Simply Lasagna Recipe - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Simply Lasagna Recipe

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
20
min.
Servings

12 servings

Discover the only lasagna recipe you'll ever need! Watch our video to learn how to make this meaty, cheesy, crowd-pleasing Simply Lasagna Recipe tonight.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Brown meat in large skillet on medium-high heat. Meanwhile, combine egg, ricotta, parsley, 1-1/4 cups mozzarella and 1/4 cup Parmesan.
  • Drain meat; return to skillet. Stir in pasta sauce. Add 1 cup water to empty sauce jar; cover with lid and shake well. Add to meat mixture; stir until blended.
  • Spread 1 cup meat sauce onto bottom of 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; top with layers of 3 lasagna noodles, 1/3 of the ricotta mixture and 1 cup of the remaining meat sauce. Repeat layers twice. Top with remaining noodles, meat sauce and cheeses. Cover with foil sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 1 hour or until heated through, removing foil after 45 min. Let stand 15 min. before cutting to serve.

Size Wise

Since this comfort-food classic serves 12, it's the perfect dish to serve at your next large gathering of family or friends.

Easy Cleanup

Spraying the foil with cooking spray before using to cover the lasagna helps prevent the foil from sticking to the melted cheese on top.

Note

The noodles will expand as the lasagna bakes to fill the baking dish.

Variation

Prepare using extra-lean ground beef, and substituting 2 egg whites for the whole egg.

Substitute

Substitute 2 cups frozen BOCA Ground Crumbles for the browned ground beef.

Substitute

Substitute 1 pkg. (10 oz.) frozen chopped spinach for the browned ground beef. Thaw spinach; squeeze out excess liquid. Prepare recipe as directed, covering each ricotta layer with 1/3 of the spinach.

Note

Adding water to the sauce helps cook the traditional noodles during baking so you don't have to cook them beforehand. This saves you 15 to 20 minutes of prep time.

