Our Best Cheesecake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Our Best Cheesecake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
6
hr.
25
min.
Servings

16 servings

Impress guests with Our Best Cheesecake recipe. Not only is this cherry cheesecake recipe our best cheesecake recipe, it's also one of the easiest to make!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Mix graham crumbs, butter and 1/4 cup sugar; press onto bottom of 9-inch springform pan.
  • Beat cream cheese and remaining sugar in large bowl with mixer until blended. Add sour cream and vanilla; mix well. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating on low speed after each addition just until blended. Pour over crust.
  • Bake 1 hour to 1 hour 10 min. or until center is almost set. Run knife around rim of pan to loosen cake; cool before removing rim. Refrigerate cheesecake 4 hours.
  • Top with pie filling before serving.

Size Wise

Since this indulgent cheesecake makes 16 servings, it is the perfect dessert to serve at your next party.

Substitute

Prepare using PHILADELPHIA Neufchatel Cheese.

How to Easily Cut Creamy Desserts

When cutting creamy-textured desserts, such as cheesecake, carefully wipe off the knife blade between cuts with a clean damp towel. This prevents the creamy filling from building up on the blade, ensuring nice clean cuts that leave the filling intact.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 370
Total fat 23g
Saturated fat 13g
Cholesterol 110mg
Sodium 290mg
Carbohydrate 36g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 28g
Protein 5g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is easy and excellent. This recipe is easy and excellent. It is the classic rich thick cheesecake that sells in the store for almost $20. By following this recipe, you will have an incredible cheesecake for just a fraction! Just make sure you let the cake chill so it can set properly. I always leave it overnight. You can add any ingredient extra you want to this recipe - caramel, nuts, chocolate, or fruits. I like the plain cheesecake myself, and I have a secret little trick to make it taste incredibly awesome: just add about 2-3 drops of Maple Extract to the cheese mixture. Do not over-do it or it will be too overbearing. Just a couple drops intensifies the cheesecake flavor and enhances the buttery graham flavor of the crust. I LOVE IT!!!! 5 STARS!!!
Date published: 2010-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good recipe, but my cheesecake keeps cracking an while letting it cool it cracks some more. Good recipe, but my cheesecake keeps cracking an while letting it cool it cracks some more. My kids love it and it does taste good but my cheesecake just seems to keep cracking. The first time it happened I thought may I overmixed so I made it once again and was careful this time not to overmix and it still cracked.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I read the reviews before giving it a try. I read the reviews before giving it a try. One thing I did differently was to bake my crust for about 6 minutes. One reviewer stated that it was a bland, it was a tiny bit bland so I added two teaspoons of vanilla bean paste. I used the remaining homemade raspberry sauce to drizzle and help with the flavor. I crushed up a few walnuts and added them to the graham cracker crumb mixture prior to baking. Everyone loved it, we ran out! And, I'm a pro baker but VERY rarely make cheesecakes. This is a good recipe.
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC cheesecake...everyone has loved it the four times I've made it recently. FANTASTIC cheesecake...everyone has loved it the four times I've made it recently. I recommend another user's comment to wrap the bottom of the springform pan in foil (make it tight and waterproof) and place it in a larger baking dish. Add water to the baking dish and put it in the oven like that. This results in a moist, picture-perfect cheesecake. I forgot to do this once and the top came out with a raised brown crust that cracked slightly. Much less attractive, although the taste was the same. Enjoy!
Date published: 2007-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the only recipe I use for my bakery. This is the only recipe I use for my bakery. It's simple to make alterations when making a specialty flavor. My customers love it.. The only thing I do different, is once it's baked for 1 hour and 10 minutes (for my oven), I run a knife around the edge of the pan, to loosen the sides as it cools. I then turn off the oven, open the door slightly and let the cake sit in the oven for another hour, then remove it and let it cool on the counter.. No cracks, just perfection! Will always use this recipe.
Date published: 2014-04-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I followed this recipe exactly as stated, except for baking it an additional 10 minutes because I... I followed this recipe exactly as stated, except for baking it an additional 10 minutes because I knew it was not done. It looked okay right before I turned the over off, but when I came back and looked at it, the whole inside had fallen in. Ok, not terrible that it fell, it made for a good spot to load strawberries in the middle, but still it was a very ugly cheesecake. On top of that, when we tasted it, it tasted just like sweetened ricotta cheese, texture and all. I left in in the fridge over night and served it for Thanksgiving, but it was still not up to par. It still had a ricotta texture. I have no idea how first timers who have made this have had it come out perfectly. I don't see anything I did wrong, so I will just say I did not like this cheesecake and will not make it again. It is by far, not your best cheesecake.
