Slow-Cooker Orange-BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Slow-Cooker Orange-BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
8
hr.
10
min.
Servings

12 servings

Juice from an orange adds a sweet tang to long-simmering pulled pork, just right to pile on soft bread. This will raise the bar in your BBQ—no grill required.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Pour barbecue sauce and orange juice over meat in slow cooker; cover with lid.
  • Cook on LOW 8 to 10 hours (or on HIGH 4 to 6 hours). Remove meat from slow cooker; cut into small pieces or shred with fork. Return to slow cooker; stir to evenly coat meat with sauce.
  • Spread rolls with mayo; fill with meat.

Size Wise

Serve with a crisp mixed green salad and fresh fruit to round out the meal.

Special Extra

For more orange flavor, add 1 tsp. orange zest to slow cooker along with the barbecue sauce and orange juice.

Special Extra

For easy cleanup, line slow cooker with plastic liner bag before filling with ingredients and cooking as directed.

Servings

  • 12 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 12 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 450
Total fat 20g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 80mg
Sodium 730mg
Carbohydrate 40g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 19g
Protein 26g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was great! This recipe was great! Our family even ate all the leftovers which is unusual for us! I think the orange juice kept the pork from tasting too strong and the bbq sauce from being too sweet.
Date published: 2008-03-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from As many others mentioned, this recipe lacked flavor. As many others mentioned, this recipe lacked flavor. I would not make the recipe again as it is written. I am also not sure though that I used the right meat as I used a boneless pork shoulder ROAST. I don't know much about meat, and our butcher was all of about 17 and didn't know either! After 10 hours of cooking, it definitely took some effort to shred the meat up enough for sandwiches. Sorry to be the bum review! The sandwiches tasted better with some creamy coleslaw in them!
Date published: 2008-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this recipe for my son's 6 month birthday and received rave reviews from my family. Made this recipe for my son's 6 month birthday and received rave reviews from my family. Used dinner rolls instead of toasted sandwich rolls.
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I used this recipe as a base for sandwiches, which worked out great. I used this recipe as a base for sandwiches, which worked out great. I simmered my pork roast for a few hours in water until done, which made a nice broth. I put the broth aside and pulled apart the pork, added BBQ Sauce, Orange Juice, Little Brown Sugar, cooked on Stovetop until heated, Put in crock pot and I added the rest of the broth that was left over and cooked several hours. The broth helped break down the BBQ sauce and was nice and moist.
Date published: 2008-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just changed up alittle...used hickory smoked bbq sauce to add flavor.Loved the taste of orange(not... Just changed up alittle...used hickory smoked bbq sauce to add flavor.Loved the taste of orange(not dominating the dish but could taste)after I took the meat out of the crockpot added 1/2 cup more of sauce.Put the pulled meat back and whala!!!Tender flavorful meat.I loved it added slaw to mine on the hoagie.2nd time around used it for nachos.mmmmm.I'm from the south and have cooked it many ways...this ones a keeper:)
Date published: 2008-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe and I do not cook. I made this recipe and I do not cook. We had a couple families over to watch football and let the kids play and everyone one them raved about the flavor of the sandwiches! It was the easiest thing ever...throw in the slow cooker and I was able to play with friends while it cooked. I loved the hint of orange...made it just a bit different! We are making it again today by request!
Date published: 2008-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was an awesome recipe. This was an awesome recipe. Our 9 year old who is very "picky" just gobbled it right up. I did add approximately 1/4 to 1/2 cup of Brown Sugar to recipe while cooking and it seemed to give the pork a nice flavor. Very easy and very good. My husband and boys raved about how good it was and how good it smelled while cooking. It will definitely be used again in this household.
Date published: 2008-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use cup orange juice instead the the orange. I use cup orange juice instead the the orange. When cooking the pork, I use only 1/2 the BBQ sauce mixed with 1/4 cup OJ and cook. Twice when I made it, the sauce was too watery so I shread the pork, I do not use the sauce in the crockpot. I then use the rest of the BBQ sauce mixed with another 1/4 cup of OJ. I keep an extra bottle of BBQ sauce on hand just in case.
Date published: 2012-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was soooooo good and easy! This was soooooo good and easy! Everyone in my family loved it. I was hesitant on adding oj, but I'm so glad I did. It really did tone the BBQ sauce down. I added some seasonings before putting in the sauce, and used Pork Loin instead of shoulder.. Had a perfect amount of sauce. Served on a toasted bun with KRAFT Singles! I will make this often!
Date published: 2010-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was soooo good. This was soooo good. My DH and DS just loved it. I added salt, pepper, and garlic to the meat before adding the orange juice (used 3 oranges) and a tangy/sweet bbq sauce. Also added thick onion slices from a medium onion. I will definitely be making this recipe again - very easy and made the house smell wonderful all day.
Date published: 2010-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was very good. This recipe was very good. After the pork was done cooking, I removed it from the crock pot and discarded the sauce in the crock pot because it was too watery. Then, I shredded the pork and returned it to the crock pot. I added more BBQ sauce and orange juice. It was very good. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2012-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is awesome! This recipe is awesome! I have made it several times, it goes a long way and is great left over, if there is any left over. I have even made it for my Bunco Club and they all loved it and I shared the recipe with them and others. It's a big hit in alot of homes! Kids really love it!