Servings

  • 12 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 12 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 330
Total fat 15g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 520mg
Carbohydrate 24g
Sugars 6g
Protein 23g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 25 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 30 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this last week (the day after I received me free Kraft Recipe Book)...it was WONDERFUL! I made this last week (the day after I received me free Kraft Recipe Book)...it was WONDERFUL! My hubby stated that usually, you have pieces of noodles that are harder & crunchy...this did not...all ingredients perfectly covered & cooked the noodles to perfection....my mother-in-law (after she ate this) told me that she wasn't a big lasagna fan, but would definately eat this again...also, this dish reheats wonderfully...hubby took for lunch 2 days in a row, reheated in the microwave and said it tasted like the day I made it! I am making it again this week! Why not stick with something that you know is good!!! :-)
Date published: 2007-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I found this recipe to be so very simple and delicious that I not only made it to take to work with... I found this recipe to be so very simple and delicious that I not only made it to take to work with me but, also prepared a dish for my husband to take on his job and share with his JOB BUDDIES for lunch with a side salad. He is still being asked when will I send more. My grand-children love it! The recipe does not tell you to add 26ozs. of water to recipe. It states one(1) cup of water added to sauce jar.(You know like shake the jar and get the remaining sauce and water mixed, then pour into other ingredients.)
Date published: 2008-05-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It was too dry I had all ingredients measured correctly and the right time and temp. It was too dry I had all ingredients measured correctly and the right time and temp. I felt like the ricotta mixture was too dry very difficult to spread and to drop on to the noodles. Maybe it might need another egg. It seemed like the noodles just absorbed all of the moisture. I was excted to see the receipe but was disappointed in the result. Let me hear a suggestion.
Date published: 2006-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm not much of a cook, and when I do cook, I want it to be something simple but good. I'm not much of a cook, and when I do cook, I want it to be something simple but good. I don't like recipes that have alot of ingredients that aren't in my kitchen. Even though these ingredients weren't complex, if I had to pick one that I never use it would be the parsely.(even though parsley isn't considered by most people to be a complex ingredient, you have to remember, I'm not much of a cook) In my opinion, this recipe was right on the money. I loved this it and so did my family. I will make this again and again. It tasted good and it was easy to make. Now that's what I'm talkin about!!!!! :)
Date published: 2006-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After reading others comments, I changed the recipe myself. After reading others comments, I changed the recipe myself. I cooked the noodles ahead of time. Secondly, I modified the recipe using one I found on the lasagna box. But, that one didn't have enough layers, so I used the layers with the kraft recipe. The alterations were it called for everything in the cheese mixture except the parsley and it called for 3 1/2 cups of cheese. It also called for 2 jars of sauce and to add 1 1/2 to the meat mixture and simmer for 5 minutes. It said to put the sauce on the bottom instead of the meat mixture and any leftover sauce on the top of the noodles. I definately will make it again. It was so easy to make and it was my first time making lasagna. My husband and I loved it. We had it with garlic bread which I added cheese to that I had left over.
Date published: 2007-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was my first time making lasagna, and I was so nervous that something wouldn't turn out right! This was my first time making lasagna, and I was so nervous that something wouldn't turn out right! I opted to cook the noodles, just to be sure they turned out cooked. I didn't put enough ricotta spread in between the noodles, so with what i had left over, I put on the the very top and then added more sauce,and then the cheese. My husband was SO shocked when he came home and saw what I had made, and was so impressed that everything tasted SO good. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a simple, yet DELICOUS recipe. I will definately be making it again! Thanks!
Date published: 2008-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have always been a "scratch cook" so have just begun to use prepared sauces etc. I have always been a "scratch cook" so have just begun to use prepared sauces etc. I found a very good marinara sauce, added a bit more garlic and onion; replaced the parsley with fresh chopped spinach and voila....deeelish and healthy. Everybody loves it. I usually add a tossed green salad and hot bread with olive oil. note: We love whole grain crusty breads...so I've bought them at Costco from the bakery unbaked. So I can pop them in the oven and claim they're mine!!
Date published: 2005-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is great, and it will be my go to lasagna recipe from now on. This recipe is great, and it will be my go to lasagna recipe from now on. I made a few changes to the recipe. I cooked 2 sweet Italian sausages (without the casing), 3 garlic cloves, and 3 small onions with the ground beef. I added 1/2 tsp of fennel and Italian herbs to the ricotta mixture. I added 10 oz of thawed, frozen spinach to the layers. I was only able to use 9 lasagna noodles (3 layers total). It was soupy when I took it out of the oven after an hour, but after letting it sit 15 minutes, it was the perfect consistency. I will definitely be making this again!
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day. I made this recipe for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day. I read how simple it was and decided to try it. I did a few other things to my sauce and noodles such as adding chopped garlic and rinsing the noodles with water prior to layering them, and I also added a 1/2 c of water. Overall, it turned out OK. The sauce turned out to be a little soupier than I'd like, but I would try it again. I actually baked it about 10 extra minutes since I wasn't sure if the noodles were quite done or not. My boyfriend loved it though and I'm sure the leftovers will be just as tasty.
