New-Look Scalloped Potatoes and Ham - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

New-Look Scalloped Potatoes and Ham

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
Servings

16 servings, about 1 cup each

Explore how we made scalloped potatoes and ham a Healthy Living recipe. Our New-Look Scalloped Potatoes and Ham is a smart take on a favorite comfort food.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Cook potatoes in boiling water in large saucepan 10 to 12 min. or just until potatoes are tender; drain. Remove 3/4 of the potatoes; place in large bowl. Add sour cream; mash until smooth. Stir in VELVEETA, ham and onions. Gently stir in remaining potato slices.
  • Spoon into 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; sprinkle with Parmesan.
  • Bake 30 min. or until heated through.

Makeover - How We Did It

By preparing this tasty casserole with BREAKSTONE'S FREE or KNUDSEN Fat Free Sour Cream and 2% Milk VELVEETA instead of the full-fat products, you'll save 40 calories and 7.5g of fat, including 4g of saturated fat, per serving.

Purchasing Potatoes

Look for firm, smooth, well-shaped potatoes that are free of wrinkles, cracks and blemishes. Avoid any with green-tinged skins or sprouting "eyes" or buds.

Servings

  • 16 servings, about 1 cup each

Healthy Living

  • Good source of calcium
  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 2 Starch
  • 1 Meat (L)

