Shepherd's Pie - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Shepherd's Pie

Prep Time
40
min.
Total Time
58
min.
Servings

6 servings, about 1-1/2 cups each

Try this creamy, cheesy Shepherd's Pie recipe. Made with better-for-you lean ground beef, our take on a classic Shepherd's Pie is a crowd-pleaser.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Cook potatoes and garlic in boiling water in large saucepan 20 min. or until potatoes are tender. Meanwhile, brown meat in large nonstick skillet. Stir in flour; cook and stir 1 min. Add mixed vegetables, broth and ketchup; cook 5 min., stirring frequently.
  • Heat oven to 375°F. Drain potatoes; return to pan. Add sour cream; mash until potatoes are smooth and mixture is well blended. Stir in 1/4 cup cheese.
  • Spoon meat mixture into 8-inch square baking dish; cover with potatoes.
  • Bake 18 min. Top with remaining cheese; bake 2 min. or until melted.

Special Equipment Needed

Makeover - How We Did It

We took a classic recipe and gave it a makeover by replacing the butter in the mashed potatoes with both BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream, and KRAFT 2% Milk Shredded Cheddar for great taste and a creamy texture. In addition, we used extra-lean ground beef instead of regular ground beef. These small changes resulted in a savings of 100 calories and 15g of fat, including 5g saturated fat, per serving.

Substitute

Substitute 1 cup BREAKSTONE'S or KNUDSEN Low Fat Cottage Cheese for the sour cream. Blend the cottage cheese in a blender until smooth before using as directed.

Substitute

Prepare using your favorite mix of frozen vegetables.

Servings

  • 6 servings, about 1-1/2 cups each

Healthy Living

  • Low fat
  • Low calorie
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Low sodium
  • Diabetes Center