Date published: 2008-11-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is a good everyday cheesecake. This is a good everyday cheesecake. I did find it a bit too sweet and moist, soI added the juice and zest of 1 lemon splitting it between the cake and the cherry topping. When I make it again, I will substitute ricotta or mascarpone for 8 oz. of the cream cheese. This should dry out the texture. Also, in the crust, I substituted Nilla Vanilla Wafers and used only about 2 Tbsp. of sugar. I used unsalted butter for the butter in the crust.
Date published: 2002-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cheesecake for my mother's 50th birthday and 15 of our friends and family, I brought it... I made this cheesecake for my mother's 50th birthday and 15 of our friends and family, I brought it the restaurant so that we could have it for desert...well the chef came out and asked me If I actually made the cake, he said he has never seen or tasted a better cheesecake - now that was a great compliment, knowing that it was first time ever making a cheesecake, I opted for a Real Rasberries with a rasberry sauce instead of cherries.
Date published: 2002-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe yesterday and the filling was great. I made this recipe yesterday and the filling was great. My crust didn't come out right though.It was the first cheesecake i made so i didnt know how to tell if it was done. Ipokek the middle with a tooth pick liek you would a cake and the cheesecake ended up cracking so don't do that. The cheesecake would have been perfect with no cracks. It was soo creamy and good. Deffinately be makign this again! Mom and cousin and I loved it.
Date published: 2007-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was an awesome cheesecake! This was an awesome cheesecake! After the cheesecake was done baking, I was worried when I saw that the cheesecake had rised and cracked. I decided to just do what the recipe said, and cracked the oven door to let it cool. It settled and became normal. Only one crack remained but, either way, it was going to be covered! It tasted great! I choose this recipe since we were having guests over, and they thought it was good!
Date published: 2010-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After trying several other recipes, this was the one we settled on for our daughter's wedding... After trying several other recipes, this was the one we settled on for our daughter's wedding reception. I made all 13 cheesecakes -- and we still love this recipe. I found that baking it in a water bath eliminated the problem of the top cracking. Rather than cherry pie filling, we gave our guests the choice of carmel, fudge, or strawberry topping. It was a hit. Will I use the recipe again?? Always!
Date published: 2003-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best cheesecake I've ever made and I've been cooking for over 50 years. This is the best cheesecake I've ever made and I've been cooking for over 50 years. It's easy to make, has excellent texture and flavor and I top mine with a strawberry glaze. My family requests this often and it has replaced many of our traditional cakes for birthdays. I've even had some of my employees request it for their birthdays. Needless to say I make this one a LOT.
Date published: 2009-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from At first I thought that this recipe would be hard to make but once i started it was not that hard... At first I thought that this recipe would be hard to make but once i started it was not that hard and it was one of the easist cheese cakes i ever made. It was also one of the best cheese cakes i ever had and my kids who don't like cheese cakes loved it no one in my family could get enough of it. I know that i am going to make it alot espcailly for special occations.
Date published: 2003-05-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from i have made this recipe a few times and everytime it seems to flow over my springform pan. i have made this recipe a few times and everytime it seems to flow over my springform pan. then the top seems to get a weird skin on it. it doesn't seem to affect the taste too much, and people tend to eat it anyway. i think i might reduce the amount of sour cream used in the future though...it makes it a little too tangy for the people in my family.
Date published: 2005-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe! This is a great recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving and had rave reviews. I did make a couple of adjustments to the crust including increasing the receipe to make the crust thicker and adding chopped candied pecans to the crust. This added another dimension and was well received. Enjoy. I have made several cheesecakes and this is definitely a keeper.
Date published: 2008-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really is the BEST CHEESECAKE! This really is the BEST CHEESECAKE! I am a self professed cheesecake snob and as such- I have never enjoyed a homemade cheesecake. I finally decided to make my own and it was AMAZING. I enjoy cooking and baking, but I am no expert. This was very simple, looked beautiful and tasted even better. I will never try another recipe- this is it!
Date published: 2010-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was told to line outside of the springform pan with aluminum foil and place in a pan of water to... I was told to line outside of the springform pan with aluminum foil and place in a pan of water to bake and also to leave in oven for 1 hr. with door open after it has finished baking. These two steps and of course the recipe created some of the best cheesecake I and my guests have ever taisted and no unsightly cracking on top of the cake.