Nutrition Bonus

Help your family eat right with this made-over comfort-food classic. We used mashed potatoes instead of whipping cream to give this dish its creamy texture. And as a bonus, the potatoes provide a good source of vitamin C and the VELVEETA provides a good source of calcium.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings, about 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 190
Total fat 3.5g
Saturated fat 2g
Cholesterol 20mg
Sodium 550mg
Carbohydrate 28g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 5g
Protein 11g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 10 %DV
Calcium 20 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so good! This was so good! I did modify it slightly. Instead of mashing the potatoes I left them traditionally sliced and then carefully stirred in the other ingredients. I did boil the potatoes for 5-6 min. before mixing them with the other ingredients and then putting the whole thing in the oven. Overall, this recipe is great! ... and low fat with the light cheese and fat free sour cream. We will surely make this recipe again.
Date published: 2005-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Already made this a couple times, and again a fave between the fiance and kids. Already made this a couple times, and again a fave between the fiance and kids. Very delicious, and great comfort food. I found I didn't need quite as many potatoes, or onions. I used only two onions, and think that's plenty. Also, putting the mix with cheese in the pot used to cook potatoes helps the cheese melt more. Do this while you prepare onions. A helpful tip, use cubed ham. Less prep work and still great!
Date published: 2011-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think I found a new passion-baking! I think I found a new passion-baking! This was my first in baking, and I loved it! I messed up and only bought a 3 lb bag of potatoes, but I just used a little less sour cream. I also bought sliced smoked ham, which actually added to it, since the bits got very flavorful! My hubby loved this, enough to have the left overs tonight (now that is a mircle for that picky eater!) I really give this a million stars!!!!
Date published: 2005-02-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I have a better and easier scallop potato recipe. I have a better and easier scallop potato recipe. Sliced potatoes (I prefer Red). 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1/3 c evaporated milk, 1 finely chopped onion, and half a cup montery jack cheese,salt and pepper to taste. Mix wet ingredients, cheese and onion add potatoes put in greased pan. Sprinkle with 1/2 cup of cheese. bake until brown and bubbly. Soup and cheeses can be purchased low fat if desired.
Date published: 2006-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was excellent! This was excellent! Even my 6 & 3 year old liked it. I did change it a bit. I haved the recipe, sliced the potatoes, cubed ham steak and layered that in an 8X8 pan. I then melted the velveeta and added the sour cream then poured that over the potatoes and ham and topped with parm cheese. Baked at 400 degrees for about 1 hour. (Did not precook the potatoes.) It was very good will make it again!!
Date published: 2009-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband and I both loved the taste of this dish. My husband and I both loved the taste of this dish. I had to use regular onions and sour cream though as well as some russet potatoes because I didnt have enough red. My only disappointment is that it turned out more like potatoe mush than scalloped potatoes, but it was still good. Next time I'll crumble bacon into it. Will definately make again!
Date published: 2005-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I altered this recipe. I altered this recipe. I used 1 Lb of diced ham and 1 medium vidalia onion. Instead of mashing the potatoes, I just left them all sliced and mixed all the ingredients in together, sprinkled grated Parmesan cheese on top and put it in a crock pot on low for about a hour and a half. It was great, it made plenty and best of all my husband loved it!
Date published: 2010-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Use caution when slicing the potatoes. Use caution when slicing the potatoes. Make sure that they are thin slices otherwise it can take up to an hour and a half to bake. I made the mistake of slicing my potatoes a little too thick and the bake time for me was 1hr:30min. I also doubled my cream sauce because I like mine creamy! But overall it's a delish dish that the family loves!
Date published: 2011-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the second time I'm making this dish and it's amazing! This is the second time I'm making this dish and it's amazing! My family thinks it's better than when you have to make the sauce! I found that it works better if you mash the potatoes in the pot you cooked it in, mix in the sour cream and cheese then cover it while you chop the onions and ham, it really helps the velvetta melt!
Date published: 2010-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The quantities on this recipe are off. The quantities on this recipe are off. I use half as many potatoes, the same amount of sour cream, and double the ham, and it still filled a 13x9 and was quite delicious. I also substituted shredded fat free mozzarella & cheddar for the Welvetta, which lowers the sodium quite a bit. It was definitely delicious!
Date published: 2006-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A friend made this recipe and brought it to our church Christmas party. A friend made this recipe and brought it to our church Christmas party. Several of the ladies, including myself and my mother had to have this recipe. The taste of the potatoes was delicious! We will be making this recipe many times in the future.Thank you very much for sending this recipe to me.
Date published: 2006-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this multiple times. Made this multiple times. When mashing potatoes & adding sour cream, I ALSO add Parsley, Seasoned Salt, White Pepper and Garlic powder to taste. I flavors up the base a bit. Used cubed ham, lite sour cream. Cooked at 365 for 35 minutes and had NO problem with the Velveeta melting. Love it!
Date published: 2012-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is fantastic. This is fantastic. I have made it and taken it to several potlucks and it's always polished off. I don't think I would eat it as just a meal. to me it's more of a potluck side dish type thing. Either way it's delicious! I have also skipped the ham and crumbled bacon on top. mmmm so yummy!
