Slow-Cooker Chicken Cacciatore - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Slow-Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
6
hr.
20
min.
Servings

8 servings

Enjoy our Slow-Cooker Chicken Cacciatore. Simmer tomatoes, fresh onions, garlic and peppers with juicy, slow-cooker chicken for an unforgettable meal.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat dressing in large skillet on medium-high heat. Add chicken, in batches; cook 2 to 3 min. on each side or until evenly browned on both sides.
  • Combine mushrooms, onions, peppers and garlic in slow cooker sprayed with cooking spray; top with chicken. Mix tomatoes and thyme until blended; pour over chicken. Cover with lid. Cook on LOW 6 to 8 hours (or on HIGH 5 hours).
  • Serve chicken mixture over rice.

Healthy Living

Remove the skin from the chicken to save 40 calories and 6g of total fat, including 1.5g of saturated fat, per serving.

Cooking Know-How

Taking the lid off your slow cooker for even just a minute reduces the heat and extends the cooking time. Lift the lid only if instructed to do so in the recipe.

Special Extra

For easy cleanup, line slow cooker with plastic liner bag before filling with ingredients and cooking as directed.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 420
Total fat 17g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 160mg
Sodium 310mg
Carbohydrate 31g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 5g
Protein 33g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 25 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from No Bones So it's really my fault that it didn't turn out properly. I should've read the reviews (and used a little common sense). Bone-in chicken is a horrible, horrible idea in a crockpot. I did taste it & it didn't taste bad, but after fishing out piles of bones, cartilage, other odd & ends, I just couldn't serve this to my family. I may make it again obviously using boneless, skinless chicken.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotta love a slow-cooker recipe like this - put it together, let it start stewing and your home... Gotta love a slow-cooker recipe like this - put it together, let it start stewing and your home starts smelling like a little Italian cafe by dinnertime and THEN, not only do you have a huge scrumptious meal for that night, you have TONS of leftovers for later. I pretty much followed the recipe as listed, just substituting chicken breasts (bone-in) for the thighs and adding a couple cans of tomato sauce toward the end (very liquid "sauce" still). We also used noodles instead of the rice - thought that was pretty good.
Date published: 2007-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really thought this was good and the chicken came out tender. I really thought this was good and the chicken came out tender. Next time, I think I will use chicken breast instead of dark meat (legs and thighs) more fresh garlic and less onion. I would have preferred the tomato part of the dish to be a thicker sauce, so next time I think I'll add some tomato paste to intensify the tomato taste and add some thickness. I did add 2 julienne sliced carrots and liked that addition. Spices I added to make it have a more Italian flare are garlic powder, oregano, basil and black pepper.
Date published: 2007-10-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe was pretty good, but I think we'd like it better with pasta sauce instead of just canned... This recipe was pretty good, but I think we'd like it better with pasta sauce instead of just canned tomatoes with seasonings. It tasted to "tomatoey" and not like we're used to getting at our favorite Italian restaurant. My husband also thought the chicken tasted too bland and need to be seasoned more.
Date published: 2009-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a favorite recipe of mine to make & I've rated it before, but after reading some reviews I... This is a favorite recipe of mine to make & I've rated it before, but after reading some reviews I have a few suggestions: use SKINLESS chicken breasts, thighs, whatever you prefer to prevent the grease(but on the bone gives it the most flavor), & serve over MASHED POTATOES. The flavor can be bland over pasta or rice, & the PEPPERS are a must for flavor - but don't put them in until the last hour or they will be wilty. The same applies to the mushrooms/wilty. I love this recipe & I hope you enjoy!
Date published: 2008-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My kind of recipe - VERY easy to prepare! My kind of recipe - VERY easy to prepare! I did make a few changes/substitutions tho'. I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed, boneless chicken breasts (family doesn't like dark meat) instead of legs and thighs, and egg noodles instead of rice. Overall it was a good meal, however, it could have used a little more "zip" flavor wise. Perhaps more garlic and/or spices like oregano, basil and red pepper flakes. I think pre-seasoned diced tomatoes (instead of plain ones) would help as well.
Date published: 2007-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I only had a can of mushrooms (4 oz., NO SALT) and skinless, boneless thighs. I only had a can of mushrooms (4 oz., NO SALT) and skinless, boneless thighs. The dish passed muster with my husband who doesn't care for much sauce on anything. The salt in the can of tomatoes was enough to make the dish delicious. The next time I made it I used fresh mushrooms. Definitely better taste. The best part was it was cooking while we were at a meeting. I had mine with a small baked potato and he had his with left over noodles. BRAVO for the slow cooker! And your recipe.
Date published: 2007-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I omitted the mushrooms and onions since my husband doesn't like them. I omitted the mushrooms and onions since my husband doesn't like them. The chicken was very juicy and tender, it fell off the bone. Per user comments I added the peppers during the last 30 minutes of cooking and used a large can of crushed tomatoes in puree. The only thing we will do differently is to serve this over pasta instead of rice. We didn't like the texture and taste of this with rice. Also, I had fresh cilantro on hand and it smelled and tasted wonderful.
