Roasted Pepper and Basil Skewers - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Roasted Pepper and Basil Skewers

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

16 servings

Like serving summer on a stick. Cheese, roasted peppers and fresh tomatoes and basil line up to celebrate on your patio. Fast and delicious, too.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Thread all ingredients except dressing onto 16 small wooden skewers or toothpicks. Place in shallow dish. Add dressing; turn skewers to evenly coat ingredients with dressing.
  • Let stand at room temperature 20 min. to marinate, turning occasionally.
  • Remove skewers from marinade just before serving; discard marinade.

Gluten Aware

This recipe is made with ingredients that contain no labeled sources of gluten. However, if your personal dietary goal is to strictly avoid gluten, be vigilant. Always read ingredient statements on food labels for the most current and accurate information for every recipe ingredient. And when working in the kitchen, use gluten-free preparation methods and utensils. For individualized advice, check with a certified health professional or credible source. Click here for more information.

Substitute

Substitute 2 pkg. (8 oz. each) KRAFT Monterey Jack Cheese for the 16-oz. pkg. of mozzarella.

How to Roast Peppers

Heat broiler. Place whole bell peppers or large chile peppers on foil-covered baking sheet. Broil, 4 inches from heat, 7 to 10 min. or until peppers are evenly blackened, turning occasionally. Place in paper bag; close bag. Let stand 20 min. or until peppers are cooled. Remove peppers from bag. Peel away blackened skins with small knife; discard skins. Cut peppers lengthwise in half; remove and discard seeds. Use roasted peppers as directed in recipe.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 90
Total fat 6g
Saturated fat 4g
Cholesterol 15mg
Sodium 250mg
Carbohydrate 2g
Dietary fiber 0g
Sugars 1g
Protein 7g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 8 %DV
Vitamin C 30 %DV
Calcium 15 %DV
Iron 0 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another excellent variation - use fresh mozzerella (it makes a huge difference! Another excellent variation - use fresh mozzerella (it makes a huge difference!). I have also tried this with just drizzling olive oil & balsamic vinegar over the skewers (instead of the salad dressing). YUM!
Date published: 2005-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe. This is a great recipe. I had so many cherry tomatoes from my garden I didn't know what to do. I made some with pepper jack cheese. They were a great hit with all my neighbors at our end of the summer party.
Date published: 2009-10-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I thought these were pretty good, but had quite a few left over. I thought these were pretty good, but had quite a few left over. I think these would be better to serve when it is warm out (at a BBQ). I did use Balsamic Viniagrette in place of the Italian dressing. Yum.
Date published: 2008-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Since the peppers are roasted before assembling, if they are going to be removed BEFORE SERVING,... Since the peppers are roasted before assembling, if they are going to be removed BEFORE SERVING, there's no need to use skewers during marination. Just place the pieces and the marinade in a resealable bag.
Date published: 2010-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When it's said to add 1/3 cup KRAFT Classic Italian Vinaigrette Dressing, another idea if you don't... When it's said to add 1/3 cup KRAFT Classic Italian Vinaigrette Dressing, another idea if you don't have that, is olive oil and some dry herbs you might have around the house. It's all good.
Date published: 2008-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to fix, looks colorful and appealing. Easy to fix, looks colorful and appealing. Geat way to use the cherry tomato and basil harvest from our garden. I made some with yellow pear tomatoes for a contrast and varied the cheeses.
Date published: 2005-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Every time I make these they all get eaten! Every time I make these they all get eaten! The kids love to help make these as well as eat them. My daughter just requested these for her 6 year old birthday party. Easy and tasty.
Date published: 2010-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my hors d'oeuvres buffet this past Christmas. I made this recipe for my hors d'oeuvres buffet this past Christmas. It was quick to throw together, and disappeared even faster! So easy to do - even for a snack! Who needs chips?
Date published: 2008-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great recipe - so simple. Great recipe - so simple. But make peeling the peppers easier by putting them in the paper bag (or a bowl covered in plastic) before you peel them. The skin slides right off.
Date published: 2010-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made these skewers for a friends get together and they were a huge hit. I made these skewers for a friends get together and they were a huge hit. I made some without roasted peppers for some and they all went in a flash. I should have made more.
