SHAKE 'N BAKE Coconut Shrimp - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

SHAKE 'N BAKE Coconut Shrimp

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
27
min.
Servings

16 servings

Try our SHAKE 'N BAKE Coconut Shrimp. This SHAKE 'N BAKE Coconut Shrimp is so sweet and crispy no one will believe it's a Healthy Living recipe!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400°F.
  • Combine first 4 ingredients in pie plate; set aside. Whisk egg and water in separate pie plate until blended.
  • Dip shrimp, 1 at a time, in egg, then in coconut mixture, turning to completely coat both sides of each shrimp with egg before coating with coconut mixture; place on baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray. Press coating mixture firmly onto shrimp to secure.
  • Bake 10 to 12 min. or until shrimp are done.

Extra Crispy Coconut Shrimp

Prepare using SHAKE 'N BAKE Extra Crispy Seasoned Coating Mix.

Serving Suggestion

Try serving coconut shrimp with Orange-Curry Dip or Mango-Ginger Dip.

Coconut Chicken Fingers

Prepare as directed, substituting boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1/2-inch-wide strips, for the shrimp and increasing the baking time to 20 to 25 min. or until chicken is done.

How to Toast Coconut

Heat oven to 350°F. Spread coconut in shallow pan. Bake 7 to 10 min. or until golden brown, stirring occasionally.

Note

For best results, make sure each shrimp is well coated with the egg mixture before dipping in coating mixture.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Healthy Living

