OREO & Fudge Ice Cream Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

OREO & Fudge Ice Cream Cake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
4
hr.
15
min.
Servings

12 servings

Serve up this OREO & Fudge Ice Cream Cake as a post-dinner treat. Just top ice cream sandwiches with delicious layers of OREO Cookies and fudge.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Whisk fudge topping and 1 cup COOL WHIP in medium bowl until blended. Add dry pudding mix; beat 2 min. Stir in chopped cookies.
  • Arrange 4 ice cream sandwiches, side-by-side, on 24-inch-long sheet of Reynolds Wrap® Aluminum Foil; top with half the COOL WHIP mixture. Repeat layers. Cover with remaining ice cream sandwiches.
  • Frost top and sides of dessert with remaining COOL WHIP. Fold foil to make packet.
  • Freeze 4 hours or until firm.
Reynolds® is a registered trademark of Reynolds Consumer Products LLC

Size Wise

Since this ice cream cake makes 12 servings, it is the perfect dessert to serve at your next party.

Note

The consistency of fudge topping can vary depending on what brand you purchase. If the fudge topping mixture is too thick to spread easily, stir 1/4 cup milk into the fudge topping before using as directed.

Variation

Prepare using your favorite flavor of ice cream sandwiches, such as Neapolitan or chocolate. If rectangular ice cream sandwiches are not available, use 18 of the smaller (square) sandwiches, using 6 sandwiches for each layer, placing them in 3 rows of 2 sandwiches each. Your cake will have a slightly different shape, but it will taste just as delicious.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.9 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Chocolate Flavor Pudding.

Best Apples for Snacking and Salads

Use 1 pkg. (3.9 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Chocolate Flavor Pudding.

