Santa Fe Chicken - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Santa Fe Chicken

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
55
min.
Servings

Makes 4 servings

This is what happens when a good ol’ chicken casserole takes a trip to the land of enchantment. You get an easy dish with cheesy rice and a spicy kick.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400°F.
  • Combine rice, beans and peppers in 13x9-inch baking dish. Mix soup, water and cilantro; pour over rice mixture.
  • Top with chicken and salsa.
  • Bake 45 min. or until chicken is done (165°F), topping with cheese for the last 10 min.

Healthy Living

Save 50 calories and 6g of fat, including 3g of saturated fat, per serving by preparing with 98%-fat-free reduced-sodium condensed cream of chicken soup and KRAFT Mexican Style 2% Milk Finely Shredded Four Cheese.

Substitute

Don't have fresh cilantro? Use 1 tsp. ground coriander instead.

Servings

  • Makes 4 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size Makes 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 640
Total fat 17g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 100mg
Sodium 1090mg
Carbohydrate 78g
Sugars 3g
Protein 45g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 25 %DV
Vitamin C 35 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 40 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a good starter recipe. This is a good starter recipe. The first time I made it as is and it was rather bland. The sencond time I spiced up the rice and chicken with a packet of taco seasoning and added choppend jalapeno and diced onion. I think next time I'll marinate the chicken for a couple of hours or over night, with a southwest marinade.
Date published: 2012-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The first change I will make to this recipe is to not use minute rice. The first change I will make to this recipe is to not use minute rice. I will make the rice ahead of time and use cooked rice. I also will add more cilantro, onions, peppers,black olives and corn. I think adding some cumin will help too. I might also crush taco chips and add them as a topping.
Date published: 2009-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this last night for my family. I made this last night for my family. My kids loved it. My husband and I liked it pretty well. If you love cilantro this is the recipe for you. If I make it again I think I will add a can of green chillies or something. It could be a little more spicy for my taste but, it was good.
Date published: 2009-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I made all the changes that everyone recommended and it was still gross. I made all the changes that everyone recommended and it was still gross. I used green pepper, added onion, seasoned the chicken, used more salsa, used broth instead of water and used a ton of cheese. I will not make this again...it was a waste of good ingredients.
Date published: 2011-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed this after substituting a small can of diced green chiles for the yellow pepper and... Really enjoyed this after substituting a small can of diced green chiles for the yellow pepper and Campbells Healthy Request Cream of Chicken soup (lower sodium). It took about 10 minutes longer to bake then the recipe said, but was a hit with the hubby!
Date published: 2009-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from after reading reviews, I substituted chicken broth for water, I used Mexican corn and onion. after reading reviews, I substituted chicken broth for water, I used Mexican corn and onion. I marinated my chicken w/ cilantro and taco seasoning. partly cooked my chicken and onion before adding to dish this was great and very moist. will make again.
Date published: 2011-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is a winner! This recipe is a winner! I did add a can of diced green chilis but otherwise followed the recipe as written. Delicious! Even my picky 11-year old loved this dish - especially the rice, which is huge! This one is definitely going into rotation. Yum!
Date published: 2011-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe twice with some slight variations. I have made this recipe twice with some slight variations. I used chicken broth instead of water. I added a can of corn to the black beans and a Tablespoon of crushed red peppers. The recipe is very easy to cook and with a little ambition, very tasty.
Date published: 2009-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe did need some tweaking - first I marinated the chicken in taco seasoning along with some... This recipe did need some tweaking - first I marinated the chicken in taco seasoning along with some other spices. Then instead of the pepper I used onions and corn with the black beans - it was delicious and would definitely make again.
Date published: 2009-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe as written other than substituting brown Minute Rice for the while. I made this recipe as written other than substituting brown Minute Rice for the while. It's very good but I agree with others that it could stand a little more heat or something. I'll definitely make it again with some tweaking.
Date published: 2009-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Next time I would use 3 cups of rice instead of 2. Next time I would use 3 cups of rice instead of 2. I also added grilled corn salsa and some diced jalapeno for extra kick and served with a dollop of sour cream. This recipe was delicious and great the next day as left-overs.
Date published: 2010-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good, used half chicken broth and half water, green pepper instead of yellow. Very good, used half chicken broth and half water, green pepper instead of yellow. Doesn't hurt to add a little more salsa. My husband ate his with tortilla chips. Great leftover, throw in a tortilla for a quick lunch burrito.
