Raspberry-Stuffed French Toast with Custard Sauce - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Raspberry-Stuffed French Toast with Custard Sauce

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
25
min.
Servings

9 servings

Can you believe raspberry-stuffed French toast can be a Healthy Living recipe? Watch our video for this Raspberry-Stuffed French Toast with Custard Sauce!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Beat first 4 ingredients in large bowl with mixer until blended. Add whole eggs and egg whites, 1 at a time, mixing well after each. Gradually beat in 2 cups milk.
  • Arrange 9 bread slices on bottom of 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; cover with half the berries and remaining bread slices. Pour Neufchatel mixture over bread. Let stand 30 min.
  • Heat oven to 350°F. Bake French toast 40 min. or until golden brown. Meanwhile, bring remaining milk just to boil in saucepan; gradually add dry pudding mix, whisking 2 min. until blended. Remove from heat; let stand 5 min. Meanwhile, microwave remaining raspberries in small microwaveable bowl on HIGH 15 to 20 sec. or just until warmed.
  • Spoon pudding over individual servings of French toast; top with berries.

Make Ahead

Assemble casserole as directed. Refrigerate several hours or overnight. When ready to serve, bake, uncovered, in 350°F oven 40 to 45 min. or until golden brown. Meanwhile, prepare custard sauce and raspberry mixture. Serve as directed.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Best Apples for Baking and Cooking

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Servings

  • 9 servings

Healthy Living

  • Low fat
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 4 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 3-1/2 Starch
  • 1/2 Fruit
  • 1 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

