Quick Jambalaya Recipe - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Quick Jambalaya Recipe

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

6 servings

Discover our Quick Jambalaya recipe to enjoy flavors from the French Quarter. You're only 30 minutes away from enjoying this Quick Jambalaya Recipe!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oil in large nonstick skillet on medium-high heat. Add sausage and onions; cook and stir 10 min. or until sausage is no longer pink.
  • Add remaining ingredients; mix well. Bring to boil; cover.
  • Remove from heat; let stand 5 min. Stir gently before serving.

Substitute

Prepare using 3 cups cooked long-grain white rice.

Substitute

Prepare using instant brown rice.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 410
Total fat 16g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 190mg
Sodium 1510mg
Carbohydrate 41g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 12g
Protein 26g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 20 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Excellent! Made this last week and the whole family loved it! My hubby was shocked when I told him that I made it from "scratch" and didn't buy the "instant" kind! Thanks, Kraftfoods, for giving me the confidence to cook for my family and the desire to try something new each dinner.
Date published: 2008-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I agree with all of the other comments, this recipe is so easy and absolutely delicious! I agree with all of the other comments, this recipe is so easy and absolutely delicious!! I didn't expect anyone in my house to try it because they are picky and don't like shrimp, but they even said they wouldn't change a thing. I also substituted with the hot turkey sausage.
Date published: 2005-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband absolutely loves when I make this! My husband absolutely loves when I make this!! I keep everything exactly as the recipie calls, except I use turkey kielbasa instead of the italian sausage to save some time. I also add a bit of hot sauce to give it a kick! I am now required to make this at least twice a month!
Date published: 2007-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Wow! What a great tasting meal. I thought the combination of everything was going to be off, but boy was I wrong! My family is usually very picky about what I make, but they couldnt stop complimenting it's taste. Everyone was happy and we are having leftovers tonight!
Date published: 2005-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Thought it was pretty tasty and very easy to make. Thought it was pretty tasty and very easy to make. Used chicken instead of shrimp. Make sure you enjoy the BBQ sauce you're using because it will be one of the main flavors. Next time I will use more rice and spice, less chicken broth and possibly drain the tomatos.
Date published: 2007-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Intructions were easy to follow and preperation was quick. Intructions were easy to follow and preperation was quick. The sauce came out a little spicy. I used tomatoe sauce instead of barbecue sauce. But the sauce was great! I bought medium size cooked shrimp with the tail on and they still shrunk to a minuscule size.
Date published: 2011-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Husband loved this. My Husband loved this. When I told him what I was cooking he didn't think he would like it. He couldn't stop talking about it.. I didn't use alot of sausage and the sausage I use I cut into smaller pieces. He can't wait for me to make it again.. Thanks Kraft.
Date published: 2007-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used ground sage sausage and also doubled the meat. I used ground sage sausage and also doubled the meat. It's a very nice dish. Depending on the barbcue sauce you use, it can be sweet or tangy. We called it 'sweet jambalaya' for the kids and they all had second helpings! This will become a regular menu item.
Date published: 2007-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This jambalaya is the easiest and tastiest I've ever made! This jambalaya is the easiest and tastiest I've ever made! Jambalaya usually takes a while to make but with this recipe people will never know how long you truly spent in the kitchen. Great recipe to make when you are craving some spicy, Cajun comfort food!
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this recipe was very good, and filling... this recipe was very good, and filling... i had a lot lefted over, so i took it to workfor lunch... and it was still yummy. I didn't put the BBQ sauce in. Tried a little bit mixed in after cooking it, but it was better without. And I added more hot sauce.
Date published: 2006-05-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unfortunately my husband and I hate this recipe. Unfortunately my husband and I hate this recipe. I wanted so bad to love it because it was so easy to make. It was too sweet. We only ate one bowl each and neither one of us would eat the leftovers so we had to throw it out. So sad and what a waste.
Date published: 2011-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this for my family last night with shrimp and Italian style chicken sausage, it was really... Made this for my family last night with shrimp and Italian style chicken sausage, it was really good,served with hot sauce on the side and a crunch kale slaw. There was one little serving left, the next day the flavors had melded, it was amazing.
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I thought this was okay. I thought this was okay. My husband did not like it at all. But I brought leftovers to work and it seemed to be much better the next day. I think it just needed time to meld together. I also added some creole seasoning to give it a kick.
