Praline Cheesecake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Praline Cheesecake

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
6
hr.
10
min.
Servings

16 servings

Pralines and cream—in the form of a cheesecake. Drizzled with caramel, this easy-to-make, gorgeous dessert is a guaranteed winner!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 325°F.
  • Crush 50 wafers finely; mix with 1/4 cup sugar and margarine. Press onto bottom of 9-inch springform pan. Stand remaining wafers around edge of pan, pressing gently into crust to secure.
  • Beat cream cheese and remaining sugar in large bowl with mixer until blended. Add sour cream and vanilla; mix well. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating on low speed after each just until blended. Pour over crust.
  • Bake 45 to 50 min. or until center is almost set. Run small knife around rim of pan to loosen cake; cool before removing rim. Refrigerate cheesecake 4 hours.
  • Microwave caramels and milk in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 1 min. or until caramels are completely melted, stirring every 30 sec. Cool slightly. Pour over cheesecake; top with nuts.

Size Wise

Balance your food choices throughout the day so you can enjoy a serving of this cheesecake with your friends or family.

Praline Cheesecake Bars

Prepare recipe as directed, using 13x9-inch pan and increasing vanilla wafers around edge of pan to 22. Bake 40 to 45 min. or until center is almost set.

Note

If using a dark nonstick springform pan, reduce oven temperature to 300°F.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 400
Total fat 26g
Saturated fat 13g
Cholesterol 110mg
Sodium 300mg
Carbohydrate 38g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 31g
Protein 6g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was fabulous! This recipe was fabulous! The only thing I would change, would be not putting the nilla wafers around the side, they got very soggy. I would crush the extra 16 wafers, add a little more melted butter and go up the sides of the pan with the crumbs. My husband brought some to work and everybody raved about it. I make alot of cheesecakes and this one has to be one of my favorites. I would definetly make this one again.
Date published: 2005-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cheesecake was AMAZING! This cheesecake was AMAZING! I made it for a friend's surprise 21st birthday and there were hardly any leftovers! Although I did use off-brand caramels that were larger which gave me extra caramel sauce, we just saved it to top some ice cream instead so that the cake wouldn't be too rich. I do suggest baking it for a bit longer than 50 minutes though. It was so::: good; I highly recommend it!!
Date published: 2008-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was my first chance to use my spring form pan and it worked PERFECT....like another lady said,... This was my first chance to use my spring form pan and it worked PERFECT....like another lady said, it turned out like something you would see in a restaurant......all were impressed! I would recommend doing the last step (caramel/nuts) close to the time you are going to serve so the caramel is still soft and creamy......next time I need to impress, this will be my choice!
Date published: 2005-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My teenage boys make a meal once a week. My teenage boys make a meal once a week. My one son loves to make the desserts and found this recipe in the magazine. It was simple enough to make but looked like he worked for hours on it. His only error was forgetting to add the milk to the caramels so it was hardened up and we had to peel it off! The flavor was great--he wants to try it with a fruit topping next time.
Date published: 2005-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this cheesecake for the past 3 years for my family Thanksgiving.(Since it came in my... I have made this cheesecake for the past 3 years for my family Thanksgiving.(Since it came in my Food & Family Mag) This year I was wathcing the Food Network and Tyler Florence was making his "Ultimate Cheesecake". I decide to try that recipe instead for Thanksgiving. Everyone agreed this one was better. (It is alos WAY easier) Sorry Tyler-I'll stick with this one!
Date published: 2005-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm SOO not a cook, hehe, and this is the first time I've EVER made a cheesecake, so I was very... I'm SOO not a cook, hehe, and this is the first time I've EVER made a cheesecake, so I was very scared to do it, thinking I would totally ruin it, but it was just the opposite! It turned out just like the picture and tasted as good as it looked. It's soo good that I have 2 more occasions I'm making it for! It's YUMMY! I think everyone should try and make it.
Date published: 2005-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for a luncheon and the guests could not wait for the topping. I made this for a luncheon and the guests could not wait for the topping. They thought it was fantastic. Cannot wait to make it at Christmas!!!! Every recipe I experimented with was wonderful. I have never had a magazine that had so many great recipes that I actually tried them immediately. If you continue on this caliber, I will be raving to my friends!!!!
