Slow-Cooker Sweet & Sour Pork - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Slow-Cooker Sweet & Sour Pork

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
7
hr.
Servings

6 servings

Put this pork loin recipe in the slow cooker in the morning and come home to a tasty dish that combines tangy barbecue sauce with sweet, tender pineapple.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Place meat in slow cooker; top with onions.
  • Add broth and barbecue sauce; stir. Cover with lid. Cook on LOW 6 to 7 hours (or on HIGH 4 hours).
  • Stir in remaining ingredients. Cook, covered, on LOW 45 min. or until rice is tender.

Substitute

Substitute 1 bottle (10 oz.) KRAFT Sweet 'N Sour Sauce for the barbecue sauce.

Special Extra

For easy cleanup, line slow cooker with plastic liner bag before filling with ingredients and cooking as directed.

Variation

Prepare using 2 cups instant white rice, and decrease the cooking time to 30 min. after adding the rice.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Healthy Living

  • Low fat
  • Low calorie
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diet Exchange

  • 3 Starch
  • 1/2 Fruit
  • 1 Carbohydrate
  • 3 Meat (L)

Nutrition Bonus

Enjoy the Asian flavors of this delicious, yet low-fat, main dish that can help you and your family eat right.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 440
Total fat 4g
Saturated fat 1.5g
Cholesterol 60mg
Sodium 610mg
Carbohydrate 71g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 19g
Protein 28g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 2 %DV
Vitamin C 20 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 25 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used a red pepper instead of green, and used instant brown rice instead of white. I used a red pepper instead of green, and used instant brown rice instead of white. It came out great! I also used the juice from the can of pineapple to add a little more liquid to the pot. I knew I would like the rice a bit more on the wet side. I thought the flavor really did taste like sweet and sour! This recipe is a keeper!
Date published: 2015-07-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I was looking for a recipe printed in the '70, making it from scratch, and it had dark karo syrup(1... I was looking for a recipe printed in the '70, making it from scratch, and it had dark karo syrup(1 cup), then vinegar,ketchup,bell pepper, chunk pineapple, mixed with cubed pork, and serve it over or along side rice. Would you still have it somewhere.I got mine from a mag. ad for Karo. Nothing better , and I lost it . Tank you,
Date published: 2006-12-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This was fair in my opinion. This was fair in my opinion. I did not add rice to the slow cooker and just served the sweet and sour pork over jasmine rice. It was not the rice as jasmine rice is perfect with everything in my opinion. Thought the dish was overall bland and it was missing something. Still cannot figure out what it is missing.
Date published: 2005-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed this recipe, and my family did too. I enjoyed this recipe, and my family did too. I saw complaints about the pork being dry/bland. What I did to avoid these food tragedies is this: 1) Rather than cutting the loin into pieces, I left it whole. Before I threw everything into the slow cooker, I preheated a skillet and a bit of olive oil until the oil just started to smoke. Then I added the loin and browned the outside for about a minute or two on all four sides. This serves two purposes: First, getting a nice crust on the outside of the pork helps to seal in all those tasty juices, and it really helps to enhance the pork flavor so that it really shines in the meal. 2) I don't do instant white rice - it tastes like cardboard!!! (Kind of like instant potatoes... hmm...) I made a mix of my favorite short-grain sticky-rice (available at any Asian food store, and even Wal-mart carries a few options), and my favorite Jasmine rice (long grain, LOTS of flavor). This made the meal more authentic, AND the rice had a TON more flavor t
Date published: 2009-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my son's favorite "quick" dinner. This is my son's favorite "quick" dinner. I would make it before he left for school and go about my day. He still loves it now that he is all grown up. I have never made it with BBQ sauce. Seems strange to be sweet and sour with BBQ sauce. I don't think they taste anything alike.
Date published: 2006-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was an easy recipe to make and very good. This was an easy recipe to make and very good. I found out after I had it made we did not have rice so I added 1/4 cup chicken broth and 2 tablespoons of flour and thicken the gravy. We had it over rice noodles and everyone loved it and wants it again. It was good.
Date published: 2007-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a delicious and simple meal to make for a weekday dinner. This was a delicious and simple meal to make for a weekday dinner. I only cooked the pork mixture for 6 hours and the meat was tender and moist. Follow the directions and only put the rice in for 20 minutes or else it will get too mushy. Great meal! Family loves it.
Date published: 2007-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I really had high hopes for this recipe when I made it. I really had high hopes for this recipe when I made it. Overall my husband and I thought that it was OK, but we both agreed it was pretty bland tasting. I'm not likely to try this again, and if I do I'll need to figure out a way to give it a bit more punch.
Date published: 2005-07-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe should not ever be made with long-grain rice. This recipe should not ever be made with long-grain rice. Definitely substitute with 2 cups of instant rice. I have added addition water, bbq sauce and pineapple and added an addition 50 min. to cooking time. I will try it again sometime with my suggestions.
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I did not add the onions, and substituted frozen baby peas for the green peppers. I did not add the onions, and substituted frozen baby peas for the green peppers. We really enjoyed the flavor! Plus it was very easy! The pork was tender enough that it began to fall apart. Next time I think I will try broc. and add some water chestnuts...
Date published: 2007-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous is the perfect word to describe this delicious meal! Fabulous is the perfect word to describe this delicious meal! I added a handful of peanuts at the end of cooking and extra pineapple. My husband and picky little son asked for seconds. This recipe is a keeper. I've already passed it on to friends.
