Moist Sour Cream Coffee Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Moist Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
Servings

24 servings

Impress guests with this Moist Sour Cream Coffee Cake recipe. Our coffee cake recipe is sure to be your most-requested recipe!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Stir flour, baking powder and baking soda until blended. Beat granulated sugar, butter and vanilla in large bowl with mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in flour mixture alternately with sour cream.
  • Combine nuts, brown sugar and cinnamon; spoon half into greased and floured 12-cup fluted tube pan or 10-inch tube pan; top with half the cake batter. Repeat layers.
  • Bake 45 to 50 min. or until toothpick inserted near center comes out clean. Cool cake in pan 10 min. Loosen cake from sides of pan with knife. Invert cake onto wire rack; gently remove pan. Cool cake completely.

To Double

This recipe can easily be doubled to make 2 cakes. Why not bake one to give to friends and keep one for your family? Just prepare as directed, doubling all ingredients and using 2 pans. Makes 48 servings.

How to Bake in 13x9-Inch Pan

Prepare as directed, using a 13x9-inch pan and reducing the baking time to 30 min. or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. No need to remove cake from pan before cutting into pieces to serve.

Servings

  • 24 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 24 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 210
Total fat 11g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 40mg
Sodium 105mg
Carbohydrate 25g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 16g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was one of the eaiest coffee cakes I've made, and it was a bit hit with the family. This was one of the eaiest coffee cakes I've made, and it was a bit hit with the family. I added cinnamon to the cake batter, as I'm a cinnamon lover, and I used walnuts instead of pecans. Turned out terrific. A nice change from all my breads from the bread machine!
Date published: 2003-08-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I really like sour cream coffee cakes and I was truly looking forward to making it and eating it. I really like sour cream coffee cakes and I was truly looking forward to making it and eating it. This recipe is not a keeper. The cake was dry. The pecan layer that went on the bottom of the pan stayed there when removing the cake. The cake was too sweet.
Date published: 2008-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I goofed when I made this and it turned out so good. I goofed when I made this and it turned out so good. I put everything together in the batter and just poured it into the pan. Cooked up beautifully and was delicious. No, it wasn't the pretty layered cake in the photo. It was tan but it was excellent.
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so good and worth the wait! This was so good and worth the wait! I made it on Sunday and by Monday morning it was gone! I forgot to start the layers with the nuts first in the bunt pan, so when I flipped it out, I just dusted it lightly with powdered sugar, Yum!
Date published: 2010-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm not a coffee cake maker or eater BUT this one is a KEEPER. I'm not a coffee cake maker or eater BUT this one is a KEEPER. Moist and simple to make! I made it because I had some sour cream and wanted to do something simple and easy to use up the sour cream. 5 stars all the way.
Date published: 2003-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good. Very good. Used Pure Cane Washed Raw Sugar instead of white granulated and the raw sugar did not dissolve, but remained granular through the center and topping. Still good, but will likely try granulated next time.
Date published: 2008-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I took the advice of another reviewer and substituted apples (I shredded mine) for the pecans in the... I took the advice of another reviewer and substituted apples (I shredded mine) for the pecans in the filling. The results were delicious! This was a very quick and easy recipe to make with wonderful results.
Date published: 2005-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake this past Saturday for Mother's Day cook out. I made this cake this past Saturday for Mother's Day cook out. It was a big hit... I liked everything about it. It was easy to make and very tastey.. My husband told me this was a keeper of a recipe...
Date published: 2006-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this cake was delish! this cake was delish! the only thing I changed was I used 1 and a half cups plain flour, and a half cup self rising flour. it made the cake still taste like a pound cake but, it was a touch lighter.
Date published: 2009-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is delicious. This is delicious. I've made it twice. I use between 1/2 & 3/4 cup sugar instead if 1 1/2 cups and the second cake, I used 1 cup whole wheat flour & 1 cup white flour and it came out fine.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The only good thing about this cake was the pecans mixture. The only good thing about this cake was the pecans mixture. The cake had a flat taste. I have made other recipes from Kraft but this I just don't care for. Sorry but just not worth it.