Date published: 2005-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was my first experience with both cheesecake and a springform pans. This recipe was my first experience with both cheesecake and a springform pans. It was easy to follow, simple to do and it turned out beautifully. Presentation of the cheesecake was awesome and the taste scrumptious. My husband was impressed! Thank you Kraft Foods! note- I'm not a big nut lover so I substituted Heathbar crunch sprinkles on top. Yum!
Date published: 2005-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! Wonderful! The first time I made this was for Thanksgiving. It was a huge hit & I've made it several times since. The only thing I changed was the crust. I didn't have Nilla wafers so I used Sandies instead. I've never bothered trying the Nilla wafers since the Sandies were so good. My husband "hates" cheesecake, but he managed to enjoy this one. :)
Date published: 2006-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Oh my god is all I can say", because that's exactly what I said when I tried this recipe. "Oh my god is all I can say", because that's exactly what I said when I tried this recipe. It is absolutely fabulous and wonderful. I even brought some to work. Their eyes widened when they put it in their mouth and said how good it was. They all raved and want the recipe. They want me to make it for my dinner party I'm having. This is a must make.
Date published: 2005-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my husband's family and they LOVED it! I made this recipe for my husband's family and they LOVED it! It was so yummy. The one problem that I had was I had to bring it to them and they live 3 hours away. By the time it got there all of the caramel topping had slid off the top! It was a mess but still tasted good. Next time, I'll wait to put the caramel topping on until I arrive!
Date published: 2009-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my GOSH! Oh my GOSH! This is the 4th time I have made this cheesecake and it comes out better every time. My girlfriend wanted me to make this for her birthday vs. buying her anything. I made it at my job for our bake sale and it was gone withen 30 minutes. The only alteration that I made was sauteing my pecans in butter. It turned out wonderful.
Date published: 2007-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Thanksgiving and it was amazing. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was amazing. This was the first cheesecake that I have ever made. The directions were simple and the cake came out great. Everyone loved it even my cousin who is not a cheesecake fan. This will probably become a holiday tradition. My Aunt already asked me to make this for her birthday, and I will !
Date published: 2006-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First cheesecake I've made in 20 years! First cheesecake I've made in 20 years! What a gem! After you make this receipe all you need to do is sit back and take the compliments. Made it for Thanksgiving and gave some to the neighbor. His comment "that was the best cheese cake I have ever had". This cake definitely has the "Wow" factor. A permanent recipe in my file.
Date published: 2005-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best cheesecake ever! This is the best cheesecake ever! Whenever I make it, people say it tastes better than a cheesecake from the cheesecake factory! Has anyone noticed that the crust is kind of thick? Not sure if I'm doing something wrong or not or maybe I need to put less than 50 vanilla wafers. This cheesecake will be in my cookbook forever!!!
Date published: 2008-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well this cheesecake was great I just made it for Thanksgiving, the only thing bad about it was that... Well this cheesecake was great I just made it for Thanksgiving, the only thing bad about it was that the caramel made it hard for me to cut the cake..and my Nilla wafers didn't even come out like in the picture they turned into the color of the crust so it didn't even show...other than that appearance it was great i must say!
Date published: 2005-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this delicious cheesecake for my Christmas Dinner. I made this delicious cheesecake for my Christmas Dinner. The recipe was super easy to follow. I went the "Low-Fat" route and instead of regular Nilla wafers, I used Reduced Fat wafers. And instead of regular sour cream, I used Fat-Free sour cream. Everyone loved the look and taste of this cheesecake. Thank you KRAFT!!!
Date published: 2006-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Thanksgiving and am planning on making it again for family Christmas party this... I made this for Thanksgiving and am planning on making it again for family Christmas party this weekend. Very easy! One reminder. Don't forget the milk in the caramels. I did and had a hard Caramel plate on the Cheesecake. It was the laugh of dessert. I ended up just lifting it off in one piece and serving without.
