Soft & Chewy Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Soft & Chewy Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
23
min.
Servings

22 servings, 2 cookies each

Lift your dessert skills to new heights with these Soft & Chewy Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies. The rich cream cheese makes them extra soft and chewy.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375ºF.
  • Beat cream cheese, peanut butter and eggs in large bowl with mixer on low speed 1 min. Add dry cake mix; beat on medium speed 1 min. or until mixture pulls away from side of bowl and forms soft dough. (See Tip.)
  • Shape into 44 (1-inch) balls. Place, 2 inches apart, on baking sheets. Flatten each ball, in criss-cross pattern, with tines of fork dipped in sugar.
  • Bake 7 to 8 min. or just until edges of cookies are set. (Do not overbake.) Cool on baking sheet 2 min. Remove to wire rack; cool completely.

Note from the Kraft Kitchens

Thank you. We heard your feedback and retested the recipe. Based upon our results, we added another egg to soften the dough and make it easier to blend together. If you like an even softer dough, you can add a tablespoon of water to the prepared dough for easier handling.

Note from the Kraft Kitchens

If you want more peanut flavor, increase the peanut butter to 3/4 cup.

Special Extra

Place cookie dough on parchment-covered baking sheets to prevent cookies from sticking to pans and to help keep baking sheets clean between batches.

Special Extra

Add 1/2 cup chopped PLANTERS COCKTAIL Peanuts to dough before shaping into balls and baking as directed.

Frozen Nutty Buddies

Cookies can be used to make frozen cookie sandwiches. For each sandwich, fill 2 cookies with 1 Tbsp. thawed COOL WHIP Whipped Topping. Roll edge in chopped PLANTERS COCKTAIL Peanuts. Place in airtight container. Freeze up to 3 months. Serve frozen.

