Quick-Fix Beef Burrito Skillet - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Quick-Fix Beef Burrito Skillet

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

4 servings

Enjoy the savory deliciousness of a beef burrito with the simplicity of a skillet dish—and do it in 30 minutes or less!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Brown meat in large nonstick skillet on medium-high heat; drain.
  • Add next 4 ingredients; stir. Bring to boil; simmer on medium-low heat 5 min.
  • Stir in tortilla pieces; top with cheese. Remove from heat; cover. Let stand 5 min. or until cheese is melted. Top with sour cream and onions.

Healthy Living

Save 70 calories and 8g of fat, including 4g of sat fat, per serving by preparing with extra-lean ground beef, KRAFT Mexican Style 2% Milk Finely Shredded Four Cheese, and BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream.

Special Extra

Add more of your favorite Mexican-style toppings, such as shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes and/or chopped avocados, before serving.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 550
Total fat 24g
Saturated fat 12g
Cholesterol 110mg
Sodium 1330mg
Carbohydrate 43g
Sugars 6g
Protein 39g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 35 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 35 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was great. This recipe was great. My kids who are both picky eaters loved this and even asked me to make it again the next night. I did make a few changes: I used black beans instead of kidney beans because that is what I had on hand. I used corn tortillas instead of flour because I had corn tortillas. I would definately recommend this dish to anyone who loves mexican and is looking for a easy great meal your family would love.
Date published: 2011-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I've made this twice. I've made this twice. The first time I added the tortillas like the recipe said, but I wasn't real crazy about it. The tortillas were to soggy. The second time I made the recipe I didn't add the tortillas and I cut the water in half. I placed the meat and bean mixture into separate tortillas and we ate them like burritos and it was much better. My kids liked it a lot and it is very easy to make.
Date published: 2007-08-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I tried this recipe tonight. I tried this recipe tonight. I liked it because I had all of the ingredients on hand. It was super easy to make and took less than 30 minutes. I rated it as "good" because it was good, but not outstanding. Everyone in the house ate it and liked it ok, but no one was really crazy about it. I will probably make it again - it's so simple and beats fast food. I served it over white rice.
Date published: 2008-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We just had this for dinner tonight and everyone loved it! We just had this for dinner tonight and everyone loved it! Since I am on Weight Watchers, I did make some substitutions to make it healthier: I used Boca Meatless Ground Burger instead of beef, low sodium taco seasoning mix, low carb tortillas, 2 % cheese and fat free sour cream. My husband added a little cayenne to his to kick it up a bit. This was very easy and I will make it again.
Date published: 2007-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My picky husband went bonkers for this recipe and would have it every week if I'd make it (I prefer... My picky husband went bonkers for this recipe and would have it every week if I'd make it (I prefer a little variety to weekly meals.) Have made it many times (first saw it in a magazine a friend shared with me) and have even played with it by using ground turkey instead of ground beef (we prefer the beef), and by making it into an ovenbaked caserole with layers like lasagna.
Date published: 2008-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great. This was great. I added a can of diced tomatoes and only 1/2 cup of water because of the juice in the tomatoes. This is a great recipe to make ahead and keep warm in the crock pot or make and put in the fridge and heat it up when you are ready to eat and add the tortillas when you heat it up. If you put it in the crock pot do not add the tortillas till about 5 minutes before you serve it. This is a keeper and is very easy and delious.
Date published: 2007-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very very good... This was very very good... took me very little time to make and my daughters loved it! I recommend it when you are in a pinch for time or craving a mexican flavor. I added lettuce and fresh tomato on top of the sour cream and the next time I make it I will put the sour cream and fresh things on top of servings not the entire thing. I had left overs and the lettuce was soggy (I still ate it for lunch though) (wink) enjoy.
Date published: 2011-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kid and husband friendly! Kid and husband friendly! I've made this recipe twice now, and both times it has been very good. I made it a bit healthier by using ground turkey and adding a second can of beans. Also, I didn't have enough salsa, so I added a can of diced tomatoes, and it worked out well. With the second can of beans, this meal fed two adults and a child with very little left over. I will definitely made this again.
Date published: 2010-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe and it was AWESOME. I made this recipe and it was AWESOME. I've gotten hooked on going to a mexican fast food place to get their burritos. I tasted this recipe and it was so very close to their burritos - and it will save me $6-8 per buritto!! I had this with tortilla chips first - it was really good. Had the left overs with flour tortillas - AWESOME!! Will definitely make this over and over again!
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So quick & easy! So quick & easy! This recipe is very easy to make into your own style. I added a small can of green chilis and only added the sour cream after plating. The only recommendation I have is to cut the tortillas into 1/2" pieces. They get really soft and blend better when cut smaller. So good!! I will defintiely make again for a quick meal. 15 min and I was done! Hubby loved it too!
Date published: 2011-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this tonight, was DELICIOUS! Made this tonight, was DELICIOUS!! Used ground turkey, substituted black beans instead of kidney beans, cooked some chopped onion with the meat. Added Mexican corn & instead of regular tortillas in the pan,used tortillas chips on plate & added mixture on top with sour cream, green onions, & chopped tomatoes. Hubby LOVED it & have enough left over for another meal!
Date published: 2012-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just made this last night for supper. I just made this last night for supper. My husband loved it! The only thing that I did differently is I used black beans instead of kidney beans because I don't really care for kidney beans. It was so yummy, husband said that I can make it anytime! (Oh, and I had to let it boil a little bit longer, because after 5 minutes, it was still really, really juicy!)
Date published: 2009-09-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My husband and I liked this, although I didn't think it was good as a leftover. My husband and I liked this, although I didn't think it was good as a leftover. I think that the next time that I make this, I will tear up tortilla chips and put it over the mixture, and then my cheese. The flour tortillas kinda got a bit soggy. You could also make the mixture, and then wrap it up in a flour, or corn tortilla. It's good. Will make again!
