Snowball Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Snowball Cake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
20
min.
Servings

16 servings

A grown-up version of the classic lunchbox treat, this cake will bring back memories and bring up the question we all had as kids: how did the cream filling get in there?

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Prepare cake batter, in 2-1/2-qt. ovenproof bowl, as directed on package; scrape side of bowl. Beat cream cheese, egg and granulated sugar until blended; spoon into center of batter in bowl.
  • Bake 1 hour 5 min. or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool cake in bowl 10 min. Loosen cake from bowl with knife; invert onto wire rack. Remove bowl. Cool cake completely.
  • Meanwhile, beat pudding mix, powdered sugar and milk in bowl with whisk 2 min. Stir in COOL WHIP. Refrigerate until ready to use.
  • Place cake on plate; frost with pudding mixture. Cover with coconut.

Size Wise

At 16 servings, this fun-to-make cake is a great dessert to serve at a holiday party.

Easy Cleanup

Save on cleanup by mixing and baking the cake batter in the same bowl.

Note

Store in refrigerator.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Best Apples for Baking and Cooking

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 350
Total fat 21g
Saturated fat 10g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 310mg
Carbohydrate 38g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 26g
Protein 5g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this last week for Christmas; everyone loved it! I made this last week for Christmas; everyone loved it! I was a bit skeptical at first because some of the reviewers said it burned or the filling fell through; I'm so glad I tried. It turned out just like the picture! I did one thing different: I didn't leave the batter in the bowl to bake...I mixed the batter in my regular mixer and then transferred it to a greased pyrex. I'm so glad I did, the cake came moist and evenly baked. For those of you that had problems, try baking your cake in a properly preheated oven and in the middle of the stove. Good Luck!
Date published: 2009-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After reading reviews I added vanilla and extra sugar to the filling. After reading reviews I added vanilla and extra sugar to the filling. I have made it twice in a Pyrex bowl. The first time I mixed it and baked it in the Pyrex bowl. The second time I mixed it in one bowl, then poured it into a Pyrex bowl that I had greased. Both times the top of the cake stuck to the bowl! I was able to piece it together and it looked great. This is a cake that was a hit and it is one that I will make again!
Date published: 2014-12-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this cake for Christmas, and I'm still mixed on whether or not I liked it. I made this cake for Christmas, and I'm still mixed on whether or not I liked it. The presentation looked great, and the taste was alright, but not anything special. The cream cheese center was so bland, it didn't even seem necessary, as it didn't add anything to the flavor. The coconut, though I only put on sparingly, I could also have done without, as I thought it detracted from the flavor as well, with that slightly crunchy texture over the smooth texture of the frosting. I also didn't bother with the pudding/whip cream topping, and just used regular vanilla frosting. I got compliments on it, but I personally only ate a piece or two of it over a few days, so it's not something I would ever have a craving for and just HAVE to make again.
Date published: 2009-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a women's group Christmas function at my church. I made this cake for a women's group Christmas function at my church. After reading other reviews, I used a separate bowl to mix the batter and then poured it into another bowl to bake and had no problem removing it when done. I added a little vanilla to the cream cheese filling for more flavor, and I used white chocolate instant pudding instead of vanilla to keep the snowball white as suggested by another reviewer. The cake was beautiful and got a lot of "ahs" and "ohs." Everyone who got a slice said it was wonderful and the compliments were all positive. I am making it again this weekend to take to a private party. Thanks for a show-stopping recipe and thanks to other reviewers who helped me make the cake even better than the original recipe!
Date published: 2010-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I modified the recipe by using a Spice Cake mix (mixed up with a can of pumpkin instead of according... I modified the recipe by using a Spice Cake mix (mixed up with a can of pumpkin instead of according to pkg directions). Then, I used fat-free cream cheese. For the frosting, I used the pumpkin-spice pudding, fat-free non-dairy whipped topping, and skim milk. I covered the top with chopped walnuts. It turned out yummy...and lower in fat and calories! One thing I'd note is that because of the thickness of the cake batter made with pumpkin, you should put in half of the batter, then the cream cheese mixture, then the rest of the batter.
Date published: 2009-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My daughters and I made this cake today. My daughters and I made this cake today. We just finished eating a piece. It was pretty good. I did make a few changes. U used a chocolate fudge cake mix as that is what I had on hand. Instead of Cool Whip (sorry Kraft but I do not like it), I whipped up heavy whipping cream and added it to the pudding mixture. Since others have had a problem with the cake sticking I mixed it in a different bowl and baked it in the 2.5 qt glass bowl that was coated with cooking spray. No problems getting it out. It was quite good.
Date published: 2009-12-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I don't know what I did wrong, but when I baked this in a bowl, I had to bake it an extra 20 minutes... I don't know what I did wrong, but when I baked this in a bowl, I had to bake it an extra 20 minutes because the center tested undone. Then, when it finally seemed done, I pulled it out, let it cool for 10 minutes in the bowl (per instructions) then flipped it out onto a cooling rack. When I removed the bowl, the entire cake collapsed. I was in a bit of a panic because I was making this for an event and I didn't have enough of the ingredients to try it again and ended up fabricating another cake to replace it.
