Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Original BAKER'S GERMAN'S Sweet Chocolate Cake

Prep Time
45
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
25
min.
Servings

16 servings

Make Original BAKER'S GERMAN'S Sweet Chocolate Cake for your next special occasion. Everyone adores Original BAKER'S GERMAN'S Sweet Chocolate Cake!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Cover bottoms of 3 (9-inch) round pans with parchment; spray sides with cooking spray. Microwave chocolate and water in large microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1-1/2 to 2 min. or until chocolate is almost melted, stirring after 1 min. Stir until chocolate is completely melted.
  • Beat egg whites in small bowl with mixer on high speed until stiff peaks form; set aside. Combine flour, baking soda and salt. Beat butter and sugar in large bowl with mixer until light and fluffy. Add egg yolks, 1 at a time, beating well after each. Blend in melted chocolate and vanilla. Add flour mixture alternately with buttermilk, beating until well blended after each addition.
  • Add egg whites; stir gently until well blended. Pour into prepared pans.
  • Bake 30 min. or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Immediately run small spatula around cakes in pans. Cool cakes in pans 15 min. Remove from pans to wire racks; cool completely.
  • Prepare Coconut-Pecan Filling and Frosting; spread between cake layers and onto top of cake.

Size Wise

This beloved and classic 3-layer cake is the perfect choice for a special occasion. Plan ahead and eat accordingly before enjoying a slice of this cake.

Substitute

If you don't have buttermilk, just add 1 Tbsp. lemon juice or vinegar to 1 cup milk; let stand 10 min.

