PHILADELPHIA New York-Style Sour Cream-Topped Cheesecake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

PHILADELPHIA New York-Style Sour Cream-Topped Cheesecake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
5
hr.
5
min.
Servings

16 servings

Philly meets NYC in this classic pairing of cheesecake and graham cracker crust. A deliciously sweetened sour cream layer ups the ante on this version.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 325°F.
  • Line 13x9-inch pan with foil, with ends of foil extending over sides. Combine graham crumbs, butter and 2 Tbsp. sugar; press onto bottom of prepared pan.
  • Beat cream cheese, 1 cup of the remaining sugar and 1 tsp. vanilla in large bowl with mixer until blended. Add 1 cup sour cream; mix well. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating on low speed after each just until blended. Pour over crust.
  • Bake 40 min. or until center is almost set. Mix 1/4 cup of the remaining sugar, remaining sour cream and remaining vanilla until blended; carefully spread over cheesecake. Bake 10 min. Cool completely. Refrigerate 3 hours.
  • Use foil handles to lift cheesecake from pan before cutting to serve. Toss blackberries with remaining sugar; spoon over cheesecake.

Healthy Living

Great news! You'll save 70 calories and 8g of fat, including 6g of saturated fat, per serving by preparing with margarine, PHILADELPHIA Neufchatel Cheese, and BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream.

Substitute

Substitute 1-1/2 cups finely crushed OREO Cookies for the graham cracker crumbs.

