. Allow chocolate to harden before storage. Also try same with almond extract & chopped almonds on top. So addictive, I'll have to make more before Christmas!
Date published: 2005-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These were fairly easy to make and taste great! These were fairly easy to make and taste great! I would recommend pushing the candies into the tops of the cookies to get them to adhere better. Also, make sure to wait 1-2 mins. before removing them from baking pan, or the bottoms won't look good. Can't wait to share with friends and family, a great x-mas cookie recipe!
Date published: 2006-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from These are okay. These are okay. I didn't use the candy canes since I don't like them but the cookies themselves are fine. My children think they're really good. They are easy to make but I did have to let the dough sit for an hour after pulling it out of the refrigerator just so I could work with it. Overall, it's a decent cookie.
Date published: 2006-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Though the recipe was followed to the letter, after baking. Though the recipe was followed to the letter, after baking. the cookies flattened to thin, lacy-edged disks. To transfer each in one piece from the cookie sheet to the cooling rack was a daunting task. No way did these cookies resemble those firm puffy cookies in the recipe's accompanying photograph. Never again!
Date published: 2006-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These cookies are the best! These cookies are the best! My whole family loved them. I made them for my husband's x-mas party at work and I ended up having to run to the store for more after my kids tried them. Make sure not to overcook them. If you take them out when the tops first look done the candy sticks better and the centers are gooey.
Date published: 2006-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe was easy to make, nice dough and fairly easy to work after refrigeration. This recipe was easy to make, nice dough and fairly easy to work after refrigeration. However, they turned out lacy at the edges and flatter than in the picture. Any ideas on modifications? I live in the Denver area but made no high altitude modifications as I rarely need to do so for cookies.
Date published: 2009-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mine came out perfect and delicious! Mine came out perfect and delicious! They were so chocolatey, and the candy canes gave them the perfect amount of mint. Next time I will try rolling some of the candy canes inside the dough balls, and some on top for the appearance. They were pretty and festive to look at. Great recipe!
Date published: 2004-12-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It really was too dry of a cookie for my family. It really was too dry of a cookie for my family. (Just the kind of cookie that doesn't have a doughy middle and you HAVE to have a glass of milk at the same time.) I found digging the scoops of cookie dough really pretty difficult and putting the candy cane on so it would stay a chore.
Date published: 2004-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i made these for work's cookie exchange. i made these for work's cookie exchange. my co-workers loved the "2-biter" size! b/c they are "2-biters", these are also perfect as coffee break snacks, 2 cookies per cup of coffee. only problem - i read the recipe b4 starting but never actually saw the words CHILL 2 HOURS. whoops!
Date published: 2004-12-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I'M NOT SURE WHAT I DID. I'M NOT SURE WHAT I DID. I FOLLOWED THE DIRECTIONS EXACTLY AND CHECKED THEM TWICE!!! YET SOMEHOW THEY TURNED OUT NAUGHTY AND NOT NICE! THEY ALL SORT OF SPREAD INTO A SOMEWHAT BROWNIE TYPE THIN CHEWY BAR. ANYWAY, IF ANYONE HAS ANY SUGGESTIONS, I'D SURE APPRECIATE THE HELP! THANX!
Date published: 2004-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These cookies are SOOOO amazing. These cookies are SOOOO amazing. I ended up having to make 4 batches of them because people kept asking for them. Just make sure that you don't cook them too long and add the candy on right away. If you wait too long the candy wont stay on. These are simply amazing cookies!
Date published: 2005-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was great! This recipe was great! Followed the advice regarding the addition of mint (pulverized candy). I also used a melon-ball tool to shape cookies, instead of rolling by hand. Baking for 10 minutes worked best for me as far as getting the candy to stick to the top of the cookies.
Date published: 2006-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are a tradition! These are a tradition! I use peppermint extract or pulverize the candy canes (I don't like big pieces)if I'm in a minty mood. These are fun to experiment with and you can top them with anything. They satisfy the chocolate/cookie/brownie craving for sure!
Date published: 2009-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Got raves from these cookies that I brought to a holiday cookie exchange. Got raves from these cookies that I brought to a holiday cookie exchange. I found that making a small depression in the cookie helped hold the crushed candy. But it is difficult to get it to stay on the cookies and keep it off of the cookie sheet.
Date published: 2005-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved the cookies. I loved the cookies. These weren't too sweet and tasted alot like a brownie to me with a mild mint taste. My only suggestion would be to recommend that you crush the candy cane or mint candies up very fine. I'll be making these again and again.
Date published: 2005-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a fantastic cookie! Such a fantastic cookie! I first got the recipe out of Food and Family in 2004 and have made them every year since. This cookie is now part of our family's "christmas cookie must-haves." Watch them closely, to make sure they don't overbake.
Date published: 2007-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for a cookie swap and got rave reviews. I made this recipe for a cookie swap and got rave reviews. This was easy to make and easy to scoop out and bake as well. The hardest part is getting the crushed candy canes on top! A fun festive treat that others will certainly enjoy!
Date published: 2006-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These cookies were the best cookies that I have had in a long time. These cookies were the best cookies that I have had in a long time. I added different toppings to the top because my husband doesn't like candycanes. I added toffee bits and were very good. Were very easy to make took no time to do.
Date published: 2007-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very simple to make and turns out delicious! This was very simple to make and turns out delicious! I let the dough refrigerate over night so the only suggestion I would make is let the dough sit out for about 30 min. so it can soften enough to easily roll into balls.
Date published: 2006-12-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from These were easy to make and tasted great--like chewy brownies. These were easy to make and tasted great--like chewy brownies. However, they did not puff up like the picture. They came out like a flat, round cookie. I will make them again with adjustments for baking at altitude.
Date published: 2007-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I found it difficult to get the crushed candy to stick on the top of the baked cookies. I found it difficult to get the crushed candy to stick on the top of the baked cookies. The second batch I took the uncooked ball of each cookie and rolled the top in the peppermint candy. This worked much better.
Date published: 2005-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good with the hint of mint but I made the mistake of mixing the candy cane pieces in... This was very good with the hint of mint but I made the mistake of mixing the candy cane pieces in with the batter and then cooking it... no be good. Still taste good but they looked horrible and lost their shape.
Date published: 2005-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter made these for a cookie exchange at my work- everyone loved them. My daughter made these for a cookie exchange at my work- everyone loved them. We are making sure she is home from college next year when we schedule the cookie exchange. Even my picky-eater son loved the cookies.
Date published: 2004-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The cookies are wonderful, soft and moist, but candy canes were hard for the kids to eat. The cookies are wonderful, soft and moist, but candy canes were hard for the kids to eat. Very easy to make. We're going to try again without candy canes and put a little bit of peppermint extract in the dough.
Date published: 2004-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these for a cookie swap and everyone thought they were very yummy! I made these for a cookie swap and everyone thought they were very yummy! I was pleasantly surprised how moist they were on the inside (even after a few days of storage). I will definately make these again.
Date published: 2006-12-29
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_66320, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

549029:66320

>