Slow-Cooker Chicken Curry - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Slow-Cooker Chicken Curry

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
8
hr.
20
min.
Servings

10 servings

If you think chicken curry is too complicated to create in your kitchen, think again. Our Slow-Cooker Chicken Curry is juicy and prepped in 20 minutes.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Place chicken in slow cooker. Combine next 3 ingredients; pour over chicken. Cover with lid.
  • Cook on LOW 8 to 10 hours (or on HIGH 5 hours).
  • Transfer chicken to platter, reserving sauce in slow cooker. Add sour cream to sauce; mix well. Serve spooned over chicken.
TACO BELL® and Logo are trademarks owned and licensed by Taco Bell Corp.

Cooking Know-How

Heat releases the fragrant flavorful oils in curry. For optimum flavor, measure the curry powder into a small microwaveable bowl and microwave on HIGH for 30 sec. before adding to the slow cooker.

Special Extra

For easy cleanup, line slow cooker with plastic liner bag before filling with ingredients and cooking as directed.

Servings

  • 10 servings

Healthy Living

  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 1/2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 1/2 Starch
  • 3 Meat (L)
  • 1/2 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

Requiring little hands-on prep time, this flavorful entrée can help you and your family eat right.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 10 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 210
Total fat 10g
Saturated fat 3.5g
Cholesterol 120mg
Sodium 410mg
Carbohydrate 7g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 4g
Protein 23g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 8 %DV
Vitamin C 4 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond yummy! Beyond yummy! I made this for dinner tonight! The best crock pot dinner I have ever made. I just made a couple changes/additions based on the comments that I read through. I used chicken breasts, not thighs. I doubled the curry, we love curry in this house, is was not too strong. I also added two potatos cubed and 2 cups frozen spinach. I served it over Basmati rice and with Naan bread. I was a bit worried with using salsa in an Indian dish but it tasted wonderful!
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very delicious. This was very delicious. I love Thai food. My mother use to make a chicken and potato curry soup and this recipe was very similiar. I followed the advice of one of the posts to add garlic, potatoes, chicken stock, and of course more curry, seasoning, and asian chile peppers and it turned out great. I thought it was better the next day. The big difference between this recipe and my mother's is coconut cream instead of sour cream. I will definitely make it again.
Date published: 2008-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seriously good, and I am STUNNED at the depth of flavor achieved with so few ingredients. Seriously good, and I am STUNNED at the depth of flavor achieved with so few ingredients. Like another poster, I would never, ever have considered using salsa as a base for curry! We loved this as is, but I think next time I may try adding a tiny bit of sugar, and using coconut milk instead of sour cream. Seriously, thanks for such a fabulous recipe!
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was simple, and you usually have these ingredients available. It was simple, and you usually have these ingredients available. (Although I used chicken thighs with bones, it was cheaper - and I didn't see anything wrong with it) My husband loves the Indian style food, so he really enjoyed this recipe. Unfortunately, I am not a big fan of curry, but even to me it was good. Simple and tasty, plus not that many dishes. LOL Great for a hardworking wife or husband to make in a mere seconds before they head to work and then serve after work. I served it with white rice (minute rice).
Date published: 2008-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the first meal I cooked with my new crock pot. This was the first meal I cooked with my new crock pot. Not only was it very simple to follow, requiring very little ingredients, but the taste was superb. All four of my boys ranging from 10-15 years old asked for seconds and begged me to make it again. My 15 year old actually said that he'd wash the crock pot every evening if I made this for him everyday.
Date published: 2007-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i am on weight watchers core program and this is a great recipe. i am on weight watchers core program and this is a great recipe. I do use the fat free sour cream which tastes the same. Ocasionally I will add in potatos to the mix as well as peas and serve over brown rice. It's quick, easy and simple and tastes great. my diet does not allow me to eat regular Indian food at a restaurant so this hits the spot for my craving
Date published: 2007-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I read alot of the other reviews, so I did add a bit more Curry powder...3 tblsp. I read alot of the other reviews, so I did add a bit more Curry powder...3 tblsp. total and then 1 tblsp. Garam Masala. I also added some garlic and 1 tblsp. sugar. Since I used a bit more boneless chicken thighs (12), I added a jar and a 1/2 of medium salsa....to have extra sauce for dipping Naan bread into. Jasmine Rice is a plus...do not use instant!