Note

This delicate cake will have a flat slightly sugary top crust which tends to crack. The frosting will cover up these cracks.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 640
Total fat 38g
Saturated fat 21g
Cholesterol 150mg
Sodium 380mg
Carbohydrate 69g
Dietary fiber 3g
Sugars 54g
Protein 8g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Taste great...but, I followed this recipe exactly down to the time to remove from pan etc. Taste great...but, I followed this recipe exactly down to the time to remove from pan etc. but I will NEVER use wax paper again to line a pan as this recipe called for. When I turned it over it did not come out right away as I expected, so I tapped with my knuckles gently around the whole bottom , still no luck. Tapped some more at which it finally came out. I then proceeded to peel off the wax paper which took a lot of the cake with it. That entire layer was a loss because it took too much cake which caused this very tender cake to come apart. I left the other 2 layers in the pans until cooled, but I did run a thin knife around edge at the 20 minute mark out of the oven. That did help but still peeled off more cake than it should have. Parchment paper is the way to go in cake pans!!!
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from German's Sweet Chocolate Cake Every family gathering has at least one request for this cake. If instructions are followed carefully, this cake is wonderful!
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars! I wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars! I have had German Chocolate Cake (THIS ONE...NEVER A MIX!)for as long as I have a memory of being alive. My Mom always made German Chocolate Cake for Thanksgiving. It is my favorite cake of all time (well, maybe tied with my Mom's old-fashioned dried apple stack cake!). I have followed the tradition with my kids and now my grandkids. I wish Mom was still around to enjoy it with us.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is such a CLASSIC! This recipe is such a CLASSIC! It doesn't get any better. My mom made this cake when I was a little girl and I remember her keeping one in the freezer when company would drop in, but I also remember her grabbing a knife and her and I would sneak downstairs to the freezer and cut a slice....oh what memories! And I still make this over 40 years later. In the original recipe it called for cake flour anyway it's YUMMY!!!
Date published: 2011-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This wonderful recipe has been a family favorite for more than 25 years. This wonderful recipe has been a family favorite for more than 25 years. My Mother made it for our birthdays every year. We always compared every German Chocolate cake to Mom's & of course they never measured up. Mother had a stroke 2 years ago & it seemed the recipe was lost. Im so grateful that I found it on your website, so I can carry on the family tradition of 'The BEST German Chocolate Cake'.
Date published: 2003-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I can bake fairly well. I can bake fairly well. However, as one other the other **** stated my cupcakes collapsed. They dipped in the middle. Don't understand this. I thought maybe I had done something wrong. So about a week later, i made the recipe again ****** certain to follow it exactly. The same thing happened. Think this recipe is different than in the 1980's because back then I made this cake without any problems. I don't understand it. No problems with any other cake but this one. So one please tell me what happened?
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this specific recipe for over 40 years. I have made this specific recipe for over 40 years. It is my go-to for fundraisers, using heart-shaped pans and outlining both top and bottom with chocolate-dipped fresh strawberries. I do wish that the recipe were still on the box, but I am printing this one out and will tape it to the inside of my cupboard where the "best of the best " recipes reside. Marvelous!
Date published: 2016-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my mother didn't cook, my father taught me what i know about cooking! my mother didn't cook, my father taught me what i know about cooking! i found the recipt inside a bakers chocolate package in the 1960's and i've always wondered if i could ever find the recipt again ... it's so very cool that i found it on the internet. this is an incredible cake - so incredible i've taken the time out of my hectic schedule to write and share with all that we have a favorite frosting to use with this cake - italian meringue - um delish! i'm so very greatful to have found this recipe again. thank you kraft!
Date published: 2005-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this cake is delicious. this cake is delicious. My husband loves German Chocolate Cake, so I thought instead of box I would try one homemade. He loved it. Asked how I got it so moist and spongy. Told him it had to be the egg whites added in at the last. Made 9x13 so if anyone makes the 9x13 it does have to cook longer. Ended up cooking a total of about 50 minutes in glass 9x13.
Date published: 2013-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from There is a different process for cupcakes! There is a different process for cupcakes! Perhaps that is the problem that some of you are having. It creates a perfect cupcake, with*****ollapsing. The ingredient amounts are a bit different, creating more structure for the small cake. You can search here for the recipe.
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solving the "too sweet" problem I have been making this cake according to this original recipe for 40 years. I just NOW figured out how to cut down the sweetness! I find the problem to be the frosting. My modifications take more time, but the results justify it!
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The frosting IS the cake. The frosting IS the cake. Yummy wonderful. The secret to getting the cakes out of the pan is spraying AND cutting a round of parchment paper for the bottom. I didn't do this. Was very careful but the cakes stuck to the bottom. I used a metal spatula to remove the layers from the pan. They do not look nice. The frosting will save them. If you have a favorite chocolate cake recipe, I'd suggest you use that. This cake is good but frustrating & not so special that it can't be replaced & not missed.
Date published: 2013-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You can use Swans Down cake flour. You can use Swans Down cake flour. I believe its 2 extra tablespoons per cup. It says so on the box. I always use Cake flour when baking.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Well, I'm sure this is good - but it's not the original recipe. Well, I'm sure this is good - but it's not the original recipe. The original recipe called for swan's cake flour. Cake flour gives a lighter texture.