Servings

  • 12 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 12 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 310
Total fat 14g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 15mg
Sodium 250mg
Carbohydrate 43g
Sugars 32g
Protein 4g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from i'm health concious and always try to find healthy alternatives to recipes. i'm health concious and always try to find healthy alternatives to recipes. for this i used Weight Watchers ice cream sandwiches, smuckers sugar free hot fudge topping, sugar free Oreos, Cool Whip Free, and sugar free/fat free chocolate Jell-O pudding mix. the cake turned out looking just like the picture and delicious! people made comments like, "I want more cake but don't want to get fat." Then I spilled to them the ingredients i used and the responses were "No way!!" and they had another slice. =]
Date published: 2007-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good and very sweet as well. This was very good and very sweet as well. I had a couple of problems. One - since ice cream sandwiches do not unwrap very easily, next time I will put them back in the freezer for a few minutes so that they don't melt before I have the last one unwrapped. Two - I do not know how on earth the Kraft people got it onto a nice serving plate. I could barely touch the thing before it was melting in my hands. We had to keep in in the foil and could not let it sit out for more than a couple of minutes.
Date published: 2007-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for my 4th of July Party. I made this for my 4th of July Party. I loved the fact that I could make it ahead of time. It looked store bought, I heard more than once, "You made this???" Children and adults loved it. The only thing I will change is the fuge mixture. I think it was a little too rich. The next time I will make it with vanilla pudding instead of chocolate. I also want to try using the chocolate chip mint ice cream sandwiches. Thanks Kraft, I'm always looking for make ahead recipes when I entertain.
Date published: 2007-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is great. This recipe is great. I have made it so many times I can give the recipe from memory. It is a favorite with all my friends. I have been requested dish for me to bring. Everyone who has made has really enjoyed it. IT IS THE RECIPE for the summer. I even had compliments that it tasted the same as a store bought recipe. Everyone needs to try this recipe. I have even used flavored ice cream sandwichs. Everyone asked how I put banana (it was banana ice cream sandwiches).
Date published: 2007-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easiest ice cream cake I've ever made. Easiest ice cream cake I've ever made. I wish there was a little bit more flavor. It would be nice if the pudding layer could have been more like fudge than instant pudding (layer was a little grainy even though it was mixed really good). Also, a helpful hint, when assembling, keep some of the sandwhiches in the freezer. I pulled everything out and by the time I was icing the whip cream on top the sandwhiches were melting all over the place. Pretty good overall.
Date published: 2008-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you make this, don't plan to have any left over! If you make this, don't plan to have any left over! I have made it twice now and both times it has been eaten completely as soon as it was cut. It is very quick and easy to make and is wonderfully cool and sweet to eat on a hot afternoon. I highly recommend this recipe and plan to make it often! Next time, I am going to try making it with reduced-fat or sugar-free ingredients to see how it tastes (each of the ingredients can be found in "diet" versions).
Date published: 2007-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this simply & quick recipe for a family cookout a few weeks ago. Made this simply & quick recipe for a family cookout a few weeks ago. Since there was a large crowd (24 of us), I made a second one using neopolitian ice cream sandwiches. I changed up the filling by using vanilla pudding, carmel sauce, graham crackers and a sprinkle of chopped cashews on the top! Both were a BIG hit & no one but my husband believed this was a homemade ice cream cake! You have to try it yourself to believe how easy it comes together.
Date published: 2007-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Cake is awesome. This Cake is awesome. I made it for my son's 6th Birthday. I had to double everything so it would be the size of a birthday cake. Everyone LOVED it! My son was so proud, telling all his friends; my mom knows how to make ice cream cake! I got creative and used food coloring and sprinkles. This was a great way to save money and the look on my sons face was priceless. Thank you for the incredible recipe. I, will definitely make it again, it is so delicious.
Date published: 2007-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best ice cream cake! This is the best ice cream cake! In fact it's the only birthday cake my 8 year old son wants every year. It is delicious and everyone loves it! This year I changed it up and crushed peanut butter oreos in it, and it was so good! You do have to put it together fast because the ice cream sandwiches start melting ( I usually double the recipe) but I put it in the freezer over night and it is perfect the next day :) Try it, you won't be disappointed! :)
Date published: 2011-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for a Block Party back in May of 2007... I made this recipe for a Block Party back in May of 2007... I did not know how everyone would react to it so I only made one... It was awesome... it went so fast I only got a bite from my husband... Everyone kept coming to me asking if they could have a piece of that ice cream cake everyone was raving about... I hated to dissapoint them so quickly ran to the store bought the ingredients and made another... It is easy, Cheap and very delicious...
Date published: 2007-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great recipe for an ice cream cake. A great recipe for an ice cream cake. I made it when all my children came home for their summer vacation and they all loved it. My granddaughter made another one before they left, and my husband also has made one recently. A first for him!Everyone loves it and I have had several request for the recipe. So easy and turns out great ( I did use more cool whip than the recipe called for to cover the cake). Thanks Kraft for all the great recipes!!!
Date published: 2007-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this & brought it to the office to try it out on my coworkers. I made this & brought it to the office to try it out on my coworkers. It was a big hit! I was told that I should make this for every big occasion that I have to make a dessert! It is a nice presentation food as well. Cutting a small slice & laying it down on the plate as though it just fell from the cake is pleasing to the eye, & it also allows for the layers to be on display as well (just like the picture above shows it being presented.)
Date published: 2007-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recipe was very easy to make. Recipe was very easy to make. I used the mini Oreo cookies instead of crushing the regular sized cookies and it worked just fine. You could make the dessert look even more impressive by garnishing with mini Oreo cookies, a drizzle of chocolate sauce or both. I made it to take to our friends' house and they loved it and requested the recipe. Remember, you do not have to tell anyone how easy this is. Just sit back and take the compliments.
Date published: 2007-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this recipe over the weekend, it was great! Made this recipe over the weekend, it was great! It was very easy to prepare, but would suggest making sure the ice-cream sandwiches are frozen solid prior to beginning. I prepared immiediately upon returning from the grocery store and the sandwiches melted during preparation. I also used fat-free and sugar-free options with almost all ingredients and no one could tell. So it was not only delicious, but low fat, and low sugar!
Date published: 2007-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME! AWESOME! Made it for my daughters 11th birthday. I will NEVER buy another ice cream cake; this one tasted better than any I've ever purchased! I used Sugar Free Hot Fudge, Pudding mix and Cool Whip. I used more Oreos than called for, and added extra crushed Oreos to the top before freezing. Cut slices in half for serving, and most people went back for another half-slice! Amazingly good, and we WILL make this again, probably soon!
