Sausage and Tomato Rigatoni - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Sausage and Tomato Rigatoni

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
35
min.
Servings

4 servings, about 2 cups each

Serve up our classic rigatoni recipe with just 10 minutes of prep time! Our Sausage and Tomato Rigatoni recipe features red onion and parsley flavors.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Cook pasta as directed on package.
  • Meanwhile, cook sausage in large nonstick skillet on medium heat until evenly browned, stirring occasionally. Drain; return to skillet. Stir in onions and tomato paste; cover. Cook 15 min. or until onions are tender and sausage is done, stirring occasionally. Stir in dressing.
  • Drain pasta; place in large bowl. Add sausage mixture; mix lightly. Top with parsley and cheese.

Serving Suggestion

Enjoy a "dinner combo" by adding a bagged salad tossed with your favorite KRAFT Dressing.

Cooking Know-How

The easiest way to cut up raw sausage is with a pair of kitchen shears - it only takes seconds!

Substitute

Prepare using your favorite shaped pasta.

Servings

  • 4 servings, about 2 cups each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings, about 2 cups each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 670
Total fat 21g
Saturated fat 7g
Cholesterol 55mg
Sodium 990mg
Carbohydrate 87g
Dietary fiber 5g
Sugars 8g
Protein 30g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 20 %DV
Calcium 15 %DV
Iron 30 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I severely altered this recipe. I severely altered this recipe. It's good on its own, but I am not into using salad dressing like that, so I used 2 cans of spagetti sauce that had garlic and herbs, and added some of my own spices. I think the sauce really mad e the meal. I also love italian sausage which is why this caught my eye. This is a great recipe to alter and make it your own, I have made the same dish with other types of pasta and it's always a hit. Thanks for the great idea.
Date published: 2006-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I thought that this recipe was OK. I thought that this recipe was OK. A little too junk food like for me, but my three year old and 1.5 year old loved it, and my husband also thought it was good. I don't think I will make it again. Perhaps if I do the chicken sausage thing that a previouse rater did, and or drain the fat off the sausage. I would have preferred having my italian sausage well done on the BBQ with a side of asperagus and grilled tomato, oh and with mashed potatoes.
Date published: 2006-04-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is actually the first recipe i have found on here that i can say i would never make again... This is actually the first recipe i have found on here that i can say i would never make again first of all it should say it feeds 2 people and this was so dry it should actually be meant as in a sandwich such as like BBQ it sure is not even close to being meant for pasta there isnt even enough sauce for 10 noodles i had to keep adding and adding and it still wasnt enough sauce for this i will diffently not make this again.
Date published: 2007-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this dish twice now and it has to be the best one on the Kraft site! I have made this dish twice now and it has to be the best one on the Kraft site! I did need to "extend" the tomato paste with some pasta water. You can probobly use 1 1/2 cans of tomato paste or 1 of those larger tomato paste cans that they sell (since 1 1/2 would be a waste of $) Anyway, I also added some leftover red wine that I had in the fridge. It was great. I couldn't wait to have the leftovers the next day.
Date published: 2008-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So awesome for how easy it is! So awesome for how easy it is! Definitely need to add extra sauce, I just doubled the tomato paste and dressing, but could have even had more. I also used the roasted red pepper italian dressing instead of the sun dried tomato as it wasnt available at my store. It makes a nice presentation in a big pasta bowl with the parmesean and parsley. Could easily make double pasta and extra sauce for a big crowd.
Date published: 2007-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hi babymorimoto, it sounds like you used the wrong thing. Hi babymorimoto, it sounds like you used the wrong thing. I did some searching on the Kraft message boards and there are some people having difficulty in finding the dressing. Sometimes if it is not a popular item stores won't stock it. They say to ask the store manager to order it in. Most of the time they will. Good luck and I hope you find it. I am anxious to try it myself.
Date published: 2008-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe turned out pretty good. This recipe turned out pretty good. I used Balsamic Italian Vinaigrette instead of the Sun Dried Tomato since my grocery store didn't have it stocked. I also added a few sprinkles of dry oregano and basil. I tried the suggestion of the previous reviewer and added the 1/2 cup of milk, which makes the final product more creamier. All in all this is a very tasty quick dinner.
Date published: 2006-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a favorite in my house! This is a favorite in my house! Quick, easy & yummy! I did add a little extra dressing and tomato paste as other reviewers suggested as the sauce is a bit thin. However, you don't need to overdo it because it's full of flavor. Just enough to coat everything. I also made this with chicken sausage - Italian and Sun-dried tomato flavors - both excellent!
Date published: 2008-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this recipe for the first time and I fought the temptation to modify it except for adding about... Made this recipe for the first time and I fought the temptation to modify it except for adding about 3 tablespoons of water with the tomato paste. Well both my husband and I loved it and it was just saucy enough to coat all the pasta. Oh, I also subbed the parsley with a few spinach leaves chopped very fine. Will definitely make again.
Date published: 2008-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this a number of times now and it is so easy, quick and delicious. I have made this a number of times now and it is so easy, quick and delicious. I double the onions cause we love how sweet and yummy they get. I have used spicy italian sausage cut up and bulk italian sausage. Both are good. I use more of the dressing and olive oil than called for cause we love our pasta saucy. Great as leftovers too.
Date published: 2006-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I used Kraft Light House Italian dressing because it's what I almost always have on hand. I used Kraft Light House Italian dressing because it's what I almost always have on hand. It did not make it oily either. I will make this again...not my favorite recipe but I usually have these things on hand. Also used sausage flavored with sage. Hope this is helpful! I wonder what it would taste like with ground beef instead?
Date published: 2008-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved the flavor of this recipe, however, i needed to double the amount of tomato paste and the... I loved the flavor of this recipe, however, i needed to double the amount of tomato paste and the dressing because it wasnt nearly enough. I also added a can of diced stewed tomatoes along with some oregano, basil, garlic, salt and pepper - since the stewed tomatoes i added were not seasoned. I will definitly make this one again!
