Slow-Cooker Chicken "Osso Buco" - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Slow-Cooker Chicken "Osso Buco"

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
6
hr.
15
min.
Servings

4 servings

Chicken thighs stand in for more traditional (and expensive) veal shanks in this easy slow-cooker version of osso buco.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Toss chicken with flour; place in slow cooker sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Add all remaining ingredients except rice; stir. Cover with lid. Cook on LOW 6 to 8 hours (or on HIGH 3 to 4 hours).
  • Stir chicken mixture until sauce is thickened. Serve over rice.

Use Your Stove

Combine ingredients as directed in Dutch oven or large deep skillet instead of the slow cooker. Bring to boil on medium-high heat; cover. Simmer on low heat 4 to 5 hours or until chicken is done (165ºF), stirring occasionally. Serve over rice.

Special Extra

For easy cleanup, line slow cooker with plastic liner bag before filling with ingredients and cooking as directed.

Substitute

Substitute hot cooked noodles or white rice for the brown rice.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Healthy Living

  • Low fat
  • Low calorie
  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Low sodium
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 3 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 3 Starch
  • 1 Vegetable
  • 3 Meat (L)
  • 1 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

The colorful carrots provide a good source of vitamin A in this delicious, yet low-calorie, low-sodium and low-fat, meal. And since it's made in a slow cooker, it allows you more time to spend with your family.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 430
Total fat 11g
Saturated fat 3g
Cholesterol 140mg
Sodium 440mg
Carbohydrate 49g
Dietary fiber 4g
Sugars 4g
Protein 32g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 50 %DV
Vitamin C 15 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from The flavors in this dish are always a surprise. The flavors in this dish are always a surprise. I did a quick version; use chicken breast tenders, coat with flour, add remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil, turn to low and simmer for about 20 minutes or until chicken is done through. Our family really likes this dish. Thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2005-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe! Great recipe! Smells and tastes delicious. I add a little more of the sun dried tomato dressing because I like it so much and feel that it gives it a little more flavor. All the flavors work together wonderfully. My hubby said he thought it tasted like something from an Italian restaurant
Date published: 2008-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good! This was very good! My daughter did not like the carrot taste (but she is a very picky eater). I used the crock pot and mine came out like a stew (the chicken was so tender). Next time, I am going to double the can of stewed tomatoes and take out the carrot and see what happens.
Date published: 2015-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this dish many times and we like it very much. I have made this dish many times and we like it very much. It is so easy. I changed the recipe, for the plain stewed tomatoes, I use garlic basil and oregeno diced or sliced tomatoes and mashed potatoes for the rice. This dish is very easy and economical thank you Kraft.
Date published: 2005-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent and Easy. Excellent and Easy. My 5 year old and husband loved it too. They call it "Awesome Bucco". The flavor reminded me of my Italian relatives cooking. Great for a day when you want to come home to a meal ready to eat. Gotta love the slow cooker!
Date published: 2006-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a wonderful recipe! This was a wonderful recipe! The taste was great espeially with the rice. Pretty simple easy recipe to make since you can just put the items in a slow cooker. Thanks for a great recipe to make for dinner. My family loved this recipe.
Date published: 2007-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loved this dish. My family loved this dish. My husband is from Venezuela and he said it reminded him of Venezuela/Columbia style food he used to eat back home. I substituted zesty italian for the dressing. Served with rice and fried platanos. MMMM
Date published: 2006-01-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My husband, the Sicilian, did not care for this particular recipe. My husband, the Sicilian, did not care for this particular recipe. Too sweet for him. A little too bland for me. I will probably be adding some seasoning to the chicken next time and leaving out the Sun-Dried Tomato dressing.
Date published: 2005-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've prepared this dish for my family many times now, it has become a favorite of my husband's. I've prepared this dish for my family many times now, it has become a favorite of my husband's. I've found that the recipe is even better when all the ingredients (except for the chicken and flour) are doubled.
Date published: 2005-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good, even my kids loved it. This was very good, even my kids loved it. I added a 28 oz can of stewed tomatoes and a little bit of chicken stock so it was a little soupy but the couscous I served it with soaked it right up.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great and my family loved it. This was great and my family loved it. I actually made the chicken and the sauce in a slow cooker on low for about 7 to 8 hours and it turned out wonderful the chicken just pulled right apart.
