PHILLY Brownie Cheesecake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

PHILLY Brownie Cheesecake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
6
hr.
5
min.
Servings

16 servings

Have your (cheese)cake and eat a brownie, too with this PHILLY Brownie Cheesecake. PHILLY Cream Cheese makes this dessert delectably creamy.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 325°F.
  • Prepare brownie batter as directed on package; pour into 13x9-inch pan sprayed with cooking spray. Bake 25 min. or until top is shiny and center is almost set.
  • Meanwhile, beat cream cheese, sugar and vanilla in large bowl with mixer until blended. Add sour cream; mix well. Add eggs, 1 at a time, mixing on low speed after each just until blended.
  • Pour cream cheese mixture carefully over brownie layer in pan. (Filling will come almost to top of pan.)
  • Bake 40 min. or until center is almost set. Run knife around rim of pan to loosen sides; cool dessert completely. Refrigerate 4 hours.
  • Melt chocolate as directed on package; drizzle over cheesecake. Refrigerate 15 min. or until chocolate is firm.

Size Wise

Balance your food choices throughout the day so you can enjoy a serving of this cheesecake with your loved ones.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 500
Total fat 33g
Saturated fat 15g
Cholesterol 140mg
Sodium 330mg
Carbohydrate 46g
Dietary fiber 0g
Sugars 36g
Protein 7g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this last night using the glass pan lined with the lovely non-stick foil (can't get enough of... I made this last night using the glass pan lined with the lovely non-stick foil (can't get enough of that stuff) and the fudge mix. After the cheesecake set I pulled the entire thing out and trimmed the edges and then put it back in the fridge. I used half fat free cream cheese and half reg. and instead of the chocolate drizzles I used the raspberry sauce in the squeeze bottle and it was lovely. My only thing was that I didnt taste much of the cheesecake part because of the chocolate. Next time I might use just half of the brownie batter.
Date published: 2008-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cake did not get done in the allolated time. Cake did not get done in the allolated time. I baked it 10 extra minutes, 5 for the base and 5 for the cheesecake. Cake was not set in the middle as per the directions. I cooled it according to directions and got it out of the pan. It stuck to the aluminum foil, so I had to cut the cake in quarters to peel off the foil. The cake was still not done in the center. After the chocolate drizzle cooled, it was impossible to cut without cracking the chocolate. I had to use a knife rinsed in hot water inbetween each cut. I live at 5000 ft and used teh high altitude directions. I am a highly experienced baker. I have a superb recipe for choclate espresso cheesecake bars (from scratch) which I am willing to share with anyone who wants to write me.
Date published: 2006-04-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was a little dissapointed here. I was a little dissapointed here. I have made MANY cheesecakes in my day so I found this one and thought it sounded delicious and fairly simple. I bought the ingredients and then started having second thoughts so I came and read the reviews. A lot of the reviews were negative and I wish I could come here and disagree with them but I can't. The brownie was like a chocolate brick and ANYONE who has ever made cheesecake knows this much could never bake in 40 minutes. Even a small cheesecake takes an hour at least. I ended up baking it for about an hour and half, probably what caused the brownies to be so firm but I had to bake the cheesecake through. In the end the top was delicious the bottom went in the trash, I probably will never attempt this recipe again...
Date published: 2009-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for the first time about 3 years ago for an office party. I made this recipe for the first time about 3 years ago for an office party. It came out looking amazing like something you would buy at the store, ofcourse their were left overs and i brought it home to my husband who loved it! now everytime there is a special occasion this is the first thing that pops into his head! It tastes great and is surprisngly easy to make, my husband loves it with the brownie mix that has chocolate chunks in it and it really does make it that much better!
Date published: 2010-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My son loved it. My son loved it. Easy to make and it was enjoyed by all. Going to make it for a family gathering this weekend.
Date published: 2012-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tips: 1.) Use a mix for a 8X8 or 9X9 pan instead. Tips: 1.) Use a mix for a 8X8 or 9X9 pan instead. The brownie layer is thinner but the cooking is more even. 2.) Use parchment paper instead of foil, with a little butter in the pan to make the parchment stick. 3.) Refrigerate in the pan overnight, then remove the entire cheesecake using parchment paper handles and cut into pieces. Rinse knife in hot water between cuts. 4.) Drizzle with melted chocolate AFTER the pieces are cut.
Date published: 2005-12-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I followed the directions exactly, I even have a separate thermometer in my oven to make sure what... I followed the directions exactly, I even have a separate thermometer in my oven to make sure what the exact temperature is. So I'm not sure why the middle was kind of under done and the edges were okay. If I'd have left it in the oven longer, the edges would've been burnt. Maybe a different kind of brownie mix? Or a different kind of pan? Plus, the layers separated very easily on the part that was baked all the way through.