Date published: 2009-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful recipe. Wonderful recipe. I used boneless thighs and mild salsa, and served it with couscous. The meat stayed tender and moist. I used less than 1 cup of sour cream so as not to dilute flavor. Definhitely better to start with less than 1 cup sour cream and add gradually according to personal taste. Next time I will mkae with a spicier salsa. This is an excellent recipe and would be wonderful when entetaining guests. Will definitely make this again.
Date published: 2007-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought it was pretty good. I thought it was pretty good. Husband loved it. I love chicken curry and thought the recipe looked very good. I want to mention that when you make it, you put in the sour cream last. Before you add the sour cream, your dish may not look yellow. I mention this because all day I looked at the food and thought - this doesn't look right - am I doing something wrong. And then I put in the sour cream and it looked delicious! And it was! ??
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good and easy to make. This was very good and easy to make. I used boneless chicken breasts straight from the freezer and mixed up the ingredients before I left for work. When I got home I made rice to go with it and a salad of tomato, cucumber, and red onion with mint for a decidedly middle eastern flavor. Daughter rated this dish a 4...she said it was because she didn't say "OMG this is so great!" when she first tasted it, but still it WAS excellent.
Date published: 2007-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from i MADE THIS LAST NIGHT, AND IT TURNED OUT PRETTY GOOD. i MADE THIS LAST NIGHT, AND IT TURNED OUT PRETTY GOOD. HOWEVER, THAT PICTURE SHOULD BE CHANGED... BECAUSE THAT IS NOT WHAT IT ENDS UP LOOKING LIKE. THE MEAT FALLS OFF THE BONE AND SHREDS ITSELF UP MAKING A KIND OF CURRY STEW. I ENDED UP PUTTING IT IN A BOWL OVER RICE. IT WAS ALSO PRETTY MILD SO I ENDED UP ADDING MORE CURRY POWDER...AND THEN SOME CAYANNE PEPPER. BUT IT WAS GOOD ENOUGH FOR ME TO MAKE IT AGAIN. SUPER EASY TO MAKE TOO.
Date published: 2010-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good! So good! If you love curry and need a fast and easy meal make this! I did a little changes.. Used 3 tls instead of 2, I chopped some celery and added it along with the onion... About 2 hours before I was going to serve, I added a bag of frozen broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots... I also used chicken breast.. Served it over rice.. we had a lot left over, it went a long way, and we have 5 people in our family.. so 2 meals out of it!
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shockingly good! Shockingly good! Indian food is my favorite, so I really expected this to not turn out well at all. Wow, was I pleasantly surprised! I wouldn't use thighs again; they're a little fatty for my taste. I would substitute with breasts and skinless legs. I doubled the curry powder, and topped with green onion. Definitely an keeper for and EASY, delicious and hearty meal. It's not 100% authentic Indian, but it's still good!
Date published: 2011-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this dish after a co-worker had brought it in for lunch. I made this dish after a co-worker had brought it in for lunch. It smelled so good, I thought she had bought lunch from one of the local restaurants near our office. When she told me she got the recipe from Kraft I asked her to email it to me. It's extremely easy to make and the flavor is fantastic! I seasoned my chicken thighs with Garlic salt before hand and used 3 tbsp of Curry. I served it over white rice.
Date published: 2010-09-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I don't like to be negative and normally I can find something redeeming in just about anything but... I don't like to be negative and normally I can find something redeeming in just about anything but this really did not taste good. It smelled wonderful but the taste just wasn't there. My husband and daughter wouldn't eat it. Maybe it just needs some fiddling with because other people really seemed to like it. And we love Indian Butter chicken and Tikki Marsala, which this recipe reminded me of. Sorry guys!
Date published: 2009-08-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Maybe I used the wrong curry powder, or salsa, but I did not enjoy this recipe at all. Maybe I used the wrong curry powder, or salsa, but I did not enjoy this recipe at all. To me it didn't taste like real Indian Cuisine - just curry with a hint of Mexican seasoning (from the salsa). I followed the directions exactly, only adding additional curry, and garlic powder, once I realized I did not like the taste. I learned my lesson, there is no shortcut to curry. I'll find an authentic recipe.
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought this was delicious! I thought this was delicious! I took Kraft's suggestion and heated the curry powder in the microwave for 30 seconds. It was a little mild, so I added some hot sause to mine. I used mild salsa as my wife doesn't like spicy stuff, and even then she thought it was hot. We cooked brown rice on which we served it. Delicious. I used the high heat in the slow cooker so that we could do it in less time.
Date published: 2008-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this today, as written except for used breasts instead of thigh meat, as that is what i had in... Made this today, as written except for used breasts instead of thigh meat, as that is what i had in the freezer. Fantastic results - lovely gentle flavour - however, next time i plan to almost double the amount of curry powder, as the sour cream really tones it down. Thanks for the tip on heating the curry in the microwave - learn something new every day! Will definitely be making this again - soon!
