Simple Reuben Sandwich Recipe - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Simple Reuben Sandwich Recipe

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
10
min.
Servings

4 servings

Keep it simple with a classic Reuben sandwich recipe. Our Simple Reuben Sandwich is layered with corned beef, sauerkraut, Swiss and Thousand Island.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Top 4 bread slices with meat, sauerkraut, cheese and dressing; cover with remaining bread slices.
  • Spread both sides of sandwiches with butter.
  • Cook in skillet on medium heat for 3 min. on each side or until golden brown on both sides.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with a fresh fruit salad.

Substitute

Substitute 1 cup creamy coleslaw for the sauerkraut.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 480
Total fat 27g
Saturated fat 12g
Cholesterol 80mg
Sodium 1340mg
Carbohydrate 34g
Dietary fiber 4g
Sugars 2g
Protein 25g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 4 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from With Saint Patty's Day just passing, I was able to cook Corn Beef for my family. With Saint Patty's Day just passing, I was able to cook Corn Beef for my family. With the left over's I made Reuben Sandwiches! They were fantastic. I love them, and had been wanting a good recipe to make them.
Date published: 2003-04-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I put onions on mine as well. I put onions on mine as well. If you put a piece of cheese on the top and bottom of the sandwich and put the sauerkraut in the middle the bread won't get soggy. Also make sure the kraut is drained VERY WELL.
Date published: 2005-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband if a vegetarian, so instead of the corned beef, I used one of his garden burgers. My husband if a vegetarian, so instead of the corned beef, I used one of his garden burgers. He loved it. I'm always looking for recipes where I can substitute the meat, this was great. Thanks!
Date published: 2006-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reubens are open faced sandwhiches . Reubens are open faced sandwhiches . This should served that way with a Claussen Kosher Dill Pickle spear on the side with beverage of choice . Potatoe chips or French Fies are opitional
Date published: 2007-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this delicious recipe using tortillas, rolled up everything, actually making a "wrap". I made this delicious recipe using tortillas, rolled up everything, actually making a "wrap". Wow, was it good. Be sure to drain the sauerkraut very well. Guests loved it!!
Date published: 2006-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this last night and my husband and I both loved it! I made this last night and my husband and I both loved it! He doesn't care for saurkraut so I left it off of his, but I toasted my saurkraut to make it crispy and delicious!
Date published: 2009-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Fantastic!! I had no idea it was so easy to make these. They are one of my fav sandwiches to order in restaurants and I think this beats many restaurant quality Reubens!!
Date published: 2010-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The reubens came out great. The reubens came out great. It was quick and easy to make. Usually when I try to make something it comes out terribly. This tasted like I was eating at a good restaurant!
Date published: 2005-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great recipe and perfect for the day after St Patrick's Day... This was a great recipe and perfect for the day after St Patrick's Day... We really enjoyed it and will be using it again tomorrow with the last of the corned beef.
Date published: 2004-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from like someone said as long as the krout is in the middle it works.... like someone said as long as the krout is in the middle it works.... I also like to use coleslaw instead of the krout so my 4 year old will eat it.....awesome!!!
Date published: 2005-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We had this tonight and my family loved it. We had this tonight and my family loved it. These are my husbands favorite sandwiches. We added a pickle on the side and had with some plain potato chips.Mmmm
Date published: 2011-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of our favorite sandwich meals! This is one of our favorite sandwich meals! I tried the recipe with fat free dressing but found that the "real stuff" actually makes a better sandwich!
Date published: 2007-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY ENTIRE FAMILY ENJOYED THIS RECIPE AND WAS QUICK AND EASY DUE TO USING LEFTOVER CORNED BEEF FROM... MY ENTIRE FAMILY ENJOYED THIS RECIPE AND WAS QUICK AND EASY DUE TO USING LEFTOVER CORNED BEEF FROM CORNED BEEF AND CABBAGE WE HAD ON ST. PATRICK'S DAY
Date published: 2002-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so good I made it again and again. This was so good I made it again and again. My husband loved them also. I recently tried this with sliced Italian Bread and it was equally delicious.
Date published: 2002-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wasn't sure I had all the igredients-I did. I wasn't sure I had all the igredients-I did. I made the sandwiches & WOW!!! They were delicious & filling!!! definitely making again & again.
Date published: 2004-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its really hard to find a good Reuben where I live. Its really hard to find a good Reuben where I live. This recipe is excellent. I have made it a few times and it gets better each time.
Date published: 2006-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm not wild about rye bread or swiss cheese but my family is. I'm not wild about rye bread or swiss cheese but my family is. Grilled and the kruat made the sandwich. Very easy. It was a hit.
Date published: 2005-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Where was this recipe when the Olympics/College Bowl Games was on? Where was this recipe when the Olympics/College Bowl Games was on?...But, it's racin' season...very good for pit-stops!..Thanks!
Date published: 2002-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have never had a Reuben before, but I will definitly be having this again. I have never had a Reuben before, but I will definitly be having this again. I wanted to eat another one but was way too full.
Date published: 2011-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used rye-pumpernickel swirl bread, and it was great. I used rye-pumpernickel swirl bread, and it was great. I don't like saurkraut but I loved it on this. Will be making again.
Date published: 2008-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been making these reuben sandwiches using the same exact ingredients for the last 30 years. I've been making these reuben sandwiches using the same exact ingredients for the last 30 years. My family and I love them.
Date published: 2006-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If you love them, this is a great one! If you love them, this is a great one! I added more beef and it was great! The kids even loved them (minus sourkraut)
Date published: 2006-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband and I don't like sauerkraut so we used coleslaw instead and it was great. My husband and I don't like sauerkraut so we used coleslaw instead and it was great. I can't wait to make it again.
Date published: 2009-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I tried the coleslaw variation. I tried the coleslaw variation. It was great. I must make sure I have left-over corned beef for this taste treat.
Date published: 2003-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Some of my family love reubens w/corned beef, not me, I make mine with Oscar Mayer hot dogs and it... Some of my family love reubens w/corned beef, not me, I make mine with Oscar Mayer hot dogs and it is wonderful
Date published: 2010-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is delicious and easy to make. This is delicious and easy to make. Grilling adds an extra comfort factor because of the melted cheese.
Date published: 2010-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loves sourkraut so he loved it and so did my stepson who had never eaten a Reuben... My husband loves sourkraut so he loved it and so did my stepson who had never eaten a Reuben sandwich.
Date published: 2003-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rye or pumperknickle bread; thousand island or Russian dressing can be used according to... Rye or pumperknickle bread; thousand island or Russian dressing can be used according to preference.
Date published: 2002-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good sandwich. Very good sandwich. My husband said it was the best he'd had. Extremely simple. Will make it again.
Date published: 2003-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The absolutely best reuben I've ever had. The absolutely best reuben I've ever had. I served it with potato chips and Campbell's tomato soup.
Date published: 2002-03-20
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_57853, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

503674:57853

>