Date published: 2010-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would make this recipe again. I would make this recipe again. My husband and I enjoyed it and are always glad when we can make 2 meals out of it. I did find that 2 cups of sauce caused me to spread it pretty thin. We love sauce and so next time I think I will probably double the sauce (good for bread dipping too!).
Date published: 2008-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The family loved it! The family loved it! I didn't try it (I'm eating low carb, so no potatoes for me, LOL), but everyone gobbled it up. I'm trying a similar version right now for me,, using mashed cauliflower instead of potatoes. It's in the oven now! I can't wait though, because it smells really good!
Date published: 2010-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I know it is fattening...but it is hard to find something that everyone loves...especially the... I know it is fattening...but it is hard to find something that everyone loves...especially the husband...this is one of his favorites! He eats potatoes any way you can think of (from raw to fried and everything in between). It sounds like a lot of work but it is soooooo worth it!
Date published: 2007-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this recipe takes a little time to pull it together, but every time I serve it to guests it is the... this recipe takes a little time to pull it together, but every time I serve it to guests it is the one dish that people want seconds & thirds. All the ladies always ask for the recipe at the end of the meal. Since it does take a little time to make I serve it at all holiday dinners
Date published: 2006-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this receipe twice . I have made this receipe twice . I have two (2) teenaged sons who eats a lot. and believe me they finished off this scalloped potato in about half an hour. No left overs. I got one slice both times. never had the choice for seconds. I would make this receipe over and over again.
Date published: 2006-03-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I am not sure if I would make this again, both times cooked up like (potatoes boiled did) mashed... I am not sure if I would make this again, both times cooked up like (potatoes boiled did) mashed potatoes and now there is a mashed potato mess with ham, etc I will wait and see what it looks like after in over, but they need to stress to boil to "JUST COOKED" disappointed
Date published: 2008-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for dinner last night. I made this for dinner last night. Everyone enjoyed it especially me. I love potatoes, cheese, and sour cream in the first place and this just brought all those things together. I served it with some mandrin oranges and garlic toast and it was the perfect balance.
Date published: 2010-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used russet potatoes which turned this dish into lumpy mashed potatoes. I used russet potatoes which turned this dish into lumpy mashed potatoes. I also added bacon and red onion. My husband just loves this dish. It is really tasty. I will make it again even though it's kind of a time consuming, messy recipe. It makes a lot, too.
Date published: 2005-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We used leftover ham in this. We used leftover ham in this. It was a great way to use up leftovers. I added mashed the potatoes/ham & velveeta, then put a layer of sharp cheddar and the a layer of the sliced potatoes covered with parm cheese. VERY VERY GOOD! Definately a keeper!
Date published: 2009-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is the best scalloped potatoes i hae ever had, and I usually go the hard way and make the white... this is the best scalloped potatoes i hae ever had, and I usually go the hard way and make the white sauce and everything, now I have a new even better way. My boyfriend thought this was wonderful too, he loved the way the green onions tasted in it.
Date published: 2006-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband doesn't care for "scalloped potatoes" but really enjoyed this dish. My husband doesn't care for "scalloped potatoes" but really enjoyed this dish. The kids thought it was great as well. A bit of prep time as I cut up a hame steak and then the potatoes, but it was worth it! Definitely will make this again!
Date published: 2006-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I TOOK THIS TO WORK THE NEXT DAY. I TOOK THIS TO WORK THE NEXT DAY. MY FRIEND , DERECK HAD TO HAVE THIS RECIPE FOR HIMSELF. SAID IT WAS NOW HIS FAVORITE THING TO EAT. RIGHT UP THERE WITH HIS MOM'S MEAT LOAF. I WOULDN'T CHANGE ANYTHING WITH THIS RECIPE. ITWAS DELICIOUS!
Date published: 2005-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have a silly question...When you add the sour cream to the potatoes and mash, do you add it to the... I have a silly question...When you add the sour cream to the potatoes and mash, do you add it to the 3/4 of potatoes or the 1/4 left potatoes? I think I know, but I want to make sure. This recipe sounds wonderful! Thanks so much!
Date published: 2006-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is wonderful! This is wonderful! And a great way to use leftover ham! I put everything together a day ahead of time and put in the fridge. I let it set out 30 mins or so to come to room temp and then baked it. Very budget friendly as well.
Date published: 2010-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a simple recipe to make, I cut the recipe in half apart from the ham and it was perfect for... This was a simple recipe to make, I cut the recipe in half apart from the ham and it was perfect for just me and my husband, with just a little leftover! It's like a mashed potato casserole. Taste great and would make again!
Date published: 2009-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This dish was very tastey. This dish was very tastey. I would make this recipe again but with a couple of adjustments. First off I think there were too many onions and less meat. So I would reduce the amount listed and add maybe a quarter more meat.
Date published: 2011-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It wasn't the consistency I thought it would be but still tasted good. It wasn't the consistency I thought it would be but still tasted good. The taste was like a loaded baked potato. I prepared it the night before so my husband just popped it in the oven and it was ready when I got home.
Date published: 2005-01-19
  • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_44, tr_205
  • loc_en_US, sid_69207, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

548778:69207

>