Mocha Layer Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Mocha Layer Cake

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
Servings

Makes 16 servings.

Chocolate cake layers made with cake mix, pudding mix, sour cream, coffee and chocolate chunks, then spread with a coffee-flavored filling, stacked and drizzled with a chocolate glaze.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Beat cake mix, dry pudding mix, eggs, sour cream, oil and 1/2 cup each flavored instant coffee and water in large bowl with mixer on low speed just until moistened, stopping frequently to scrape bottom and side of bowl. Beat on medium speed 2 min. or until well blended. Chop 4 oz. chocolate; stir into batter. Pour into 2 greased and floured 9-inch round pans.
  • Bake 40 to 45 min. or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool in pans 10 min. Remove from pans to wire racks; cool completely.
  • Stir remaining 1/4 cup flavored instant coffee into COOL WHIP. Stack cake layers on plate, spreading COOL WHIP mixture between layers. Microwave butter, corn syrup and remaining chocolate and water in medium microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1-1/2 min.; stir until chocolate is completely melted. Spread over top of cake, allowing glaze to drip down side.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.9 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Chocolate Flavor Pudding

Size Wise

Enjoy a serving of this rich and indulgent cake on special occasions.

Storage Know-How

Store cakes filled with COOL WHIP Whipped Topping in the refrigerator.

Substitute

Prepare using your favorite flavor MAXWELL HOUSE INTERNATIONAL Coffee.

Servings

  • Makes 16 servings.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size Makes 16 servings.
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 400
Total fat 23g
Saturated fat 10g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 310mg
Carbohydrate 49g
Sugars 33g
Protein 5g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Husband and I loved it! Husband and I loved it!!!! Next time I will try using the whipped center as the topping instead. Hopefully this will prevent the infamous slippery top layer many have encountered, myself included! A must try treat!!
Date published: 2008-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Delicious! I might skip the coffee in the whip cream layer- the cake has enough. When you store this cake the coffee taste becomes bitter in the whip cream. I can't wait to make this cake again!
Date published: 2008-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Although I loved this cake, mine looked nothing like the picture. Although I loved this cake, mine looked nothing like the picture. How on earth did they get the filling to be that thick and support the weight of the top layer? Mine instantly flattened.
Date published: 2009-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from make sure you layer the cool whip and layers right before you eat it, or the cool whip may melt. make sure you layer the cool whip and layers right before you eat it, or the cool whip may melt. even so, it was still a huge hit as a birthday cake for my mother.
Date published: 2007-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from VERY EASY INGRIEDENTS I HAD THEM ON HAND. VERY EASY INGRIEDENTS I HAD THEM ON HAND. FRIENDS LOVED THE FROM THE BAKERY LOOK THAT THIS CAKE HAD. ALSO IT WAS SIMPLE BUT DIDNT TASTE SIMPLE.
Date published: 2002-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake but split the layers and used choc. I made this cake but split the layers and used choc. frosting with cream cheese frosting in the middle and top and sides. Everyone loved it.
Date published: 2003-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good with just the right amount of mocha coffee flavor. This was very good with just the right amount of mocha coffee flavor. The cool whip in the middle oozed out so you don't need quite 2 cups.
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent presentation, taste, and texture. Excellent presentation, taste, and texture. I tried espresso powder to kick up the java taste. My mocha-loving family devoured it.
Date published: 2004-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone raved and wanted the recipe! Everyone raved and wanted the recipe! They couldn't believe how simple the ingredients were. And it turned out just like the photo!
Date published: 2005-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I MADE THIS FOR MY DAUGHTERS BIRTHDAY. I MADE THIS FOR MY DAUGHTERS BIRTHDAY. IT WAS NOT TOO DIFFICULT AND EVERYONE ENJOYED IT. IT IS QUITE RICH AND VERY YUMMY
Date published: 2003-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was excellent! This recipe was excellent! It was very moist and had a lot of flavor. Everyone raved about it!
Date published: 2006-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my mother-in-law for her birthday and she's still talking about it! I made this for my mother-in-law for her birthday and she's still talking about it!
Date published: 2005-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone who eats this cake asks for the recipe! Everyone who eats this cake asks for the recipe! Its easy to make and SO good!
Date published: 2006-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dumb question, but do you use 3/4 cup coffee granules or liquid coffee? Dumb question, but do you use 3/4 cup coffee granules or liquid coffee?
Date published: 2009-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very decadent! Very decadent! The whipped cream tends to mush weird but who cares?!
Date published: 2007-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can i use devils food cake instead of chocolate cake mix.. Can i use devils food cake instead of chocolate cake mix.. ??
Date published: 2011-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome cake! Awesome cake! Easy to make and enjoyed by all
Date published: 2005-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for guests and any special event. Great for guests and any special event.
Date published: 2005-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like so much I like so much
Date published: 2006-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from YUMMMY YUMMMY
Date published: 2003-07-15
  • y_2017, m_12, d_18, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_53428, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

524461:53428

>