Red Velvet Cupcakes - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
20
min.
Servings

24 servings

Bring these moist Red Velvet Cupcakes to your next get-together. With cream cheese frosting, these red velvet cupcakes make an experience truly special.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Prepare cake batter and bake as directed on package for 24 cupcakes, blending dry pudding mix into batter before spooning into prepared muffin cups. Cool.
  • Beat cream cheese and butter in large bowl with mixer until blended. Gradually beat in sugar. Whisk in COOL WHIP. Spoon 1-1/2 cups into freezer-weight resealable plastic bag; seal bag. Cut 1 small corner off bottom of bag. Insert tip of bag into top of each cupcake to pipe about 1 Tbsp. frosting into center of cupcake.
  • Frost cupcakes with remaining frosting. Top with chocolate curls. Keep refrigerated.

How to Make Chocolate Curls

Warm chocolate slightly by heating it in the microwave for a few seconds until you can just smudge the chocolate with your thumb. Hold the chocolate steadily between your thumb and fingers of one hand and draw a vegetable peeler slowly over flat bottom of chocolate piece. Allow a thin layer of chocolate to curl as it is peeled off the bottom. This will make long delicate curls. To make short curls, use the same technique on the narrow sides of the chocolate piece. To arrange curls on a dessert, use a toothpick to lift them into place.

Variation

Prepare using 1 pkg. (1.4 oz.) JELL-O Chocolate Flavor Sugar Free Fat Free Instant Pudding, PHILADELPHIA Neufchatel Cheese and COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping.

How to Easily Fill Cupcakes with Frosting

Poke hole in top of each cupcake with handle of wooden spoon before filling with frosting.

