Most-Requested Chocolate Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Most-Requested Chocolate Cake

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
40
min.
Servings

18 servings

Remarkably moist. Intensely chocolatey. A tried-and-true gem of a cake that has been beloved for generations. Serve it and see why.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Melt 6 oz. chocolate as directed on package; cool. Meanwhile, beat dressing, brown sugar and 2 tsp. vanilla in large bowl with mixer until blended. Beat in eggs and melted chocolate. Combine flour, baking soda and salt. Add to chocolate mixture alternately with boiling water, mixing well after each addition.
  • Pour into 2 parchment-lined 9-inch round pans sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 30 to 35 min. or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool 10 min. Remove from pans to wire racks. Immediately remove parchment. Cool cakes completely.
  • Meanwhile, microwave remaining chocolate and butter in large microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1 to 1-1/2 min. or until butter is melted, stirring every 30 sec. Stir until chocolate is completely melted. Cool.
  • Add powdered sugar, milk and remaining vanilla to butter mixture; beat until blended. Use to fill and frost cake layers.

Substitute

Prepare using MIRACLE WHIP Light Dressing.

How to Store

Keep frosted cake refrigerated.

Special Extra

Garnish frosted cake with sliced fresh strawberries just before serving.

Oven Rack Safety

Check to make sure that racks are positioned properly in the oven before preheating. It is more difficult and less safe to move the racks when they are hot.

How to Make Cupcakes

Prepare cake batter as directed; spoon into 24 paper-lined muffin cups. Bake in 350°F oven 19 to 22 min. or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool completely on wire racks. Frost with powdered sugar mixture. Keep refrigerated. Makes 24 servings.

Servings

  • 18 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 18 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 400
Total fat 16g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 40mg
Sodium 310mg
Carbohydrate 65g
Sugars 46g
Protein 5g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this cake for years. I have made this cake for years. It is easy and I always have the ingredients available to make a quick desert. I always add peanut butter to the batter and icing to taste and it makes is so much better.
Date published: 2011-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I baked this cake yesterday and it turned out hard, stiff but abit moist. I baked this cake yesterday and it turned out hard, stiff but abit moist. This is my first time baking a cake. Can anyone give me tips for improvement? Your comments would be appreciated!! Thankyou!
Date published: 2008-05-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I found that the cake was really moist, almost wet inside. I found that the cake was really moist, almost wet inside. I had a clean toothpick and baked it the proper time, so I don't think I would make this again, it was too mushy, yet simple to make.
Date published: 2009-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe three times and it never fails. I have made this recipe three times and it never fails. It is definitely a crowd-pleaser and so easy to make! It tastes wonderful! I'm not even a big fan of chocolate cake and I love this!
Date published: 2007-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I substituted canned cream cheese frosting. I substituted canned cream cheese frosting. It took less time and my family liked it better. I also changed the recipe to make cupcakes. Made 24 and baked for 17 minutes. They came out great
Date published: 2009-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4 generations in my direct line have loved this rich, moist wonder. 4 generations in my direct line have loved this rich, moist wonder. Today my daughter (gen. 4) prepares it for the first time for her guy. Bless those who created it... And it's easy, too!
Date published: 2003-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very milk chocolatety! Very milk chocolatety! I made this for a co-workers' b-day & she loved it! But others thought it was a bit heavy..........I loved it too, soooo I'd definately make again for my family!
Date published: 2007-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this cake over and over again and everyone always asks for more! I've made this cake over and over again and everyone always asks for more! This is the best chocolate cake i'e ever had, even better then the one from my fav bakery! So moist!
Date published: 2007-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My grandma made this cake back in the depression. My grandma made this cake back in the depression. I've made this all my life and is the most treasured recipe I have. It a most requested cake in my family. Yum! Yum! Yum!!!
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a church fellowship, instead of the chocolate frosting i made a homemade... I made this cake for a church fellowship, instead of the chocolate frosting i made a homemade peanut butter frosting,it was excellent evreyone loved it.It was a Big Hit..
Date published: 2007-06-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sorry, this was not what I had hoped for. Sorry, this was not what I had hoped for. Moist, but there was the flavor of Miracle Whip that lingered. Total waste of chocolate, time and energy.
Date published: 2014-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mom made this cake for us as kids and I loved it so much now I make it for my family. My mom made this cake for us as kids and I loved it so much now I make it for my family. It has become a family tradition for holidays to make it.
Date published: 2002-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not being a big 'sweets' person I wouldn't make this cake very often , but for all those family... Not being a big 'sweets' person I wouldn't make this cake very often , but for all those family gatherings or church socials it will be great.
Date published: 2002-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was delicious! This cake was delicious! I made it for dessert on Sunday and everyone in the house loved it!! I will definitely make this cake again.
Date published: 2005-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good, frosting was excellent but would still like a moister cake. Very good, frosting was excellent but would still like a moister cake. I think I will try it with pudding instead of mayo next time.
Date published: 2006-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The name is very fitting. The name is very fitting. This cake is delicious. Make it for your next event and people will be asking about it for sure.
Date published: 2010-07-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from YUCK It tasted like mayo. and left a nasty after taste. Wasted good ingredients on this and ended up throwing it away.
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This cake tastes like goo. This cake tastes like goo. I am a huge chocolate fan, but this was disgusting. A total waste of cocoa powder.
Date published: 2010-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I HAD THIS RECIPE AND LOST IT, SO LOOKED IT UP AGAIN AS MY 2 GRANDSONS LIKE THIS FOR THEIR... I HAD THIS RECIPE AND LOST IT, SO LOOKED IT UP AGAIN AS MY 2 GRANDSONS LIKE THIS FOR THEIR BIRTHDAYS!
Date published: 2006-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was very good, but I would agree that I'd like something a bit moister. It was very good, but I would agree that I'd like something a bit moister. The icing is excellent!
Date published: 2006-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Make sure you have milk ready when you take a bite of the best chocolate cake you've ever had. Make sure you have milk ready when you take a bite of the best chocolate cake you've ever had.
Date published: 2005-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I don't like frosting so I made it without frosting,it turned out to be-HORRIBLE. I don't like frosting so I made it without frosting,it turned out to be-HORRIBLE.
Date published: 2006-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my husband's favorite cake - especially with 7 minute frosting! This is my husband's favorite cake - especially with 7 minute frosting!!
Date published: 2002-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS IS AN EXCELLENT CAKE, FOR THOSE CHOCALATE LOVERS! THIS IS AN EXCELLENT CAKE, FOR THOSE CHOCALATE LOVERS!
Date published: 2004-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this cake 12/2/99: Extremely Appealing. Made this cake 12/2/99: Extremely Appealing.
Date published: 2002-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from almost as good as the original recipe almost as good as the original recipe
Date published: 2002-09-10
  • y_2018, m_1, d_17, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_51162, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

503014:51162

>