Date published: 2011-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought it was delicious! I thought it was delicious! I made it with chopped red onion instead of yellow peppers because we were out of peppers. We both really liked it. Next time I might add some salsa to the rice part and maybe a bit more water. :)
Date published: 2011-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy recipe. Easy recipe. Rice part was great(I used low sodium chicken broth instead of water), but the chicken was bland, it needs more spice. Maybe marinating it first would help. Will make again, but flavor the chicken more.
Date published: 2010-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I haven't made this yet, I plan on it. I haven't made this yet, I plan on it. Recipe looks good and easy. I noticed comments it wasn't spicy enough. I would suggest instead of salsa use a can of Rotel tomatoes. I suspect that would be just enough bite.
Date published: 2009-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this recipe, I substituted the white rice with brown rice and it came out deliciously. Love this recipe, I substituted the white rice with brown rice and it came out deliciously. I will definitely make it again, it was so easy to throw together and bake. I definitely recommend this, even for kids.
Date published: 2011-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from MADE THIS WITHOUT THE CILANTRO, IT IS GOOD BUT DEFINATELY NEEDS SOME SPICE TO IT. MADE THIS WITHOUT THE CILANTRO, IT IS GOOD BUT DEFINATELY NEEDS SOME SPICE TO IT. I ADDED CHILI PEPPERS AND IT STILL NEEDS SOMETHING MORE. FAST AND EASY. I ALSO USED BROWN RICE. MAYBE A HOT SALSA WOULD WORK?
Date published: 2009-11-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very very bland....next time I will add some diced tomatoes w/chilis. Very very bland....next time I will add some diced tomatoes w/chilis. Will also add spices to the chicken and use broth instead of water. With some changes, this will be an great quick week night dinner!
Date published: 2011-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is an excellent dinner choice! This is an excellent dinner choice! Everyone loved it - even the kids! I have made this several times and it always comes out a little different - but always scores high on the satisfaction scale!
Date published: 2009-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used chicken broth in place of the water and cream of mushroom soup in place of cream of chicken... I used chicken broth in place of the water and cream of mushroom soup in place of cream of chicken and it turned out so good!! It was also very easy to make. I will for sure make this one again.
Date published: 2010-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Based on the reviews I used chicken broth instead of water and,pinto beans instead of black beans,... Based on the reviews I used chicken broth instead of water and,pinto beans instead of black beans, added onion, green bell peppers and lots of cheese...it was really good and the kids loved it.
Date published: 2010-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was good however I did follow a few of the previous reviewers suggestions. This was good however I did follow a few of the previous reviewers suggestions. I used chicken broth in place of the water and coated the chicken with taco seasoning prior to adding the salsa.
Date published: 2010-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was delicious. This recipe was delicious. I precooked rice and used canned chicken adding the broth to reduce the cook time to 20min. I also added the green chilles and used golden mushroom soup instead.
Date published: 2013-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A really good casserole--even my fussy husband liked it! A really good casserole--even my fussy husband liked it! I didn't have cilantro so I added about 1/3rd of a container of Philly Santa Fe Cooking Creme to the soup and water. Delicious!
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was plenty spicy for me. This was plenty spicy for me. I added more cilantro, did chicken broth instead of water, chopped the chicken up, and added a whole lot more cheese for my cheese-loving husband. Yummy!!
Date published: 2010-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I cut the chicken into bite size pieces, added a can of corn, and chili powder and cayenne. I cut the chicken into bite size pieces, added a can of corn, and chili powder and cayenne. I did not use cilantro. Turns out great every time as long as it's spiced up a good bit.
Date published: 2012-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this! Loved this!!! I used brown rice as it was the only rice I had. I added 2 teaspoons of Taco Seasoning to the soup mixture. I added salt, pepper and garlic salt between the layers.
Date published: 2014-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this Friday night as is, for an evening with new neighbors. Made this Friday night as is, for an evening with new neighbors. It was easy and they went for seconds-I was thrilled! My husband and I are thouroughly enjoying the left-overs.
Date published: 2009-11-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I marinated cut up chicken breasts to give it flavor. I marinated cut up chicken breasts to give it flavor. I added canned corn and left out the yellow pepper and cilantro. Easy to make but would not make again. Pretty bland.
Date published: 2009-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We are going to have this again! We are going to have this again! I added a can of Ro-tel and extra cilantro. Maybe next time I will try this recipe with brown rice and no chicken - for a meatless Monday.
Date published: 2015-05-05
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_114523, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

551653:114523

>