Sky-High Brunch Bake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Sky-High Brunch Bake

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
15
min.
Servings

12 servings

Watch our Sky-High Brunch Bake video to learn how to impress at brunchtime! This make-ahead brunch bake features bacon, cheesy eggs, spinach and more.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400°F.
  • Unfold pastry sheets. Roll out 1 sheet to 11-inch square; set aside. Roll out remaining sheet to 12-inch square; use to line bottom and side of 9-inch springform pan sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Reserve 1 Tbsp. eggs for later use. Mix remaining eggs with ricotta, hot sauce and spinach. Layer half each of the bacon, cheddar, ricotta mixture and peppers in crust. Repeat layers.
  • Cover with remaining pastry sheet; fold under edges of pastry, then tuck inside pan. Brush pastry with reserved egg. Cut slits in top crust.
  • Bake 45 to 55 min. or until golden brown. Cool 10 min. Run knife around edge of pan to loosen crust before removing rim.

From our partners at McCafé®

Create a Coffee Bar: Serve freshly home brewed McCafé® coffee, and provide a variety of toppings such as thawed COOL WHIP Whipped Topping, grated BAKER'S Chocolate, cinnamon sticks, ground cinnamon and nutmeg, liqueurs and sugar to create your special treat.

Size Wise

Your family will know it is the festive season when this special morning dish is served. Remember to balance your food choices throughout the day so you can enjoy a serving of this indulgent dish.

Substitute

Prepare using OSCAR MAYER Natural Smoked Uncured Bacon.

Make Ahead

For added convenience, this morning favorite can be baked ahead of time. Cool, then refrigerate several hours or overnight. When ready to serve, bake, uncovered, in 350°F oven 30 to 40 min. or until heated through.

Substitute

Prepare using 1 pkg. (14.1 oz.) ready-to-use refrigerated pie crusts (2 crusts).

Variation

If you don't have a springform pan, this recipe can be baked in a 13x9-inch baking dish instead. Roll out bottom and top pastry sheets to fit the dish. For ease in serving, line empty baking dish with foil, with ends of foil extending over sides. Spray with cooking spray. Prepare crust and fill with ingredients as directed. Bake in 350ºF oven 35 to 40 min. or until golden brown. Let stand 10 min. Use foil handles to lift pie from dish before cutting to serve.