Date published: 2012-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought this was really good. I thought this was really good. I changed a lot of the recipie to make it my own though. I didn't use the crock pot and omitted the peppers. I also accidently used 2 1/3 cups of bbq sauce but it turned out good anyway. I'll be making this again.
Date published: 2010-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe many times. I have made this recipe many times. It is very easy and is very delicious. The pork is always moist. The dish is always flavorful. This is a family favorite even with a picky 7 yr old. Is also wonderful made with chicken. Thank you Kraft!
Date published: 2004-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is AWESOME! This recipe is AWESOME!! All 3 kids enjoyed it (Ages 6, 3 1/2 and 18 months) - my husband said this is one recipe that he could eat AGAIN and AGAIN!! Am making it for the in-laws - I'm sure they'll love it!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2005-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was delicious and easy... This was delicious and easy... my only complaint is that the pork turned out a bit dry which wasn't a big problem because of all the sauce. Next time I will use a pork butt roast because I know they turn out very good in the slow cooker.
Date published: 2006-02-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe was okay. This recipe was okay. I had a hard time finding the Kraft sweet & sour sauce and had to go with a different brand. It wasn't one of my favorites. Definitely cook for about 6 hours in the slow cooker, cooking longer makes the pork tough.
Date published: 2008-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed this, and it got raves from my husband too. I enjoyed this, and it got raves from my husband too. I bought pork that was already cubed, and I browned it beforehand with a little salt and pepper. We had it for dinner Sunday night and then ate the leftovers Tuesday night. Kudos.
Date published: 2009-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good and the whole family liked it. Very good and the whole family liked it. It was a little dry though so I added water at the end before serving it. Other suggestion would be to add the green pepper in the beginning instead of at the end because it was still crisp.
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband LOVED this recipe. My husband LOVED this recipe. I did take a previous comment's advice though and used a Pork Butt Roast and didn't cook it as long as it said... my slow cooker seems to get extrememly hot. But it turned out great! We both loved it!
Date published: 2006-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUM! YUM! I used extra-thick pork chops as that's what I had on hand and it worked out perfectly. Although the meat did fall off the bone! :o) I used frozen chopped onions and peppers to make prep easier. Will definitely make again.
Date published: 2012-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Agree with the other rater, it didnt have enough flavor. Agree with the other rater, it didnt have enough flavor. Maybe it needs more onion and pepper. Also when you're at work for 9 hours its hard to have a recipe that cooks 6-7 hours, then add something 20 min. before the finish.
Date published: 2006-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family and I loved this recipe. My family and I loved this recipe. The pork was super tender and the flavor was excellent. Super easy to make- throw it all in the slow cooker and let it do the work for you! All you have to do is enjoy it when you get home :)
Date published: 2008-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was EASY! This was EASY! I thought that it was great, I added a little soy sauce and a little hot chili sauce for some added flavor. At the end, I reduced the sauce on the stovetop before pouring over the top My family loved this one!
Date published: 2006-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from From one who has never cooked in a slow cooker until recently, THIS RECIPE IS A WONDERFUL... From one who has never cooked in a slow cooker until recently, THIS RECIPE IS A WONDERFUL INTRODUCTION. I never would have thought a slow cooker could produce a dish with so much flavor and such tender pork!! WONDERFUL.
Date published: 2005-08-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It was okay. It was okay. It would have been better if i would have NOT put the rice into crockpot. Next time I'll make the rice separate. IThe texture was too mushy. My family didn't like it. It was also a little too sweet.
Date published: 2006-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I did as several people suggested and kept the pork loin whole (after braising) to cook in the crock... I did as several people suggested and kept the pork loin whole (after braising) to cook in the crock pot. Also used regular rice, cooked in the juices I pulled out of the crock pot instead of instant. Great dinner!
Date published: 2010-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I just made this and it turned out great. I just made this and it turned out great. I used a 20 oz. can of pineapple instead of 8 oz., and left the rice, pineapple and peppers in for about 1 1/2 hours. So simple to make - great if you are at work all day.
Date published: 2006-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was easy to make. This recipe was easy to make. I started before work and when I got home added the remaining items and 20 minutes later my husband and I had a great supper. I do wish there was a serving size listed on the recipe.
Date published: 2005-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This recipe sounded excellent, but it was flavorless and the rice was so sticky- gooey that it was... This recipe sounded excellent, but it was flavorless and the rice was so sticky- gooey that it was not good to eat. I feel like I totally wasted all the ingredients that I had to go out and purchase to make this.
Date published: 2005-02-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was easy and very good. This was easy and very good. I couldn't find the Kraft brand Sweet and Sour sauce in our grocery, so it may be a little better if I had used the right sauce. It was still good, easy, and will be made again!
Date published: 2008-02-26
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_41, tr_151
  • loc_en_US, sid_65878, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

544360:65878

>