Quick Taco Salad - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Quick Taco Salad

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

4 servings

Skip the hassle of stuffing a shell with taco salad! Quick Taco Salad is a delectable mash-up of fresh lettuce, tomatoes, cheese and lean ground beef.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Brown meat with onions in large nonstick skillet on medium-high heat; drain.
  • Add seasoning mix and water; mix well. Bring to boil. Simmer on medium-low heat 3 min.
  • Divide lettuce among 4 plates. Top evenly with meat mixture, tomatoes, cheese and crushed chips. Drizzle with dressing.

Size Wise

Enjoy your favorite foods while keeping portion size in mind.

Make Ahead

A great way to get a jump start on meals like this, is to cook meat, onions and taco seasoning mix ahead of time. Spoon into large resealable freezer-weight plastic bag; freeze. Keep seasoned meat in the freezer for nights when you're out of ideas!

Creative Toppings

Everyone can have their own unique salad when there are lots of toppings to choose from. Sliced green onions, sliced jalapeno peppers and pico de gallo are all delicious options!

Servings

  • 4 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 480
Total fat 28g
Saturated fat 11g
Cholesterol 100mg
Sodium 920mg
Carbohydrate 23g
Sugars 6g
Protein 32g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 270 %DV
Vitamin C 15 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 25 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from The only think that would make this better is Doritos. The only think that would make this better is Doritos. We put crushed doritos on the bottom, the meat on top of that and then everything else on top! Trust me. It's good! Adds a little pop of flavor that is seriously delish...we also use french dressing. Try it you'll like it!
Date published: 2011-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this once a week using 2% Milk Reduced Fat Cheddar and I substitute taco sauce for the ranch... I make this once a week using 2% Milk Reduced Fat Cheddar and I substitute taco sauce for the ranch dressing (although my husband still uses ranch). I eat about one serving, he eats about two, and there is one leftover to make for lunch the next day. Best salad ever!! :)
Date published: 2009-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I make this recipe often. I make this recipe often. Sometimes I make changes according to what is on hand such as iceberg lettuce, black olives, crushed Fritos, Doritos or taco shells, mexican cheese and love using Taco Bell Bold & Creamy spicy ranchero sauce (from the store). All is good!!!
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is the perfect thing to throw together during the work week. This is the perfect thing to throw together during the work week. As a mother of 3 sometimes very hungry children, time is of the essance! My son doesn't eat tacos very well because the shell would fall apart on him. This recepie allows him to dive right in!
Date published: 2007-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVED this recipe so did my husband and our guests we had over... I LOVED this recipe so did my husband and our guests we had over... I didn't like the ranch on it so I used a creamy cilantro dressing and that was prefect! I also added cilantro to the salad, it was a perfect touch... very yummy and will definitely make again!
Date published: 2008-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this was great! this was great! I wasn't sure I'd like it with the ranch dressing but it was amazing. I'm single so the extra servings were perfect for me take to work! I just put the hamburger in a seperate bowl to heat up and add to the rest of the salad. mmmm good!
Date published: 2006-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was not prepared for how much my family would enjoy this VERY simple recipe! I was not prepared for how much my family would enjoy this VERY simple recipe! And I loved the flavor of the ranch dressing with the meat! Will definitely make again--but I will double the recipe next time. (my family was fighting over what was left!)
Date published: 2008-04-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I like this taco salad. I like this taco salad. It makes me think of the taco salad my mom always made for us growing up. She used Fritos instead of tortilla chips and Catalina drssing which is sweet and zesty instead of Ranch. Overall, this recipe was pretty good.
Date published: 2010-04-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, but instead of using just plain ranch dressing, I mixed hot picante sauce and ranch together,... Good, but instead of using just plain ranch dressing, I mixed hot picante sauce and ranch together, with a sprinkle of the taco seasoning. This gave it a spicier, more 'authentic' taste. I also added rotel spicy tomatoes. Yum!
Date published: 2006-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this recipe rocks! this recipe rocks! I used bagged romaine lettuce. then onion/gr.beef. added sharp cheddar, sliced avacados, sliced black olives, a scoop of sour cream, & green chilies! I then used tostidos tortilla strips! man was this good!!
Date published: 2010-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This might be my favorite Kraft recipe! This might be my favorite Kraft recipe! It was delicious and easy. I followed it exactly except that I used packaged iceberg lettuce shreds instead of romaine, which worked out well. I served it with refried beans on the side.
Date published: 2007-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this for my family many times and it is always a favorite with my young daughters. I have made this for my family many times and it is always a favorite with my young daughters. They are usually picky eaters. They love when I make this meal! I love to make it because it is delicious and so easy to make.
