Potatoes au Gratin - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Potatoes au Gratin

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
35
min.
Servings

10 servings

Try out a classic tonight with our Potatoes au Gratin. The layers of cheesy, warm potato slices in our Potatoes au Gratin recipe are sure to please.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Melt butter in medium saucepan on medium heat. Blend in flour, mustard and pepper; cook and stir 1 min. Gradually add milk, stirring until well blended; cook 3 to 5 min. until thickened, stirring constantly. Add 1-1/2 cups cheese and onions; cook 2 to 3 min. until cheese is melted, stirring frequently.
  • Layer potatoes and cheese sauce alternately in 2-qt. casserole sprayed with cooking spray, ending with cheese sauce.
  • Bake 1-1/4 hours or until potatoes are tender. Sprinkle with remaining cheese; bake 5 min. or until melted.

Size Wise

Enjoy a serving of this classic side dish as part of a special-occasion meal.

Substitute

Prepare using your favorite KRAFT Shredded Cheese.

Servings

  • 10 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 10 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 240
Total fat 14g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 40mg
Sodium 230mg
Carbohydrate 22g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 4g
Protein 9g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 15 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I didn't add the mustard but the recipe still turned out wonderful. I didn't add the mustard but the recipe still turned out wonderful. I added a little more cheese at the request of my fiance' and his friends. There was nothing left after they got a hold of it. Simple and easy to make, I will definitely make again!!! Great flavor and texture too!
Date published: 2005-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Since I'm married to a ' Georgia Peach ' ( as I call him ) who loves both cheese and bacon as well... Since I'm married to a ' Georgia Peach ' ( as I call him ) who loves both cheese and bacon as well as 'taters' I added crumbled fried bacon, an extra cup of shredded swiss along with the cheddar & served it with baked ham and his favorite peas & carrots....he went back for thirds!
Date published: 2007-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These were great! These were great! Very rich, but wonderful. I cut the potatoes with a knife, but next time I might use a mandolin slicer to make them thinner, just because the cooking time was longer. I also might add like a 1/2 cup less of milk, because it was slightly too much liquid.
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These potatoes were delicious and a nice change of pace from our usual mashed potatoes. These potatoes were delicious and a nice change of pace from our usual mashed potatoes. I added a little extra salt, pepper, and fresh garlic to boost the flavor. My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe and I definitely plan to make it again!
Date published: 2007-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I loved this dish! My husband and I loved this dish! It is delicious. I did add more cheddar into the cheese mixture and I think it made a world of difference. I made this a couple of weeks ago and I'm making this side dish again tomorrow night for company.
Date published: 2006-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was the best. This recipe was the best. Everyone thought this was better than my old fashion recipe and was asked to make again. The cheese mixture and how it was prepared gave the best overall flavor through out the casserole. Will make again soon.
Date published: 2008-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this dish for dinner last night as an accompaniment to barbecue ribs and my husband said it... I made this dish for dinner last night as an accompaniment to barbecue ribs and my husband said it was the best thing he had ever tasted, and that no matter what I did not to lose this recipe. I have a feeling I will be making it often.
Date published: 2004-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you are looking for the classic flavour, THIS is it! If you are looking for the classic flavour, THIS is it! Ihad tried this recipe when slicing the potatoes by hand I found the potatoes were not cooked enough. I bought a mandoline and this recipe since, has been a staple for me. :)
Date published: 2007-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my family but added extra 4 oz of cheese because we love cheese. I made this recipe for my family but added extra 4 oz of cheese because we love cheese. It was so easy to make first of all and they loved it! They can't wait to have it again! It went great with the A1 meatloaf recipe from Kraft!
Date published: 2002-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually my husband prepared it, and in a toaster oven no less. Actually my husband prepared it, and in a toaster oven no less. It turned out fantastic! Our youngest isn't a big potato fan if it isn't french fries or a baked potato, but this one was a big hit all the way around!
Date published: 2004-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This Potatoes Au Gratin is very good. This Potatoes Au Gratin is very good. I add more cheese. I will make this recipe again, again, etc... I used a mandoline slicer to slice the potatoes Thankyou kraft foods.com for another great recipe.
