Slow-Cooker Sweet-and-Sour Chicken - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Slow-Cooker Sweet-and-Sour Chicken

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
4
hr.
45
min.
Servings

6 servings

Have sweet-and-sour chicken ready and waiting for you when you get home! Ditch the take-out menu for our Healthy Living Slow-Cooker Sweet-and-Sour Chicken.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Place onions, carrots and celery in slow cooker sprayed with cooking spray; top with chicken.
  • Mix sugar, dressing, soy sauce and ginger until blended; pour over chicken. Cover with lid.
  • Cook on LOW 4 to 5 hours, increasing heat to HIGH for the last 30 min.
  • Drain pineapple, reserving juice. Mix reserved juice with cornstarch. Add to slow cooker along with the pineapple and peppers; stir. Cook, covered, 30 min. or until sauce is thickened. Serve over rice.

Note

This recipe works best when cooked on LOW heat. But if you choose to cook it on HIGH, reduce the initial cooking time to 2-1/2 to 3 hours.

Make Ahead

To make your slow-cooker preparation even faster, get ingredients ready the night before and place in the slow cooker. Remove inner container and refrigerate until ready to cook the next day.

Substitute

Serve with hot cooked brown rice.

Nutrition Bonus

Enjoy a variety of food groups - vegetables, fruit, meat and grains - in this easy-to-make recipe that gives chicken a whole new flavor. In addition to being low in calories, fat and sodium, this delicious slow-cooked meal is made with colorful fresh vegetables which are high in vitamin A.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Healthy Living

  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 3-1/2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 2-1/2 Starch
  • 1/2 Fruit
  • 1 Vegetable
  • 2 Meat (L)
  • 1/2 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