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This taco salad was good. This taco salad was good. It wasn't great. The one thing I did differently was cut down on the amount of lettuce. Ten cups is too much for a family of three. I used four cups, and there was plenty leftover for lunch today.
Date published: 2011-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Made this recipe, and something just didn't taste right... Made this recipe, and something just didn't taste right... So I made it again, this time substituting crushed Doritos for the tortilla chips, and I used Light Catalina dressing instead of the Ranch. MUCH better! :)
Date published: 2011-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this last night and my family loved it. I made this last night and my family loved it. It was easy to make. We used tomatoes from our garden and sour cream. I will make this again. May family was thrilled to have something new and different for dinner.
Date published: 2008-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love to add my own spices to dishes like this, we no longer have small childen at home, so we... i love to add my own spices to dishes like this, we no longer have small childen at home, so we added a few hotter spices to pep it up , was very tasty, loved it, made extra to take to a supper for next week.
Date published: 2010-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We left out the tomoatos and added red onions to the salad! We left out the tomoatos and added red onions to the salad! We also added some hot sauce. This was one of the best tasting salads I have ever had. I want to try it with ground chicken or turkey also! Yum!!
Date published: 2010-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just love taco salad. I just love taco salad. I have my own recipe but I just love to try this one. I love to follow recipes that way I know I can't make a mistake or leave out ingredients. I tend to do that occassionally.
Date published: 2013-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe. I loved this recipe. I have made this recipe several times, but my favorite variation to this is to use Nacho Cheese Doritoes and Catalina Dressing. It gives it a different taste then the normal recipe.
Date published: 2007-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make a few substitutions like BBQ corn chips, and use the no name taco seasoning and regular... I make a few substitutions like BBQ corn chips, and use the no name taco seasoning and regular ground beef and it’s just fine. My family really enjoys this recipe, it’s so tasty and so easy to make.
Date published: 2006-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for work lunches, kept the "salad" in baggies, meat in microwavable dish. I made this for work lunches, kept the "salad" in baggies, meat in microwavable dish. Heated the meat for 1min. 35 seconds on 70% power. Was wonderful. I will use this again and again.
Date published: 2006-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was super easy and it was something that I will make again! It was super easy and it was something that I will make again! I never would of thought of using tortilla chips and instead of hamburger I used ground turkey and it was just as good!
Date published: 2008-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dh raved over this. My dh raved over this. He thinks it's the best salad ever. Dd thought it was too spicy, so a little less chili powder on hers and it'll be perfect. It's healthy and nurtrious.
Date published: 2006-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from we never had taco salad like this or even tacos like this. we never had taco salad like this or even tacos like this. I love ranch dressing, but never thought to put it on tacos. Everyone loved this recipe and we will def make it again!
Date published: 2011-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's easy to alter suiting each taste, i.e. It's easy to alter suiting each taste, i.e. adding black olives, sprinkle with a little fresh Cilantro, Taco Bowl (the kind you bake and eat) and even a few Jalapeno's.
Date published: 2007-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was such a hit in my house! This was such a hit in my house! The kids loved it and, honestly the next time I make it, I'll have to double the recipe; we didn't have enough this first time!!
Date published: 2007-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Ranch dressing, but I didn't think it would be good over ground beef and salsa. I love Ranch dressing, but I didn't think it would be good over ground beef and salsa. Boy, was I wrong. So good, and the best part was the chips over the top!
Date published: 2007-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really yummy taco salad - just what you expect, and it's delicious and easy to make. Really yummy taco salad - just what you expect, and it's delicious and easy to make. I wasn't sure about the ranch dressing, but it tasted great! We loved it.
Date published: 2007-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this recipe is super easy and super yummy. this recipe is super easy and super yummy. i used red leaf lettuce and rotel tomatoes. my husband liked it so well i had to make again for him the next day:)
Date published: 2010-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I will need to double he recipe next time. I will need to double he recipe next time. Was a lil scared by the dressing but it was great! I bought soft taco shells for my 5yo and every one was happy!
Date published: 2007-09-29
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_135
  • loc_en_US, sid_95057, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

556392:95057

>