Simple Southern-Style "Unfried" Chicken - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Simple Southern-Style "Unfried" Chicken

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
30
min.
Servings

6 servings

No one ever believes how easy it is to make our crispy southern-style chicken that tastes fried—but isn't! So we made this handy video to prove it.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Remove skin from all chicken pieces except wings. Place chicken in large resealable plastic bag. Add dressing. Seal bag; turn to evenly coat chicken with dressing. Refrigerate 30 min. to marinate.
  • Heat oven to 400°F. Place coating mix in pie plate or shallow dish. Dip chicken in coating mix, turning to evenly coat both sides of each piece. Place in single layer on baking sheet. Sprinkle with any remaining coating mix. Discard bag and marinade.
  • Bake 40 to 45 min. or until chicken is done (165°F).

Makeover - How We Did It

Try our made-over version of fried chicken. You'll save 90 calories and 9 g of fat per serving when compared to the same amount of fried chicken.

Special Extra

For a spicier version, add hot sauce to taste to dressing before using to marinate the chicken.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Healthy Living

  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 1 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 1 Starch
  • 3 Meat (L)

Nutrition Bonus

Watching dietary fat? Try this baked version of a family favorite. The dressing not only adds flavor, but it also helps keep the baked skinless chicken moist.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 220
Total fat 9g
Saturated fat 2g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 670mg
Carbohydrate 13g
Dietary fiber 0g
Sugars 2g
Protein 20g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 2 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for dinner last evening and we really enjoyed it. I made this recipe for dinner last evening and we really enjoyed it. It was crisp yet moist. The flavor of the "Lite Ranch" was not strong or offensive. I also like the flavor of this Shake and Bake better than any I have tried. I had the leftovers cold for lunch today. They were great and my coworkers enjoyed them also. Will make this again!
Date published: 2007-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I added a few things to make this recipe better after reading the reviews I knew it needed some... I added a few things to make this recipe better after reading the reviews I knew it needed some personal touches. When I marinated the chicken I added some zesty Italian dressing and hot sauce. In the coating mix I added garlic salt, and shredded parmesan cheese. It turned out very juicy and crispy. It is a huge success in my household.
Date published: 2010-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We LOVED this! We LOVED this!!! I am not a person that puts/dips things in ranch, but it didn't taste like ranch. It just gave it a nice zesty zip! My husband, who loves ranch, didn't even know there was ranch! The only thing that was a big pain was cutting up the whole chicken. Next time, I'll buy fresh breasts or chicken pieces already cut.
Date published: 2011-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The first time I made this, I had issues with the skin on the chicken. The first time I made this, I had issues with the skin on the chicken. But the second time around, I took the easy way out and used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. And man, how easy was that! The chicken was moist and delicious, no hard prepwork, and my family is obsessed. This is always going to be in my regular rotation.
Date published: 2008-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from As always, I varied the recipe. As always, I varied the recipe. I used boneless chicken breast, cut in half, and used bread crumbs and parmesan cheese instead of the shake 'n' bake... but you get the general idea and flavor with the ranch dressing. Soooo good! My husband loved it. I made the "smashed potatoes" for a side, and those were a hit as well. :)
Date published: 2006-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This one is a home run! This one is a home run! My picky children and hubby loved it. I am not a big fan of ranch dressing, but, you really don't taste it in the finished product - it just makes the chicken incredibly moist. I did have to use two packets of the Shake n' Bake coating mix. I will make this again and again and again........
Date published: 2007-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this twice now and really like it...a lot! I've made this twice now and really like it...a lot! I just tweaked it a little tho. I crushed up a cup and a half of corn flakes to add to the shake n bake and it gave it a really nice extra crunch. Second time I made sure to marinate the chicken in the ranch for at least a couple hours..helps the flavor I think.
Date published: 2007-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The tang of the ranch dressing and the crunch of the Shake 'n' Bake coating make this a super... The tang of the ranch dressing and the crunch of the Shake 'n' Bake coating make this a super comfort-food recipe. The chicken was moist and flavorful. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into thirds so the chicken cooked in about 30 minutes. This recipe will be one of my go-to favorites!
Date published: 2013-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe - one reviewer asked how to keep each side crispy ? This is a great recipe - one reviewer asked how to keep each side crispy ? I place the chicken on a cooling rack on the cookie sheet and I line the cookie sheet with aluminum foil for easy cleanup. This way, the bottom side doens not get soggy !I keeps both sides crispy & cleanup is a breeze !!
Date published: 2009-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely fantastic! Absolutely fantastic! I used boneless, skinless chicken breast because that' what they had on sale at the store. My entire family loved it! It makes good leftovers, too. I'll have to check the Shake N Bake nutrition information, because it was just too good. I'll definitely do this again!
Date published: 2013-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT!!! I used ranch dressing...added a little salt and pepper to the ranch marinade...used boneless chicken breast (as recommended by comments). Baked for 40 mins @400F (as recipe states). Absolutely LOVED!!! Served with garlic mashed potatoes and garlic roasted asparagus. YUM!
Date published: 2012-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am not fond of chicken but I want to make it for my spouse. I am not fond of chicken but I want to make it for my spouse. Well I tried this one and not only is it easy but I loved it and will make it again. I am passing to my 9 brothers and sisters. I used chicken thighs in place of the fryer. On one to 1-10 scale it rates a 100. Excellent