Date published: 2006-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake and added some shredded apple in with the filling- it turned out great! I made this cake and added some shredded apple in with the filling- it turned out great! Next time I think I'll add icing, made from powdered sugar, butter and a little orange juice....
Date published: 2005-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is great! This recipe is great! So easy. So moist! I made it and 5 days later the leftovers were still moist. It impressed everyone when I made a "homemade" coffee cake and it was so easy!
Date published: 2005-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My cake comes out a little bit dry because I used a cake pan instead of a bundt cake pan , but it... My cake comes out a little bit dry because I used a cake pan instead of a bundt cake pan , but it is still delicious , I liked the cinnamon sugar filling, it's very good with coffee.
Date published: 2006-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sour crem coffee cake i have made this recipe many times and if you mix the nut brown sugar and cinnamon in throughout the whole cake rather than layer between you get a real good tasting coffee cake
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe to take to a friends house, it was an instant hit even my boyfriend who is not a... I made this recipe to take to a friends house, it was an instant hit even my boyfriend who is not a fan of sweet treats couldn't get enough. I'm definitely doing this again.
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i substitued apples for the pecans since im not big on nuts. i substitued apples for the pecans since im not big on nuts. Everyone loved it! so moist, but definately not a diet friendly dessert. still it was just to yummy to pass up!
Date published: 2007-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has become one of my family's favorites. This has become one of my family's favorites. We love it. To the cinnamon and sugar mixture, I added three apples and it adds even more flavor to this awesome cake. ;o)
Date published: 2005-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was easy and tasted so good. It was easy and tasted so good. I made a few days ahead of time and put it in the freezer and got it out the night before I needed it. It was great in every way.
Date published: 2007-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe for years, however, I substuite thinly sliced apples in place of the... I have made this recipe for years, however, I substuite thinly sliced apples in place of the pecans. My family and friends love it and more so with the apples
Date published: 2005-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! Made it for Christmas morning and everyone loved it. Tasted a little dry after it sat for a day or so but still tasted awesome with coffee!!
Date published: 2008-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A FRIEND MADE IT AND BROUGHT IT IN TO WORK FOR OUR PIG OUT (A PIG OUT IS JUST EAT, EAT AND EAT MORE... A FRIEND MADE IT AND BROUGHT IT IN TO WORK FOR OUR PIG OUT (A PIG OUT IS JUST EAT, EAT AND EAT MORE AT WORK)...EVERYBODY BRINGS IN SOMETHING TO EAT.
Date published: 2002-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I only used 1 c sugar and substituted half of the flour with whole wheat flour ( it gave the cake... I only used 1 c sugar and substituted half of the flour with whole wheat flour ( it gave the cake 'nuttier' texture). It came out very good!
Date published: 2006-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe over the weekend for a breakfast with a couple of friends and it was delicious. I made this recipe over the weekend for a breakfast with a couple of friends and it was delicious. I gave all of my friends the recipe.
Date published: 2005-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I work with all men, I baked this coffee cake, took it to work and asked them if it was a keeper. I work with all men, I baked this coffee cake, took it to work and asked them if it was a keeper. All agreed it certainly was. Thanks
Date published: 2005-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just a question. Just a question. I would liek to follow this recipe, however did someone forget to mention the coffee? After all it is a coffee cake.
Date published: 2005-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this coffee cake for the secretaries at my school for secretaries day and everyone that came... I made this coffee cake for the secretaries at my school for secretaries day and everyone that came in the office got some and loved!
Date published: 2005-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had very few nuts on hand so I probably used half of the amount the recipe called for and it was... I had very few nuts on hand so I probably used half of the amount the recipe called for and it was still good. Will make this again.
Date published: 2005-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this cake! I love this cake!! I make it all the time. I like to put chocolate chips in the middle instead of pecans and it turns out great!
Date published: 2008-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been using this recipe for years, and it's a family favorite, as well as a Grand Champion... I've been using this recipe for years, and it's a family favorite, as well as a Grand Champion ribbon winner at the county fair!
Date published: 2005-04-26
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_53162, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

523845:53162

>