  • Low fat
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Nutrition Bonus

Since these crispy low-fat shrimp are baked instead of fried, they can help you eat right.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 45
Total fat 1g
Saturated fat 0.5g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 310mg
Carbohydrate 2g
Sugars 0g
Protein 7g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Other than I was to impatient to individually dip each shrimp and decided to soak them in the egg... Other than I was to impatient to individually dip each shrimp and decided to soak them in the egg mixture and put them all in a bag and shake them in the coating and therefore the coating did not stick well, it worked out well enough to enjoy and know that these are better than any I have had at a resturant and I will definately make these properly and often.
Date published: 2011-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had problems getting the dry mixture to stick to the shrimp. I had problems getting the dry mixture to stick to the shrimp. I will make the recipe again and dip the shrimp in cornstarch before the egg. Also, my husband and I agreed that there wasn't enough coconut so I sprinkled more on the shrimp before baking them and it turned out fine. Overall, it is a SUPER easy coconut shrimp recipe and I do recommend it!!
Date published: 2008-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I flipped my Kraft calendar to Nov - this was the recipe featured. When I flipped my Kraft calendar to Nov - this was the recipe featured. I had all the ingrediants in my pantry and was very quick and easy. The coconut mixture does get wet from the egg, and towards the end and doesn't stick AS WELL. But it tasted great, especially with Kraft Sweet n Sour sauce. My husband was impressed - and that's a challenge.
Date published: 2007-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUMMM! YUMMM!!! Making this now, and the coating flavor is fantastic!! I didn't have shake n bake so just used an equal amount of seasoned bread crumbs. The coating is sticking fine (I think the trick is to saturate the entire shrimp with egg, and press the coating on tight, and also as others have said to only do a few at a time). This is A++ in my book!!
Date published: 2004-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this recipe! I love this recipe! I've made them several times. The only trick is that you have to press the mixture onto the shrimp so that the coconut will stay on. I always make these for parties-- they are a great crowd pleaser. I use medium sized shrimp instead of jumbo. They always turn out great!
Date published: 2009-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this for our wedding anniversary dinner and it was wonderful! Made this for our wedding anniversary dinner and it was wonderful! I used eggbeaters w/ no water to dip the shrimp in. Suggestion - do not put all the crumb mixture in dipping dish at once. I used half at a time, this prevents to much moisture, which makes it not what to stick to the shrimp.
Date published: 2007-10-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Would make it again but without the shake and bake- it completely overpowered the delicate flavors... Would make it again but without the shake and bake- it completely overpowered the delicate flavors of the shrimp and coconut. Next time I will use plain panko bread crumbs and season with the cayenne and curry for some heat. I served it with a jar of mango chutney for dipping- delish!
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was real easy to make and tasteful! This was real easy to make and tasteful!!!! My husband loved it and so did my family. I have friends asking how this is made since it's real easy to make. I've made the shrimp and chicken so I personally believe the chicken tastes better since it came out real good and juicy!!!!!
Date published: 2006-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Coating was awful. Coating was awful. The coconut would not stick and the Shake and Bake was too strong of a flavor for the shrimp. If I do attempt to make coconut shrimp again I will probably dredge in flour first, then the egg, then just coconut and forget the Shake and Bake altogether.
Date published: 2009-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm not a seafood person, but it's SO good for you that I'm trying to expand my tastes. I'm not a seafood person, but it's SO good for you that I'm trying to expand my tastes. This is helped a lot! It's tasty, it's easy, it's the kind of dish you'd get in a restaurant -- for a lot more money. Now I have an easy, impressive seafood offering I enjoy.
Date published: 2009-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tasty! Very tasty! I also had a little trouble with getting the coconut to stick, but I made sure the shrimp was very well coated with the egg and even sprinkled on some of what was left in the dish after they were all coated. That seemed to work. Very flavorful!
Date published: 2006-12-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wow .. Wow .. that was an interesting flavor. I was impressed and so was my husband. Sweet and spicy. Allthough the batter didn't stick good and looks nothing like the above picture. I would make it again. It does need dipping sauce. So next time I will make some.
Date published: 2005-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant, delicious, exotic and easy but impossible to 'glue' the coconut mixture to the shrimp. Elegant, delicious, exotic and easy but impossible to 'glue' the coconut mixture to the shrimp. I wanted to cry! What a mess! My mother told me to pass the shrimp FIRST through cornstarch, then egg, and finally the coconut. I'll try it that way next time.
Date published: 2008-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made with lemon lime rice from website and was a good tropical meal. Made with lemon lime rice from website and was a good tropical meal. I think the trick is to keep the coating in a seperate bowl and then add bit by bit to coal...otherwise it got wet and clumpy. A bit tedious, but definatley worth it :)
Date published: 2006-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't stop eating this shrimp dish! Can't stop eating this shrimp dish! Curry is not too overpowering, and coconut is such a great addition. Very easy and quick to cook. I served these shrimps with sweet-sour sauce. 10 minutes are just enough to cook the shrimps.
Date published: 2006-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very tasty. Very tasty. I prepared it prior to looking at the reviews. We had to double dip as well - dipping it a second time in the beaten egg. I made a homemade sweet and sour sauce. Together they were excellent. Worth the time.
Date published: 2006-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I had trouble with the coating sticking to the shrimp, but other than that it was great. I had trouble with the coating sticking to the shrimp, but other than that it was great. Not the best I have ever had....but the best I have made. I used apricot ginger sauce since I had trouble finding the mango chutney.
Date published: 2006-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I also had some trouble with the breading. I also had some trouble with the breading. My husband recommended drying the shrimp off more before dipping them in the egg?!?! I don't know, I had trouble getting it to stick on the shrimp. It was very tastie though!
Date published: 2006-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely tasty! Absolutely tasty! I browned the coconut in a skillet and butterflied the shrimp. I also dipped in flour with seasoned salt before dipping in the egg. We fried them in the skillet. Best tasting coconut shrimp ever.
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe was ok, but it was missing something, haven't quite figured out what that something... This recipe was ok, but it was missing something, haven't quite figured out what that something is...we probably won't make it again, we'll try to find a better recipe. It wasn't bad, but not great either.
Date published: 2007-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shocked! Tasted better than we ate at upscale restaurant! Honestly, I had a bit of an uppity response when I saw a "Shake and Bake" recipe for coconut shrimp: a good CS should take hours! I could not have been more wrong. My fam can't wait till I serve it!
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this on Valentines Night for an appetizer and it came out great. I made this on Valentines Night for an appetizer and it came out great. Unfortunately I added a little bit too much Cayenne pepper on accident, so it was a little spicy. Definitely would make again.
Date published: 2008-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Excellent! My husband said that this is his new favorite! Next time I will leave out the coconut though because it didn't add much, and we thought it was a waste of time. Shake and Bake is awesome!
Date published: 2009-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think this is great receipe. I think this is great receipe. Very easy to do and quick for a week night meal. I made it with a salad and baked potatoe. Feels like a restaurant meal without the expense and much healthier.
Date published: 2007-12-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The shrimp didn't even have much of a coconut taste. The shrimp didn't even have much of a coconut taste. You could taste the shake 'n bake more than anything. Also hard to get the coconut to stick. I won't be making this again. Not impressed!
Date published: 2006-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The shrimp were very good, but I did have a hard time getting the coating to stick. The shrimp were very good, but I did have a hard time getting the coating to stick. I only coated one shrimp at a time too. I served the shrimp with duck sauce, and everyone enjoyed it.
Date published: 2005-02-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It was very difficult to get the mixture to stick to the shrimp. It was very difficult to get the mixture to stick to the shrimp. The cayenne was overpowering and the coconut flavor was way to faint. Not a great recipe and I won't make it again.
Date published: 2007-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this and made it with chicken. I loved this and made it with chicken. I used half Shake n Bake and half crushed corn flakes to balance out the flavor. (I didn't want the Shake n Bake to over power the coconut.
Date published: 2009-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My boyfriend and I LOVED this recipe. My boyfriend and I LOVED this recipe. I made it with the orange dipping sauce and I cooked it with chicken curry--a great combination. The batter stuck just fine to the shrimp.
Date published: 2005-06-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I couldn't get the coating mix to stay on the shrimp. I couldn't get the coating mix to stay on the shrimp. So, unfortunately, the coating just kind of set on top and didn't make for a very nice presentation. The flavor was fine.
Date published: 2004-12-28
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_93
  • loc_en_US, sid_60772, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

541632:60772

>