Date published: 2007-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i have always made my sauce for the lasagna from scratch. i have always made my sauce for the lasagna from scratch. i was very surprised at how good this was. i used low fat cottage cheese instead of the ricotta and a chopped onion while the meat cooked. it came out very good.i also made this the night before and covered with foil and put in fridge, baked it the next day. My 2 kids who refuse to have any red sauce on their noodles actually ate this. this recipe was very easy and i always have all the ingredients on hand. great go to recipe. what do they consider a serving???
Date published: 2011-03-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My husband doesn't like Ricota cheese or cottage cheese in this dish so I will make it next time... My husband doesn't like Ricota cheese or cottage cheese in this dish so I will make it next time eliminating this cheese and add more sauce with the other cheese.This is his request to try it this way.
Date published: 2007-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bland... Bland... Bland... Bland!!! Still soupy after an hour in a preheated oven! Had to turn the temperature up to 375 degrees and baked an additional 25 minutes. Served with extra sauce to ladle over top. Even our two Grandsons, 3 and 5 yrs old (with much less sophisticated palates) didn’t like this. Hmmmmm… that’s strange, they do eat Stouffer's frozen lasagna at home. Not worth the time and effort. OH… and did I say it was BLAND?
Date published: 2009-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My kids don't like Ricotta Cheese (or think they don't). My kids don't like Ricotta Cheese (or think they don't). I put 1/2 Ricotta and 1/2 Cottage Cheese so they don't know the Ricotta is in there. I use the Fat Free or Reduced Fat of everything. It tastes the same. Also, mix the sauces (try different flavors) to blend together. Makes it taste more Italian. I also used the lasagna noodles that don't have to be cooked first. They are great. I cook for my youth church group at camp 2 weeks in the summer and they love this recipe. They told me, "Don't change it."
Date published: 2007-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The water diluted the flavor way too much! The water diluted the flavor way too much! Sure it was quick, but didn't taste very good.
Date published: 2006-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I'm so glad I made a trial run before serving this to guests! I'm so glad I made a trial run before serving this to guests! This one's a clunker. I normally LOVE kraftfood recipes, and I followed this recipe to the letter. In the finished product, you can tell that there's something wrong with the noodles. The flavor's good, I'd use these ingredients together again, but definitely cook your noodles!!!
Date published: 2009-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought that adding the water to the sauce made the finished lasagna a bit runny. I thought that adding the water to the sauce made the finished lasagna a bit runny. But then the recipe did not say exactly how much water to add. Of course, after going through the recipe, I know how much water to add now, but the recipe should have specified that information from the beginning. Otherwise, the lasagna is delicious, and my family loved it. One of my relatives who is a cook/chef with a culinary degree thought it was really good, which I'd say is a good thing. He went back for more.
Date published: 2005-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It seems I had read the recipe quickly and then printed it out. It seems I had read the recipe quickly and then printed it out. When it came down to making it..I saw that it called for uncooked noodles. I almost tossed the recipe, since I have always cooked the noodles before layering lasagna. Instead I followed the directions and used uncooked noodles, thinking I may have to toss it out in an hour. But to my surprise this dish turned out with the noodles finally fitting the pan and cooked through....My only suggestion would be to use the real good mozzarella that comes in a ball and shred it. I used the easy method of relying on the preshredded in the bag and the gooy stretchy effect of the cheese was not present after cooked. Gooy cheese is what I think of when lasagna is served. Other than that I love this receipe...Thanks and God bless you for it.
Date published: 2006-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for my sister's birthday dinner earlier in the year. I made this for my sister's birthday dinner earlier in the year. I chose to boil the noodles first because that "extra" step didn't matter to me and I used ground turkey instead of beef because we prefer the turkey. Although everyone raved about how good it was, my husband and I felt that it was a little bland. The next time that I decide to make this lasagna I will use a little more turkey and sauce because I felt like I had to ration the layers and I will have to add more seasoning. My lasagna did have a nice presentation much like the one in the picture and I will just have to tweak the flavor. Maybe I will try mixing in an envelope of the Good Season's Zesty Italian dressing into the ground turkey before browning it, as it added nice flavor to the parmesan meatball recipe in this site.
Date published: 2005-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This was really, really awful. This was really, really awful. It had no taste...just too plain. What little flavor it did have was really not good, either due to the amount of parsley or ricotta cheese or both.
Date published: 2007-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Eh I made it like the recipe called for except I added about a tablespoon of garlic and 1/2 cup of onions to the meat when it was done browning just to add some extra flavor. I also used the cheese she asked for but I bought one package of the one she had up there and the same one just also made with cream cheese. With the two packages combined it totaled to about 2 cups of cheese. I also preboiled the noodles but I always do that with my lasagnas. The lasagna didn't turn out terrible but it also didn't turn out good. It wasn't blan it just didn't really have any type of taste to it. I normally add sugar to my sauce but I completely forgot and I think that may have contributed to the tasteless taste. But I ate it and so did my one year old without any problems. Just wish it would've had some flavor to it.