Date published: 2006-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was pretty good. This was pretty good. I used sweet sausage instead of hot, but added hot & spicy bbq sauce (all that I had on hand). The shrimp and sausage go really well together. Next time I think I will omit bbq sauce and add some louisiana hot sauce.
Date published: 2006-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe numerous times and it's great everytime. I have made this recipe numerous times and it's great everytime. I've altered green peppers to yellow, orange, and red peppers. The taste varies slightly with each color but this is a great tasting, quick and easy to make dish.
Date published: 2008-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added a can of corn, a can of rinsed black beans, red/green peppers to this recipe to fill it out... I added a can of corn, a can of rinsed black beans, red/green peppers to this recipe to fill it out more. I also used chicken instead of shrimp and italian ground turkey instead of sausage. Be careful of the BBQ sauce you use!!
Date published: 2008-11-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I used the smoked turkey suggestion for this meal. I used the smoked turkey suggestion for this meal. I thought the seasoning was excellent, but was disappointed to find that the rice was not cooked when prepared as directed, and dinner was delayed while it finished cooking.
Date published: 2005-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband enjoyed this recipe. My husband enjoyed this recipe. He said he would like to have it again. I didn't use the barbeque sauce and it was fine without it. It was very quick and easy to put together. This is a great weeknight meal and it goes far.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We eat a lot of cajun foods and this was a big hit with the family. We eat a lot of cajun foods and this was a big hit with the family. my other recipe would take 2 hours to create and would be made only on special occassions. Now it can be made any day of the week with little effort.
Date published: 2005-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used roasted red pepper instead of green pepper, brown rice instead of white, and added black... I used roasted red pepper instead of green pepper, brown rice instead of white, and added black beans and creole seasoning. It was very flavorful! I wouldn't have never thought of the bbq sauce, but it was perfect.
Date published: 2009-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe! I loved this recipe!!! I am not the best cook, but the instructions were really easy to follow and it all turned out okay. My boyfriend is really picky too, but he loved it. I will definatly make this again!
Date published: 2007-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I was looking for a creative way to use sausage, and this was a really good dish! I was looking for a creative way to use sausage, and this was a really good dish! I think the bbq sauce isn't needed--it kinda changed the flavor a bit to me--so next time I may omit and go with the rest.
Date published: 2011-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shrimp was really good in this Jambalaya. Shrimp was really good in this Jambalaya. This recipe is way sweeter compared to normal Jambalaya since it used BBQ sauce. Which is great for kids and people like me, who do not like spicy food.
Date published: 2010-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was super easy to make. It was super easy to make. I used turkey sausage and doubled the amount the receipe called for. My family loved it. I even impressed my husband. I plan to make this one over and over.
Date published: 2007-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, easy recipe. Great, easy recipe. Made it for my husband-he liked it so much I had to make it for our friends the next week.Everyone raved about it & i gave out the recipe along with your magazine.
Date published: 2003-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has been my favorite jambalaya recipe since I was a child. This has been my favorite jambalaya recipe since I was a child. My favorite all time recipe in fact. Although what really makes it pop flavor wise is **************** BBQ sauce.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from personaly, i believe if you use a kinda sweet bar-b-que sauce it a more rounded flavore and brings... personaly, i believe if you use a kinda sweet bar-b-que sauce it a more rounded flavore and brings down the heat of the sausage. and a teaspoon of salt with your chicken broth
Date published: 2007-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great recipe! Great recipe! I used 8 oz. of tomato sauce & diced tomatoes with green chiles. I also used chicken instead of shrimp and cooked it with some creole seasoning. Mmmmmm-mmmmm!!!
Date published: 2008-03-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The taste was awesome! The taste was awesome! I loved the BBQ sauce, it made it very flavorful with the shrimp. But it was really watery. I ended up adding another cup of rice to soak up the water.
Date published: 2005-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife and I both loved this recipe and thought it was the best Jambalaya we have ever had. My wife and I both loved this recipe and thought it was the best Jambalaya we have ever had. The barbecue sauce gave it a nice twist and balanced the flavors. Outstanding!!!
Date published: 2012-03-01
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_30, tr_121
  • loc_en_US, sid_56799, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

542000:56799

>