Date published: 2008-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very easy and delicious recipe to make. A very easy and delicious recipe to make. there was not a drop left in the slow cooker. Everybody wants to know when i am going to make it again.... next time i will use a different style of b-b-que sauce like hickory or something like that .... KEEP THE GOOD RECIPES COMMONG
Date published: 2008-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best recipe ever! This is the best recipe ever!! The orange is the key, we have made it several times, makes alot if you have people to feed. We even made it with Chicken, didn't like it as well with Chicken, but Pork is even a hit with the kids! Thanks so much for an awesome recipe!!
Date published: 2009-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was such an easy recipe and the results were fantastic! This was such an easy recipe and the results were fantastic!! My 15 year old son is somewhat of a picky eater, and he loved it. My husband raved about it and said I could make it again! I added some pepper and garlic salt to the sauce for an extra kick. Very good!!
Date published: 2008-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! I took off some of the fat as I was afraid it would make the meat too greasy. Added 2Tbsp brown sugar for added sweetness and served on kaiser rolls. This the first time that I've cooked any kind of pulled pork and I'm content to stick with this recipe!
Date published: 2008-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought the flavor was great! I thought the flavor was great! Next time I will trim the fat before cooking as it did turn out a little greasy. I used bone-in meat since I couldn't find boneless, but found there was no problem removing all the bones. I will definitely make this again!
Date published: 2008-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband gave it two thumbs up. My husband gave it two thumbs up. The mayo was a great idea. May add the orange peel as suggested next time. Other than that, it had excellent texture and flavor, I've never made anything that tasted that good using pork shoulder!
Date published: 2010-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The only thing I would change is to drain off the juice after the meat is cooked and pulled. The only thing I would change is to drain off the juice after the meat is cooked and pulled. It was a bit too juicy, but my 10-yr old daughter and my husband devoured these. We froze what we didn't use for dinner another night.
Date published: 2008-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from We have a family of four, and my husband and I only liked it in the beginning until I added more bbq... We have a family of four, and my husband and I only liked it in the beginning until I added more bbq sauce and other spices. My son then loved it; however, my daughter would not eat another bite. It was easy to make though.
Date published: 2008-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used a beef roast instead, otherwise I cooked it exactly like it said, and it turned out great. I used a beef roast instead, otherwise I cooked it exactly like it said, and it turned out great. I made some brunswick stew to go with it and it was perfect. I will probably make it again to have with a family gathering.
Date published: 2008-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good. Very good. It is so tender after it is slow cooked it just falls apart. I add my bbq when its already pulled and heat it so it doesn't burn. Also you can add cheese , very good my kids, husband and I ate it for days!
Date published: 2009-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! Yummy!!! Made this last night and it was great! I did not have a pork roast but did have boneless pork chops, worked just as well. I also seasoned the pork with pepper and garlic to add a little something special.
Date published: 2008-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple and delicious Very easy to make and very tasty. Just don't make the same (beginner's) mistake as I made: if your pork shoulder isn't trimmed, make sure to take the fat off beforehand. Otherwise you'll get a very greasy sauce.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I added the orange zest and served the sandwiches with dill pickles, and it was fantastic. I added the orange zest and served the sandwiches with dill pickles, and it was fantastic. I couldn't find boneless pork shoulder, but the bone-in type worked just fine. The meat fell right off the bone. YUM!
Date published: 2008-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good. very good. few changes i made: used orange juice instead of juice from fresh orange (i actually used about 1/2 c.) and i added sugar at the end of cooking (didnt measure about 3 tbs.) i prefer my bbq sweet.
Date published: 2010-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very yummy. very yummy. I added some minced garlic on top of the meat and used 2 oranges. Also, I had pork with the bone in it. when I shredded the meat the bone came out so easily and completly clean. Very tender.
Date published: 2010-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this was my first attempt at pulled pork and it turned out very well. this was my first attempt at pulled pork and it turned out very well. It was easy and it was wonderfully tender. I prefer a thicker sauce and slightly stronger taste but it was good regardless.
Date published: 2008-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this was my first attempt at pulled pork and this recipe was easy and everyone liked it. this was my first attempt at pulled pork and this recipe was easy and everyone liked it. I used a 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of the juice from a orange but other than that followed the recipe.
Date published: 2009-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is sooo easy to make! This is sooo easy to make! I love cooking w/ the crock pot. I added about 6 minced cloves of garlic by smearing it all over the top. So good!! All the flavors mixed together very well!
Date published: 2009-01-07
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_40, tr_94
  • loc_en_US, sid_108634, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

556809:108634

>