Substitute

Substitute sliced strawberries for the blackberries.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 410
Total fat 29g
Saturated fat 17g
Cholesterol 150mg
Sodium 320mg
Carbohydrate 31g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 25g
Protein 7g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 8 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from This isn't hard to make. This isn't hard to make. My cake didnt crack at all [i cut the recipe in half and used a premade pie crust, which was filled to the brim], and ontop of that my cream cheese was cold, i put all the eggs in at once, and stirred with a whisk the entire time. clearly i was in a rush, but in the end the cake came out perfectly. no cracks, just smooth, creamy, cheesecake
Date published: 2007-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe as my daughter's birthday cake. I made this recipe as my daughter's birthday cake. Everyone loved it! It was easy to make, and looked beautiful. I served it with a fresh blueberry compote. The only problem I had was that it came out a little gritty. I am not sure if this is just the recipe or something I did wrong. I used 1/3 fat cream cheese. Other than that, everything was exact to the recipe.
Date published: 2009-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheesecake is a challenge for the Novice Cook, however, with Kraft's recipe for New York Style... Cheesecake is a challenge for the Novice Cook, however, with Kraft's recipe for New York Style Cheesecake even the more experienced cook will find it a breeze to make. Flavorful, not too sweet, a balance between sweet and tart, a cookie crust and creamcheese which is an excellent source of protein for growing kids, and the biggest kids in the family ;-)
Date published: 2010-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an easy way to make cheesecake for a large party of people and it is every bit as good as... This is an easy way to make cheesecake for a large party of people and it is every bit as good as it's traditional counterpart. Instead of the strawberries I used the canned cherry pie filling and spooned it over the cut pieces right before serving it. That way it drizzles down over the edge and is a beautiful as well as delicious dessert.
Date published: 2007-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a tip, I didnt want to deal with making the crust so I made the cheesecake in 2 store bought... Just a tip, I didnt want to deal with making the crust so I made the cheesecake in 2 store bought graham cracker pie crusts. The pies came out perfect and were great for taking to a few friends for the holidays. The recipe didnt even need any altering. I even made miniature ones they were delicious. this recipe is very versitile.
Date published: 2007-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was soooooo gooooood. This was soooooo gooooood. I did use a store bought graham cracker crust just because I had it. It was a small one so I cut the recipe in half and expected a disaster. I also added lemon zest and a little lemon juice like someone else suggested, and much to my surpirse I am having a lot of trouble staying out of it.
Date published: 2008-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb! Superb!!! Awesome and Delicious...pleases the crowd each time. A friend asked me to make this as a dessert for her wedding. The perfectionist that I am, the presentation and taste almost makes me feel like I am a professional. Would make and share this recipe time and again. I now have the recipe in my head.
Date published: 2009-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe and gave some to my mother and siblings. I made this recipe and gave some to my mother and siblings. By the the time I was done I did not have that much left for my self and my family so I had to make another one. I made it without the strawberries and it was still delicious. I also took it out a little earlier and it was more rich the second time.
Date published: 2008-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe today.. I made this recipe today.. Love it.. I looked at several recipes befor I settle on this one.. Mine was not set enough in the middle aftr 40 minutes. I turned oven down to 250 and baked it for about another 20 minutes and it is perfect.. I am taking it to a garden party tomorrow and I know it will be a hit.
Date published: 2009-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cheesecake for Easter and it was a big hit with everyone (even the grandchildren). I made this cheesecake for Easter and it was a big hit with everyone (even the grandchildren). I topped each piece with frozen strawberries (thawed) and whipped cream. I also liked the idea of a regular pan rather than messing around with the spring form pan. I plan on making this again real soon.
Date published: 2007-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was very easy to make and the taste was out of this world. It was very easy to make and the taste was out of this world. I loved it and so did my entire family. Including my brother-in-law who doesn't eat cheesecake but did just for me. He said this is the only cheesecake that he will ever eat and only if I make it. Thank you for sharing this with me!
Date published: 2007-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cheesecake turned out really good! This cheesecake turned out really good! I had 2 boxes of regular and 2 boxes of Philly Free and I combined them. Also used lowfat sour cream. Great texture, tasted great! I took it to a dinner party and everyone enjoyed it. They didnt have a clue it was low/non fat at all. I will make it again!
Date published: 2007-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good recipe, this time I used strawberries, I used a container of frozen strawberries in sauce... Very good recipe, this time I used strawberries, I used a container of frozen strawberries in sauce (thawed first) and then I layed down my sliced strawberries like this recipe said. Everyone LOVED it and others asked for MORE. Previously I topped it with carmel and pecans, this was also a hit.
Date published: 2007-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is so super easy to make. This recipe is so super easy to make. I did in the prepared crusts that you get at the store and it worked great. My guests LOVED the cheesecake and I loved that is was so easy to make. I was hesitant about the sour cream topping but it was the perfect addition to an already yummy cheesecake.
Date published: 2010-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was simply put together and all instructions were simple. This was simply put together and all instructions were simple. I doubled my crust before adding the cheesecake (but that's just how I like it). Then with the topping I add a touch of lemon zest, which really brings out all of the flavors in the topping (I think). It's a definite MUST TRY!
Date published: 2011-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this last night. I made this last night. My cream cheese was not quite room tempature maybe that is why it cracked a little. I topped it with the sour cream mixture and it looked fine, you couldnt tell it had cracked at all. Over all it tasted great and very easy to make! I will definitly make this again.
Date published: 2007-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been married for over 30 years and have made many cheesecakes for my husband, I made this... I have been married for over 30 years and have made many cheesecakes for my husband, I made this cheesecake this week and he fell in love with it! He told me this was the best one I have ever made! He also said I coud get rid of all my other recipes for cheesecake! This is awesome!
Date published: 2009-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I also LOVED this recipe! I also LOVED this recipe!!! The making is very easy. I watched my mother do it. Since she does a different type of cheesecake with half-half and etc. This one was cheaper to make and easier!!!! We added Cherries....and Whip Cream!! YUMMY....!!!!!!! I will do it again...and Sell it!!!
Date published: 2007-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We had a difference of opinions for the rating on this one. We had a difference of opinions for the rating on this one. Some of my family loved it (5) and some not so much (3). So I'm giving it a 4 as an average. This cheesecake has a strong vanilla flavor so if you're not crazy about vanilla, you should probably cut back on it a little.
Date published: 2007-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time ever making cheesecake & thanks to this recipe it was easy and tasted mmm so good. First time ever making cheesecake & thanks to this recipe it was easy and tasted mmm so good. Made it for Mother's Day, everyone loved it! My family said it tasted rich, just like the ones they serve at restaurants. I've made it many more times, so easy, you must try it! :)
Date published: 2011-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make and it turned out fabulous! Easy to make and it turned out fabulous! Everyone loved it. I used 2 pre-made graham pie shells instead for making my own in a 9x13 which worked out great. That made it easier for me to transport one for a small birthday celebration and to keep one for us here at home.
Date published: 2007-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this recipe is so easy to make and soooo good....made this for our potluck at work... this recipe is so easy to make and soooo good....made this for our potluck at work... everyone loved it!!...one of my coworker love it so much that she could not stop talking about it...now she's asking me for the recipe....i'll make this for our Thansgiving dessert....
Date published: 2007-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Delicious!! I served it with a choice of raspberries or strawberries for Easter dinner. I used lite cream cheese, etc. to keep the calorie count down. I have made many cheesecakes and this one was easy and probably the best one I ever made. It definitely was a hit!!
Date published: 2007-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST cheesecake I've ever tasted! THE BEST cheesecake I've ever tasted! Not too sweet, not too tart... and sooo creamy! I too doubled the crust, I love a thicker crust. Do follow the time as stated, yes it jiggles, but it sets perfectly once chilled! This is my new cheesecake recipe from now on!
Date published: 2012-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was my first time ever making a cheesecake. This was my first time ever making a cheesecake. I made it for my dad for Father's Day. We're both diabetics, so I used Equal Sugar Lite instead of sugar (I also used the 1/3 less fat cream cheese) and it was excellent! Dad loved it...he even had seconds! :)
Date published: 2007-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the easiest and tastiest cheesecake to make! This is the easiest and tastiest cheesecake to make! I have made this numberous times. I have added fresh lime juice and lime zest. I do not always top it with fruit...most of the time, my friends and family do not give me time to do that! Wonderful recipe!
Date published: 2008-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wow I made this for Easter dinner and it was a big hit. Wow I made this for Easter dinner and it was a big hit. I even forgot to do the last step of the sour cream topping(I did use the 1 cup of sour cream in the recipe) and it turned out fantastic. Great reviews that it was the creamest and dreamest cheesecake.
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is one of the few cheesecakes I have made that turned out perfectly. This is one of the few cheesecakes I have made that turned out perfectly. I made it for Easter and everyone loved it. It was creamy and delicious. Next time I will macerate the strawberries to draw out the juices to make like a syrup for the topping.
Date published: 2008-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my mom- she came from out-of-state to visit us and she really liked ie. I made this for my mom- she came from out-of-state to visit us and she really liked ie. She said it was sooo good. I was really happy when she liked it. Even my 5 year old, 4 year old and almost 18 month old loved it!!!! Thanks. This is a keeper.
Date published: 2007-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sent this off with my daughter as a treat for her co-workers. sent this off with my daughter as a treat for her co-workers. everyone loved it. i have made a lot of cheesecake recipes, but this is so easy and one of the best i have tasted myself. it also freezes well. will make this one again and again.
Date published: 2010-08-19
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_190
  • loc_en_US, sid_104996, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

552561:104996

>