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BGARDELS on 9/11/2003 The Original German Sweet Chocolate cake was out of this world. BGARDELS on 9/11/2003 The Original German Sweet Chocolate cake was out of this world. I made it for my brother for his birthday because he said no one could match his mother-in-laws German Chocolate Cake. This one fits the bill as far as I'm concerned. I only make a two layer cake and put the rest of the batter in mini bundt cakes so I could keep some for my self. I ate two on the same days since they were so delicious.
Date published: 2003-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My grandma always made this for my grandpa in the 60s and 70s. My grandma always made this for my grandpa in the 60s and 70s. She would bake it in a 9x13 and then freeze individual pieces for his lunch pail. I have always loved this cake and have made it for my mom's birthday every year since around 1980. She requests it every year. Her birthday is right around the corner, and I'll be making it for her 70th!
Date published: 2006-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My grandma has made this cake for both my dad's and my uncle's birthdays for as long as I can... My grandma has made this cake for both my dad's and my uncle's birthdays for as long as I can remember. She uses a decadent chocolate buttercream frosting instead of the coconut/nut stuff. It's DELICIOUS! However, each layer falls in the middle, despite following the recipe exactly every time. Does anyone have any ideas re what could be happening?
Date published: 2011-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Words cannot describe how amazing this cake is. Words cannot describe how amazing this cake is. This is the first time I made a cake from scratch and it was perfect. I made it as a surprise for my husband and he couldn't get enough of it! So moist and delicious, and the filling is to die for!! I made the three layers - definitely worth the time! I will definitely make this again very soon!
Date published: 2010-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is FABULOUS. This cake is FABULOUS. NO WAY is it dry as dust...reviewer must have obviously done something wrong. I have made this exact recipe for years without one failure. This cake is moist and delicious. Believe the overwhelming reviews of how good this cake truly is! A family favorite requested for almost any occasion.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely the BEST German chocolate cake recipe! Absolutely the BEST German chocolate cake recipe! Cake is moist and very fluffy. The frosting is the best frosting recipe. There is plenty to go between each layer and on the sides. I have made other versions and this one is the BEST cake and frosting recipe! I will NEVER use another german chocolate recipe.
Date published: 2011-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome, delicious, wonderful! Awesome, delicious, wonderful! This is the best recipe I've ever used for german chocolate. This cake is extremely moist! You won't be disappointed. I cut back on the sugar - used about 1 1/4 cup instead of 2 cups. The frosting recipe is fantastic too and there's plenty to go between the 3 layers.
Date published: 2011-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe! Great recipe! The only thing I did differently was void the wax paper on the bottom and just sprayed my nonstick pan and poured the batter into it. It took my family about 4 days to finish the entire thing and it stayed moist and delicious the entire time! I love this. Definitely a family favorite.
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made for my son's birthday, OMG it is the bomb ! Made for my son's birthday, OMG it is the bomb !! For first time a little time consuming but I think will get better as I continue making again and again. Looked georgeous when finished!! Will be taking to family Easter gather. Have a feeling this will be a yearly birthday request.
Date published: 2011-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been baking this cake 2 to 3 times per year since 1971! I have been baking this cake 2 to 3 times per year since 1971! A yummy classic family favorite. I'm baking it today in honor of my son's 35th birthday. It's extra special to be doing so as my other son and family, who live in Minnesota, arrive today and will be enjoying it with us!
Date published: 2012-01-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My husband loves this cake and I've made it more than two dozen times. My husband loves this cake and I've made it more than two dozen times. The icing is wonderful. The cake itself is nasty and dry as dust. I was searching the internet for some means of fixing that when I stumbled across these reviews and felt the need to set the record straight.
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Falling My mother made this same cake years ago and something has changed. The wax paper/parchment paper does not help. What ingredient has changed? I follow the recipe to the T and my cakes fall. I have made other cakes from scratch using cake flour and baking powder and they don't fall.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The taste is great; however; like many of the other reviews, my cupcakes fell flat. The taste is great; however; like many of the other reviews, my cupcakes fell flat. Therefore, I am giving this recipe a 2 star review. I will not be using this recipe again, nor recommending to other. Please skip and keep sharing for a good recipe, because this one isn't it.
Date published: 2014-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from There is a different process for cupcakes! There is a different process for cupcakes! Perhaps that is the problem that some of you are having. It creates a perfect cupcake, with*****ollapsing. The ingredient amounts are a bit different, creating more structure for the small cake. You can search here for the recipe.
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My sister and I are 3 years apart, (both born in March) and every year for about 50 years this is... My sister and I are 3 years apart, (both born in March) and every year for about 50 years this is the ONLY cake we ever want!! It has become a tradition, she makes the filling, I bake the cake, we LOVE this cake...we take one bite and already decide we want another piece!!!
Date published: 2007-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dad's favorite cake is German chocolate, so for his birthday I made him this recipe. My dad's favorite cake is German chocolate, so for his birthday I made him this recipe. It was a little tedious (as I am not an avid from-scratch cake maker) but it was really good and I didn't mess it up! I was surprised. SO yummy. Definitely do the three levels.
Date published: 2007-03-20
  • y_2017, m_3, d_28, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_54, tr_100
  • loc_en_US, sid_51120, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

503077:51120

>