Slow-Cooker Tex-Mex Chicken - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Slow-Cooker Tex-Mex Chicken

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
6
hr.
15
min.
Servings

4 servings

Tex-Mex chicken with authentic flavor is as easy as combining seven ingredients in a slow cooker—and adding a sprinkle of cheese before serving.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Toss chicken with seasoning mix and flour in slow cooker sprayed with cooking spray. Add peppers, corn and salsa; mix lightly. Cover with lid.
  • Cook on LOW 6 to 8 hours (or on HIGH 3 to 4 hours).
  • Stir chicken mixture. Serve over rice topped with cheese and onions.
TACO BELL® and Logo are trademarks owned and licensed by Taco Bell Corp.

Special Extra

Top with chopped fresh cilantro before serving.

Creative Leftovers

Cool any leftovers, then refrigerate up to 3 days. Reheat in microwave or on stove top before spooning onto warmed flour tortillas and rolling up.

Substitute

Substitute 1 undrained 14.5-oz. can diced tomatoes with green chiles for the salsa.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Healthy Living

  • Low fat
  • Low calorie
  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 3 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 3 Starch
  • 1 Vegetable
  • 3 Meat (L)

Nutrition Bonus

The colorful peppers in this delicious, yet low-calorie and low-fat, meal are a good source of vitamin C.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 350
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 3g
Cholesterol 70mg
Sodium 970mg
Carbohydrate 45g
Sugars 7g
Protein 25g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 40 %DV
Vitamin C 70 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I add 1/2 medium onion, sliced, and I cut the chicken into bigger pieces so they won't... I add 1/2 medium onion, sliced, and I cut the chicken into bigger pieces so they won't disintegrate. I make this often and my husband loves it topped with the cheese and a dollop of sour cream.I also serve it over Mexican seasoned rice. I put all in my crockpot the night before then just pop the crock out, put it in the base, turn it on and go!I find it hard to beleive that anyone could try it and not like it- it's economical-easy-delicious.
Date published: 2009-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an excellent and easy dinner. This is an excellent and easy dinner. I've made this numerous times! It is great exactly as it, but at times I've had to do substitutes. If you don't have salsa, a can of rotel or and rotel-type diced tomatoes will do. I also like to add a bit of cilantr to this towards the end. It is great served with a little extra cheese on top with a dollop of sour cream! All my kids eat this and love it too!
Date published: 2010-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from loved it - I put a small can of green chilies and some jalapenos to add some flavor & it was pretty... loved it - I put a small can of green chilies and some jalapenos to add some flavor & it was pretty zippy. All of us loved it - even the kids. I also had some extra drumsticks, so I dredged them in the flour mixture and threw them on top of everything & that was a big hit. I made a double batch on Saturday - today is Wednesday and it is nearly gone. I will have to make this again for sure.
Date published: 2012-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like most of the recipes on Kraftfoods, pretty bland, but a good starting point. Like most of the recipes on Kraftfoods, pretty bland, but a good starting point. I subbed in a can of Ro-tel tomatoes and chilis for part of the salsa, and added black beans. I also used chicken thighs instead of breasts for cost savings AND added flavor. Six hours on low was plenty. Next time, I will probably add some onions to make it more like crock-pot fajitas.
Date published: 2009-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for anyone on the go. Excellent for anyone on the go. I cut everything up the night before and threw it together in the morning. I added a can of black beans, extra corn and lots of cilantro. I dusted with extra taco seasoning too. And, next time I would use even more. I garnished with cilantro and sour cream, and made Spanish Rice to accompany. It was a big hit with my dinner guests!
Date published: 2008-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I added the whole package of seasoning, whole jar of salsa and added a jar full of water. I added the whole package of seasoning, whole jar of salsa and added a jar full of water. The chicken came out moist and there was plenty of sauce. I omitted the peppers because my husband doesn't like soggy peppers. I added chopped onion instead and it was great. I served over rice and even put the mixture in a tortilla. My family loved this and I will make it again.