Enjoy a variety of food groups - vegetables, fruit, meat and grains - in this easy-to-make meal that gives chicken a whole new flavor. And as a bonus, the colorful peppers provide vitamin C and the carrots contain vitamin A.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 350
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 2g
Cholesterol 100mg
Sodium 320mg
Carbohydrate 49g
Sugars 21g
Protein 22g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 80 %DV
Vitamin C 50 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from I followed the recipe as written and thought it was terribly overcooked. I followed the recipe as written and thought it was terribly overcooked. on the lowest setting, it was done in 4.5 hours, but I still had 5 hours before dinner. I had to put the crock pot on warm instead and this was the only variance. even at 4 hours, the sauce was dark and the chicken turning brown. by dinner, my family thought it was beef. the taste was okay though. since the carrots and onions had disintegrated, i took some frozen asian veggies out of the freezer, put them in a large skillet. as the rice cooked, i did a stir fry with the veggies, added the crock pot mix and then finished as directed with the pineapple juice, corn starch and pineapple. it was an edible dinner, but next time, i'll use the recipe but cook from start to finish in the frying pan (with those frozen veggies). i think it will look like the picture then (maybe), but as followed, nothing like the picture.
Date published: 2011-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very tasty dish. Very tasty dish. I followed directions as is and the flavor was great. I wouldn't call it a traditional sweet and sour taste though. Also, the liquid didn't get very thick at all. It still made a great sauce over the rice. The family loved it and it's been put on the "make this one again" list. (Next time I'll add mushrooms instead of carrots and make a larger amount of the cornstarch mixture to thicken it more)
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME!!! Made this for tonight's dinner and everyone loved it!! My daughter hates cooked peppers so I substituted green and yellow string beans with baby carrots. Good combination with rice. I quadrupled the recipe for the sauce but cut back on the brown sugar, added rice vinegar, about 2 tbsp. sesame oil and Asian spices to the chicken and the vegetables. It tasted wonderful! Great Asian flavor! Will make again for sure!!
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am a full time working mom so I am always looking for recipes that are fast, easy, and good for my... I am a full time working mom so I am always looking for recipes that are fast, easy, and good for my family.This was great because I prepared it in the crockpot the night before and it cooked all day while I was at work.It was very delicious my family loved the flavor. I definetly would make it again. The only thing I did different is I tripled the sauce recipe and it was perfect!
Date published: 2009-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made a couple modifications: cooked mine on low for aprox. Made a couple modifications: cooked mine on low for aprox. 4 1/2 hours until the chicken was fully cooked and shredded easily, then added double the cornstarch amount, and added siracha hot sauce also for the last 30 minutes on high. The recipe is a keeper, super easy to make, tastes great and it is very economical recipe.
Date published: 2011-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kraft kitchen staff: I haven't made this yet. Kraft kitchen staff: I haven't made this yet. It sure sounds good, but I'm curious about the 1/2 C of brown sugar. It seems a lot of sugar for a dish. The Catalina dressing is quite sweet already. Where does the "sour" come from? Pineapple? Please clarify. Thanks.
Date published: 2005-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a hit with my family! Made this recipe and it was a hit with my family! I doubled the wet ingredients and added a can of sliced water chestnuts. Yummm! I think the fresh ginger root made the difference. Will definitely make this one again.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I too used ground ginger and was very good. I too used ground ginger and was very good. I added red peppers too. My kids loved it and they are picky eaters and they get excited when i make this. It's fast and easy to make.
Date published: 2007-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this twice now, once for the family, and once to bring to a pot luck - everyone loved it... I've made this twice now, once for the family, and once to bring to a pot luck - everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. For myself, I use baby carrots (a whole bag, or a little less) and increased the celery to between 3 and 6 stalks. And no onion, since I can't eat it. Also, increased the corn starch to thicken the sauce. Pared it with rice (either Minute Rice or rice from my rice cooker) - great the next day, too, as leftovers. A definite keeper!
Date published: 2013-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty and Easy I started this dish in the afternoon and our plans changed. So I took the entire contents of the crock pot liner and placed them in a large bowl to cool so I could refrigerate them overnight. The next day I pulled them out, put them in a casserole dish and put them in the oven for 45 minutes. It was still delicious! The carrots turned a little darker than the picture shown but otherwise it looked just like the photo.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wow! Wow! I was so excited for this recipe and it turned out disgusting. I wish I would have read the reviews. Only needs to be cooked at low for 4 hours. I cooked it on high for 3 and it was way to over cooked. I was not impressed and will never make this again
Date published: 2011-11-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lacks flavor We made this for dinner tonight. The sauce was very thin and did not thicken with the pineapple juice/cornstarch mixture. In addition this recipe lacked flavor. With the leftovers, I thickened the sauce more and added Tabasco brand sweet and spicy Asian blend. We'll see how it does when reheated. I probably would not make this again. Not a usually good Kraft recipe.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good. Not good. Made it like it said. Still runny, did not thicken. Also too sweet. Not much substance, too plain. Will not be ****** this one again.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pictures of most dishes are never the actual dish ! Pictures of most dishes are never the actual dish ! ... they are just for show! This dish, you can't rely on the cooking times mentioned in the recipe, as some reviewer found out. Always allow for less time & lower temperature on a slow cooker if you want it to cook all day. Other wise, put it on a timer. Chicken and veggies dont take long to cook at all!
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I've made this twice, several months apart, and it just doesn't taste good. I've made this twice, several months apart, and it just doesn't taste good. I can think of no way to make it better.
Date published: 2009-06-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Easy to prepare, smelled wonderful, but had a very odd taste. Easy to prepare, smelled wonderful, but had a very odd taste. My family refused to eat anymore after the first bite.
Date published: 2006-04-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very bad! Very bad! Soy sauce permeated the recipe, making it ineatible. I think 1/2 cup is a mistake, propably should be 1 Tbsp. Very disappointed. I bought Catalina dressing special for this recipe.
Date published: 2006-02-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hated this! hated this!
Date published: 2007-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved the taste, but the dish came out more like a pot of sweet and sour soup. I loved the taste, but the dish came out more like a pot of sweet and sour soup. The only substitution I made was to use the Yoshida's Gourmet sauce instead of the Soy Sauce. I really liked how the Chicken and veggies came out, though. Next time, I will drain out about half the liquid before thickening.
Date published: 2007-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was yummy! This was yummy! Super easy. I didnt have ginger root but i did have ground ginger used it instead, cut amount in half. Cut my veggies chunkier, seemed to hold up better, not mushy. Great for working mom. Now they even have rice in a microwave bag, super quick! Will definately make again! Thanks
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A No Fail--Really I doubled the sauce as mentioned in previous reviews, and it was outstanding as said by my taste testers. I'm a vegetarian, but I still ate the rice, sauce, and veggies. I loved it. Just follow the directions. With the advice from others, you will be a winner. Try it and see.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! Wonderful! I followed other comments and cut the soy sauce to 1/4 cup, and I also left out the ginger root. In a pinch, the recipe can also be followed as a stir fry. First, saute' chicken pieces in a little olive oil and add vegetables and ingredients on a condensed timeline.
Date published: 2006-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was very good! This recipe was very good! Will make it again! I made this for a group of four, I used 4 pieces of boneless skinless chicken breast and doubled the sauce recipe. It turned out great! Also I added about a 1/3 cup of Asian Sweet Chilie Sauce, really gave it extra flavor!
Date published: 2012-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I doubled sauce and forgot to use cornstrach...needless to say mine was too runny. I doubled sauce and forgot to use cornstrach...needless to say mine was too runny. I also did not add the pineapple chunks but did add the juice. I did not use the red peppers but did use the green peppers. I got 3 thumbs up and the 4th thumb is out numbered.
Date published: 2007-06-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was good but needed a LOT more water/liquid. This was good but needed a LOT more water/liquid. By the time I came home and checked on it, all the liquid had burned onto the sides of the slow cooker. I was able to salvage it, but I think it would have been better had I added more liquid to start with.
Date published: 2008-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed this recipe, I went easy on the soysauce and used the low salt brand. Enjoyed this recipe, I went easy on the soysauce and used the low salt brand. Found it quick and simple and it was really enjoyed by my family! Thank you and keep up the good work. I love this web-site and use many, many of the recipes! Tea to you!!
Date published: 2006-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very simple and easy! Very simple and easy! Will keep this one, good enough for company........used ground ginger and while cooking it smelled so good, I used chicken strips not thighs......still very moist ....will send recipe to my sister.........keep 'em coming
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a good recipe, however I tweaked it a bit. This is a good recipe, however I tweaked it a bit. I doubled the sauce (it's just too dry otherwise). I leave out the carrots (they never cooked enough, still very crunchy). I put the peppers in right at the beginning or they stay too crunchy.
Date published: 2012-06-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It tasted ok, but was a let down. It tasted ok, but was a let down. It tasted nothing like sweet and sour chicken and looked nothing like the picture. The sauce never thickened, leaving the rice somewhat soggy. I have leftovers, which will probably just get thrown away.
Date published: 2008-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I'm thinking the amount of soy sauce was a typing error . I'm thinking the amount of soy sauce was a typing error . Even using lite soy sauce as I did and cutting the amount to 1/4 cup was still too much.We were not able to eat it . If I were to make this again I'd cut the amount to 2 tbs.
Date published: 2006-02-25
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_45, tr_121
  • loc_en_US, sid_60835, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

541988:60835

>