Roasted Chicken - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Roasted Chicken

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
30
min.
Servings

12 servings

Watch this video on how to make Roasted Chicken and you'll never buy a rotisserie chicken again. (Yeah. It's that easy.)

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Use fingers or end of wooden spoon to separate skin from meat on both sides of chicken, being careful not to tear the skin.
  • Brush bottom of chicken with 1/4 cup dressing. Tuck wings under chicken; place, breast-side up, on rack in roasting pan. Brush or pour 1/2 cup of the remaining dressing under the skin and on outside surface of chicken. Combine carrots, celery and remaining dressing; spoon into chicken cavity.
  • Bake 1-1/2 to 2 hours or until chicken is done (165°F). Let stand 10 min. before serving. Meanwhile, remove and discard vegetables from chicken cavity.

Passover Celebrations

To prepare this recipe for Passover, select food products that are kosher for Passover as needed. Consult with your rabbi if you have any questions.

Serving Suggestion

Serve this flavorful chicken with warm whole wheat rolls, and a crisp mixed green salad tossed with your favorite KRAFT Dressing.

Cooking Know-How

The general rule for roasting a chicken is to bake the chicken at 350°F for 20 min. per pound. When testing for doneness, insert a meat thermometer into the thickest part of one of the thighs, being careful to not let the thermometer touch the bone.