Date published: 2010-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I read reviews prior to making, and made the following modifications: mixed cake in my mixer then... I read reviews prior to making, and made the following modifications: mixed cake in my mixer then poured into pyrex bowl coated with Wilton's cake release. Added 1/3 cup sugar and 1 t almond extract to cream cheese mixture. I mixed the cream cheese mixture in my mixer until it was fluffy which made for a nice custard consistency when baked. I also baked about 10 mins. longer than recipe called for. Beautiful presentation. Moist cake. Great tasting filling and icing. I would definitely make again and again!!
Date published: 2011-01-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Taking advice from other reviewers, I mixed the batter in a different bowl, then sprayed the baking... Taking advice from other reviewers, I mixed the batter in a different bowl, then sprayed the baking bowl with non-stick. I had no problems with the cake sticking, or with the cream cheese filling going to the top ~ technically, it turned out perfect, and not dry at all. I did have to cook this for about 10 more minutes than stated, and the center was a bit soft, but very moist. Here's the thing though, that filling part is a total waste of a block of cream cheese. The texture and flavor of the filling is a strange. My kids, who love anything with cream cheese, thought the filling part was "nasty". I'd leave t out completely. I toasted the coconut because we all prefer it that way, so the cake looked more like a dirty snowball, but the pudding/whip/toasted coconut was by far the best part of the cake!
Date published: 2009-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I forgot to spray the bowl...it still came out perfect! I forgot to spray the bowl...it still came out perfect!! However, it didn't rise evenly, so I had to cut the top off so it would sit flat on the tray (and no, the filling didn't show) in doing so, I realized that it was still pretty gooey in the middle, so I had to pop it back in the oven... it's still baking. My sister had the same trouble when she tried it- it ended up very dry as a result of the added baking time. It was still good, just a little crunchy!
Date published: 2009-12-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from OK, here's the scoop on this cake...after reading all the reviews I thought I couldn't go wrong... OK, here's the scoop on this cake...after reading all the reviews I thought I couldn't go wrong bringing this fun cake to a dinner with friends...although everyone enjoyed it, it certainly wasn't a huge hit. The best parts are the appearance (it is adorable)and the frosting (the kids especially LOVED the frosting). I substituted white chocoloate chips for the coconut and it turned out to be a great substitution. Other than that I made the cake exactly like the recipe. The filling is basically a cheesecake texture and flavor although not very sweet and a little dry...nothing like I imagined (sweeet creamy center). Also, I don't know what went wrong but my filling did not stay in a perfect little ball in the center of the cake...it was way at the bottom (top when flipped) and sunk while cooling. Great to look at but just OK to eat.
Date published: 2009-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I also mixed the batter in one bowl and poured into another greased one. I also mixed the batter in one bowl and poured into another greased one. It came out easily. The cream cheese mixture almost sank to the bottom--I didn't put it all in. The next time I won't use as much cream cheese and I will spread it out more on top of the cake batter. I used three tablespoons of sugar and will add four the next time. My family loved it, but said that the cream cheese mixture tasted like cream cheese...
Date published: 2009-12-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from We made this for my son's 8th birthday. We made this for my son's 8th birthday. All he wanted was to go to the snow, so we did and made a snowball cake to continue the theme. We actually turned it into a snow covered hill. We used lego men and made sleds with lifesavers, and snowmen out of mini marshmallows. He doesn't like coconut(sad for us that do) so we just left it with the frosting. We even made sledding trails. It was a big hit! Looked so cute!
Date published: 2010-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake for our "cousins get-together" last weekend. I made this cake for our "cousins get-together" last weekend. They loved it. It was gone within an hour (and we had several other deserts). I tasted one bite of my husband's. One mistake that I made was baking it in a Correll bowl. It had thin sides and the cake burnt. I had to scrape off the edges. Must have done a good job because nobody knew. Next time, I will add two more tablespoons to the filling.
Date published: 2009-12-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe twice and both times the top came off when unmolding it from the bowl. I have made this recipe twice and both times the top came off when unmolding it from the bowl. I did loosened before I unmolded it. Plus you have the bake approximately 30 minutes longer until the toothpick comes out clean in the middle. As a result the rest of the cake is fairly dry. I made it today for Christmas but I am disappointed that the top came off. I hope it won't be as dry as the first one.
Date published: 2009-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is on the cover of my new food & family. This cake is on the cover of my new food & family. I knew immediately I had to make this one. I love trying new recipes and then having my husband and stepson rate them - "do again" or "lose the recipe". They gave this one a rave review. My husband said he thinks this is the best cake I have ever made...and that would be a lot of cakes in 12+ years. Thanks Kraft Foods for all of the great recipes.
Date published: 2009-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family really liked this cake, even one of my sons who doesn't really care for coconut. My family really liked this cake, even one of my sons who doesn't really care for coconut. The only problem I had was that the filling sunk all the way to the bottom. When I flipped the bowl to get the cake out you could see the filling, it was not covered over by cake like in the picture. This was not a problem though, because the cake tasted wonderful. I would definitely make this one again.