Date published: 2009-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great! This was great! I used everyone's suggestions here. Put the onions in with the chicken, but add the mushrooms and peppers in the last hour. I used green and red peppers and black olives - zucchini would have been good, too. I used chicken thighs, which fell off the bone, so I shredded the chicken before serving, which was easier that I thought it would be. We had it over mini penne pasta. I used a tablespoon of Italian seasoning, too. You won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2009-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great dish to make! This was a great dish to make! I used to skinless thighs and legs. i added half the peppers and mushrooms in the beginning and the rest of them at the 30 minute mark at the end. I also added garlic powder (about a tsp or so) and about a tsp of sugar to the tomato mixture. It turned out very flavorful and I will definitely make it again! I also used mashed potatoes instead of rice and paired it with steamed peas and those pillsbury croissants.
Date published: 2010-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought this recipe was good but I did make some changes. I thought this recipe was good but I did make some changes. I used 2 lbs. of boneless skinless chicken breast, 3 cloves of garlic, no mushrooms (cause I don't like them) and 1 - 28oz. can of crushed tomatoes to make a little more sauce. I think next time I will use basil or italian seasoning instead of the thyme. It is a great base recipe and if you like to experiment with recipes like I do thenyou can have a lot of fun with this one.
Date published: 2007-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was excellent. This was excellent. I did what another person did by omitting the frying of the chicken first. I took my family to a waterpark yesterday and had this waiting for us when we got home. Not only is it easy and delicious but also buget friendly. We are a busy family with one son who does football, wrestling, and baseball so I need to use my crock pot about three to four times a week during all of the seasons of sports. Thank you for this.
Date published: 2006-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really enjoyed this! I really enjoyed this! I modified it to my personal preference and based on some of the other comments. I used boneless chicken breasts and prepared them the night before. I also added a little olive oil to the bottom of the slow cooker. I used a little extra italian dressing, and added a small can of tomatoe sauce. And I used one yellow pepper and one green. The chicken shred easy to serve and there was plenty for leftovers!
Date published: 2008-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe came out great with modifications I followed from several reviews. This recipe came out great with modifications I followed from several reviews. I skinned the chicken (this was obvious to me as the added grease would not have been a benefit), doubled the tomatoes (diced), added a number of vegetables which we like (most in the last hour) and put in some chicken broth. The reason I put in broth was due to the comments about a lack of salt and it appeared from the get go there was not enough water for a blend that was going to cook for 6 hours. In the last 10 minutes or so I added a can of tomato paste to thicken as that is the way we like it. Next time I will debone the chicken after a few hours. I like to cook with the bones as it adds flavor but don't like to hunt for bones when it is fall of the bone done. Doubling the tomatoes and vegetables has provided a great start to quick spaghetti sauce for another meal.
Date published: 2012-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is an answer to a busy cook's prayer. This recipe is an answer to a busy cook's prayer. My husband is very particular and thinks only good tasting food takes time. I served this up with thin linquini and he thought I had been cooking for days to get the sauce just right. I didn't even brown the chicken. Loved the method using salad dressings - will try other vinagrettes like oriental or raspberry onion with appropriate veggies over rice condiderht
Date published: 2006-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I used chicken thighs with the skin removed. I used chicken thighs with the skin removed. After reading some other comments, I marinated the chicken overnight in extra salad dressing. That may have helped give the chicen some taste, but the onions were uncooked tasting and probably should have been sauted with the chicken. Overall, I agree with the earlier reviewer who descibed this as chicken in a watery, gloppy mess. I will not make this again.
Date published: 2011-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought this recipe was good. I thought this recipe was good. It was easy to prepare. Next time I probably wouldn't worry about browning the chicken first. I would definitely use boneless chicken next time. I used chicken legs and they fell completely apart in the sauce. The chicken was tender but there were bone pieces that had to be picked out. The sauce was also a little thin. I'd also add more veggies next time.
Date published: 2009-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was fantastic. This was fantastic. Following the advice of others, I did add veggies (peppers/mushrooms/onions) in the last 2 hours to maintain flavor and texture. I personally added a few dashes of red pepper flakes for a spicier version which my family absolutely loved. This is so quick and easy. Also, you can substitute Italian seasoning for the thyme if you don't have any in your cabinets!
Date published: 2009-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was love at first bite when I originally had this but all the other recipes I found to recreate... It was love at first bite when I originally had this but all the other recipes I found to recreate it were WORK. I do love easy. The personal change I made was to add capers toward the end; just long enough to heat them through. I also used pasta in place of the rice. It was just like that the first time, minus the waiter in a white coat! (and the price)