Nutrition Bonus

Three cheers for this smart spin on classic comfort food. It's low in fat, low in calories and low in sodium.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, about 1-1/2 cups each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 310
Total fat 9g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 70mg
Sodium 300mg
Carbohydrate 28g
Dietary fiber 3g
Sugars 8g
Protein 24g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 170 %DV
Vitamin C 25 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from THIS IS NOT SHEPHERD'S PIE, IT IS MORE LIKE HAMBURGER PIE.SHEPHERD'S IS MADE WITH LAMB OR MUTTON,AND... THIS IS NOT SHEPHERD'S PIE, IT IS MORE LIKE HAMBURGER PIE.SHEPHERD'S IS MADE WITH LAMB OR MUTTON,AND HAS ONLY ONIONS, GREEN PEAS GRAVY AND MASHED POTATOES. HAMBURGER PIE, HAS GROUND BEEF, CANNED MIXED VEG, AND TOMATOE SOUP, WITH MASHED POTATOES, AND NO CHEESE. USING FROZEN VEG ALTHOUGH IT IS THAWED IT STILL CONTAINS A LOT OF WATER, THE BROTH WITH KETCHUP IS TOO THIN TO MAKE A GOOD GRAVY, I USE PROGRESSO TOMATOE BASIL SOUP, WHICH ADDS TASTE AS WELL AS BEING THICKER THAN BROTH. JUST A QUESTION: WHY DO AMERICANS PUT CHEESE ON EVERYTHING?
Date published: 2008-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great way to use up veggies, both frozen and fresh. This was a great way to use up veggies, both frozen and fresh. I used a little Worchestershire sauce for some added flavor.
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had to make a few substitutions because my granddaughter shouldn't have gluten or dairy. I had to make a few substitutions because my granddaughter shouldn't have gluten or dairy. i used corn starch for flour and 1/4 cup of beef broth for the sour cream. I added a little basil and parsley flakes to the meat mixture for flavor and topped with Greel seasoning instead of cheese. I served the cheese one the side for those who could eat dairy. no leftovers -- will defititely make again!
Date published: 2011-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was a hit with me and the fiance. This recipe was a hit with me and the fiance. The teenager didn't like it much. I added salt and pepper to give it more flavor. I had no issues with it being runny like other posters have said. I used canned corn and greenbeans and cooked some carrots. I have been requested to make this meal once a week.
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the idea of adding worchestershire sauce to the meat adds great flavor. I love the idea of adding worchestershire sauce to the meat adds great flavor. Didn't have any beef broth so I just added beef bulluons in a coffee cup of water. Added about 3-4 of those bulluons. Also I added my own seasoning to this, like salt, pepper, basil etc. Was very good!!
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is not a Sheperd's Pie, it is a Cottage Pie... This is not a Sheperd's Pie, it is a Cottage Pie... to be a Sheperd's Pie it must be made with lamb. I understand many people do not know the difference but move to the UK and try to **** that off as a Sheperd's Pie. You can update recipes but if you don't stick to some of the basics you should not claim it is something it is not. Where are all the root veg? No Shepard's Pie I have ever eaten has corn, peas, or greenbeans. Just thought I would enlighten those not knowing what they are ******.
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good but I changed it some. Very good but I changed it some. I cooked with ground turkey, one chopped onion, four crushed garlic cloves, some Italian seasoning plus salt to taste. I boiled the potatoes in chicken broth and drained, they were great with one cup of the fat free sour cream, plus the garlic and cheese. After cooking the turkey mixture, I then added fat free cream of celery soup, some water, plus the frozen mixed veggies, scooped it into a baking dish,covered with the mashed pototoes and baked. Very tasty ;)
Date published: 2008-03-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I made this tonight for dinner, but was surprised at how bland it was. I made this tonight for dinner, but was surprised at how bland it was. =(- I used the frozen veggies but didn't have two cups worth so I added a few canned green beans. Made this w/corn, green beans, carrots & peas. I also added a bit of red peppers - to try & spice it up. Probably would try a different mix of veggies and more spices if I decided to make it again - but probably won't. We had to salt and pepper the heck out of it! Husband said he liked it - but I think he was being nice!
Date published: 2007-03-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is definitely NOT English Shepherd's Pie; nothing like it. This is definitely NOT English Shepherd's Pie; nothing like it. I lived in England for 6 years and never had it prepared this way, with cheese and sour cream and ketsup, of all things. Someone needs to visit England and have real Shepherd's Pie. Your so-called Updated Shepherd's Pie sounds really horrible. Also, mixed vegetables? I never had it any other way than just peas and sometimes a little carrot in it. Better get it right before you put the Union Jack on your recipes.
Date published: 2008-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best shepherd's pie I have ever tasted! This is the best shepherd's pie I have ever tasted! I never liked shepherd's pie until I made this one, but this changed my opinion. I use corn starch in place of the flour to make it a gluten free option.
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think next time I'll leave out the ketchup and use tomato paste or sauce instead it was a little... I think next time I'll leave out the ketchup and use tomato paste or sauce instead it was a little sweet to me, And probably add hot pepper flakes too. But it was great as is too.
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! I followed this recipe exactly as it states with the exception of putting a pinch of salt and pepper into my potatoes when mixing it. Oh and season your beef as you would to your liking. I think it has a lot to do with how the recipe turns out. I know what to put in mine for my family (dab of A1 steak sauce and all purpose seasoning ). My boyfriend loved it and wants to have it again. I've known people to use braised brisket instead of the ground beef and it comes out even better !
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy and delicious! Very easy and delicious! Family enjoyed it. Does need a bit more flavor - salt and pepper and maybe some red pepper flakes. Will definitely make this again.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love it, but a 9x9 dish is too small. We love it, but a 9x9 dish is too small. I put it in a 9 x 13, then added a little more broth to it and doubled the potatoes. It also needs salt and pepper.
Date published: 2013-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever Got an itch and Kraft helped me scratch it! Turned out perfect! Thanks so much!
Date published: 2017-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed this dinner. I enjoyed this dinner. I did season the beef with a little pepper and seasoned salt (if you didn't do this, of course the dish is bland...hello). And I used chicken broth because I had it in the cupboard, no beef. The only other change I think I would make is to reduce the cheese and just use it in the potatoes, but not on top - just wasn't a fan, didn't think it added a whole lot. I might switch Gruyere, too. I enjoyed with some crusty bread to scoop it up with!