Date published: 2009-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My experience was right in the middle. My experience was right in the middle. I read the reviews so I added applesauce to keep it moist, but then it didn't rise enough and I had to push the filling down with a spoon. It did not stick, but I sprayed the bowl with Pam first. I added extra sugar to both the filling and the icing. I do agree that the icing was running. The kids liked it- it was OK. nothing special- I was disappointed.
Date published: 2009-12-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I made this for New Year's. I made this for New Year's. The cake was good, and we really loved the frosting, but the cream cheese filling tasted eggy, dense, and just not sweet enough(we ended up scooping it out). I did use 1/3 less fat cream cheese, so maybe that changed the taste? It baked well, and I didn't have any trouble removing from the bowl, and looked great decorated. Would try again, with a modified filling.
Date published: 2010-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was easy to make & was a big hit at Thanksgiving. This cake was easy to make & was a big hit at Thanksgiving. It tastes as good as it looks. The only thing I would do differently next time is make a white frosting that does not include pudding. The pudding got so lumpy while mixing & makes the frosting look yellowish, with so many lumps I could not pick them all out. The frosting tasted good, but the lumps were kind of gross.
Date published: 2009-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cake! Great cake! It turned out just like the picture! I made the batter in a separate bowl, and poured it into the baking bowl. It did stick a bit, so I would recommend spaying it first. I also added some vanilla to the filling and icing as another reviewer recommended. I refridgerated the cake for an hr before frosting. The cake and icing set nicely! Great recipe! Thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved loved loved this recipe. Loved loved loved this recipe. I made some changes however, used strawberry cake mix instead of devil's food cake. Baked for one hour and fifteen minutes. Came out beautifully. Yes my cheese mixture did end up on the top of the cake however my cake did not fall apart at all. It is beautiful and sooooo yummy. Used Coconut and white chocolate. DE-----LISH :)
Date published: 2009-12-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Turned out dry, fell apart and the filling was very bland even though I added extra sugar. Turned out dry, fell apart and the filling was very bland even though I added extra sugar. Other than the extra sugar I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was a waste of money. I had actually made three cakes of 3 sizesbto make a snowman for Christmas eve get together. Once I hid the area that fell apart it was cute but that's about all that was good.
Date published: 2009-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i made this cake last christmas and it was good ALTHO the cheesecake center was NOT very sweet - at... i made this cake last christmas and it was good ALTHO the cheesecake center was NOT very sweet - at least not in my humble opinion, not like a hostess snowball like i was expecting. i plan to try this recipe again this holiday season and was just wondering if anyone had any idea on how much more sugar to add to that part of the recipe?? thank you in advance
Date published: 2010-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I certainly would make this cake again. I certainly would make this cake again. It made a beautiful presentation. Most everyone had to have a taste and ALL said it was wonderful. I did have a little problem with cake cracking when I removed from bowl but I took a piece of plastic wrap, twisted it and almost snuggly wrapped the cake (like tieing a ribbon around cake) until it was completly cool.
Date published: 2009-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I haven't made this one yet, though I plan to. I haven't made this one yet, though I plan to. Just a suggestion - put a couple of drops of food coloring into the center or mix with the coconut to fit the appropriate special occasion - Red for Valentines Day, Green for St. Patricks Day, etc. Or decorate as you wish if you don't care for coconut. I just love the idea of making this one for a bake sale!
Date published: 2009-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is OUTSTANDING...but the trick is to make it the day before. This cake is OUTSTANDING...but the trick is to make it the day before. I also used coconut cream pudding instead of the vanilla because the vanilla pudding didn't lend enough coconut flavor for my liking. I added 1/4 tsp almond extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract to the cream cheese mixture for a little extra kick. Love it, love it, love it!!!
Date published: 2010-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was visualizing a dessert looking like a snowball for a dessert buffet 3 days away when I received... I was visualizing a dessert looking like a snowball for a dessert buffet 3 days away when I received my Kraft magazine with the perfect dessert on the front cover! I knew that was the one & wasn't disappointed. It was a huge hit & disappeared before any of the other desserts. It's appearance belied the ease of preparation. So easy! Arlene 771
Date published: 2009-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I also made this recipe for Christmas, without reading the ratings. I also made this recipe for Christmas, without reading the ratings. I too was disappointed with the filling. It was all in one portion of the cake and was not sweet enough. The cake however was refrigerated, and over all tasted great! So moist! I would make this again, and like others would fool with the filling to get more flavor and sweetness.
Date published: 2010-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for our Christmas Day Dinner. I made this cake for our Christmas Day Dinner. It is delicious! A couple of things I would change. It is really better cold so I would make it a day ahead to give the icing and cake time to chill. I did have a small piece on top that stuck to the bowl but I managed to piece it back on which worked fine. I will be making this again for sure!
Date published: 2010-01-04
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_161
  • loc_en_US, sid_114038, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

561734:114038

>