PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
5
hr.
45
min.
Servings

16 servings

Watch our video to learn how to make this delicious PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake. Prepare this rich, creamy PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake today!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 325°F.
  • Combine graham crumbs, 3 Tbsp. sugar and butter; press onto bottom of 9-inch springform pan.
  • Beat cream cheese, 1 cup sugar and vanilla with mixer until blended. Add eggs, 1 at a time, mixing on low speed after each just until blended. Pour over crust.
  • Bake 55 min. or until center is almost set. Run knife around rim of pan to loosen cake; cool before removing rim. Refrigerate cheesecake 4 hours.

Size Wise

Sweets can add enjoyment to a balanced diet, but remember to keep tabs on portions.

Note

Reduce oven temperature to 300°F if using a dark nonstick springform pan.

Special Extra

Top chilled cheesecake with your favorite fresh fruit just before serving.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 340
Total fat 25g
Saturated fat 14g
Cholesterol 130mg
Sodium 320mg
Carbohydrate 24g
Dietary fiber 0g
Sugars 19g
Protein 6g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is simple and if you follow the directions, it never fails. This recipe is simple and if you follow the directions, it never fails. It is a family favorite and I highly recommend it. I made no changes to the recipe, however, I did put a pan of water on the rack below it. When the cake is done I turn the stove off and open the door of the oven, letting the cake cool slowly at first. After about five minutes I remove it from the oven totally and gently loosen the sides with a knife. I never have problems with the cake cracking on the surface.
Date published: 2013-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not bad for my first ever attempt at making cheesecake. Not bad for my first ever attempt at making cheesecake. I didn't have graham crackers, so crushed up some macaroon cookies that no one seemed to want to eat. I didn't read the instructions thoroughly and added the eggs with the other instead waiting until after the other ingredients were mixed. I also left the cake in the oven for an extra 15 minutes, paranoid that the center wouldn't set, which I guess caused it to crack. 5*'s because it tasted it still tasted very good. Next time I'll follow the instructions more closely and use some fruit.
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone who gave a low star rating on this recipe must have done something wrong. Everyone who gave a low star rating on this recipe must have done something wrong. As for the dense/heavy comment...Of course it's dense. That's what five packages of cream cheese would do.This was my first and only cheesecake recipe I've used over the years. Never disappoints!Been making it for 10 years now.
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from To keep my cheesecakes from cracking, I place a pan of water in the bottom rack of the oven, leave... To keep my cheesecakes from cracking, I place a pan of water in the bottom rack of the oven, leave the door shut!! This is very important. About 10 minutes before the baking time is over, I turn the oven off. Leave in the oven for at least one hour to cool naturally. Then I move it to a location where there are no drafts. A room with a ceiling fan is not a good idea!
Date published: 2006-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the time Made a lot of these. One tip. Put about 1/2 pan of water, I use an old 9x13 in the oven while it's baking. Needs to go on The rack below the cake. The steam almost assures it won't crack.
Date published: 2016-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For Those Who Have Issues With Soggy Crust I make this all the time. I saw some say the crust was a bit soggy. I always press the crust and bake it for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. Set it out and let it cool while mixing your cake ingredients. I have never had a soggy crust. Hope this helps.
Date published: 2016-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make it for diabetics by using splendia in place of sugar. I make it for diabetics by using splendia in place of sugar. I usually use about 3/4 cup of splendia instead of sugar. I also make it in a graham cracker crust instead of a spring pan. it is really good and you don't miss the sugar. the only sugar is in the crust. (1 serving 6gm of sugar).
Date published: 2010-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY easy! I make this by the original recipe, but smoke it at medium heat in my Traeger smoker!! I wrap the bottom of the springform pan in foil and set it into a cast iron skillet with about an inch of water inside! ( this is important so the water doesn't seep into the crust!) It takes about an hour and NEVER cracks! The flavor is a very subtle smokiness. Misquite or Hickory pellets are my go too for the fire!!
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turned Out Great It took me a long time to make this, although most of the time was inactive. The only thing that I didn't really like was that the crust was sort of soggy... It didn't really have any crunch. But one has to keep in mind that this recipe doesn't require many ingredients like other recipes do. This was actually the first time I made a cheesecake... So if I can do it, you can!
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, but not great. Good, but not great. Not sweet enough, very heavy/dense. Will not make again. Cooking tips: Be sure to use a 9" Springform pan or bottom-breakaway pan not a 9.5" or 0" pan or it will not be high enough.
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my go to cheesecake recipe. This is my go to cheesecake recipe. It's the one from the inside of the box and I've made it for years. Usually during the holidays I make two, one following the recipe and topped with cherries, and the second I make an Oreo crust and mix in cocoa powder with half the batter and swirl it in the regular cheesecake and top with a sprinkle of chocolate chips. SOOOO YUMMY! oh, I sometimes use ginger snap cookies instead of graham crackers for the crust.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great plain cheesecake. This was a great plain cheesecake. I froze several pieces and they seemed even better after thawing than freshly made, even months later. I substituted half the sugar with Splenda and half the cream cheese with low-fat cream cheese, and it tasted great!!
Date published: 2005-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is by far the BEST cheesecake recipe I have come across. This is by far the BEST cheesecake recipe I have come across. I made 11 cheesecakes for my wedding on New Years day. Everyone loved it, and wanted to know what bakery I got them from! They were suprised to find out I made them, and used this recipe.
Date published: 2009-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just delicious. Just delicious. I put a chocolate ganache "frosting" on top and it was out of this world. Thanks, Kraft.
