Moist Caramel Apple Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Moist Caramel Apple Cake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
15
min.
Servings

16 servings

Bake this Moist Caramel Apple Cake for your family and friends. Freshly chopped apples meet caramel scrumptiousness in this delicious recipe.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Beat first 6 ingredients in large bowl with mixer until blended. Stir in apples. Pour into greased and floured 12-cup fluted tube pan or 10-inch tube pan.
  • Bake 50 min. to 1 hour or until toothpick inserted near center comes out clean. Cool cake in pan 15 min. Loosen cake from sides of pan; invert onto wire rack. Gently remove pan. Cool cake completely. Transfer to plate.
  • Microwave caramels and milk in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1-1/2 min. or until caramels are completely melted and sauce is smooth, stirring every 30 sec. Cool 10 min. or until slightly thickened. Drizzle over cake just before serving.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding

Cooking Know-How

To avoid soggy cake, drizzle caramel sauce over cake just before serving.

Special Extra

Serve topped with thawed COOL WHIP Whipped Topping or vanilla ice cream.

Substitute

Prepare using JELL-O French Vanilla Instant Pudding.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 230
Total fat 8g
Saturated fat 2g
Cholesterol 50mg
Sodium 330mg
Carbohydrate 39g
Sugars 29g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from May I say WOW! May I say WOW! I made this with a few substitutions. Instead of yellow cake mix I used white cake mix and coconut custard Instant pudding instead of vanilla. It turn out delicious and everybody ate up to the last crumb,and some had seconds. I added cinnamon, walnuts, and vanilla extract. For the grand finale took the hint from other reviews and used the caramel topping that's meant for ice cream. My personal thought is that is so wonderful it really doesn't need the caramel.
Date published: 2012-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for our synagogue at Rosh Hashanah, when it's traditional to eat apples (and honey)... I made this cake for our synagogue at Rosh Hashanah, when it's traditional to eat apples (and honey) to celebrate the Jewish new year. It was such a hit that several of our members requested me to make it again for the meal we have at the close of Yom Kippur to break our fast. The cake is fantastic, but I don't care for the caramel recipe. I tried it twice, and both times, it turned out too runny. Next time I make it, I'll either frost it with canned Dulce de Leche frosting, or drizzle it with microwaveable caramel ice cream topping.
Date published: 2006-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made some changes/additions to the recipe, after reading some of the other comments. I made some changes/additions to the recipe, after reading some of the other comments. I used a silicone bundt pan and had no problem with sticking. I couldn't find a yellow cake mix that didn't have pudding already added so I only used half the pudding mix and it came out very moist but not overly so. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and 2 tsp of cinnamon, and used 2 medium braeburn apples. I didn't add any caramel but it got great reviews regardless. I think I'll try serving it next time with vanilla ice cream.
Date published: 2005-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is delicious... This cake is delicious... when I saw the word moist I decided to try it, and it is truly moist. We loved it!! Nuts would be good either sprinkled on top or in the batter. I use solid shortening and flour in my pan - I have tried using the spray and it didn't work well for me. But, shortening works every time. The only negative comment I have is concerning the caramel topping; it was a little thin. Next time I make the cake, I think I'll start with about 2 tablespoons of milk so the glaze with be thicker.
Date published: 2005-09-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I followed the directions but my cake was a flop. I followed the directions but my cake was a flop. After cooling the cake for 15 minutes in the pan, as directed, I loosened the sides of the cake from the pan and inverted onto a wire cooling rake and carefully lifed the pan. Part of the cake remained in the pan. Yes, the pan was well greased and floured. Then after topping with caramel, it was so difficult to cut because the caramel was sticky, it fell apart again while trying to slice! UGH! I don't know what went wrong....however it did taste GREAT!!!
Date published: 2010-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Every one thought this cake was great! Every one thought this cake was great!!!!! I am one of the few people (maybe the only one) who does not like Granny Smith apples And I love nuts so I used Cortland apples and half a cup of chopped pecans.It was so very moist and keeps really well . I thought there was a little too much caramel, so I used only 15( did I say I like nuts)?well I sprinkled chopped pecans on the top of the cake.If you like Walnuts better than pecans, they work as well This cake will definitely be on My holiday menues!!!!
Date published: 2006-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this a few times in the past & they came out really nice, just a little too moist for me. I've made this a few times in the past & they came out really nice, just a little too moist for me. HOWEVER, just made this a few hours ago and it was PERFECT! I used all BUT a tablespoon of the Jell-o instant pudding mix when making the batter. Made this today for my little brother's bday. I use the Caramel syrup in a bottle (from the icecream sundae aisle) and either glaze the cake with it or let everyone just add as little or as much as he/she prefer on his/her own piece :). LOVE this cake!
Date published: 2007-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe three times and it has flown off the plate. I have made this recipe three times and it has flown off the plate. All the kids in my son's 3rd grade loved it and when I made it for Rosh Hashana it was the first dessert to go. I also made it for a party after my son's football game hoping the adults would enjoy it - the bakery cake went almost untouched and there was not a crumb to be had. I make it in a 9x13 and bake for 35 mins and use caramel ice cream topping. I also add cinnamon. One of the easiest and moistest cakes I've ever had.