Date published: 2008-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Simple and hearty, just needs a little more oomph, like maybe some garlic and red pepper. Simple and hearty, just needs a little more oomph, like maybe some garlic and red pepper. Also probably won't add the lemon next time, made it a little too acidy for our taste.
Date published: 2007-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have other Osso Bucco recipes that take a lot of time and effort to make. I have other Osso Bucco recipes that take a lot of time and effort to make. This is so simple and delicious I never use the other recipes anymore. Try it, you will love it.
Date published: 2005-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We had this for dinner last night and really liked it. We had this for dinner last night and really liked it. I think that I would add some onions and salt and pepper next time, as it was a little bland. It had great texture.
Date published: 2006-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this all the time! I make this all the time! Easy to throw in the crock pot before work and return to an excellent meal that even my teenage sons fight over! I just can't seem to make enough!
Date published: 2005-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This recipe was terrible! This recipe was terrible! i followed it to the T and me and my family hated it. it was bland and the mixture of the dressing and the stewed tomatoes was not very good.
Date published: 2008-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it was really good, i doubled the tomatoes, omitted the lemon, and added some garlic and a touch of... it was really good, i doubled the tomatoes, omitted the lemon, and added some garlic and a touch of seasonings/spices...really yummy! will become household favorite! :)
Date published: 2007-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful and easy. Wonderful and easy. Even the kids liked it! Uses ingredients I always have on hand so it was especially easy. The home was filled with a wonderful, home-cooking aroma.
Date published: 2006-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from family favorite, however i double the amount of tomatoes. family favorite, however i double the amount of tomatoes. make sure chicken thighs are COMPLETLEY covered with them to avoid dry spots. otherwise, we love it!
Date published: 2007-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good, but needed a little more spice. very good, but needed a little more spice. i used onions, carrots, bay leaf, italian seasonings, but still needed a little something. cinnamon perhaps?
Date published: 2006-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a fantastic recipe. This was a fantastic recipe. I couldn't find the sun dried tomato dressing, so I substituted Catalina, and the sauce was quite yummy over the chicken.
Date published: 2006-03-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My family had mixed feelings about this receipe. My family had mixed feelings about this receipe. I did not care for it all that much but my husband enjoyed it. I found the taste to be rather strange.
Date published: 2005-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this many times and have substituted the dressing with Balsamic vinergarette with the... I have made this many times and have substituted the dressing with Balsamic vinergarette with the same great results. Even picky eaters enjoys this!!
Date published: 2004-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe, I have made it a few times, have even passed it on to others. This is a great recipe, I have made it a few times, have even passed it on to others. My family loves it - and it smells as good as it tastes!!
Date published: 2008-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This dish was excellent, I used chicken breast instead of thighs and doubled the ingredits except... This dish was excellent, I used chicken breast instead of thighs and doubled the ingredits except for the flour and added onions to it.
Date published: 2005-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from we added one can of diced tomatoes with olive oil and garlic seasoning and doubled the chicken... we added one can of diced tomatoes with olive oil and garlic seasoning and doubled the chicken thighs wow it was excellent love by all
Date published: 2005-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added a bit of basil to the sauce. I added a bit of basil to the sauce. The lemon gave it just that little bit of zing that brings a smile to the face of the diner.
Date published: 2006-08-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe was bland and tart tasting. This recipe was bland and tart tasting. It seemed like it was missing something. My kids love chicken but not this chicken.
Date published: 2005-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed this recipe very much. Enjoyed this recipe very much. Easy to make, one pot meal. The whole family enjoyed it. Great on Noodles, mashpotatoes too.
Date published: 2007-07-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from We didn't really enjoy this. We didn't really enjoy this. It was just ok. The flavor was a bit sweet......just didn't like the combination of flavors.
Date published: 2006-05-21
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_65883, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

548370:65883

>