Servings

  • 12 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 12 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 250
Total fat 16g
Saturated fat 4g
Cholesterol 80mg
Sodium 220mg
Carbohydrate 2g
Dietary fiber 0g
Sugars 2g
Protein 24g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 2 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this chicken. I love this chicken. It was great. I did not stuff the chicken with the vegetables, instead I placed them around the pan and dripped the sauce over them throughout cooking. I also pierce the chicken a little in various spots so the sauce will flow inside the meat. It was juicy and tender!
Date published: 2006-09-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very good, but half a bottle dressing is plenty. Very good, but half a bottle dressing is plenty. I always stuff the cavity, but use celery tops, a couple of apples that have been in the bottom of the frig. drawer for a while and an onion. Inexpensive, and gives chicken good flavor. Cavity vegetables definitely need to be discarded.
Date published: 2007-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was so good. It was so good. My husbbend loved it. It last for about aweek in are house. Becouse he works in the oil fild and i never know when he is going to be home, SO me and my little girl eat it all week long. She love;s it in her eggs. She is a weard little girl lol jk
Date published: 2005-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this chicken and it was WONDERFUL! I made this chicken and it was WONDERFUL!! I didn't use the celery. Instead I used chopped onion with the carrots and it turned out fine. I didn't use a whole pound of carrots either -- just enough to stuff the cavity. I will be making this chicken again!!
Date published: 2007-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It took a little longer for me than what it suggested in the recipe. It took a little longer for me than what it suggested in the recipe. But it could have been my oven. I live in an apartment and my stove is circa 1950. It was the first time I had made a whole chicken like this. It turned out great and my boyfriend loved it.
Date published: 2006-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Omit the vegetables and sprinkle garlic powder and pepper in the cavity. Omit the vegetables and sprinkle garlic powder and pepper in the cavity. The chicken will be evenly cooked. The veggies were almost raw and the dark meat was undercooked. A very good cook-ahead recipe if you don't stuff the cavity with the vegetables.
Date published: 2006-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe! Great recipe! However, I stuffed the cavity of the chicken with some stuffing and added about 1/4 cup of basil pesto to the dressing and it turned out absolutely fantastic! Serve with sweet potatoes, or mashed potatoes, rolls, and some steamed veggies!
Date published: 2005-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from my family always eats the carrots, celery, and onions i put inside the chicken and I put potatoes... my family always eats the carrots, celery, and onions i put inside the chicken and I put potatoes around the chicken in the juice and bake it all together... we do not throw out the veggies..they taste good this way....and only one pan to wash..
Date published: 2007-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great and easy! Great and easy! This was my first time roasting a whole chicken and it came out juicy and delicious. The dressing gives it a great flavor and is good gravy to poor over the sliced chicken...I have made it twice in the past 2 weeks! Very Good!
Date published: 2010-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the best baked chicken ever and so easy! This was the best baked chicken ever and so easy!! My family normally does not eat celery, but this recipe had them not only eating the celery but the carrots also. Nothing was left of this meal but the bones. A real crowd pleaser!!
Date published: 2005-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was very surprised how moist this chicken was. I was very surprised how moist this chicken was. However, there wasn't any real flavor to it. Next time Im going to add more herbs. Although, both my little picky eaters eat ALL their chicken last night...and that says alot.
Date published: 2008-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My chicken was so tender that it was literally falling off the bone; this was my first attempt at... My chicken was so tender that it was literally falling off the bone; this was my first attempt at roasting an entire chicken, and my family absolutely loved it. Goes great with the Cheesy Broccoli Casserole recipe on here!
Date published: 2007-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the fact that I now can roast a chicken, without using any butter. I love the fact that I now can roast a chicken, without using any butter. This chicken was more moist than any I have ever made. The flavor this recipe gives the chicken is wonderful. My whole family loved it.
Date published: 2007-07-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This one was ok. This one was ok. I think it should have been marinated instead of brushing the dressing on. So the next time I make it I'm going to marinate it for 2 - 4 hours so the flavor of the dressing really stands out.
Date published: 2006-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Chicken I have ever made! Best Chicken I have ever made! I used 3 bone in breasts and lined the bottom of dish w/ veggies. veggies could have cooked a lil longer. The Flavor of the chicken was awesome and moist w/ crisp skin!
Date published: 2007-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hey i like having chicken as my dinner well because it is the only thing that you can have when you... hey i like having chicken as my dinner well because it is the only thing that you can have when you have braces on well it's good for you too well good and excellent choice to have for dinner
Date published: 2008-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband is a finicky eater and he actually liked this recipe quite well. My husband is a finicky eater and he actually liked this recipe quite well. I thought it had an excellent flavor and was extremely juicy. I would not change anything about this recipe.
Date published: 2007-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from At the price of celery ($2.49/stalk), it's a shame to have to throw out the vegetables after the... At the price of celery ($2.49/stalk), it's a shame to have to throw out the vegetables after the chicken is cooked. That kind of puts me off from making this recipe at this time.
Date published: 2007-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ive made this about 3 times so far, i love it and its really easy. Ive made this about 3 times so far, i love it and its really easy. I pull the skin away from the meat and marinate overnight, smells really good when cooking and everyone loves it
Date published: 2005-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The chicken turned out wonderfully moist. The chicken turned out wonderfully moist. However, in our family, the carrots and celery would be better suited by chopping it smaller and adding it to stuffing.
Date published: 2007-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is one of my favorite kraft recipes! This is one of my favorite kraft recipes! Almost any side dish accompanies this well. My husband and I almost eat the entire chicken in one day! It's that good!
Date published: 2006-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks good but I have a question, why do I need to disgard the vegetables after the chicken is done... Looks good but I have a question, why do I need to disgard the vegetables after the chicken is done cooking? I think the vegetables would be a good side dish.
Date published: 2008-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was extremely moist. This recipe was extremely moist. I had to lessen the carrots and celery because they wouldn't fit into the cavity. Defnitely would make it again.
Date published: 2007-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simply delish! Simply delish!I surrounded the chicken with vegetables instead and added garlic and whole onion instead into the cavity then discarded them.YUM!
Date published: 2009-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I find the info. I find the info. helpful. We have always eaten stuffing or veggies or fruit cooked inside the chicken. Is there some reason we shouldn't? Ray
Date published: 2007-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very juicy and the veggies were great! Very juicy and the veggies were great! Very easy to make. My 7year old even helped me with the brushing and stuffing. I also added onions.
Date published: 2007-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this recipe was so juicy I made it with the asparagus recipe for Kraft and the cheddar bay... this recipe was so juicy I made it with the asparagus recipe for Kraft and the cheddar bay biscuits. It was a hit with my picky family
Date published: 2006-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Forget the carrots and celery. Forget the carrots and celery. They won't impart enough flavor and then only to be thrown out (so wasteful!!) "Waste not, want not."
Date published: 2007-03-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe has far too many grams of fat per serving. This recipe has far too many grams of fat per serving. Can you suggest a way to adjust it to conform to healthier eating standards?
Date published: 2005-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I don't understand putting the veggies inside the chicken and then throwing them away. I don't understand putting the veggies inside the chicken and then throwing them away. Very wasteful. Why couldn't they be eaten?
Date published: 2007-03-13
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_28, tr_83
  • loc_en_US, sid_74515, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

548515:74515

>