Servings

  • 22 servings, 2 cookies each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 22 servings, 2 cookies each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 140
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 2g
Cholesterol 25mg
Sodium 140mg
Carbohydrate 17g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 10g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was VERY easy to make with a Kitchen Aid mixer and was the hit of our family Easter gathering. This was VERY easy to make with a Kitchen Aid mixer and was the hit of our family Easter gathering. When the dough got too dry I moistened it with a little cooking oil and they came out fine. The cookies were soft and chewy and cake like. The only problem? It didn't make 3 and a half dozen cookies as the recipe says. It made less than 23 one inch size cookies. However, I'm definitely making these again.
Date published: 2008-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This was awful! This was awful!! First off...the magazine says one egg and the website says 2. I added the second egg after I started, but it did not help. I almost burnt up my mixer. The dough was so sticky...not enough liquid or something. I wish I would've added like 1/4 cup of oil. Maybe it depends on the type of cake mix, I used pilsbury, so don't use that one if you want to try it. I won't make this again.
Date published: 2008-04-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made these cookies last night following the one egg recipe in the magazine. I made these cookies last night following the one egg recipe in the magazine. The cookie dough was very dry and tough to work with. It was time consuming to make the fork indentations since the dough would stick to the fork. Once baked the cookies had OK flavor. I will have to try the updated recipe with 2 eggs to see how much difference that makes. I wouldnt do the one egg recipe again.
Date published: 2008-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3 stars for average cookie. 3 stars for average cookie. Took advice and used 2 eggs and 2 tablespoons oil. Wasn't very chewy but cakey (as expected since it's from a cake mix) and there was hardly any peanut butter flavor. I used extra crunchy peanut butter - which saves time from chopping peanuts - and the extra texture definitely helped. Great cookie in a pinch and I would make again but not good enough to give away
Date published: 2008-03-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Using the recipe on the web site, cookies came out soft and chewy, although I substituted 1/2 stick... Using the recipe on the web site, cookies came out soft and chewy, although I substituted 1/2 stick butter for the cream cheese since my husband doesn't like cream cheese. I also used chunky PB and recommend that because the nuts are almost the only PB flavor. This is definitely a chocolate cookie, not a PB cookie. May want to add a little more PB next time. I'll make them again.
Date published: 2008-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OK....I just HAD to put my 2 cents worth in! OK....I just HAD to put my 2 cents worth in!!! These cookies are FABULOUS!! Didn't change a thing in the recipe - only difference is, I used my Kitchen Aid mixer. It doesn't care how thick the dough is. BUT, I did think to myself that I couldn't imagine making these with a hand mixer. I used chunky PB, will add some xtra nuts next time. Will be trying with Hazelnut Butter!!
Date published: 2008-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This recipe is horrible. This recipe is horrible. I had to make something for a bake sale. So I thought these looked good. I had to add extra eggs, peanut butter and cream cheese. I almost burnt up my mixer trying to mix these. I can't understand how anybody would give this recipe a good review. I will never make another recipe without reading the reviews first. Kraft needs to scrap this recipe!
Date published: 2008-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I should have read the reviews first. I should have read the reviews first. I thought it looked like an ingredient was missing but I figured Kraft knew what it was doing. The dough was like dry playdough. After baking 1 tray and seeing the result I threw it all out. It was a late night last minute idea to bring cookies to work - I was in no mood to try to figure out how to fix it. It was a disappointment.
Date published: 2008-04-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Thanks for the tip . Thanks for the tip . . . my version also turned out very crumbly and the first few I baked were very dry. Adding an egg helped . . . though I needed to go to a full 8 minutes of baking. Also, I found the first few stuck to my pan, so I did go ahead and spray the pans for later batches. Next time I may add some mini chocolate chips to make them even more chocolaty.
Date published: 2008-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible. Horrible. Dough was very dry and difficult to work with and mix. Mixing on low, still caused a big mess. I checked the web site and now see that the recipe calls for TWO eggs now, instead of ONE. Aren't these recipes "kitchen tested" before they're posted? I baked half of the batch. Threw the rest of it away, tried the cookies, threw those away, as well.
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from OK - are you sure you didn't forget so more liquid? OK - are you sure you didn't forget so more liquid? My batter never looked like soft dough. When I pressed it into balls it stayed together until I crisscrossed the top with a fork then the balls fell apart. I was disappointed with those recipe. The cookies that I did manage to salvage were good but it's not as easy as the review in the magazine states.
Date published: 2008-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is great. This recipe is great. My 4 year old loves helping me cook and this is an easy recipe. I have friends over for coffee and they love them. They always ask if I have any of them before I can put them on a plate. My daughter calle them Tiffy cookies because 2 of her favorite things are in them{chocolate and peanut butter). We bake them at least twice a week.
Date published: 2008-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was really easy to make, and they came out good! This was really easy to make, and they came out good! When I was making the batter, I wasn't sure if I had the consistency right, so I added extra cream cheese. It turned out that I had it right to start with (kind of crumbly in appearance but rolled into balls nicely) and did not need any additional ingredients. Also, I cooked them about 12 minutes.
Date published: 2008-04-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from When I started mixing these cookies, the batter was very dry, but it stuck together, so I didn't... When I started mixing these cookies, the batter was very dry, but it stuck together, so I didn't think to add anything extra. The actual cookies were so dry, my husband said he felt like a camel chewing his cud. If I make them again I may try some of the other suggestions. The taste was okay, and they were easy to make, but the texture was terrible.