Date published: 2005-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Easter last year after another cake that I made failed to set in the fridge... I made this for Easter last year after another cake that I made failed to set in the fridge overnight. This cake was super easy to make (I added some Green Apple slices on the top of the cake under the caramel to make it extra special!), I pretty much already had everything for it. It was a huge success at Easter everyone loved it! My Mom even thought it was awesome!! My husband loves it so much that he is always asking me to make it. Everyone wants the recipe and can't believe how moist it is!!
Date published: 2007-11-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It sounded so good. It sounded so good. . . but was really just blah. No spices, very bland and with (yes, moist) cooked apples with an oversweet topping that didn't mesh well with the rest of the cake. I love caramels, cake, and apples but this combo did not go well together. The cake did look beautiful but even my kids, all 5 of them, didn't ask for seconds and it ended up being thrown away after a day or so of no one eating it. Imagine, cake thrown out . . .just about sums up my rating for this recipe.
Date published: 2007-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had no trouble getting it out of the pan. I had no trouble getting it out of the pan. Very easy to make, but I agree that it lacked the apple taste I was craving. Maybe if the apples were cut into smaller pieces so you get a piece with every bite it would be better. Very moist and I would definately make this cake again, but would try to put in an apple flavoring to add to the taste. I melted the caramels on the stove in a small saucepan and it worked out very well. I thought it would be easier than melting in microwave.
Date published: 2005-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have had my new Food & Family issue about a week and a half. I have had my new Food & Family issue about a week and a half. I have made this desert twice!!!! I did vary something though. I had to use a French Vanilla Cake mix instead of yellow, due to the cooking supplies I had. It was one of the best cakes I've ever made! I also sliced the cake after cooling and then drizzled the caramel sauce on, that way you had more of a caramel taste in your bites. My family already told me that this is a MUST every fall...and maybe Christmas too!
Date published: 2005-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is indeed moist & delicious. This cake is indeed moist & delicious. Ater reading ALL of the reviews I decided to make a few adjustments to the recipe – I added 1/3 cup of spiced rum & 2/3 cups of water – I also added 1/4 cup of brown sugar and sprinkled it generously with cinnamon. I made two cakes; one I took to a friend’s house for dessert it paired nicely with vanilla ice cream – Think apple pie ala mode the other I took to church for coffee hour. Everyone’s reaction was the same; they LOVED it.
Date published: 2008-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Served this to a group of friends and they thought it was great. Served this to a group of friends and they thought it was great. I have now made it several times. I have used a carmel cake mix and a spice cake mix instead of the yellow cake mix. I have also added a cup of chopped wallnuts. Save a few to sprinkle over the sauce. I have also added on square of Baker's Semi-Sweet chocolate to the carmel sauce. Served with French Vanilla Cool Whip. Also found that leaving the cake sit for one day really enhances the flavor
Date published: 2005-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for a church potluck, where it was a big hit. I made this for a church potluck, where it was a big hit. Since I had some left over, I took the girls at work a slice. They all loved it. This recipe is easy. I used caramel syrup instead of melting caramels simply to save time. This cake is better the second day and still better the third. My daughter is a caramel lover. I plan to pass this on to her and also make one for her birthday, which is coming up. I will definitely make this again. It's great!
Date published: 2005-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The recipe should be more specific about the caramel topping - should it be drizzled just before... The recipe should be more specific about the caramel topping - should it be drizzled just before serving, or should the cake be refrigerated after the topping is added? My cake looked beautiful at first, but a couple of hours later when I presented it to a friend, the topping had soaked into the cake, leaving it mushy and messy looking. I would love to make this cake again, but need more specific info about the topping. Any other ideas or experiences out there?
Date published: 2005-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for an ailing family member and he loved it! I made this for an ailing family member and he loved it! My family ate the whole thing! My only problem was that the caramel wants to stay on the cake plate and not the cake. I made it a 2nd time and used less milk, and it still did the same thing. We just spooned the caramel that slid off and drizzled it over the cake and it tasted fine. Next time, I think I'll make it in a 9x13x2 and pour the caramel over the top! Nice and moist-good recipe!
Date published: 2005-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I changed this recipe a little. I changed this recipe a little. Instead of vanilla pudding, I used butterscotch pudding and I also added chopped nuts. The flavor was wonderful. I took it to a picnic and everyone wanted the recipe. I also made it with a spice cake mix, vanilla pudding and the nuts. That was good, too. I felt that the cake was quite moist, and it was a little difficult to cut. I also used a variation of apples. I may try to make it with spice cake and pears.
Date published: 2005-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I want to say my mother in law loved this cake and wants it again. I want to say my mother in law loved this cake and wants it again. I am going to make this one over and over. I looked to see what other said then made some changes. Instead of using the cake recipe from here I used the cake mix recipe. I used a Spice Cake mix (much better taste). I did not use the pudding (most cakes have pudding in them). Microwaved the carmels for intervals of 30 secs. I was amazed that the cake looks like this picture.