Delight your family and guests with this delicious low-fat brunch dish.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 9 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 340
Total fat 5g
Saturated fat 2.5g
Cholesterol 55mg
Sodium 560mg
Carbohydrate 60g
Dietary fiber 3g
Sugars 28g
Protein 13g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 2 %DV
Calcium 20 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was a really good recipe, but it didn't come out quite looking like the picture. This was a really good recipe, but it didn't come out quite looking like the picture. It was pretty hard to fit all the toasts into the pan (the French bread they used must have been tiny!), and some of it came out a little bit soggy, some of it a little bit dry. But overall it was a good recipe, and I'll probably make it again and just try to tweak a few things.
Date published: 2009-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this along with the frittata and potatoes from the holiday Kraft Magazine for a day-after... I made this along with the frittata and potatoes from the holiday Kraft Magazine for a day-after Thanksgiving brunch. What a hit! It was like a gourmet dish served up easier than ever! Everyone thought I was in the kitchen for hours that morning, when really it took only 15 minutes to prep the night before and then throw in the oven the next morning! Love it!
Date published: 2006-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Served this at Sunday brunch. Served this at Sunday brunch. Turned out very well, though instead of cutting the baguette into only 18 slices (which I thought were too thick) I sliced those in half and is came out perfectly! Thicker slices would've required a Much deeper baking dish. Also, this being lowfat made it more appealing to many of my guests.
Date published: 2006-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this treat for a group of ladies that I meet with every week as a special Valentine's... I made this treat for a group of ladies that I meet with every week as a special Valentine's Brunch. It turned out beautifully! It was not too terribly hard, but looked like I was pretty good in the kitchen! :) It tasted wonderful! My husband and kids even enjoyed the leftovers! (I doubled the recipe--works great!)
Date published: 2008-02-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Apparently, I'm not very bright. Apparently, I'm not very bright. I was all about this recipe and I ruined it. Everything was fine until the time I attempted the custard.......I dunno if maybe I bought the wrong kind of pudding(bought the instant sugar free) or if using soy milk was the problem, but it was nasty and it was completely liquid-y.
Date published: 2008-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If I ever make this again, I will use the batter, but I will cook the bread like normal french toast... If I ever make this again, I will use the batter, but I will cook the bread like normal french toast and just top it with raspberries if I want. The custard is flavorless! The bottom piece of bread was so mushy because it sat in the egg mixture with solidified in the bottom of my pan. Yuck.
Date published: 2007-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was so excited to make this, but was very disappointed in the end result. I was so excited to make this, but was very disappointed in the end result. I made it for a brunch and it just was not good. I would try the combination again, but I would do the french toast the old fashioned way in a fry pan then I would assemble and serve. The baked version was soggy.
Date published: 2007-01-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from the bottom was mushy & soggy, which wouldn't be too bad if the top was too.. the bottom was mushy & soggy, which wouldn't be too bad if the top was too.. but the top was crispy. i recommend keeping the cream cheese mixture, raspberries, & custard, but make 'regular' french toast on the stove with 'regular' bread. maybe then it won't be so soggy
Date published: 2008-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this twice and it was so goooood! I made this twice and it was so goooood! I made it with a bag of frozen berries mixed instead once and that was good too. The only thing I didn't like about it was making the custard....only because I lost track of time and it got a bit too thick. Good overall though.
Date published: 2007-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for a church brunch. I made this for a church brunch. Everyone loved it!! The only thing I did differently is I did not use the other slice on top. I thought it would have been too much bread and the tops would not have soaked up the cream cheese mixture. But it was still very good.
Date published: 2006-12-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was very excited to make this on Christmas day. I was very excited to make this on Christmas day. However to my dismay, it was absolutely aweful. Nobody ate seconds, and I was very disappointed. I guess it was my fault for trying a new recipe on a holiday. I would not recommend this at all.
Date published: 2007-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great flavor. Great flavor. The first time I made this recipe I bake it, but the bread was soggy on the bottom and crispy on the top. The next time I fix it I used texas toast insted of french bread and fix it in the stove, it worked much better.
Date published: 2008-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was an awesome brunch item! This was an awesome brunch item! Im not sure why so many people had problems with it, but I didnt use the entire custard sauce so it didnt get soggy. I thought it was flavorful and very very yummy! Im making it for Mothers Day!
Date published: 2008-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I WILL make this french toast, and can't imagine it wouldn't taste delicious. I WILL make this french toast, and can't imagine it wouldn't taste delicious. I love stuffed french toast :-) especially with vanilla sauce. I just question the ingrediants vs instructions...boil milk for INSTANT pudding?
Date published: 2008-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good, I used regular white bread and let it sit out over night so it was stale. Very good, I used regular white bread and let it sit out over night so it was stale. So when it was cooked it wasn't mushy. I also used cook pudding instead of the instant pudding. Even my 3 & 5 yr old boys ate it.
Date published: 2007-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from have made this for overnight guests and it was so loved by all that it is always requested when... have made this for overnight guests and it was so loved by all that it is always requested when anyone visits. It is so popular they take pictures of them eating it to text others not there to make them envious.
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for my daughter on Mothers Day ...It was very good .. I made this for my daughter on Mothers Day ...It was very good .. I do think the pudding could be the cooked pudding .. I warmed the cold pudding.after I put it all together.... I used blueberries very good...
Date published: 2007-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this recipe to impress my co-workers. I use this recipe to impress my co-workers. If we are having a potluck brunch (which happens every month) I pull out one of my easy but fantastic recipes (like this one) and it sends them into orbit.
Date published: 2007-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Bland! Very Bland! I read and made changes that the other reviews suggested. They did not turn out soggy because I did not put the whole mixture on bread. I was disappointed because the taste was too bland.
Date published: 2009-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Christmas breakfast. I made this for Christmas breakfast. I made it the night before & heated up that morning. It was excellent & it will be a family tradition from now on. Not too sweet, but sweet enough!
Date published: 2006-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was the highlight of our daughter's breakfast brunch, enjoyed by kids and adults. This was the highlight of our daughter's breakfast brunch, enjoyed by kids and adults. I agree with other comments that the bread should be sliced thinner. Otherwise, this was awesome.
Date published: 2007-03-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe looked like a professional made it. This recipe looked like a professional made it. I thought it would be too sweet but it wasn't. I just did not really like it. It was easy to make but it just lacked something.
Date published: 2011-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this for brunch, and everyone enjoyed it. Made this for brunch, and everyone enjoyed it. Made it the night before so I wouldn't have to prepare in AM, and I thought it turned out great. My kids all had 2nd helpings.
Date published: 2007-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i made this for a baby shower brunch and it came out wonderfully. i made this for a baby shower brunch and it came out wonderfully. so well in fact i have been asked to make it again for another baby shower brunch.. It's so easy and delicious.
Date published: 2009-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was so excited to make this because it looked so good. I was so excited to make this because it looked so good. It just ended up tasting horrible. The bread was all soggy and the pudding mixture made it worse.
Date published: 2007-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from YUMMY! YUMMY! I love stuffed french toast. I never thought of pairing it with raspberries, but it was delicious. I used texas toast and it turned out great!
Date published: 2007-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was Awsome! This was Awsome! Every time I make it for coffee with the girls, they all love it, even the children. Perfect for making the nite before!
Date published: 2007-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We made this for brunch on Christmas Day. We made this for brunch on Christmas Day. It will probably become one of our traditional recipes we make each Christmas. Deliscious!!
Date published: 2007-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I soak the bread with the mixture it comes out much better. I soak the bread with the mixture it comes out much better. My husband and kids ask for this on the weekends all the time!!!
Date published: 2009-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this a few months back and even my dad who is hard to please loved this dish. I made this a few months back and even my dad who is hard to please loved this dish. I will be making it again very soon!
Date published: 2008-03-28
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_95161, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

555557:95161

>