Date published: 2004-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this many times....I don't alter anything. I have made this many times....I don't alter anything. Hint: make sure eggs are at room temp and put a pan of water in the oven as you start to pre-heat and keep in oven during baking. Both of these will prevent cracking of the top....just in case you drizzle a topping over the cake instead of spreading a topping. MMmmmmmm good!
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been using this recipe for over 20 years! I have been using this recipe for over 20 years! I am famous for my cheesecakes, and I used to bake them for a restaurant. Everyone raves on my cheesecakes. It's easy to make, you can add anything to it and it tastes great. This is the only cheesecake recipe I make and I've tried several. I will keep using it for another 20 years!
Date published: 2004-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cheesecake! Great cheesecake!! I don't use the water bath and it comes perfect every time, I have been making this recipe for about 6 years and always get compliments, sometimes i top it with canned cherries or blueberries but yesterday i topped it with a nutella sauce (nutella+heavy whipping cream) and using a vanilla bean... It's sinful...
Date published: 2012-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was great. This recipe was great. I prepared how it said, then cooked it for an hour and 5 minutes, let it set in the oven (without the door propped) for an hour, let it cool on a rack for an hour then popped it in the refrigerator overnight. Very few cracks and the center sink a little bit but it tasted great and it was a serious success!!
Date published: 2008-11-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok cheesecake! Ok cheesecake! I recently made this cheesecake for my family and they thought that it was good but I didn't really like it. I was not really sweet and the sour cream made it really tangy. I dressed it up with some chocolate and nuts and that made it taste alot better, but I will alter this recipe if I decide to make it again.
Date published: 2005-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made many cheesecakes, and this recipe is definitely one of my favorites. I've made many cheesecakes, and this recipe is definitely one of my favorites. I made it for my 15 year old daughter's birthday and she declared it the best cheesecake I've made. I made the recipe exactly as listed and it turned out very creamy and wasn’t over cooked. It’s a simple yet elegant dessert for any occasion.
Date published: 2009-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I first discovered this receipe in 2002 and have made it many times. I first discovered this receipe in 2002 and have made it many times. It is the creamest, best cheesecake I have ever made and I have made many cheesecakes in the past 20 years. This is my starting point for all the cheesecakes I now make. Thank you for Our Best Cheesecake---------it really is your best, in my opinion.
Date published: 2002-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this last night. I made this last night. I had some issues with the crust, but I've never made my own crust before, so that was probably user error. The flavor is great! I would make this again, but try a water bath next time. I didn't see that listed in the recipe instructions, so I didn't do that and the top of the cheesecake cracked.
Date published: 2008-03-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I went exacly by the recipe and was not impressed. I went exacly by the recipe and was not impressed. This was a trial run for Thanksgiving...needless to say I will be making something different. The cake was lovely & good texture, however, taste was not great...just kinda ok. The crust was delicious but the cheescake was kinda dry for me. Won't make this recipe again.
Date published: 2004-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been making this recipe for almost 20 years and it's ALWAYS been a winner. I have been making this recipe for almost 20 years and it's ALWAYS been a winner. For the few that haven't cared for it, experiment! Try different flavors, add a little sugar to the sour cream, maybe a little lemon to the cream cheese. You're a cook, go crazy! A little common sense in the kitchen never hurts either.
Date published: 2007-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cheesecake for dessert for Easter. I made this cheesecake for dessert for Easter. It was so easy. I was a little apprehensive because I had heard that cheesecakes were very hard to make. This was the very first time that I had made one. I was glad that I found this recipe. The cake was creamy and delicious. I would definitely make it again.
Date published: 2005-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved the creamy texture of this and I made it in a 7" springform pan so it came out nice and tall... I loved the creamy texture of this and I made it in a 7" springform pan so it came out nice and tall but the texture was still even throughout. I used a water bath and after I turned the oven off I didn't open the door for about 20 minutes. Then I left it in with the door ajar for the rest of the 40 minutes.
Date published: 2006-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome recipe. Awesome recipe. The water bath definately helped with cracks. Each time I serve it and a new person tries it I am told that it is the best they every tasted. My question is that I am making mini pastries for my daughter's graduation party. Do you think that these would bake well in paper cupcake liners?
Date published: 2008-05-30
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_54, tr_232
  • loc_en_US, sid_54757, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

507406:54757

>