Servings

  • 12 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 12 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 390
Total fat 27g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 120mg
Sodium 390mg
Carbohydrate 24g
Sugars 3g
Protein 14g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 300 %DV
Vitamin C 20 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a post-holiday brunch, and everyone loved it. I made this for a post-holiday brunch, and everyone loved it. It does require some planning to defrost the spinach and the puff pastry, but it is well worth the effort. I did prepare the recipe in the spring-form pan the night before, covered and refrigerated it as the recipe described. The next morning I baked it for a little over an hour, removed the sides of the springform pan, and it looked and tasted great. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Date published: 2006-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The whole family enjoyed this. The whole family enjoyed this. (Adult sons and my husband!) Instead of layering the ingredients - I just mixed them all together. Also, before assembling, I sauteed onions, red peppers (from a jar) and twice as much (precooked) bacon. If I had sundried tomatoes, I would have used those. I think next time I will configure the puff pastry in a different (hopefully easier) way. Would like to make this different for my Jewish friends who don't mix dairy and meat (much less eat pork).
Date published: 2005-12-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this for my girlfriends from college. I made this for my girlfriends from college. They liked it much better than I did to the point they are going to make it for their families. One friend doens't like red peppers so I substituted finely chopped onions which I sauted (the only reason why I sauted them was to remove as much water as possible so that the quiche would not be runny from the moisture content of the onions). Using quiche lorraine as my inspiration, I substituted guyere cheese instead of cheddar.
Date published: 2008-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great variation on quiche. This was a great variation on quiche. In fact, I played around with the ingredients and kept it in keeping with a traditional quiche (omitted the spinach and red peppers, and added some broccoli and misc. spices). I don't have a springform pan, so I used a 13x9" - the outcome wasn't as pretty as the picture, but it tasted great. Would definitely make this again, probably trying other fillings just for fun - maybe some chicken and sundried tomatoes!
Date published: 2006-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've made this about a dozen times now. I've made this about a dozen times now. Use it frequently for a meal to deliver to new parents along with muffins. It is relatively forgiving, but I agree with others that there is just a tad too much spinach (I use about 1.5 pkgs). I also add at least 2 more eggs and even though I'm generally very salt conscious, I usually add more salt and/or bacon to this recipe because it can be a bit bland without it. Does great in a 9X13 pan, too.
Date published: 2009-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is excellent! This is excellent! The recipe leaves out salt & pepper which is why some cooks may have found it bland. Eggs, spinach and ricotta need lots of salt & pepper! I used Italian sausage (I had leftover cooked links, which I sliced and substituted for the bacon) and added a handful of fresh parmesan cheese to each layer. I actually doubled the filling and used a 9x13 pan. My family was begging for to take home the leftovers!
Date published: 2007-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made the brunch bake on Christmas Eve and baked it for lunch on Christmas Day. I made the brunch bake on Christmas Eve and baked it for lunch on Christmas Day. I omited the red bell pepper, used 10 ounces of "cut" frozen spinach, 2 cups of Italian blend cheese and used a pound of cooked bacon cut into 1 inch squares... so it might appeal to the younger members of our family. It was very impressive!!! AND tasted great! I can't wait to make it again and play around with the ingrediants.
Date published: 2005-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this last night after purchasing the ingredients, and I have to say first, I have never made... I made this last night after purchasing the ingredients, and I have to say first, I have never made anything like this in my ENTIRE life! I'm 26. The other thing is, I have never liked spinach! Well, that is all different now. I love love love this and am eating it now. I did everything I could according to the recipe, and it turned out impeccably!!! So wonderful!!!!! and the cheese is stupendously cheesy!!!
Date published: 2006-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from After reading the recipe and some of the comments, I decided to tweek it a bit. After reading the recipe and some of the comments, I decided to tweek it a bit. I added a 1/2 pound of bacon, sauteed onion and mushrooms, sun dried tomato, 1 tsp dry mustard, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, salt & pepper and substituted the cheddar for 1 cup of swiss and 1 cup shredded parmesan. This tasted delicious and was a beautiful presentation as well. Prepared the way I made it, it was a 5 star.
Date published: 2006-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe as directed and it was delicious. I made this recipe as directed and it was delicious. Then I got 'creative'. I substituted 1/2 cup of sliced olives for the bacon (replaces the salty/fatty taste). And I substituted 1 cup crumbled feta for the shredded cheddar cheese (I did not do a 1-1 substitution since feta is saltier and has a stronger taste.) Voila!! Greek (sorta) spinach pie. It was really delicious.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this twice, and it is amazing. I made this twice, and it is amazing. Takes a little longer than is says, but is worth it! I added onions and sun dried tomatoes. I also did 1 cup cheddar and 1/2 cup feta. This helped make it not bland and not need salt. Cut out about 1/4 cup of the spinach and added that much more ricotta. Make the night before(I did not bake it until the next morning). Perfect!
Date published: 2008-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very good recipe that can be catered according to your personal taste. A very good recipe that can be catered according to your personal taste. I followed other reviewers suggestions and added sun dried tomatoes. I also added chopped turkey pepperoni, extra hot sauce and used reduced fat cheddar. Next time I will try to lighten it up with cottage cheese instead of ricotta and reduced fat crescent roll dough instead of puff pastry.
Date published: 2009-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was approved by many friends/family who didn't normally like/eat spinach. This recipe was approved by many friends/family who didn't normally like/eat spinach. It was wonderful with more bacon added and onions, too. Extra tobasco on the side adds pep. I used this during the holidays and at work social. Everyone was very impressed, and the puff pastry sheets were so easy. I now use the pastry in many other dishes, too.
Date published: 2006-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for a baby shower brunch and it definitely impresses! I made this for a baby shower brunch and it definitely impresses! It just looks so elegant yet is so simple to put together. I did doctor it up a bit based on other reviewers saying it was bland. I sauteed the red peppers along with chopped mushrooms, a few chopped green onions and seasoned with seasoned salt, pepper and a bit of dried thyme. I only used one box of spinach which was perfect given the other ingredients I added. I had many compliments! This is definitely staying in my recipe book!