Date published: 2008-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is absolutely an awesome recipe! This is absolutely an awesome recipe! I have made this a million times and every single time everyone who has eaten it, loved it. I have people ask me how to make it, to send the recipe, make it for them etc! This is 100% a holiday winner (or anytime for that matter)! If someone does not think this is a good recipe they either- dont like brownies, dont like cheesecake or didnt make it correctly!
Date published: 2009-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i've made this recipe SO many times... i've made this recipe SO many times... everyone expects me to make it.. if i dont, i hear about it! ...the first time i made it, i didnt like using the foil. when i bake, i only use the "air-bake" pans.. which are a must in my opinion. i've never had a problem getting the cheesecake out. ..brownie mix that has worked the best for me is the moist pillsbury family size 9x13, (blue box). a must try!
Date published: 2008-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for a bake sale, and it was a huge success. I made this recipe for a bake sale, and it was a huge success. My items were the first to sell out. I did not have any of the issues that other people have mentioned--mine turned out just fine. I did use the non-stick foil and rinsed my knife with hot water between cuts as some had suggested, and those two things seemed to help. I had many compliments and requests for the recipe.
Date published: 2006-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used the recipe out of the Food & Family Magazine and it said to cook the brownies 15 minutes. I used the recipe out of the Food & Family Magazine and it said to cook the brownies 15 minutes. This was way to short as they were still very gooey. When I logged online, I saw that this receipe calls for 25 minutes which is probably right. It still turned out good but it was difficult to get out of the pan. I sprinkled chocolate shavings on top and it was all eaten!
Date published: 2008-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delicious! Delicious!! But as with some of the others rating here, I did have problems with the brownie sticking at the bottom. I used wax paper sprayed with cooking spray and the brownie still stuck. Luckily, the wax paper peeled off easily after I cut the cake into 2X3 pieces. I will probably make this in a spring form pan next time to make serving easier.
Date published: 2006-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for Thanksgiving to give something diffrent to go with the classic pumpkin pie. I made this recipe for Thanksgiving to give something diffrent to go with the classic pumpkin pie. It was so good. I made the mistake and put the chocolate on it and then put it in the fridge for about 3 hours trying to save time with all the hussle, well that was a mistake. It cracked and went every where when I cut it. But it was still very good.
Date published: 2008-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love cheesecake and I loved this recipe! I love cheesecake and I loved this recipe!! I made it the first time and my brownie layer got a little tough like others have mentioned. I gave it a second try this week and this time I used the fudge brownie mix instead of the regular. Success!! The brownie was moist and chewy and the cheesecake was delicious too! Will definately make again!
Date published: 2008-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is great for get togethers. This cake is great for get togethers. Kids will love it. You can also add walnuts to the brownie, or even a little bit of raspberry jam/jelly. Instead of put chocolate on the cheese cake swerl it in the cake to make it look like marble. It looks great. Sometimes one pack is not enough. Careful putting to much brownie. Have fun will it.
Date published: 2006-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used a small pkg of brownie mix and used a 9" springform pan and sprayed it with flour spray (Joy,... I used a small pkg of brownie mix and used a 9" springform pan and sprayed it with flour spray (Joy, I think). I don't think I baked the brownie mix long enough because the cheesecake batter spread it out to the sides so there was just a thin layer of brownie on the bottom. I will try this recipe again--maybe a larger springform pan.
Date published: 2006-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Like some others, the cheese cake part was good but the brownies were burnt! Like some others, the cheese cake part was good but the brownies were burnt!! I followed the recipe to the tee. The brownie cooking time on the box was 28 mins. this made me wonder about a total cooking time of 55 mins. I was so syked about this new recipe as I make all your others. Clouds are a big pleaser. What went wrong??
Date published: 2005-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The problem with this recipe is finding the balance with cooking the brownies. The problem with this recipe is finding the balance with cooking the brownies. If you don't cook them enough to start with, they don't set up well at all, but if you cook them thoroughly and then add the cheesecake and cook again the brownie gets sort of dry. But the taste was pretty good and the presentation was great.