Date published: 2008-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was a hit with my husband. This recipe was a hit with my husband. We like a little more heat than this recipe calls for, so I used hot taco seasoning mix and added crushe red pepper. I also replaced the corn with lightly seasoned frozen corn which includes red and green peppers and onions. I omitted the fresh peppers and used 1 1/2 cups of the frozen corn mix. Would definetly make again.
Date published: 2007-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Tasty and easy recipe. I have made this recipe several times now and we really like it. When you walk in the house the smell of it cooking is fantastic. I did use the whole pack of taco seasoning and cooked on high for 3 hours. I added the peppers in after it cooked for one hour. Previously I added at the beginning and they almost disappeared. Do not overcook. Love it.
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This meal did cook quickly. This meal did cook quickly. After reading all the comments, I cooked it for 1 1/2 hours on low and 1 hour on high and it was done. I added black beans, which was a great recommendation made by other reviewers. The flavor could've been better. Next time I make it I'll use medium salsa instead of mild. It needed a little extra kick in there.
Date published: 2007-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from When i make new recipes i always ask my hubby and 3 year old if it was good and if its a keeper. When i make new recipes i always ask my hubby and 3 year old if it was good and if its a keeper. The hubbs said yes, my 3 year old was so excited and screamed so loud that it was yummy. This from a child that thinks the only thing good to eat is peanut butter and jelly sandwiches or fruit scacks. This will be a staple at our house:)
Date published: 2010-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe. I loved this recipe. It has lots of flavor. I made mine in a skillet rather than using a slow cooker because so many people have had problems with over cooking it. My boyfriend didn't like it because he couldn't figure out if it was Mexican, Tex-Mex, or Asian (rice). It is kind of an odd combination. I will make it again for myself!
Date published: 2007-11-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My kids turned up their noses and refused to eat this after one bite. My kids turned up their noses and refused to eat this after one bite. My husband and I ate it but it needed a lot more to it. Cook time was only 2 hours and the chicken was a bit dried out. if I was to make it again I think I would not have as much salsa and add some more vegetables to fill it up instead of all peppers.
Date published: 2007-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so good I want to have it again tomorrow, if not sooner! This was so good I want to have it again tomorrow, if not sooner! I made a double batch and used 2 pkgs of taco seasoning (only use Taco Bell brand - it really is the best). I didn't have quite enough salsa, so I threw in a can of Rotel. It turned out kind of soupy, but I served it over some taco rice, and it was amazing!
Date published: 2010-03-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good. Not good. I made it just how it said. It was not an enjoyable taste. We couldn't even finish our servings of it. In fact, I only took a few bites. My husband (who isn't picky at all) said, "The first bite is good, and then the more bites you have the worse it tastes." We through all the leftovers away. What a waste. :(
Date published: 2009-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used Chicken taco seasoning, added a little extra salsa (since some people said it was dry)added... I used Chicken taco seasoning, added a little extra salsa (since some people said it was dry)added corn, green onions and cilantro. It was great!!! Not dry at all!!! The kids and my husband wanted it like a taco, but we later found out that it was rather messy that way, next time we put it on top of rice instead!
Date published: 2010-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very good as both dinner and leftovers. This was very good as both dinner and leftovers. With skinless breast meat you definitely want to go with the shorter times, otherwise it tends to be a bit dry. Substituting boneless skinless thighs gives a bit more flavor and moisture for the meat if you don't mind darker meat. Very easy, will make again.
Date published: 2008-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added chilli powder for some kick, and cut the chicken into bigger pieces, and put out sour cream... I added chilli powder for some kick, and cut the chicken into bigger pieces, and put out sour cream for some flavor. I've got a huge family at least ten at the table each night and it was a huge hit. Being a mom to a new born this recipe makes dinner so much easier instead of trying to cook in between naps.
Date published: 2009-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Gluten Free review. A Gluten Free review. I made this recipe using different brands for the taco seasoning and salsa sauce as I wasn't sure if those listed were gluten free. My family enjoyed this recipe. It was so easy to put together. I will definitely make this again. You can never have too many slow cooker recipes!
