Slow-Cooker Smothered Chicken with Bacon & Onions - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Slow-Cooker Smothered Chicken with Bacon & Onions

Prep Time
40
min.
Total Time
4
hr.
50
min.
Servings

8 servings

Sautéed onions and bacon bring their special flavors to this creamy slow-cooker chicken dish that's perfect on top of noodles.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Cook and stir bacon in large skillet on medium heat until crisp. Remove bacon from skillet with slotted spoon; drain on paper towels. Drain all but 2 Tbsp. drippings from skillet. Add onions to reserved drippings; cook 15 to 18 min. or until golden brown, stirring occasionally and adding flour, pepper and half the bacon to skillet for the last minute. Whisk in broth until blended. (Onion mixture will be thick.)
  • Add chicken to slow cooker; cover with onion mixture. Cook on LOW 4 to 5 hours (or on HIGH 2 to 3 hours). About 15 min. before ready to serve, cook noodles as directed on package, omitting salt.
  • Drain noodles; place on platter. Top with chicken, reserving onion mixture in slow cooker. Mix cream cheese spread, milk and garlic powder until blended. Add to onion mixture; mix well. Spoon over chicken; top with parsley and remaining bacon.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with hot steamed green beans.

How to Safely Store Bacon

Store unopened packages of bacon in the refrigerator until the “Use by Date” stamped on the package. Once opened, wrap tightly and refrigerate up to 1 week. To freeze bacon, wrap the unopened, vacuum-sealed package tightly in freezer-safe material, then freeze up to 1 month. Thaw in refrigerator before using.

Special Extra

For easy cleanup, line slow cooker with plastic liner bag before filling with ingredients and cooking as directed.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 380
Total fat 19g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 150mg
Sodium 390mg
Carbohydrate 22g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 2g
Protein 28g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 8 %DV
Vitamin C 2 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this without the slow cooker since we had left over chicken and it was amazing. I made this without the slow cooker since we had left over chicken and it was amazing. Best home cooked meal in weeks! This will definitely be in the family meal rotation!
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family favorite I make this all the time....so delicious. I add carrots. Sometimes I add mini egg noodles at the end with extra water and turn it into a stew.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made something similar to this chicken dish except that I substituted with meatballs and beef... I've made something similar to this chicken dish except that I substituted with meatballs and beef broth. The rest remains basically the same and is a gr******al with an on-the-go family with a busy schedule.
Date published: 2015-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flavorful dish We made this dish for the first time the other night. It was easy to prepare even though there were many steps to the preparation of the dish. The dish did turn out great and the flavor was wonderful. I will be giving a copy of this recipe to many of my friends and family. I will be making this dish again!
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Kind of bland. Kind of bland. I added chopped garlic and did not have the cooking cream so used onion and chive creamed cheese. It still needs something more. The flavor is good but still bland. It is missing a kick that it really needs. I would add some more herbs and spices to it.
Date published: 2013-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My family thought the savory garlic cooking cream was way over-the-top garlicky. My family thought the savory garlic cooking cream was way over-the-top garlicky. I made a white sauce to dilute the garlic sauce and they liked it better. We also felt it lacked salt, so I suggest including the salt when you cook the noodles.
Date published: 2013-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from OK even after adding salt and pepper. OK even after adding salt and pepper. This totally sucks. So fricking bland. Will never be done again in this house.
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This turned out horrible. This turned out horrible. Not only could I not find the necessary cream (all 3 stores in my area do not have it), but when I substituted a little cream cheese mixed with garlic, it just turned into a creamy mess with almost no flavor.
Date published: 2013-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First time making this, very easy The chicken was very tender, however it was bland. Definitely needed more salt and some fresh herbs would have made a difference. I would also double up on the garlic if not more. I will made this recipe again with the minor changes.
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this for dinner tonight and followed the recipe exactly except for substituting real minced... Made this for dinner tonight and followed the recipe exactly except for substituting real minced garlic for the garlic powder. It was delicious and I"ll definitely be ****** it again.
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this without the slow cooker since we had left over chicken and it was amazing. I made this without the slow cooker since we had left over chicken and it was amazing. Best home cooked meal in weeks! This will definitely be in the family meal rotation!
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this without the slow cooker since we had left over chicken and it was amazing. I made this without the slow cooker since we had left over chicken and it was amazing. Best home cooked meal in weeks! This will definitely be in the family meal rotation!
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this without the slow cooker since we had left over chicken and it was amazing. I made this without the slow cooker since we had left over chicken and it was amazing. Best home cooked meal in weeks! This will definitely be in the family meal rotation!
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this without the slow cooker since we had left over chicken and it was amazing. I made this without the slow cooker since we had left over chicken and it was amazing. Best home cooked meal in weeks! This will definitely be in the family meal rotation!
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Oops! Oops! I forgot the onion! We like onion, so I used 1/4 of a fairly large onion, cut as directed in the original recipe. I also used about 1/2 tsp of chopped parsley.
Date published: 2013-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was delicious the first 2 nites then I put the rest in freezer, just had that last nite from the... It was delicious the first 2 nites then I put the rest in freezer, just had that last nite from the freezer. Delicious the second time around.
Date published: 2013-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A different option Awesome very flavorful, easy dinner. I was able to use the egg noodles for two different dinners so it was a win win.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Easy to make Made it today. A tasteless conglomerate of nothingness. A total waste of time.
Date published: 2017-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my son's new favorite dinner! This is my son's new favorite dinner! Great flavor,easy to make.
Date published: 2013-08-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Kevin, With all that bacon there is no way this needs more salt! Kevin, With all that bacon there is no way this needs more salt!
Date published: 2013-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good. Very good. I used smoked sausage which is very hard to keep lit.
Date published: 2015-08-17
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_150546, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

569880:150546

>