Santa Fe Chicken Casserole - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Santa Fe Chicken Casserole

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

6 servings

Here's one casserole layered with the many flavors of Santa Fe: shredded chicken, black beans, tortillas and plenty of melted cheese.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375ºF.
  • Mix cream cheese spread, taco seasoning and milk until blended. Combine next 4 ingredients in large bowl. Add half the cream cheese mixture; mix lightly.
  • Spread 1/3 of the chicken mixture onto bottom of 9-inch pie plate; top with 1 tortilla, half the remaining chicken mixture and 1/4 cup shredded cheese. Cover with second tortilla, remaining chicken mixture, 1/4 cup shredded cheese and remaining tortilla. Top with remaining cream cheese mixture and shredded cheese; cover.
  • Bake 25 min. or until heated through, uncovering for the last 5 min.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with a crisp mixed green salad to round out the meal.

Special Extra

Garnish with 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro just before serving.

Note

Purchase a rotisserie chicken to get the shredded chicken needed to prepare this delicious casserole. Refrigerate remaining chicken for another use.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 390
Total fat 17g
Saturated fat 9g
Cholesterol 95mg
Sodium 670mg
Carbohydrate 26g
Dietary fiber 6g
Sugars 3g
Protein 33g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 8 %DV
Calcium 20 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from As a newly diagnosed diabetic, I thought my food choices were going to be extremely limited. As a newly diagnosed diabetic, I thought my food choices were going to be extremely limited. This recipe only had 370 calories and 26 grams of carbohydrates per serving. I bought enough ingredients today to make again. The whole family loved it and didn't even realize they were eating something that was good for them!!!
Date published: 2011-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Geez I didn't agree with anyone rating this recipe. Geez I didn't agree with anyone rating this recipe. I didn't like it at all. Smelled good while baking but couldn't taste the individual ingredients? Maybe the cheese masked the different flavors and I didn't like the cheese either...I am a born/bread WI cheesehead. Also the flour tortillas were a soggy mess.
Date published: 2011-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really loved this recipe, the only thing is that i added other ingredients to give it more... I really loved this recipe, the only thing is that i added other ingredients to give it more flavor. on the black beans i added some tomatoes,onions,cilantro some mild sauce and some lemon.i also added a little sourcream to the santa fe cream to make it more creamier..everyone loved it :)
Date published: 2012-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No Santa Fe creme in 2 stores so I used 1 fat free cream cheese + ~1/4c sour cream + ~2T tortilla... No Santa Fe creme in 2 stores so I used 1 fat free cream cheese + ~1/4c sour cream + ~2T tortilla soup mix. I also used 10" tortillas and glad I did. Good taste overall but I wish I'd put more cream mix inside rather than on top- it was a bit too much on top.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Tried this with some very picky eaters and it was delicious. My children kept going back for more. I added corn instead of beans being that my I do not like beans and it came out wonderful. Added some sour cream, jalapenos, and doritos on the side. What a great idea it was for me. Today I tried it as dip and added some bacon on top after letting it chill in the refrigerator for about an hour. I did not cook it only mixed the sour cream, taco seasoning, milk, chicken and green onions. It was delish!
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Came out great. Came out great. But I did folllow many suggestions to cook it longer. I waited until the tell tale signs of bubbling around the edges to know a casserole is cooked throughly - nearly doubling the cooking time stated in the recipe. I could see many of your favorite ingredients working in this.
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought this recipe was very good. I thought this recipe was very good. However, I did do a little adjusting to the recipe. I added some diced jalapeno peppers and also added some fajita seasoning mix to the chicken, black bean, tomato and onion mixture. I also didn't have green onions, so I used regular onions (only about a tablespoon or 2). I also topped with a little sour cream before serving. I will definately be making this again!
Date published: 2011-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of flavor. Lots of flavor. Nice and cheesy. Mmmm. Man pleasing. Able to be spicy to your individual tastes. Thats an all around recipe! It was quick to through togeather,versetile enough to through in a few extras like fresh chopped green and red peppers for some color and crunch. Some black olives for some color contrast and visual interest. It was as good cold as it was hot. Whats not to like! Chubychipmunk
Date published: 2011-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great recipe! Great recipe! I used rotel instead of regular diced tomatoes as well, and I'm not a fan of onions, so deleted those. Cooked it for 10 min longer per other suggestions, with the 5 min uncovered. On the dinner plate, I added a little sour cream with black olives on top. Very good!! Also had tortilla chips on the side to pick up left over filling. Will definately make again!!
Date published: 2011-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loved this recipe, said I could make anytime! My husband loved this recipe, said I could make anytime! Agree with cooking time: added 10 min. to bake time and 5 min. to uncover time for cheese. I didn't have some ingredients: used 9" tortillas instead of 6", Hunt's Fire Roasted diced tomatoes, saute'ed onions instead of green and Colby Jack cheese. Love, love,love this recipe!!! Very good as leftovers too.
Date published: 2011-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I changed a few things and it turned out excellent! I changed a few things and it turned out excellent! I used ground chicken thigh meat instead of shredded chicken which I seasoned with taco seasoning when I fried the meat. I also added some chopped jalapeno peppers and frozen corn too. I also used 2 cups of shredded cheese. This recipe is a keeper. I may try with corn tortillas next time.
Date published: 2011-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was super easy and turned out fantastic! This recipe was super easy and turned out fantastic! My husband raved about it and he is not even a Mexican food fan but said that this receipe was a "keeper". I, too, substituted the diced tomatoes for Rotel and along the new cooking cream, it had plenty of flavor. I will definitley be making this again soon!