Date published: 2008-03-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My son will only eat fried chicken, so I figured I would try this recipe to cut back on the grease,... My son will only eat fried chicken, so I figured I would try this recipe to cut back on the grease, yet maintain the similar taste and texture of fried chicken. It worked! My son loved it! Especially since I added a little hot sauce to ranch dressing to give it that extra kick.
Date published: 2009-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband and I made it together and we found that using the coating mix we didn't have enough and... My husband and I made it together and we found that using the coating mix we didn't have enough and we had a three and a half pound chicken, he suggested that you might revamp the recipe to add two packages of coating mix, otherwise it was good with the unfried potatoe wedges!
Date published: 2007-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought this looked good, then when I started making it I wasn't so sure! I thought this looked good, then when I started making it I wasn't so sure! But, boy was I wrong, it was awesome. My picky 2 yr old even gobbled it down! My husband was like this is really good! Now, I have told all my friends about it. I will definitely make it again.
Date published: 2006-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my family are ranch freaks so this was perfect! my family are ranch freaks so this was perfect! we used boneless too, and pretty small so the cooking time was close. they loved it so much, i had to make it for them again today for lunch~! we paired it with raw veggies and of course some more ranch for dipping...
Date published: 2006-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this recipe, not only is it simple, it is one of the best healthy dinners we make. LOVE this recipe, not only is it simple, it is one of the best healthy dinners we make. We have this at least once a week now. We make with boneless, skinless chicken breats and add hot sauce to the ranch dressing when marinating. I cannot recommend this enough!
Date published: 2011-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DEEEE-licious! DEEEE-licious! But don't make this for a date! It's pretty crumbly! The chicken was really juicy! We couldn't really taste the ranch flavor so am wondering if mixing dry ranch dressing with the shake n bake will work. Will also cut back on more fat & calories.
Date published: 2009-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I followed the directions, but needed more shake and bake to cover all the chicken. I followed the directions, but needed more shake and bake to cover all the chicken. My parents dropped in and even they loved it. It made very moist chicken. Will try again with BBQ sauce instead of ranch...or honey mustard...or maybe .... endless possibilities.
Date published: 2007-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband made it and it was great, though he marinated it a little too long, picking up too much... My husband made it and it was great, though he marinated it a little too long, picking up too much of the salt taste from the dressing. Next time we'll be sure to not "over" marinate. It was still great and our picky 8yr old loved it and even asked for more!!
Date published: 2006-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am normally not a big shake and bake fan but this was delicious! I am normally not a big shake and bake fan but this was delicious! I cut up a 4# broiler,left the skin on and also used the Kraft, Light, Three Cheese Ranch. It was some of the best chicken I have ever made. Not a single left over,my son was over for dinner!
Date published: 2009-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wanted to really like this recipe...but I didn't LOVE it. I wanted to really like this recipe...but I didn't LOVE it. I'm glad I took other reviewers advice and used the Oven Fry instead of the shake-n-bake. Perhaps next time, I'll add some hot sauce to my chicken. And I will make it again, my kids did love it.
Date published: 2010-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I truly enjoyed this recipe and so did my family. I truly enjoyed this recipe and so did my family. My husband was very excited that I was making "fried" chicken, since I never make the traditional kind. One thing I didn't like was that the chicken wasn't as crispy on the bottom. But all in all very good!
Date published: 2006-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I also used boneless skinless chicken breast and it was wonderful! I also used boneless skinless chicken breast and it was wonderful! I am not so crazy about the extra crispy Shake n Bake though- in fact- I ran out of it during this recipe and made my own breading with Saltine and Ritz Crackers and it was even better!
Date published: 2006-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from the ranch dressing gave it a fair taste,but I did not like the shake and bake coating mix. the ranch dressing gave it a fair taste,but I did not like the shake and bake coating mix. the next time i will add a little seasonings to the meat garlic and onion powder, and black pepper, instead of the shake and bake i will use corn flake crumbs.
Date published: 2006-11-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I made this with boneless, skinless chicken breast and we like the flavor but I did not get a nice... I made this with boneless, skinless chicken breast and we like the flavor but I did not get a nice crispy crust on the chicken when I baked it. The top was fairly crusty, but the underneath was soggy. I am not sure if I would make this again or not
Date published: 2006-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW...This was really good, very tender... WOW...This was really good, very tender... I used chicken tenderloins, baked for 25 minuts & they were very good. Husband & I both thought this was one of the top chicken recipes that we make... Will definetely keep shake-n-bake in the cabinet...
Date published: 2010-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used boneless, skinless chicken breast since I had them on hand. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast since I had them on hand. I couldn't believe how much this tasted like fried chicken! I didnt have any problems with the bottom getting soggy. The Shake and Bake stayed nice and crispy. Way to go Kraft!!
Date published: 2013-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved the recipe but cannot understand why on earth you keep suggesting the use of ziplocks if we... Loved the recipe but cannot understand why on earth you keep suggesting the use of ziplocks if we are all trying so hard to save our planet. Please encourage your followers to use dishes and wash thoroughly after. Take care of our planet!!!
Date published: 2009-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We have had trouble with "unfried" chicken at our house not getting crispy, until this recipe. We have had trouble with "unfried" chicken at our house not getting crispy, until this recipe. It is absolutely delicious. The ranch dressing doesn't overpower the chicken- it adds a little tang and keeps the meat super moist. Awesome.
Date published: 2007-02-15
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_68, tr_233
  • loc_en_US, sid_90604, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

552039:90604

>