Date published: 2008-03-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from But my husband and I found it did not have enough liquid. But my husband and I found it did not have enough liquid. We added another egg like you did, plus a whole package cream cheese instead of just half, 1 cup peanut butter and 1/2 cup milk. You probably would be okay with the recipe with just adding 1/2 c milk. Anyway it is a good recipe it just needs more liquid to make cookie less crumbly.
Date published: 2008-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a very easy receipe to make. This was a very easy receipe to make. When all ingredients are combined, they seem quite dry,but not. It made great dough balls, baked the size they were squished to, and the cooking time was only 7 minutes. But, I could not tell there was any peanut butter in them. No flavor tasted. Tasted like yummy soft chocolate brownie cookies
Date published: 2008-03-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I used only two eggs and didn't have a problem with the dough, though it did take longer to mix than... I used only two eggs and didn't have a problem with the dough, though it did take longer to mix than the directions stated. I molded these into heart shapes for Valentine's Day and dusted them with powdered sugar; everyone liked them a lot, but they're definitely better after they've cooled rather than straight out of the oven.
Date published: 2009-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a recipe I made for my ladies church group and they loved the cookies. This was a recipe I made for my ladies church group and they loved the cookies. It was a mild chocolate and peanut butter taste. I made them in a cookie flower pan where you insert the sticks prior to baking. I decorated them with icing and they tasted as good as they looked. Thank you Kraft for all of the great recipes.
Date published: 2008-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my gosh, these cookies are soo good. Oh my gosh, these cookies are soo good. I saw the recipe online and decided to give them a try. The "Soft" in the title is what got me because i love soft, moist cookies and refuse to eat a hard one. These cookies were true to their name, and our now mine and my boyfriends favorite cookie. Thanks Kraft, they were delicious!
Date published: 2009-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I made these, I stirred by hand. When I made these, I stirred by hand. I knew my mixer would never handle that kind of cookie dough. Other than that, I made no changes to the recipe and they came out perfectly and have a wonderful flavor. Hubby and 8-yr-old LOVED them! Makes me wonder about other flavors of cake mixes and what I can do with them.
Date published: 2008-03-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was so excited to try this recipe because it is simple. I was so excited to try this recipe because it is simple. They were a disappointment. It was incredibly dry so I added 1/4 cup of water and that made it better. They baked up alright, but they are lacking in flavor. I couldn't taste the peanut butter at all. I would not make them again or recommend them to a friend.
Date published: 2008-04-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I don't know if I will make these again. I don't know if I will make these again. I might try them with the crunchy peanut butter as suggested in the variations to see if they taste any better. I tried them as is and the mix was very dry and I had to press the mixture together. I wasn't that thrilled with the flavor as is, it needed something more.
Date published: 2008-04-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I agree with several of the other members the dough seemed very dry and crumbly. I agree with several of the other members the dough seemed very dry and crumbly. I noticed that the instructions on the website are different from the ones in the magazine. The batter was so dry the sugar would not even stick to the cookie. Maybe the shorter mixing time stated on the website will help.
Date published: 2008-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made theses cookies tonight and they were really good. I made theses cookies tonight and they were really good. I'm really glad that I read the reviews first. Because the dough was very dry, the extra egg and oil was a big help. The only other thing is, I wonder what would happen if there was more cream cheese added. Just not enough cream cheese in there.
Date published: 2008-03-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from these cookies have a lot of potential. these cookies have a lot of potential. i too had to add an extra egg as the dough was really dry and crumbly. i also baked them for about 10 minutes and made the cookies a little bigger than the recipe suggested. i think when i make them again i'll add chocolate chips or peanuts or something!
Date published: 2008-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from With everyone else I followed the recipe in the magazine. With everyone else I followed the recipe in the magazine. With all of the emails I get (and appreciate) from Kraft, maybe they could include a note or link to "Recipe Improvements" with the revised ingredients. That way anyone attempting to make a recipe knows Kraft listens (they do ) and cares!
Date published: 2008-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Followed the recipe as printed & had no problems. Followed the recipe as printed & had no problems. These were just okay for me. I have other cookie recipes I'd rather make & another cake mix cookie that's better. These might be better w/ a fudge frosting or maybe adding choc chips? thanks for something new to try, but not a keeper for me.
Date published: 2008-03-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from These are okay if you need something quickly and don't have high expectations for the product. These are okay if you need something quickly and don't have high expectations for the product. I find them to be rather dry, but dunking in milk helps. Mine needed 9 minutes to cook all the way. I'll probably look for a more quality recipe next time, even if it takes a little longer to make.
Date published: 2008-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These cookies were very easy to make and very yummy! These cookies were very easy to make and very yummy! I made these on a Saturday morning and they were gone by Sunday night! I was a little scared at first because the batter looks very dry and crumbly, but don't be alarmed. Just go ahead and roll into balls and it turns out fine. Very tasty!!
Date published: 2008-04-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I followed the directions in the magazine which called for 1 egg and the cookie batter was so dry... I followed the directions in the magazine which called for 1 egg and the cookie batter was so dry you couldn't even shape them into balls and they didn't spread when they baked. After going online and realizing the magazine was wrong I might try them again, the extra egg is definitely needed!
Date published: 2008-04-27
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_203
  • loc_en_US, sid_109620, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

558963:109620

>