Date published: 2008-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for two and changed the recipe a bit. I made this for two and changed the recipe a bit. I used more sausage, less pasta and light italian dressing instead of the sun dried tomato. I added garlic, italian seasoning, chopped sun-dried tomato and used 8 oz. tomato sauce instead of the tomato paste. My husband liked it and I will definitely make this again.
Date published: 2008-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have also made this twice now. I have also made this twice now. My husband actually requested it as "that good sausage dish." I used 1 can of tomato sauce and probably a 1/4th of a cup of italian instead of the called for ingredients. Oh and then I let it simmer for about 30 minutes so that all of the ingredients mellow together. Yummy goodness!
Date published: 2008-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good for as few ingredients and easy as it was. This was very good for as few ingredients and easy as it was. Thanks to whomever suggested adding pasta liquid, it was needed or it would have been too dry. I also did increase the dressing and I substituted a bit of Italian and a bit of Catalina because that's what I had on hand, also added a clove of garlic.
Date published: 2008-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Based on everyone comments, I decided to combat the dryness of this recipe by adding a can of... Based on everyone comments, I decided to combat the dryness of this recipe by adding a can of undrained Italian-seasoned diced tomatoes. I also used 1/2 cup of italian dressing (instead of 1/4 cup) The taste was 5 stars, but I'm giving it 4 stars because of the high fat content. I'll make it this way again!
Date published: 2008-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a fantastic family recipe. This is a fantastic family recipe. It's rare to get a dish that all 5 people in my family will eat. I followed the advice of some other reviewers and added more tomato paste and dressing, as well as a little water, to make a thinner sauce (and more of it!). We also use turkey sausage on occasion. YUMMY!
Date published: 2009-02-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The recipe was pretty good. The recipe was pretty good. I agree with the late rater -- the sauce was definitely a bit dry. I needed to add more tomato paste/dressing to create a sauce that covered the rigatoni. I think rather than make this recipe...I'll just cook sausage, pasta, and then doctor-up some store-bought sauce.
Date published: 2010-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great meal! What a great meal!!! Very flavorful and tasty! Quite easy to prepare also. I added about 1/3 cup of water to prevent it from drying up while cooking and added all 6 oz. of tomato paste. Also added sun-dried tomatoes and 1/2 tbs. of italian salad dressing. EXCELLENT! Will definetly make again!
Date published: 2006-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband claimed this was one of the best things I have ever made. My husband claimed this was one of the best things I have ever made. It was way too easy. I added the dressing at the wrong time, so I added a little more at the end. It was delicious! You don't even need the cheese or the parsley, but they make it even tastier. Definitely worth trying.
Date published: 2008-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was unsure how the sauce would taste, but it was so good. I was unsure how the sauce would taste, but it was so good. I did add a little more tomato paste and dressing then called for because my family likes it saucy. I love the 30-minute meals, keep 'em coming. Fast to prepare, easy to make and superb taste is a winning combination in this house!!
Date published: 2006-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was really good. This recipe was really good. I have fixed it twice already. My aunt really enjoyed it and she doesn't care much for pasta dishes. The first time I made it I thought it didn't have enough sauce for the pasta so when I made it the second time I added more salad dressing and tomato paste.
Date published: 2008-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was an excellent dinner. This was an excellent dinner. I changed the ingredients a bit. Added diced tomato's rather than dressing and a small amount of spaghetti sauce because it was a little dry. I also added sweet basil, garlic, and sugar for flavor. Our whole family loved this. What an excellent dinner!
Date published: 2008-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very easy, and good! This was very easy, and good! I substituted sweet turkey sausage, and rather than cut them up, I took the casing off and cooked it like ground hamburger. I also used a little more dressing than was called for, it made an excellent meal, and created great leftovers
Date published: 2008-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a couple picky eaters in my family and different diets to consider too. I have a couple picky eaters in my family and different diets to consider too. I made this recipe with Itialian Turkey sausage and Zesty Itialian Fat Free salad dressing to reduce the calories and fat. Everyone loved it and asked when I'd be making it again!
Date published: 2006-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We just received the recent issue of "Food & Family". We just received the recent issue of "Food & Family". My daughter made this pasta dish last night and we LOVE IT!! It's so easy to prepare and very delicious! It's definately a keeper. This will stay in my recipe box for years to come. Thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2006-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this last night, it was quick, easy and tasted great. I made this last night, it was quick, easy and tasted great. As a lower fat alternative to pork sausage (and bacause my kids don't like pork sausage) I used a combination of hot italian seasoned turkey sausage and sweet italian seasoned chicken sausage.
Date published: 2006-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very good and very easy to make. This was very good and very easy to make. I don't give too many recipes five stars. This one earned it though. Since none of the other ingredients are that expensive, I recommend using a high-quality Italian sausage. Try going to your local meat mart.
Date published: 2008-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe a few nights ago really wanting to make it like Macaroni Grill's Sausage and... I made this recipe a few nights ago really wanting to make it like Macaroni Grill's Sausage and Peppers Classico. I just added some green bell pepper slices to the recipe and it was almost the same, except just a little sweeter. It was delicious!
Date published: 2008-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I found that there wasn't enough sauce for the recipe, so I ended up adding tomato sauce and some... I found that there wasn't enough sauce for the recipe, so I ended up adding tomato sauce and some italian seasonings. Everyone in my family enjoyed it, but I would suggest using a jar of spaghetti or making some adjustments to the recipe yourself!
Date published: 2008-06-06
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_67, tr_336
  • loc_en_US, sid_91436, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

552548:91436

>