Date published: 2008-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THANKS GOD I FOUND THE PERFECT RECIPE OF MY FAVORITE PLAIN CHEESECAKE. THANKS GOD I FOUND THE PERFECT RECIPE OF MY FAVORITE PLAIN CHEESECAKE. I HAVE OTHER RECIPES THAT DID NOT SATIFIES ME AT ALL, BUT THIS IS GORGEOUS. I AM ON A DIET RIGHT NOW; AND STILL USING THIS RECIPE WITH LOW FAT CHEESECREAM AND SPLENDA. YOU CANNOT BELIEVE ITS LOW CARB. WHOAAAAAOO!!!!!
Date published: 2005-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this Recipe for my Husband's Birthday last night and it was so delicious, he loved it. I did modified the crust though, i don't really care for Graham Crackers so i decided to make a Oatmeal Crust and it turned out so great with a nice little crunch. Thank you for the Recipe.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for my dad, as we are both huge cheesecake fans, and it came out with the perfect texture... Made this for my dad, as we are both huge cheesecake fans, and it came out with the perfect texture and flavor. I added the zest and juice of one large lemon as a variation, and it came out wonderful and refreshing. The graham cracker crust was so easy to put together. A few other reviewers mentioned a problem with cracking. Just make the cake in a standard glass pie dish and set in a baking sheet filled with water. The moisture from the evaporating water in the oven helps keep the cheesecake from cracking.
Date published: 2006-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my favorite cheesecake recipe. This is my favorite cheesecake recipe. It is simple, no nonsense and tastes delicious. I do run my crust up the sides of the pan to some extent and also line mine with wax paper or foil because I have a funky springform pan that has some of the nonstick coating coming off.
Date published: 2015-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used this recipe instead of the Philly New York Style one and it came out quite different. Used this recipe instead of the Philly New York Style one and it came out quite different. It did look nice and tasted good but the texture was off a little. I cooked it for 55 minutes and once it cooled in the fridge, I found the cheese part was too mushy, almost raw. The sides and edges were brown, so I thought it was done. But the rest was just off. Maybe it needed a little flour. I don't know. But I will keep trying.
Date published: 2012-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was afraid to attempt Cheesecake and have had some disasters. I was afraid to attempt Cheesecake and have had some disasters. Since I found & tried this recipe I am a "Cheesecake Expert" I use this as my base and the range of flavors you can add to it is limited only by your imagination.
Date published: 2006-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Confidence builder My first two cheesecakes had more ingredients and instructions than this recipes, but both had horrible cracks, and uneven browning. What's worse is that even though the adults thought they tasted okay the kids weren't as into them as usual. I was about to go back to buying cheesecake, when I tried this. I followed the instructions exactly (300 degree for 55 minutes using a dark non-stick pan). I now believe I can do it. It is beautiful, the texture is perfect and it is delicious!!
Date published: 2017-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1st Time- Delicious!! This was the first time I've ever baked a cheesecake and it turned out wonderful. It was eaten in 2 days. I had to make another one for my boyfriend on the 3rd day.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a secret step for no cracks1 I've made this recipe a million times. The secret to baking a cheesecake with out cracks thru the middle is to make a "bath" for it while in the oven. Take a 13 x 9 pan and put about half inch of water in it. Place the pan below the rack you are baking cheesecake on. When cheesecake is finished baking, turn oven off and keep door closed. Let it cool down ( and get a steam bath from the water) until oven is cool. Place in room temperature for an hour before putting in fridge.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so easy and so good! This was so easy and so good! I added pureed blueberries to the top and used a butter knife to marble it! It was a hit with my family!
Date published: 2007-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy but not quick! Lol First time trying. It was wonderful. Was nervous at first it was so jiggley in the middle but looked done after 55 minutes on the top. SO I took it out and set it on my stove. I let it cool about 15 minutes before I took a knife to loosen it. I left the ring on it and put it in the fridge. We ate it before the recommended cooling period (like three hours). I'd recommend you make it early enough to stay in the refrigerator at least the amount of time recommended.
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So So Lumpy no matter how much was mixed. My cream cheese was softened too:(
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I read alot of people wanting advice on how to stop their cheesecake from cracking, what I do is... I read alot of people wanting advice on how to stop their cheesecake from cracking, what I do is wrap my 9inch spring form pan with tin foil up the sides, then i place the springform pan in a baking pan/drip pan. I then fill the pan with 1 inch of water, and bake it that way. Also do not open the oven no matter how tempted you are, that also causes the cheesecake to crack. The moisture of the water in the shallow dish will help stop your cheesecake from cracking
Date published: 2006-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful and creamy This is a super easy recipe to put together. I do not bake very much so mine turned out a bit too soft (I should have baked it the whole 55 minutes, obviously). It had a big crack across the middle, but I believe that is my fault as I accidentally hit cancel on my oven and even though I immediately put it back on 325, it had to preheat some. Ugh. Still tastes wonderful. I will try again sometime soon and hopefully create that masterpiece dessert! :)
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always turn to this recipe to make the perfect cheesecake. I always turn to this recipe to make the perfect cheesecake. It is my husband's favorite dessert and my co-workers always beg me to make it for our holiday party. I make only two a year, one for the holiday party and one for my husband's birthday because it is such a rich cheesecake. I experiment a bit with the crust, but graham cracker is always the best I think. I buy canned cherry or blueberry topping for people to add on top if they like.
Date published: 2011-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from THis is my second time making cheesecake and I gotta say it was a success! THis is my second time making cheesecake and I gotta say it was a success! This recipe is very easy considering I don't cook at all and I was able to make it. It taste great but for some reason...my cake had 3 huge crack in it...so it look like my cake went thru a earthquake or something haha...But I would definately make this again...all my friends said it tastes great! (and they weren't just being nice ! )
Date published: 2009-06-19
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_189, tr_257
  • loc_en_US, sid_52544, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

501761:52544

>