Date published: 2009-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this about once a month, usually by my family's request. I make this about once a month, usually by my family's request. I usually use a little extra Italian dressing and a little cornstarch & water to thicken the sauce at the end...but there are NEVER any leftovers. Everyone gets into the clean plate club---and my husband is a meat & potatoes kind of man so that speaks volumes to how good this recipe really is.
Date published: 2008-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I followed other's suggestions and added the peppers and mushrooms in the last 2 hours of cooking. I followed other's suggestions and added the peppers and mushrooms in the last 2 hours of cooking. They were perfect that way! I also added a can of tomato paste in the last 15min because I wanted a thicker sauce. Also used boneless skinless breasts because that's what I had on hand (skipped the browning as they don't have skin). Would make again!
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I did make it once with the Italian dressing, it was ok, but not like I thought it would be. I did make it once with the Italian dressing, it was ok, but not like I thought it would be. Then I made it again without it. I cut down on the amount, cause I have a smaller family. Also, I used tomato soup instead of crushed tomatoes, with a little water, lemon juice and worcestershire sauce and thyme, and served it with noodles instead of rice.
Date published: 2006-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My kids and I loved this recipe. My kids and I loved this recipe. I omitted the mushrooms since we do not like them. I used the large can of crushed tomatos instead of the 14.5 oz can. I also added a couple squirts of italian dressing before starting the crock pot. The chicken was tender and tasty, I can't wait to go home today and eat the left overs. Definately a keeper!
Date published: 2008-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used fat-free dressing, and boneless, skinless thighs, doubled the garlic and I did not brown the... I used fat-free dressing, and boneless, skinless thighs, doubled the garlic and I did not brown the chicken before putting it in the slow cooker. I put the thighs in the cooker, mixed the remaining ingredients, poured them over the top and let it cook. Awesome! I also used whole wheat linguine instead of the rice. The whole family loved it.
Date published: 2009-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to do. Easy to do. Cooked it with the skin off 4 large thighs. Came out nice and tender and not rubbery. Chicken fell off the bone. Everything blended together for a great taste and not over powering on any one thing. Served over penne and shells. (Just had a little in each box so made them both). Made it twice now, and each time came out great.
Date published: 2009-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would add a tablespoon of dried basil and an extra clove of garlic. I would add a tablespoon of dried basil and an extra clove of garlic. Also, to keep fat to a minimum, I skinned the chicken, marinated it in Kraft Fat Free Zesty Italian dressing, then broiled the chicken to brown it. Absolutely yummy. My husband tells me this is a keeper and I am passing it on to everyone I know who has a crock pot.
Date published: 2006-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was super easy and tasty. This was super easy and tasty. I didn't have the italian dressing they called for so I used a Vidalia Onion & Summer Tomato dressing from my local farm stand. I also didn't have any thyme so I used basil. I also added in a tablespoon of bbq sauce w/honey. My husband & kids loved it. Would make this again. Very tasty!
Date published: 2007-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I can't believe this recipe has any good reviews. I can't believe this recipe has any good reviews. I thought it tasted GROSS-- and by gross, I mean that I took 2 bites and couldn't even finish it. My kids didn't like it either. My husband, who eats anything and everything, ate it, but agreed that I shouldn't make it again. YUK! Waste of ingredients.
Date published: 2012-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good recipe. Very good recipe. I used canned mushrooms and didn't cook the chicken with the dressing. I just threw the dressing into the crockpot with frozen chicken breasts. I added stewed tomatoes and 2 ribs of celery. I also added a small can of tomato paste. Served it over angel hair pasta and my husband loved it.
Date published: 2009-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'm rating this recipe "good" because to make it "superb" I also modified it a bit. I'm rating this recipe "good" because to make it "superb" I also modified it a bit. Instead of dark meat, I used about 3 lbs of boneless skinless chicken breast cut into cubes and sauteed the chicken in the Italian dressing about 5 mins. Although, I'm not sure how necessary that step actually is. It may turn out fine just throwing the raw chicken in and mixing in the Italian dressing. The chicken turned out SOOO tender by the end. I used a whole 28 oz can of crushed tomato's, about 1/4 cup of Chicken Stock. As mentioned earlier, it was a little watery, but adding the small can of tomato paste about 3 hours in made the consistency PERFECT. I used two cloves of mint garlic instead of two and to make sure it didn't turn out bland I also seasoned with salt, pepper, thyme leaves and oregano. YUM. As far as the vegetables the only thing I did differently was that I only used 1/2 an onion instead of a whole onion. The cook time may vary by your crock pot. I cooked mine on low for only a
Date published: 2012-11-17
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_37, tr_205
  • loc_en_US, sid_91900, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

504921:91900

>