Date published: 2010-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe. Great recipe. Can be cooked in a dutch oven on the stove top for about 45minutes to 1 hour. I used all ingredients listed and also added half can of tomatoe paste, 2 Tbls.minced garlic, and 1Cup chicken broth. I did not add sour cream as the sauce was thick enough. This sauce could have been strained,thickened if needed and served laddled over the chicken for a more elegant presentation.
Date published: 2010-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a wonderful dish I made this recipe for tonight's dinner it was great to throw it into the crock pot I was able to do other things and not stand over it. I love currys but don't want to always go out for it. I served it over egg noodles just to switch it up definetly won't be loosing this recipe. But I am curious about one thing is this a recipe that can be frozen after fixing it. It is just me.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is good although I agree with other posters that said it is bland. This recipe is good although I agree with other posters that said it is bland. I used 3 tablespoons of curry instead of 2 and added Adobo for additional seasoning and salt. I also used greek yogurt instead of sour cream and it was a nice change. Used mixed veggies rather than onions because that's what we had in the fridge. Will definitely make again with these few changes.
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I enjoyed making this recipe, It was so good and really easy. I enjoyed making this recipe, It was so good and really easy. When I made it I doubled the sauce part so there was plenty of sauce to go around. I didn't however double the curry powder. I wasn't sure if I should since I was cooking for alot of people. It tasted great just the way it was and everyone loved it. It even tasted good the second time around.
Date published: 2008-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wow! Wow! My husband and I really like this a lot. My kids (4 & 8) were not so thrilled, but then again spicy things are not well liked. I did not do this in a slow cooker. I covered the dish with foil and cooked it in my convection oven @ 325 degrees for 1 hour. It turned out great. This "science project", as we call it in our family, is a do again.
Date published: 2006-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely loved this recipe. I absolutely loved this recipe. It works well with chicken breasts also. It was wonderful. I used the sweet curry powder from Penzey's Spices and it was perfect! I've also tried making it with boneless pork chops with prett good results. I urge everyone who would like to try cooking with curry to try this recipe, you won't be dissapointed!
Date published: 2006-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A little disappointed with the "yawn" of flavor. A little disappointed with the "yawn" of flavor. I know Kraft is trying to make this dish healthier but it really needs salt and something else. Be sure to get almost all of the skin/fat off of the thighs otherwise it will be horribly greasy. Either way I have found you must skim grease off the top. Chicken was tender and the gravy was good.
Date published: 2006-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my absolute favorite recipe from Kraft! This is my absolute favorite recipe from Kraft!! The sauce is soooooo delicious! I use fresh, medium-hot salsa instead of jarred salsa, and my curry is heaping tbl's!! First time I prepared it, I was expecting that it might go in the trash because I NEVER would have put salsa & curry together. Now, I make it approx. every-other week!!!
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super easy and a great base for experimentation What a clever recipe -- who knew that jarred Mexican salsa would make such a great base sauce for a curry! This smelled heavenly while cooking, and my family loved it. Sure, it's not Indian-restaurant style. Some people might find it a bit bland. But I still give it a 4, because I think it's a great base recipe for some experimentation. Next time, I'm going to add some green veggies (besides the onion) such as peas, and boost the amount of curry powder. I used mild, and I think a spicier variety would have added some kick.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY delicious! VERY delicious! I made some slight changes to the recipe though; I used 8 boneless/skinless thighs and 3 tablespoons of curry powder. I cooked it in the slow-cooker on HIGH for 3 hrs, then reduced to LOW for the last hour and a half. It was so very good and my husband loved it. I served this with naan bread, hummus and jasmine rice.
Date published: 2009-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I added about half the sour cream to retain most of the "kick". I added about half the sour cream to retain most of the "kick". Plus I don't really like sour cream and I wanted to be sure not to taste it. I also added a little extra curry, and used the microwave tip. My husband thought it was great, a tad spicy for the kids. Great flavor, little work. Will definitely be making it again.
Date published: 2006-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this was pretty good. this was pretty good. I only cooked it for 3 and a half hours on high though. 5 hours would be way too long i think. i would suggest tasting it about halfway because mine needed a little garlic salt. The bones do get a little annoying says my boyfriend but i didnt mind them because it wouldnt taste the same without them.
Date published: 2011-11-03
  • y_2017, m_12, d_18, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_50, tr_326
  • loc_en_US, sid_76229, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

547593:76229

>