Date published: 2007-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is so easy and so delicious! This is so easy and so delicious! If you have a mandolin to slice the potatoes, it is a snap to make. It makes a generous amount but will get quickly gobbled up -- who doesn't love cheesy potatoes?
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added a pound of ground turkey and a package of california blend veggies. I added a pound of ground turkey and a package of california blend veggies. I layered it between the potatoes and cheese. It was a great complete meal! My kids ate everything on their plates!
Date published: 2006-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I cook for my son and I , so I halved the recipe, added a couple of cloves of finely chopped fresh... I cook for my son and I , so I halved the recipe, added a couple of cloves of finely chopped fresh garlic, (a must when I'm cookin'), sauteed w/ the butter, and, Oh Yeah , mmmm !! Thanx
Date published: 2007-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My fiance loved this recipe! My fiance loved this recipe! I made a half recipe (for 2 people) and baked it for 45 minutes. I also topped it with the cheese before baking by mistake, but it made a great crispy top.
Date published: 2003-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used medium cheddar and definitely needed some salt. I used medium cheddar and definitely needed some salt. It was very bland and all 6 dinner guests needed the salt shaker. Otherwise it's a great recipe and I'm saving it.
Date published: 2015-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from my family enjoyed this potato dish but the cheese sauce tasted very similar to my homemade mac and... my family enjoyed this potato dish but the cheese sauce tasted very similar to my homemade mac and cheese. I would make this again but i'll try other recipes too.
Date published: 2006-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loved these potatoes and they were a great side to our Easter Ham. My family loved these potatoes and they were a great side to our Easter Ham. I used my food processor to slice the potatoes and that reduced the prep time.
Date published: 2006-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I decided to use chunked potatoes instead of sliced. I decided to use chunked potatoes instead of sliced. I thought it was a little blan. next time I would add a little spice for a kick. But everyone loved it
Date published: 2007-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Potatoes were great. Potatoes were great. Better then any au gratin potatoes i have ever had. It is worth your time to make thses rather then those boxed au gratin potatoes.
Date published: 2007-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was good but I think it would be better to boil the potatoes first then put everything... This recipe was good but I think it would be better to boil the potatoes first then put everything in the oven. This will reduce some of the time.
Date published: 2004-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good dish. Very good dish. I increased the cheese and added 1/2 tsp of paprika. Great for potlucks with cheddar or swiss cheese and 1-2 cups chopped ham.
Date published: 2006-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a very good potato side dish. This was a very good potato side dish. I used more potatoes than the recipe called for and I think the sauce recipe should have been increased.
Date published: 2011-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this with Christmas ham, it was wonderful. Made this with Christmas ham, it was wonderful. My mother-in-law had seconds and she never has seconds at my house. Try it, you'll love it.
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to make and the kids liked it! Easy to make and the kids liked it! I added dijon mustard instead of mustard powder and topped it with bread crumbs and parmesan cheese.
Date published: 2006-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband loved this recipe. My husband loved this recipe. I didn't care for it too much I would give it maybe a three but I would make it again for him for sure.
Date published: 2005-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from To save calories, I did not use an entire bag of cheese, but added fat free sour cream to make the... To save calories, I did not use an entire bag of cheese, but added fat free sour cream to make the cheese sauce a little creamier.
Date published: 2008-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why haven't I made this before? Why haven't I made this before?? If I could give it more stars, I would. I used baby red potatoes and they turned out perfect.
Date published: 2010-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, quick recipe. Great, quick recipe. I added several other cheeses to it to make it even cheesier. Great with chicken and with roast as well!
Date published: 2002-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was great. This recipe was great. I only made a few changes and did not boil the potatoes before hand, but in the end it was teriffic.
Date published: 2006-02-16
  • y_2017, m_12, d_17, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_54341, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

525745:54341

>