Date published: 2005-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Followed the recipe and it came out just like the picture, and it was delicious. Followed the recipe and it came out just like the picture, and it was delicious. But ... It is very difficult to cut because the caramel top gets very pliable. If you try cutting conventionally, the cake gets really messy. I ended up cutting the caramel topping with a scissors first and then cutting through with a knife.
Date published: 2010-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe, and my family and friends love it too! I love this recipe, and my family and friends love it too! I've made it many times. Prepare the caramel sauce just before serving, but be sure to let it cool enough so that it is not too runny before pouring on the cake. Then it will look beautiful and also be easy to cut. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Kraft!
Date published: 2009-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I substituded low fat cream chesse, non fat plain yogurt, reduced fat Nilla waffers, and instead of... I substituded low fat cream chesse, non fat plain yogurt, reduced fat Nilla waffers, and instead of butter for the crust I used unsweetened apple sauce. It turned out AWESOME!! Hubby did not know I used lower fat items to make this. It greatly reduced the amount of calories and fat and it still tasted sinfull!!
Date published: 2007-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have already made this twice and both times is was a hit. I have already made this twice and both times is was a hit. I made it for our church dinner and it was gone within minutes. I also made it for my family Thanksgiving dinner and they all loved it as well. This is one that I will make over and over. It was so simple, but made me look like I was a pro!
Date published: 2005-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cheesecake is great. This cheesecake is great. I made it for my office Christmas party and it was gone in minutes. It's so creamy and the crust is so tasty. The only thing I did different was that I used a jar of caramel sauce instead of melting caramels. Came out great and looked so professional. I will make it often.
Date published: 2006-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this a few times and will not eat any other cheesecake now. I have made this a few times and will not eat any other cheesecake now. I am so in love with this recipe every since I saw it over 10yrs ago. I have since lost those Kraft magazines however this recipe has stuck with me all this time. It will be a thanksgiving staple in my life forever. Thanks KF&F!!!!
Date published: 2009-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was delicious! This was delicious!! I brought it to a dinner party and everyone raved about it. No one that I made it. All of people thought it was an expensive purchase from a bakery. All of the women asked for the recipe. Looked great because the caramel covered the typical split in the top of the cheesecake.
Date published: 2008-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my book club in the winter of 2005. I made this for my book club in the winter of 2005. We meet monthly and I have been ordered to make it for every meeting! I've experimented and now make my own caramel using brown sugar and butter (very easy) which makes it even more richer. My sister in law requests it for every family function.
Date published: 2006-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my gosh, this is amazing! Oh my gosh, this is amazing! The crust is awesome and the carmel on top is so good. I made this for a large group and everyone was in heaven:)!!! I will for sure make this again and again. The only thing I would say is make sure your carmels are cool or the carmel will drip all over the sides.
Date published: 2008-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe a couple months ago for a dinner party dessert. I made this recipe a couple months ago for a dinner party dessert. AWESOME! I will be making it for CHRISTMAS. I love your magazine I always find good recipes. I used to rip them out and now there is no use doing that because every page has a great recipe. Thankyou for all your efforts.
Date published: 2005-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best cheesecake ever! This is the best cheesecake ever! I have made it several times and everyone raves about it! I toast the nuts with 1tsp butter and 1tsp salt- sweetness and salty! It is awsome for mini cakes too. 1 regular cookie in the bottom of a muffin pan and mini cookies around the edges. Cute and fun!
Date published: 2008-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ummm Ummm, this was the best cheesecake I have ever made. Ummm Ummm, this was the best cheesecake I have ever made. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone is demanding I make it again. Plus this is the first cheesecake recipe where my cheesecake did not crack. All the elements combined in such a way that made this cheesecake astonishing.
Date published: 2011-12-09
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_25, tr_232
  • loc_en_US, sid_76195, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

511867:76195

>