Servings

  • 24 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 24 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 290
Total fat 14g
Saturated fat 6g
Cholesterol 45mg
Sodium 300mg
Carbohydrate 40g
Dietary fiber 0g
Sugars 30g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these cupcakes for Christmas dinner and everyone loved them so much, they begged me to make... I made these cupcakes for Christmas dinner and everyone loved them so much, they begged me to make them again for New Years! The cakes turned out soooo moist and everyone thought they were homemade! The only change the second time around was that I added a few pieces of crushed almonds to the top. I really loved this one!
Date published: 2011-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These were great. These were great. I made them for work for Valentine's Day with pretty heart cupcake wrappers. I didn't have instant pudding, but used regular pudding in the mix. I also cut down on the sugar for the frosting and added more cool whip which made for a very smooth, almost glass like, frosting. Everyone loved them.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was looking for an easy RV cupcake recipe and found this. I was looking for an easy RV cupcake recipe and found this. I made it for my friend's bachelorette party and it was a hit even the DJ, bartender and manager liked it! I will make this again for our company xmas party ;) I did cut down on the sugar to 2 1/2 cups and it was great! Check out the picture I posted ;)
Date published: 2010-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My super picky husband LOVES these! My super picky husband LOVES these! He asks for them for every occasion - birthday, Valentine's, anniversary, etc. He says they are even better than the ones at our favorite bakery! And I normally don't like red velvet cake, but the icing is so perfect and not too sweet with this recipe that I even enjoy them!
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The cupcakes are delicious and the trick to fill by using a wooden spoon and a ziploc bag make them... The cupcakes are delicious and the trick to fill by using a wooden spoon and a ziploc bag make them look professional for such little effort. However, one thing I would change next time is that I would double the amount of Cool Whip in the frosting so that it is a touch lighter and a touch less sweet.
Date published: 2010-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these for a party this weekend and got the "oooh what's in the icing? I made these for a party this weekend and got the "oooh what's in the icing?" comment from everyone. They were a hit. I did chill the frosting first as the heat from my hands holding the pastry bag made it too soft. I chilled after they were decorated too so they held their shape before the party.
Date published: 2011-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These cupcakes are easy to make and my family loved them. These cupcakes are easy to make and my family loved them. I especially liked the homemade icing and I did add 1 tsp of vanilla to it. Everyone was surprised to see the icing in the middle and it was easy to do!! Thanks, it was nice to give something like this to my family for Valentine's Day.
Date published: 2010-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These cupcakes are AWESOME! These cupcakes are AWESOME! I have made them twice in a week for two different Christmas parties! Both times I have been asked for the recipe and told how delicous they are. They come out so pretty too! My friend at work told me that they are better than a local "cupcake shop"
Date published: 2010-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They were perfect and awesome. They were perfect and awesome. Amazing Vaentine treats for anyone. I chilled the frosting prior to filling and poked a hole in the cupcake with the handle of a wooden spoon to make filling easier. Used a large star tip,they looked wonderful and I am not a pro by any means.
Date published: 2011-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these cupcakes for work and they were a HUGE hit! I made these cupcakes for work and they were a HUGE hit!! One of my managers told me she had a red velvet cupcake from the bakery the day before but after she ate mine, she said it was better than the bakery! Super easy to make with every day ingredients... THANKS KRAFT!!
Date published: 2011-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for our Christmas Work party. I made this recipe for our Christmas Work party. Everybody loved them. I also changed the filling in some to a butter cream filling from another recipe because my husband does not like cream cheese & they went over great. He also liked them with the butter cream filling.
Date published: 2010-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made these cupcakes at least a dozen times and they turn out the same everytime! I have made these cupcakes at least a dozen times and they turn out the same everytime! I first made them for a co-workers birthday and now I get a call about once a week from someone requesting me to make them. So now we have an official cupcake day at the office!
Date published: 2010-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good. Very good. Awesome. Superb. I just frosted the top with a bunch of frosting and did not take the time to put it in the middle of the cakes. I also sprinkled a wee bit of chocolate cocoa on top for alittle color and did not do the white chocolate curls.
Date published: 2010-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the best cupcakes I've ever made. This was the best cupcakes I've ever made. I had to use a Chocolate cake mix instead of the red velvet. The result was a wonderful, moist cupcake and the icing was not overly sweet. I added vanilla extract. Everyone at the Church dinner loved them.
Date published: 2010-02-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I made these last week and the cake portion of the cupcake did not taste good at all, maybe I had a... I made these last week and the cake portion of the cupcake did not taste good at all, maybe I had a bad box mix??? The homemade frosting however was perfect, a real hit with everyone. I don't recommend this recipe due to the poor flavor of the cake.
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent recipe. Excellent recipe. I didn't change anything. I did have extra frosting and just double layered on top of cupcakes. I tinted the frosting pink and put a maraschino cherry on top instead of the chocolate curls. Both kids and adults enjoyed them!
Date published: 2011-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made these 4 times and they are awesome! I've made these 4 times and they are awesome! Super moist and the frosting is amazing. I cut some of the sugar and fat by using sugar free Cool Whip and low fat cream cheese- it's not much, but I feel a little bit better about having a treat.
Date published: 2010-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, LOVE this recipe! Love, Love, LOVE this recipe!!! Made it with my daughter and a non-cooker friend, LOL, and it came out wonderuflly! The frosing was a bit too sweet for me so I added a splash of vanilla and it was perfect! Did I say I loved this recipe??!
Date published: 2009-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely loved this recipe. I absolutely loved this recipe. I used red velvet cake 2 round layers and filled and frosted with this cream cheese frosting recipe. I added way more cool whip, and its the BEST frosting I've ever had in my life! Love Love Love, Thankyou!!
Date published: 2010-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Moist and flavorful cupcake with delicious icing! Moist and flavorful cupcake with delicious icing! I had a difficult time with the white chocolate curls, but white chocolate shavings taste just as good! Based on other reviews, I cut the powdered sugar down to 3 cups and it was plenty.
Date published: 2010-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME! AWESOME!!!!! I love cupcakes and these were SUPERB. Best I have ever tasted. So moist, so delicious and the icing wasn't too sweet (I only used 3 cups and it was PLENTY)I am SO happy I made this and I can't wait to make them again!
Date published: 2010-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made a layered bundt cake instead and it turned out awesome. I made a layered bundt cake instead and it turned out awesome. I used devils food cake pudding in the cake mix vs plain chocolate. for the icing I only used 1 1/4 c. powdered sugar and it was the perfect sweetness. great recipe
Date published: 2010-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used two 9 inch rounds and made a 2-layer cake instead of the cupcakes. I used two 9 inch rounds and made a 2-layer cake instead of the cupcakes. There was plenty of frosting to do this with leftovers. The cake was delicous, i've made it twice now with rave reviews! Very easy quick and amazing!
Date published: 2011-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are the best cupcakes I have ever made. These are the best cupcakes I have ever made. The icing is the best!! I made the cupcakes and then put the frosting in a bag and frosted the cupcakes with as much frosting as I wanted. I would make these again and again!!!
Date published: 2010-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe many times and the result is always the same. I have made this recipe many times and the result is always the same. Everyone loves them. On the last ones I made I added chocolate chips to the mix and they turned out delicious (just so you know I'm a chocoholic)
Date published: 2013-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I forwarded this to my niece in TX & she wrote "Thanks for forwarding me the recipe. I forwarded this to my niece in TX & she wrote "Thanks for forwarding me the recipe. I made them tonight and they are awesome...definitely a hit! :)" She has 4 young children & is a busy mother & wife. Thanks!
Date published: 2010-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These were excellent! These were excellent! My mom's favorite is red velvet, but it can take too much time sometimes. The addition of chocolate pudding is superb! She loved them & so did the rest of my family. The icing is wonderful!
Date published: 2010-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These cupcakes are so moist! These cupcakes are so moist! I've never been a big cake eater, but I really enjoyed these cupcakes. The frosting is light and fluffy. I added a slash of vanilla to round it out. Definitely worth trying!
Date published: 2010-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THESE! LOVE THESE!!! SO YUMMY MADE THEM FOR MOTHER'S DAY BBQ AND THEY WERE GONE FAST! EVERYONE LOVED THEM! ESPECIALLY THE LITTLE SURPRISE IN THE MIDDLE THE FROSTING IS THE BEST! WILL NEVER BUY FROM STORE AGAIN
Date published: 2010-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe and so did my family. I loved this recipe and so did my family. It was simple and fancy! I made them for a Valentine's Day treat but would make them anyday of the year. Be creative and change the flavor of the cake mix.
Date published: 2010-02-15
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_100
  • loc_en_US, sid_114532, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

502338:114532

>