Date published: 2011-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Basic recipe is very good, but I made adjustments. Basic recipe is very good, but I made adjustments. I used almost 2 lbs of ground beef & used 1 10oz box of mixed veggies. Recipe calls for 1 lbd beef & 4C veggies. 8C veggies seemed WAAAY too much veggies for this & I was right. A 10 oz box was more than enough. Also made the mashed potatoes with butter & milk instead of sour cream. Very good, but next time it needs more seasoning. Found it very bland the way the recipe calls for.
Date published: 2009-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recpie with a few modifications...low fat sour cream instead of cottage cheese, and bbq... I made this recpie with a few modifications...low fat sour cream instead of cottage cheese, and bbq sauce mixed with the ketchup...lots of seasonings in the ground beef...but the basic recipie was the same...I made it so that I could eat it for the next few days, but to my surprise, my boyfriend finished the ENTIRE dish the same night...it was a hit! It did take a bit longer that I thought it might, but it was worth it.
Date published: 2006-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was really good. This recipe was really good. I added more meat to it though. The fresh veggies also made it taste really good and flavorful. The low sodium beef broth I used did not even make a difference in flavor! It was great to eat something that tasted salty and not worry about the sodium. It took a really long time to make however. My husband and I ate the leftovers the next day for lunch. It was really great!
Date published: 2008-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this tonight and my husband and I really enjoyed it. Made this tonight and my husband and I really enjoyed it. Based on the other reviews, I added some onion and celery while browning the meat. I also used ground venison instead of ground beef. Also took the suggestion of adding BBQ sauce instead of the ketchup. When I tasted the meat mixture before putting in the casserole dish it was a bit bland so I added some garlic powder and red pepper seasoning.
Date published: 2011-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Your all correct about the spices...I added salt and pepper as well as some chopped onion to the... Your all correct about the spices...I added salt and pepper as well as some chopped onion to the meat mixture. I also used frozen peas...We eat shephards pie all the time...actually I usually use a mix from another company which is very hard to find..I dont think I will ever use the mix again...This was very good....I knew to spice it up as we are big fans of this dish.....Definately worth trying....
Date published: 2007-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the best recipe I have gotten off this site. This was the best recipe I have gotten off this site. I did modify the recipe slightly, I omitted the ketchup and from reading everyones review, I seasoned the meat well, and I added canned mixed veggies instead of frozen veggies. I could not believe how good this was! My hubby was not thrilled when I told him what was for dinner, but after he ate it, he said it was really good. Yay! I win again.
Date published: 2007-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I read reviews before making this dish and took the advice of some of the people. I read reviews before making this dish and took the advice of some of the people. I used fresh carrots, celery, onion, and garlic instead of frozen veggies, I also added, worcestershire sauce, but no ketchup. I used 1/2 lb each hamburg and sausage. I added one pack each of mushroom and beef gravy. It turned out great and it had a lot of flavor. We will definitely be having this often!
Date published: 2009-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I didnt not use cottagecheese or sour cream. I didnt not use cottagecheese or sour cream. But first browned the meat with seasonings. Then added some frozen veggies with a can of beef gravy to the ground beef. Made instant potatoes on the side. Placed the meat mix in a cake pan, and putting the potatoes on top like frosting a cake. baked for 30 min or bubbly... and let me tell you this is the first time there were NO LEFTOVERS!!
Date published: 2006-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought this pie was great and so did my husband and 1 and a half year old. I thought this pie was great and so did my husband and 1 and a half year old. Instead of using ground beef I used ground turkey and after reading the comments I decided to cook some onion, celery and carrot with my meat. I did use a whole can of bbef broth and added garlic and some other spices to the meat to flavor it more. This was a big hit and I will for sure be making it again.
Date published: 2007-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this using rice with sour cream and a beaten egg instead of potatoes (saw it on another... I made this using rice with sour cream and a beaten egg instead of potatoes (saw it on another recipe). I added mushrooms, celery, green beans, red peppers, corn, lima beans, worcheschire sauce, a bit of tomato sauce, crushed red pepper, seasoning salt, pepper, onion salt and garlic powder. It was absolutely fantastic. Everybody went for seconds and had to unbutton their pants!
Date published: 2007-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe came out very tasty! This recipe came out very tasty! Both myself and my husband loved it. I used only 2 cups of veggies, I have no idea how 4 cups would have allowed me to use an 8x8 pan....I think it would have been too much. I drained a little bit of the excess broth from the meat before placing in the pan. Otherwise this recipe was simple and tasty and I definitely plan on making it again!
Date published: 2007-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great! This was great! My husband raved about it. I thought it could use a little more beef broth/flavor in the beef mixture, next time I'll add a dash of steak sauce, or another table spoon of Ketchup or beef boullion. I will definitely make this again. And how about a pizza/spaghetti sauce flair? Add pepperoni and green peppers and substitute mozerrella??? hmmmm.......
Date published: 2007-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this for many years with a few changes. I have made this for many years with a few changes. Instead of mixed vegetables I use creamed corn (3 cans) on the bottom, then add the hamburger seasoned how you like it (I use salt, pepper,a little garlic and onion)next and top with mashed potatoes and then velveta cheese. Of course this is not low calorie but it is comfort food at it's best. Even better the next day
Date published: 2011-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from After reading other comments, I used some of the suggestions. After reading other comments, I used some of the suggestions. I sauteed onions with the ground beef for more flavor, and also made it easier by using the boxed garlic mashed potatoes. I used both potato pouches, so increased it to a 9x13 pan with 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef. I also added 2 T. of barbeque sauce. Very good! Would definitely make it again!!
Date published: 2006-11-03
  • y_2018, m_8, d_18, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_105, tr_457
  • loc_en_US, sid_69212, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

548845:69212

>