Date published: 2011-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, we need to double the recipe next time! Just polished off this dish, my seven year old gobbled it up and asked me to make it again, my ten year old and sixteen year old daughters loved it too. My husband was very impressed and made sure every last bite was gone. I used ground chicken and tomatoes from our garden, they worked great. Thank you! :-)
Date published: 2016-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was so good! This recipe was so good! I did make a few alterations by adding peppers, garlic and onions to the bean and tomato mixture. I also added cheese between each layer or tortillas. I also didn't have a a pie dish so I used my smaller Rachael Ray Bubble & Brown dish and it worked perfectly! Yum-O!!
Date published: 2011-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe. I loved this recipe. It was so simple to make and tasted really good. The only deviation I made was I added a can of rotel tomatoes instead of the unsalted ones it called for. We like ours spicy and the rotel really added alot of flavor. I also baked it about 35 mins. instead of the 25.
Date published: 2011-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loved this. My family loved this. It had fantastic flavor. Only change I made was to cook cubed chicken in oven-safe deep skillet first, then remove chicken and create the layers in said skillet. That way, I could put directly into oven, making this a true one-pot dish. Definitely making again.
Date published: 2011-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME! AWESOME!!!! Made a few changes after reading the previous ratings. I used Rotel in place of the tomatoes and I boiled my chicken breasts with white onion, garlic, chicken stock, cumin and smoked paprika. WOW....it turned out great even my picky kids ate it. Definately a do-over!
Date published: 2011-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was delicious! This was delicious! I cooked my chicken with finely diced yellow onion and green pepper, a little minced garlic, and some taco seasoning for extra flavor. I also used 8 inch tortillas since I used a 9 inch pie pan. This was absolutely divine! Even my picky husband loved it!
Date published: 2011-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After reading the other comments, sounded like a keeper but like it needed some spicing up. After reading the other comments, sounded like a keeper but like it needed some spicing up. Rather than dice chili's or add spices, I simply substituted the canned tomatoes with salsa which kept the recipe Kraft simple still. We will definitely eat this again soon.
Date published: 2011-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe with diced tomatoes with green chilies and added the chicken mixture with a... I made this recipe with diced tomatoes with green chilies and added the chicken mixture with a slotted spoon to drain excess juices.I served it with steamed white rice and the taste was excellent!I will bake it 5-10 minutes longer next time so it is good and hot!
Date published: 2011-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was so simple to make. This was so simple to make. I made it with Mexican rice and added a side of lowfat sour cream and corn chips. Since it is a "Santa Fe" casserole, nothing would make it better than adding authentic New Mexico green chiles! We will definitely be having this again.
Date published: 2011-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I love this recipe. My husband and I love this recipe. I have also shared it with friends, who like us, have made it several times. All of us use tomatoes with some mexican flavorings to put some more spice to it. This dish is defintely on my list to make over and over again.
Date published: 2012-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this several times, each time I change it a little. I have made this several times, each time I change it a little. Add some corn, cilantro, black olives. Everyone just loves it. I fixed it for a group of friends last night and they just raved about it. Oh I also have sour cream to top it with! Enjoy Deb
Date published: 2012-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for dinner tonight. Made this for dinner tonight. However due to trying to avoid wheat nixed the tortillas and added a can of hominy and mixed all the sauce in at once. Made three layer with cheese. It was yummy! Served with sour cream and avocado and a simple side salad.
Date published: 2012-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was easy to make and pretty good. This was easy to make and pretty good. I agree with one of the other reviewers that it was a tad "mushy" but I will just modify quantity of cream next time. I also substituted by using Rotel and i omitted the black beans. I will make it again , thanks!
Date published: 2011-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I read the reviews yesterday before making mine, instead of diced tomatoes I used Rotel tomatoes... I read the reviews yesterday before making mine, instead of diced tomatoes I used Rotel tomatoes with green chiles, it was fanastic. I've found many recipes online and usually they are good but this is probably one of my favorites. Would recommend!!
Date published: 2011-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I changed it up a bit, added pinto instead of black beans, used tomatoes with green chilis, and corn... I changed it up a bit, added pinto instead of black beans, used tomatoes with green chilis, and corn shells instead of flour,and put cilantro in with the chicken and on the top. I also doubled the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan. Everyone loved it!
Date published: 2012-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it but couldn't find the Santa Fe Blending cream at my Winco. Loved it but couldn't find the Santa Fe Blending cream at my Winco. They had the Italian & Original so I got the Original. We just put our favorite salsa on it. Even my 7yr daughter loved it once I told her all that was in it. Added olives to it.
Date published: 2012-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time I've used the Philly cooking cream and this recipe was YUMMY. First time I've used the Philly cooking cream and this recipe was YUMMY. I used all shredded sharp cheddar because that's what was on hand. Also had some cooked chicken thighs with the brest meat. We all loved it and it was easy to prep!
Date published: 2011-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this was delicious. this was delicious. i added black olives to the mix and sauteed the onions first with the chicken. i used 8" tortillas because the 6" ones looked too small and it came out great. my boyfriend loved it and asked me to make it again soon.
Date published: 2011-03-12
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_30, tr_105
  • loc_en_US, sid_121725, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

557473:121725

>