Date published: 2007-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe. Great recipe. My entire family loved this, including the kids! I have a family of six, so I added more chicken and used the entire package of taco seasoning. I served this over white rice and with a salad. Not only delicious, but healthy! Easy preperation and had a great flavor. Will definitely make again!
Date published: 2010-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I loved this recipe! My husband and I loved this recipe! I knew I would be out of the house longer than it needed to cook, so I used frozen pepper strips instead of fresh peppers and added more salsa. The chicken was so tender that it fell apart as we picked up slices with our forks. This is a definite keeper for my house!
Date published: 2010-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so good and easy. This was so good and easy. I doubled the recipe and used 2 pkgs fajita seasoning. Instead of the frozen corn, I used 2 pkgs frozen "Authentic Mexican Seasoned Corn & Black Beans with Tomatoes, Peppers and Onions". I also added cumin. I topped it with 2% Mexican cheese and light sour cream. Delicious!!
Date published: 2010-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is great! This is great! I used the whole package of seasoning and substituted black beans for the peppers (to please the family). Served in warm tortillas with spanish rice. YUMMY! shared leftovers with co-workers and received rave reviews. Also great for taco salad. I will DEFINITELY make this again!!
Date published: 2011-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great recipe. This was a great recipe. Watch the time, though, depending on your slow cooker. I found that this would have been fine at 5 1/2 - 6 hours, though I left it longer while we were at my son's soccer game. Another 30 minutes and it would have been overly done. Add some cornbread on the side - yum!!
Date published: 2007-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & very flavorful. Easy & very flavorful. I followed a few suggestions and added an onion, black beans, entire packet of seasoning mix, 1/2 cup chicken broth(some said it was a little dry) & a little garlic. Topping with green onions and cilantro was a nice touch and added to the dish. Definitely a keeper!
Date published: 2011-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was simple to pull together and very tasty! This recipe was simple to pull together and very tasty! It was ready in about 3-1/2 hours on High in the slow cooker. I added a can of black beans during the last 10 minutes of cooking time to add extra substance/flavor. I served it on brown rice and with tortilla chips and sour cream.
Date published: 2008-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I used a whole packet of taco seasoning and also left the chicken partially frozen. I used a whole packet of taco seasoning and also left the chicken partially frozen. I cooked it on high for 3.5 hours and the chicken stayed moist. I agree it needs a little more zip. next time I will add a bit of hout sauce and maybe use as a base for a taco salad. My 2 kids loved it.
Date published: 2007-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I made this exactly as directed and it was just ok. I made this exactly as directed and it was just ok. I know I cooked it too long since I was at work but I wish I would have added the peppers within the last hour of cooking because they were mushy. The family didn't care too much for this and I ended up throwing half of it away.
Date published: 2011-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this in the crockpot. Made this in the crockpot. Used a small can of corn instead of frozen; drained and added it about 1 hr before serving. Added can of rinsed black beans and chopped up onion. My husband really liked it and will make it again. Simple. Was even tastier as leftovers the next night!
Date published: 2010-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My picky family loves this recipe! My picky family loves this recipe! It is simple to throw together and I love having dinner waiting when I get home from work. I made this for a extended family dinner and they all loved it too. My husband adds his own hot sauce to spice it up even more. This one is a keeper!
Date published: 2010-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very yummy and simple to make, I served it with a spanish style rice, sour cream, cheese and black... Very yummy and simple to make, I served it with a spanish style rice, sour cream, cheese and black olives. A nice addition next time would be to add black beans to the crockpot mixture, adds flavor, protien and fiber, increases nutritional value, would definitley make again!!
Date published: 2008-10-29
  • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_99, tr_355
  • loc_en_US, sid_107258, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

557567:107258

>