Date published: 2007-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy - this was a easy and wonderful recipe. Yummy - this was a easy and wonderful recipe. My family really loved it. I did cook it a bit longer which really pulled the flavors together and was very flavorful. We did use sour crean and onions on top. You could also use any topping you would put on a taco and/or burrito. Will make this often. It is quick to make and left overs will be great as well.
Date published: 2007-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I actually have a question about this recipe. I actually have a question about this recipe. The photo of the finished dish appears to have crispy tortillas but nowhere in the recipe does it say to first bake the tortilla pieces. They almost look like Doritos in the photo or maybe even corn tortillas. Are the tortillas supposed to be limp or crispy? I think I'd prefer crispy instead of limp or soggy.
Date published: 2009-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is awesome! This is awesome! My husband and I have made this 2 weeks in a row now and love it. Last week w/ground beef, this week w/ground turkey. I added diced tomatoes, corn & lettuce like someone above mentioned. I used tortilla chips instead of soft shells and dipped/scooped with them. It was so tasty. The left overs are usually gone the next day for lunch.
Date published: 2009-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great combination of flavours. A great combination of flavours. Daughter who's a picky eater, gave it a whirl and for someone who doesn't like anything new, she said it was something she'd ask for again. Phew! She added some broken tortilla chips for crunch, and I changed it to pinto beans as I didn't have any kidney. Definitely no leftovers with this one!
Date published: 2009-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My son is on chemo at the present time and foods taste awful to him. My son is on chemo at the present time and foods taste awful to him. I made this dish adding chopped onion to the meat while cooking, used black beans, added the sour cream into the dish along with jack and sharp cheddar cheese and corn tortilla chips. He loved it. This is a beef recipe that I can make again. Thank You!!
Date published: 2011-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was awesome! This was awesome! I didn't have the kidney beans, so I added a can of mexi-corn (corn & peppers) and some sliced black olives. I also used homemade salsa (which wasn't chunky) so I added a can of diced tomatoes as well. Everyone raved about it and there was not a speck left over! I'll definitely be making this again!
Date published: 2009-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was pretty good. This was pretty good. Easy to make when you are short on time. I had read that the shells can go soggy, so I made it with out the shells in it and put them on the side if you wanted to add them to the top. I put mine in a shell with sour cream, olives and cheese. Others ate it tostada style. Will be making again.
Date published: 2007-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fabulously easy way to make a quick Mexican dinner! Fabulously easy way to make a quick Mexican dinner! It was very much like a Mexican casserole, only there was no long bake time in the oven. I substituted black beans for the kidney beans and used our regular salsa rather than the one in the ingredients list. Everyone loved it, and there were no leftovers! Hurray!
Date published: 2010-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good and versatile, substituted chicken broth for water, can also use beef broth, corn... Very good and versatile, substituted chicken broth for water, can also use beef broth, corn tortillas instead of flour and black beans in place of kidney beans. Added 1/2 tsp cumin to recipe and 1/4 cup chopped cilantro. Try this recipe and be ready to great creative...good as is and also a great starting point.
Date published: 2007-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I tried this on my impossible to please brother-in-law and nephew with not much hope to please... I tried this on my impossible to please brother-in-law and nephew with not much hope to please anyone buy myself. Was I surprised when they both took seconds but asked for the dish for lunch the next day! Two days later, 'Can we have the buritto dinner again?' To hear praise like that, I'd cook it daily!!!
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was really easy to make and tasted delicious! This was really easy to make and tasted delicious! The only change I made was to add an extra can of kidney beans to try to make sure we had enough for the 5 of us. Our whole family (mom, dad, 8-year old and two 6-year olds) really liked this everyone asked me to make it again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Date published: 2011-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely delicious! Absolutely delicious! I used ground turkey instead of beef, fat free sour cream and but I did throw in a box of velveeta shells & cheese - my fiancee couldn't get enough! Even the neighbors in the apt building mentioned it smelled delicious! I already have the ingredients on my grocery list for next week!
Date published: 2007-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Excellent! I've made similar recipes in the past, but this was much tastier (I think it was the addition of salsa). I will definately make this again, great for families with picky eaters and/or evenings when you need something quick. Just don't forget to add a side of veggies (mexi-corn goes very well.)
Date published: 2007-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my husband and I for lunch today. I made this for my husband and I for lunch today. I did substitute the kidney beans for black beans because I didn't have the kidney beans. My husband kept commenting on how good it was and we both went back for seconds. I will definitely be making this again, and it was very easy with few ingredients.
Date published: 2008-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good recipe. Very good recipe. I can see where I'll make it many times and in different ways. I used a Santa Fe salsa that added some different "zing" and also a small can of corn. But definitely next time will use tortilla chips or bake my torts. because the torts. shells didn't do it for me. I want the CRUNCH!!
Date published: 2011-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loved this recipe. My husband loved this recipe. He said I should make it once a week from now on. Later that night he woke up and ate the little bit of leftovers that there was and when I questioned him about it in the morning he said he was dreaming about it and he could smell it in his dream. lol I guess it's a keeper.
Date published: 2007-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for dinner last night & my boyfriend & i both liked. I made this for dinner last night & my boyfriend & i both liked. I used chili beans instead of kidney beans & just a little bit of taco seasoning. I also added minced onions, chili powder & garlic salt with the hamburger to add some flavor. I added the sour cream after it was served on the plates.
Date published: 2007-03-29
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_86, tr_446
  • loc_en_US, sid_105217, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

556658:105217

>