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall this recipe is awsome! Overall this recipe is awsome!!! I will never buy premade again. I agree that it needs more spaghetti sause. Some people did not like it because it lacked spices. I would suggest to add spices when you are cooking the meat (salt, pepper, garlic, parsley) to give it extra flavor. I also thought it weired just to cook the meat. Make sure you get oven ready noodles and it will come out perfect. Will definetly do it again. It was a lot and my husband and I ate it in two days!!
Date published: 2007-12-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WHY NOT MAKE A COUPLE CANS OF TOMATO SAUCE AND MEAT BALLS SOME NIGHT AND FREEZE IT TO USE IN YOUR... WHY NOT MAKE A COUPLE CANS OF TOMATO SAUCE AND MEAT BALLS SOME NIGHT AND FREEZE IT TO USE IN YOUR LASAGNA(DO NOT FREEZE IN ONE CONTAINER THIS WAY YOU CAN HAVE SOME WITH CHICKEN PARM OR SPAGETTI)? NOT THAT DIFFICULT AND IT IS YOUR SAUCE NOT SOME STORE BOUGHT RED STUFF. AS FOR THE LASAGNA ONLY EXTRA I WOULD ADD IS MOZZARELLA IN THE RICOTTA, EGG.PARM CHEESE MIXTURE. NEVER USE THOSE DO NOT COOK LASAGNA NOODLES. ALWAYS LAYER THE LASAGNA ACROSS THE PAN THEN NEXT LAYER DOWN THE PAN.
Date published: 2007-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very simple, quick and a wonderful weekday addition to the family menu I was so happy to find a recipe for Lasagna was easy and quick. I always take half the day to put together my family recipe and I wanted something simple and quick and this is it. It is delicious and the kids just love it! My favorite thing about this is that it is a simple recipe. If you want to make as is, it is wonderful and if you want to make additions and take more time with it, you can and it is still delicious. Everyone should have this in their weekly recipe choices.
Date published: 2017-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe. I love this recipe. To lighten it a bit it did the following, for the cheese mixture I added low fat ricotta and mozzerella along with egg substitute for the the egg. I also added a heavy sprinkle of italian seasoning and black pepper. I also added cooked shredded chicken (leftover is great) with the sauce instead of ground beef along with freshly grated parmesan romano cheese and fresh garlic in the sauce. Wonderful with a romaine or spinach salad. Freezes well too!
Date published: 2005-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful lasagna... Wonderful lasagna... full of flavor and definitely the best recipe for lasagna I've ever made. The cheese mixture spread out on the noodles is just the right amount so there is no overpowering if someone isn't that fond of riccotta. I can't believe what a difference the parsley makes. I make this ground beef usually but have also tried it with sausage. Both are good but it seems far more traditional tasting to me if it is made with ground beef so that is my favorite.
Date published: 2008-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this recipe every time I make lasagna. I use this recipe every time I make lasagna. I misplace it if I print it and save(lose) so I saved it in my e-mail and pull it up every time. I'm don't have time to do this at dinner (work schedule) so I get it ready in the morning and my kids pop it in the oven before dinner. I love not having to boil the noodles and I don't like the taste of the no-boil noodles. We don't eat meat so I just leave it out and use a bit more ricotta. We love it!!!
Date published: 2006-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made a few adjustments to the recipe and it came out soo good. I made a few adjustments to the recipe and it came out soo good. I was surprised how well it tasted. Instead of ground beef I used hot italian sausage because it is my favorite. I used two cans of spaghetti sauce because I thought one can would not be enough. It was a little watery but i used a a baster like the other person did and it was fine. I used 5 Italian Cheese Blend because that's all they had the store. It was a hit with the family!!!
Date published: 2009-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I doubled the amount of the cheese mixture, doubled the sauce but not the water I also added... I doubled the amount of the cheese mixture, doubled the sauce but not the water I also added another layer of noodles in a larger than 9x13 pan. I also added garlic powder, chopped onion, a little clove powder to the browning beef. My family thought it needed salt so next time I will add salt to the cheese mix. We loved it and had so much left over that I froze some for another meal. It needed an extra 15 minutes cooking time. Great and easy!!!
Date published: 2006-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the first lasagna I have ever made, and it turned out well. This was the first lasagna I have ever made, and it turned out well. I had heard horror stories about making lasagna, and how time consumming it was to "do it right", but this recipe is easy and fast, with satisfactory results. My husband is Italian, and he approved. I did add a small jar of sliced mushrooms, and the juice, which added a nice texture and flavor. When cooking the hamburger, I added onions and a clove or garlic, good stuff.
Date published: 2006-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for the first time last night. I made this for the first time last night. I followed the recipe exactly except used a 9*9 pan and only had room for 9 of the noodles. I did par-cook my noodles ahead of time so I could easily make them fit my smaller pan. I think next time I would add green peppers and some additional sauce as it was alittle dry. I think more oregano, basil, garlic and onion will be needed to boost the flavors alittle. All in all a good starting point.
Date published: 2009-03-17
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_312, tr_1380
  • loc_en_US, sid_69196, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

548496:69196

>