Date published: 2010-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I needed to make a fast cake for a party this summer but due to work and kid stuff I was not going... I needed to make a fast cake for a party this summer but due to work and kid stuff I was not going to have enough time and I hate to show up with a store bought cake, so I grabed my Kraft cook book/ magazine and it was ready in no time. Everybody thought I slaved over it , it was the best desert at the party and the other best thing was I didn't have to break a sweat in the summer heat by turnnig the stove on!! Thank You
Date published: 2007-07-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for a family gathering. I made this recipe for a family gathering. It looked so good. I did not peal off the paper on the icecream sandwiches before getting started and therefore they started to melt when I was putting the layers together. It was a big mess, but I was able to save it by taking it apart after freezing it enough to re-work with it. Everyone loved it but I found that all it really tasted like was an ice cream sandwich.
Date published: 2008-11-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from With all the rave reviews, I was really disappointed. With all the rave reviews, I was really disappointed. I was really excited to make this, but in the end, everyone found the fudge layer too thick & rich and not enough ice cream to offset it. Even my 4 year old just picked through it and left most of it on her plate. I won't make this again, but I may use the recipe for that fudge later. That stuff would be great on a normal layer cake used more sparingly.
Date published: 2011-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a fabulous recipe, I used some gormet dark chocolate bar instead of the oreo's and covered... This is a fabulous recipe, I used some gormet dark chocolate bar instead of the oreo's and covered the top with fresh raspberries, then poured left over hot fudge all over and between the raspberries and sprinkled with the extra gormet chocolate. The cake looked georgeous like it came from a gormet bakery everyone absolutely loved it. It is now my signature dessert for any event I go to. Thanks Kraft Foods
Date published: 2007-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is absolutely fabulous. This is absolutely fabulous. It's not heavy at all and can easily be lightened by using sugar free pudding and fat free Cool Whip. I do recommend a larger tub of Cool Whip as I didn't have enough to make it look completely frosted. This presents well and makes you look like you spent forever in the kitchen. This is a keeper and can't wait to try it with Neopolitan ice cream sandwiches and other flavors.
Date published: 2007-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was excellent. This recipe was excellent. At Kroger, they have chocolate chip ice cream sandwhiches, thats what I used. I doubled the cool whip on the outer layer and sprinkled oreo cumbs on the top. I kept the cake in the freezer overnight, I actually put it on the place and then tented the foil around it. I kept in on the table about 30-45 minutes and didn' t have any melting!! I will defintley make this one again!
Date published: 2007-06-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from We made this for our daughter's 9th Birthday party and served it to her friends. We made this for our daughter's 9th Birthday party and served it to her friends. On top of being incredibly hard to cut, I had to get my husband to do it for me, it was also too hard to eat for little girls. They couldn't even cut off a piece to try at first. It tastes pretty good, but there are better recipes on Kraft then this one. It is very, very sweet and rich if that is what you are looking for.
Date published: 2007-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this recipe when we first received the magazine a month ago. Made this recipe when we first received the magazine a month ago. I have been asked to make it 7 times since then. I too have to add the milk to my fudge sauce, the only difference I do is to grind up the oreos fine so they mix into the fudge better. I have used neopolitain icecream sandwhiches for this as well as all chocolate as requested by a friend. Thank you Kraft for a wonderful recipe once again.
Date published: 2007-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter and I made this recipe many times now. My daughter and I made this recipe many times now. WE love it! We tried it with Vanilla pudding and other variations. We want to do the ice cream sandwhiches in neapolitan that we get at Walmart and then use strawberry ice cream topping with strawberry whip cream and vanilla cream filled cookies. I know it will be great too. The things you can do with this recipe are endless and it is so quick and easy.
Date published: 2007-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a birthday at the office, and everybody LOVED it (some were even licking their... I made this for a birthday at the office, and everybody LOVED it (some were even licking their plates...). Now everyone wants it for THEIR birthday party at the office, too! I used an extra-large container of Cool Whip to make sure no brown cake peeked through the white, and as long as you hold the cake from the bottom as you transfer it from counter to freezer, there's not much of a stickage problem.
Date published: 2007-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't make cakes of any kind-this was my first one and it was so simple and tasted so very good! I don't make cakes of any kind-this was my first one and it was so simple and tasted so very good! I made it for a family birthday (adult) instead of purchasing one, and nobody could believe I made it! I also used sugar free and fat free and no sugar added on all ingredients except the cookies. Next I'm going to try it will some peanut butter ice cream sandwiches as my husband loves peanut butter!
Date published: 2007-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this twice now. I have made this twice now. This last time was a request from the first time! Though I do have to make a small change to receipe. Due to cool whip having coconut (peanut allergy alert!) I just made my own whipping cream from heavy whipping cream, powdered sugar and vanilla extract. No compliants so don't think the change hurts it at all! This is yummy yummy yummy! A definite keeper in our home!
Date published: 2008-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is great! This is great!! I like alot of others made this for a Memorial Day weekend BBQ. I also doubled the Cool Whip; I bought the larger container on accident and figured a bit more on the cake couldn't hurt. Personally, I think it made it better. Tip: I spread a small bit of Cool Whip on the foil before laying down the first layer of sandwiches and it helped with the sticking that everyone has mentioned!!
Date published: 2007-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Found this recipe 10 days ago and have already made four of them! Found this recipe 10 days ago and have already made four of them! Took two to a 4th of July Picnic and they were gone in no time......made another two for a family picnic on Sunday and once again they were the hit of the picnic. The only change I made was to use about 12 oz. of Cool Whip. The 8 oz. did not provide enough to cover the whole thing. But this recipe is a definite keeper! Loved it!
Date published: 2007-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My oldest daughter saw this recipe and begged me to make it! My oldest daughter saw this recipe and begged me to make it! I'm so glad I read all the reviews before making! It is really easy and it helps if you keep the sandwiches frozen during preperations! I unwrapped the sandwiches and placed them on a sheet in the freezer while preparing pudding. I then prepared the first 2 layers and placed back in the freezer for a few minutes, then finished it off. I placed the cake in the freezer without covering completely with the foil until the cool whip was set. I then covered it up completely and when it was ready I didn't have a problem with the cool whip sticking to the foil. I added a bit of milk until I got it the consistency I wanted and I definately used more cool whip. It was wonderful! My mom requested it for her birthday and my husband was mad because he waited too late to get a piece and it was all gone!! This is a definate do over!!
Date published: 2007-06-03
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_135, tr_1363
  • loc_en_US, sid_106562, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

556841:106562

>