Date published: 2007-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instead of the 13x9 inch pan my 11 yr old son suggested using a muffin pan. Instead of the 13x9 inch pan my 11 yr old son suggested using a muffin pan. I poured the brownie mix about half full in each paper lined cup, baked for the 15 minutes and then added the cheesecake batter and baked for the remainder time. Served them at my Community Group and they loved them. Thanks for the great recipe.
Date published: 2006-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this a few years ago from the food and family mag. I made this a few years ago from the food and family mag. My entire crew and their crew loved it! It was hard to get out of the pan and the brownie was over done but I made notes! so this time when I make it, I'll do a few variations to the cooking times and spray the foil til the no cooking spray can is empty! *lol*
Date published: 2008-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was truly delish! This was truly delish! Had difficulties with the chocolate on top. When I tried to cut the cheesecake, the chocolate kept breaking and lifting off of the cake. It was sort of a mess. Salvaged with some patience and a toothpick. It was delish though. Would make again, but figure something else out with the chocolate.
Date published: 2007-01-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I have made this dessert a couple of times...it definitely doesnt turn out like the photo. I have made this dessert a couple of times...it definitely doesnt turn out like the photo. However, I end up somewhat mixing the brownie part with the cheesecake, creating a swirl effect. Its difficult to get the brownie to set right without making it hard as a rock. Everyone always seems to love them regardless!
Date published: 2007-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from parts of the brownies did not cook so I had to throw that part away. parts of the brownies did not cook so I had to throw that part away. i followed directions exactly so I don't know where I went wrong. also, I had trouble cutting it and the cheesecake kept slipping off the brownies. any suggestions? as far as taste goes, it was excellent, and it just looks too pretty to eat.
Date published: 2005-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The brownie part did not turn out well at all. The brownie part did not turn out well at all. It was cooked too much. Like another reviewer I followed the recipe exactly. However, the cheesecake part of this dessert was fabulous. I will make it again without the brownie. Perfect cheesecake taste. I might just make that part in a pie crust next time.
Date published: 2005-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was definetly a crowd pleaser. This was definetly a crowd pleaser. I made it for our Super Bowl party and everyone wanted a piece. It's very rich, so it's definetly a once in a while dessert. The only problem was that the brownies on the bottom were a little tough. Next time, I will bake them less at teh beginning to keep them softer.
Date published: 2008-02-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from While the cheesecake part of the recipe was fabulous, the brownine part was terrible. While the cheesecake part of the recipe was fabulous, the brownine part was terrible. I cooked the brownie portion 10 minutes longer than the recipe stated because it looked too runny to put batter on, and even with the extra cooking time the brownie was a gooey mess that stuck to the aluminum foil.
Date published: 2005-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can someone help me with this recipe? Can someone help me with this recipe? I've made it twice but it never has turned out right--the brownie portion is always too soft and gets pushed to the edges by the cream cheese mixture before cooking, even after cooking the brownie longer than the recipe instructs. Any ideas for better results?
Date published: 2006-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this lastyear for thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. I made this lastyear for thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. I had absolutely no prblems. I had always heard how daunting a cheesecake is to make but it seperated from the side of the pan and stuck to brownie. The chocolate I drizzled on top looked a little funny, but who cares it tasted great.
Date published: 2006-11-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from There were major problems. There were major problems. The brownie base did not bake fully, (It was like goo in the middle of the brownie because it wasn't done baking). And the cream cheese was too big and overpowering. It made a horrible mess, and was confusing. Tasted good, but not worth all the ingredients!
Date published: 2006-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cheesecake for my husband for Valentine's Day and it was fabulous! I made this cheesecake for my husband for Valentine's Day and it was fabulous! It's his new favorite! Perfect for us chocolate lovers-Ladies there's no doubt you will want to go back for more and more. I can't stop running to the frige for a second piece! Thanksf or the idea Kraft!
Date published: 2007-02-17
  • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_151
  • loc_en_US, sid_88973, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

503684:88973

>