Date published: 2005-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was very disappointed with this cake. I was very disappointed with this cake. I used cake mix with pudding in it already so I didn't add the extra pudding. It just didn't taste very good. I greased and floured the cake pan but it still stuck, so I lost most of the top of the cake. Thankfully I didn't make this for anything special just Sunday dinner. I bought carmel sauce in a jar which was easier than melting the caramels. My kids liked the cake but I wouldn't make it again.
Date published: 2009-10-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A little too sweet for me. A little too sweet for me. The caramel and the added sugar from the pudding put the sweet factor over the top. Basically it just tastes like a yellow cake with bits of mushy cooked apple with caramel on top. It is moist, but would be better if apples were lightly cooked and served on the side rather than inside the cake. Might need some spices or nuts to improve my rating. The concept sounds delicious, but the result is lacking.
Date published: 2005-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is very good. This is very good. I had gastric bypass surgery & have to limit my sugar intake, so I made some substitutions: sugar-free pudding, and used some apples I had previously cooked with Splenda and cinnamon. For the topping, I bypassed the caramel altogether, using whipped topping I had stirred cinnamon into. It was wonderful! I took it to work for a carry-in, got rave reviews, and no one knew it was light except those I told!
Date published: 2005-11-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The down side to this cake is exactly what the instructions warn you about. The down side to this cake is exactly what the instructions warn you about. Pouring on the carmel has to be done just before serving or the cake gets soft. What happens if the whole cake isn't eaten? You end up with a soggy cake. I feel it could use a little more carmel so I added some carmel sause in a squirt bottle and decorated the plate then placed the cake on the plate. Looked good and added to the flavor.
Date published: 2008-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my most favorit-est recipe. This is my most favorit-est recipe. I substituted applesauce for the oil and buy the caramel sundae syrup. I mix caramel syrup with coconut rum (to taste) and add cool whip to make a drizzle-y soft frosting. I spoon it over the top and let it dribble down the grooves, a capful more of rum along the rim of the plate and a pretty drizzle of caramel only lightly over the top and voila! Always, always a huge hit!
Date published: 2009-12-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My cake was moist and I had no problem's getting it out of the pan .I was dissappointed with the... My cake was moist and I had no problem's getting it out of the pan .I was dissappointed with the taste however I thought it was going to have a more applely taste then it did.The apples were soft but they didn't have much taste once they were cooked and it took forever to get the carmels melted to a creamy consistancy.My husband seemed to enjoy it but I think he would rather have his Jewish apple cake though.
Date published: 2005-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love trying new dessert recipes. I love trying new dessert recipes. I think this would be a terrific dessert for the holidays. It is super moist, very easy. I had no problem removing it from the pan. I did not use the non stick spray, I used Crisco to grease the pan (tube pan). I took it to my office and everyone loved it, and has asked for the recipe. I will definitely make it again. My fiance loved it, and he is not a "cake" eater!
Date published: 2005-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I first rated this 4-stars when I made the recipe a few years ago. I first rated this 4-stars when I made the recipe a few years ago. However, I think I overbaked it that time. It was so moist and delicious this time around. I am giving it 5-stars. I made it for company, and I was immediately asked by several folks for the recipe. It's delicious, but you must serve it with ice cream. I made extra caramel and drizzled a bit over the cake and ice cream as I plated it.
Date published: 2010-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used Delicious apples because I don't like the Granny Smith apples. I used Delicious apples because I don't like the Granny Smith apples. The Delicious applies were so big it only took two apples chopped up. The secret to the caramel is to make sure you let it sit long enough to thicken. I put it in the fridge and kept checking it. Giving it time to thicken will ensure it stays on the cake. My husband told me if I ever make a cake again to make sure it's this one.
Date published: 2005-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this cake so many times and each time I get so many compliments and always end up with... I have made this cake so many times and each time I get so many compliments and always end up with an empty plate. I use 4 apples every time and add 5 extra caramels to keep it thick. I also poke some holes with a large fork on top to have the caramel soak in the cake. I entered this cake at work, our 1st Annual Bake off, and won FIRST place!!!! This is such an easy cake to make....I love it!
Date published: 2006-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is very good, I didn't use the caramels, but just put some Cool Whip on top and it was... This cake is very good, I didn't use the caramels, but just put some Cool Whip on top and it was wonderful. I had my mom over for a lunncheon today and our lunch consisted of Kraft White Cheddar Mac and Cheese and Hot Dogs. For dessert, we each had a piece cake. Both agreed that it was moist and the apples were done just right. Definitely I will make this cake again, maybe for Christmas.
Date published: 2006-11-28
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_89, tr_606
  • loc_en_US, sid_75559, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

506434:75559

>