Date published: 2009-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I followed other reviewers' advice and did not layer the ingredients, but just mixed them all up and... I followed other reviewers' advice and did not layer the ingredients, but just mixed them all up and poured them in. I thought it turned out just fine that way. I also used a 9x13 glass baking dish, which worked fine as well. Other changes included substituting a third of the eggs for egg substitute, turkey bacon for the regular bacon, and reduced-fat cheese for the regular cheese. It was a bit heavy and a little bland. My guests all thought it was good, but no one raved about it.
Date published: 2008-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good recipe, easy too. Very good recipe, easy too. I agree it needs more salt and meat. We used ham in ours instead of bacon. Very tasty! It even microwaves well, IF you have leftovers.
Date published: 2005-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made a few changes to this as I used philo dough instead of puff pastry as I bought the wrong... I made a few changes to this as I used philo dough instead of puff pastry as I bought the wrong stuff. I used cottage cheese instead of ricotte cheese and I only used 1 pkg spinach instead of two and left out the red peppers. It was still excellent! I froze the rest and once microwaved a piece on half power until it was hot, and the other time I baked it in foil for about 30 minutes at around 325. In both instances it came out well.
Date published: 2007-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my family's Easter Lunch. I made this recipe for my family's Easter Lunch. Wow! It was awesome. I added mushrooms and they made it even more delicious. Everyone loved it. And so easy to make. I made it the night before and refrigerated it until was time to bake. I baked it in a 13 x 9 pan and although it wasn't as beautiful as the picture, it was still a pretty presentation. I will make this again and again. Thanks, Kraft!
Date published: 2008-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for a brunch & everyone loved it! I made this for a brunch & everyone loved it! No leftovers! I didn't have a springform pan, so I used an 8x8 baking dish. Came out perfectly. Because of the lack of seasoning, I added more hot sauce, a good shaking of seasoned salt, & lots of pepper. I also just mixed all of the ingredients together instead of layering, which made it a lot easier to assemble. This is definitely "a keeper!"
Date published: 2008-08-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from the pastry smelled like glue when assembling the meal, and once it came out of the oven it didn't... the pastry smelled like glue when assembling the meal, and once it came out of the oven it didn't look flakey, but rather mushy-- and it tasted and smelled like it was sour... the insides of the meal were good, like a quiche, but the pastry crust was disgusting. I would probably make the insides with a pizza crust outside instead of the pastry crust if we make it again.
Date published: 2010-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! Made for Easter breakfast at church - no leftovers. Would leave out red peppers and maybe substitute halved cherry tomatoes. Added more bacon (suggest leftover ham might be nice). Other cheeses might be fun to experiment with instead of cheddar. Also think artichoke hearts would go nicely. Definitely will make it again and have fun experimenting.
Date published: 2007-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was Beautiful and delicious. This was Beautiful and delicious. I agree w other posters that the first time it was a bit bland so I now use roasted red pepper, a little extra cheddar, 2 generous dashes of hot sauce and 1/4 t. red pepper flakes and a couple of dashes of garlic powder. I always make it the evening before and bake in the morning. always turns out great..
Date published: 2009-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I tasted this dish at a party, and all 12 women loved it. I tasted this dish at a party, and all 12 women loved it. The cook and I agreed it needed a little "something extra" like sausage instead of bacon, and perhaps green onions and salt and pepper. I have since made it with these added ingredients, and it is fantastic, even warmed up. Easy and elegant, serve with a salad and you have dinner.
Date published: 2005-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Thanksgiving morning 2005. I made this for Thanksgiving morning 2005. Although it was a little too "spinachy" for my family, I tried it again the next week with half the spinach, and it was a hit as part of a lunch buffet with my sisters. I will definitely make this again. It is also good cold, with a little salad for lunch! Linda, Naperville, IL Happy New Year!
Date published: 2006-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great as a whole meal-veg, carbs, and protein all in one. Great as a whole meal-veg, carbs, and protein all in one. I made this for dinner and cleaned out the fridge. I added sauteed chicken, onions and mushrooms. I also added a bit more hot sauce and used turkey bacon instead of regular. The puff pastry wasn't as thoroughly cooked as I'd like so maybe next time, I'll cook it a bit longer.
Date published: 2010-12-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from While it tasted very good, when we cut into it, the filling ran all over the plate. While it tasted very good, when we cut into it, the filling ran all over the plate. It wasn't firm at all! Did I do something wrong? I did substitute 1 box of chopped broccoli instead of 2 boxes of chopped spinach (1 broccoli & 1 spinach) but I don't think that should have made a big difference. I just wonder - what happened?
Date published: 2009-12-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this in the springform pan and found that it took quite a bit longer to cook than the... I made this in the springform pan and found that it took quite a bit longer to cook than the directions indicate and it still was undercooked on the bottom crust. Otherwise, it was very good once I got it out of the oven! I used chopped roasted red peppers as I didn't have fresh red pepper on hand. They added a nice taste.
Date published: 2005-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC! FANTASTIC! We doubled the bacon and the peppers and then left out the cheddar. We used a 9x13 pan and it worked out great. Everyone loved it! We made it the day before we cooked it. The cooking temperature was a bit high for us. The top began to brown too quickly, so we turned down the temp and cooked it more slowly.
Date published: 2005-12-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The appearance of this brunch bake wowed my guests, but it lacked of flavor. The appearance of this brunch bake wowed my guests, but it lacked of flavor. It needs something else to it, I may consider cream cheese. I omitted the peppers and added sun-dried tomatoes. It really needs something to "pizzaz" it up. When baked and ready, this Brunch Bake looks amazing-you'll look (and feel) like Emeril!
Date published: 2007-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my friend's birthday breakfast. I made this for my friend's birthday breakfast. We served it with Bloody Mary drinks. I changed the red pepper to artichoke hearts and it was delicious. We all were amazed to see that it looked just like the picture! Now that's a first. Thanks for introducing me to the frozen puff pastry. I will definitely use it again.
Date published: 2006-08-12
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_44, tr_208
  • loc_en_US, sid_89651, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

551612:89651

>