Date published: 2005-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from THIS WAS A BIG HIT AT A FRIENDS SPRING PARTY! THIS WAS A BIG HIT AT A FRIENDS SPRING PARTY!! THEY LIKED THAT IT WAS VEGGIES ON A STICK. I SUBSTITUTE THE BASEL AND USED BROCCOLI ALSO USED MORE THAT ONE KIND OF CHEESE
Date published: 2011-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great and simple recipe! This is a great and simple recipe! I doubled the recipe to make larger sized skewers because they disappear fast! I have made several times and everyone asks for more!
Date published: 2007-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I took it to work and everyone loved it. I took it to work and everyone loved it. I did not use basil. I used regular red and yellow peppers (not roasted). I added olives and pepper jack cheese.
Date published: 2006-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this as an appetizer numerous times for company. I've made this as an appetizer numerous times for company. It's quick, easy, has a lovely presentation, and tastes great. It's always gets rave reviews!
Date published: 2007-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairly easy to make - and I'd never roasted peppers before. Fairly easy to make - and I'd never roasted peppers before. A little difficult to eat - looks like finger food, but more than one bite required. Tasty.
Date published: 2010-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is the easiest thing to put together and take to a gathering. This is the easiest thing to put together and take to a gathering. It tastes great and looks impressive. The kids love helping load up the skewers.
Date published: 2007-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was easy to make, colorful and tasty. It was easy to make, colorful and tasty. Not much more than that. One guest described it as "salad on a stick". Thanks for the recipe, Kraft.
Date published: 2006-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a club meeting and I brought home an empty platter. I made this for a club meeting and I brought home an empty platter. Everyone loved it. I did not put the peppers on though. Still delicious.
Date published: 2007-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My sister made these for a garden wedding reception appetizer - but stuck the tips of the skewers... My sister made these for a garden wedding reception appetizer - but stuck the tips of the skewers in a head of lettuce - presented very well -
Date published: 2008-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe, and so did my guests. I loved this recipe, and so did my guests. It was simple and tasty and not too bad for you! I used whole milk mozzarella instead of part skim.
Date published: 2010-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this as an appetizer at my aunt and uncles anniversary party. I made this as an appetizer at my aunt and uncles anniversary party. They were colorful and went over very well. I also put olives on them.
Date published: 2006-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wasn't very popular at a baby shower. Wasn't very popular at a baby shower. Not worth the effort. Also, once again, the recipe called for an unavailable ingredient.(The dressing)
Date published: 2008-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Wow! Easy to make and really made a great impression on my guests. The combination of the flavors was perfect. Definately worth the effort.
Date published: 2006-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a bbq with friends. I made this for a bbq with friends. The apperance is georgous and very colorful. The blend of flavors was awesome. They went fast!!!!!!
Date published: 2005-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These were delicious. These were delicious. But i made them with the zesty italian. But I was supprised at the yum pum good ol' taste of these jummy yummies.
Date published: 2005-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe on many occassions and it is always a big hit, it's great for cocktail... I have made this recipe on many occassions and it is always a big hit, it's great for cocktail partys when only serving apptizers.
Date published: 2007-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is so flavorful, and looks wonderful on a plate. This is so flavorful, and looks wonderful on a plate. Every time we make these, we get many compliments. I recommend this dish.
Date published: 2006-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Instead of using Italian Vinaigrette, I used Balsamic dressing, it brings out the flavor of the... Instead of using Italian Vinaigrette, I used Balsamic dressing, it brings out the flavor of the mozzarella and tomatoes better.
Date published: 2008-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is great after a long day at work, for relaxing with friends or just by yourself, together... This is great after a long day at work, for relaxing with friends or just by yourself, together with a glass of italian wine.
Date published: 2006-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These were a big hit at a New Year's party we attended. These were a big hit at a New Year's party we attended. They looked beautiful and tasted wonderful. People just ate them up!
Date published: 2007-01-05
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_64873, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

547015:64873

>