Southern Shrimp and Grits - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Southern Shrimp and Grits

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
25
min.
Servings

4 servings

Prepare our Southern Shrimp and Grits to get a taste of southern cooking wherever you live! You'll find Southern Shrimp and Grits to be a cheesy delight.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Cook grits as directed on package.
  • Meanwhile, cook and stir bacon in large skillet on medium-heat heat until crisp. Remove from skillet with slotted spoon; drain on paper towels. Add shrimp, onions and garlic to drippings in skillet; cook and stir 3 min. or until shrimp turn pink. Add bacon, parsley and lemon juice; mix well.
  • Add cheese to grits; mix well. Serve topped with shrimp mixture.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with a mixed green salad to round out the meal.

How to Devein Raw Shrimp

To devein raw shrimp, first remove the outer shell. Then make a lengthwise shallow cut on the outer curve of the shrimp to expose the black vein. Loosen the vein with the tip of a sharp knife, then pull with your fingers to remove.

Special Extra

For added heat, season with hot pepper sauce to taste.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 370
Total fat 18g
Saturated fat 9g
Cholesterol 195mg
Sodium 1000mg
Carbohydrate 26g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 1g
Protein 27g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 30 %DV
Iron 50 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was scrumptious! This recipe was scrumptious! I made some modifications listed as followed: add Old Bay seasoning to shrimp, added onions, used Quick Grits instead Instant Grits but substitute chicken broth instead of water. My family absolutely loved it!
Date published: 2008-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is so delicious! This recipe is so delicious! I've made it four or five times over the last couple of years. I always add in a bit of red chili pepper flakes. My husband LOVES it- and he isn't a huge fan of seafood. I will absolutely make this again.
Date published: 2010-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent. Excellent. This recipe was easy to prepare and was delicious. I sprinkled the shrimp with Cajun seasoning before sauteeing, and it was further kicked up a notch by serving with tabasco sauce. I will definitely make this again.
Date published: 2008-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As a southern mom I couldn't believe I actually got my children to eat GRITS ! As a southern mom I couldn't believe I actually got my children to eat GRITS !! They were thrilled, even my city slicker husband loved this meal. We will be putting this into our do again file. The kids even asked for seconds !!
Date published: 2006-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AS A SOUTHERNER I AM NO STRANGER TO GRITS. AS A SOUTHERNER I AM NO STRANGER TO GRITS. HOWEVER, I HAD NEVER HAD THEM WITH SHRIMP. MUCH TO MAY SURPRISE I REALLY ENJOYED IT. CAN'T WAIT TO SERVE THIS RECIPE TO MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS. I HAD IT FOR BREAKFAST W/O THE SALAD.
Date published: 2007-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome recipe! Awesome recipe! I substituted 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth in place of the water and - wow! - amazing cheese grits! Also used old bay seasoning on the shrimp for some extra flavor...big hit with the family!
Date published: 2010-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ever since my visit to Charleston SC I have been looking for this recipe. Ever since my visit to Charleston SC I have been looking for this recipe. It is easy and quick to make and absolutely deliciois. I have made it several times and plan to make it for company.
Date published: 2006-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a hit with my 6 year old who loves shrimp. This was a hit with my 6 year old who loves shrimp. Tasted great and a no-brainer to make. For the adult eaters in my house I added some heat with cayenne pepper and paprika.
Date published: 2009-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i enjoyed this so much,i am going to make it again tomorrow.the only thing i used quick grits... i enjoyed this so much,i am going to make it again tomorrow.the only thing i used quick grits instead of instant grits and i put a little obay seasoning on the shrimp.
Date published: 2008-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a very good recipe. This was a very good recipe. The only thing I would do different is add more salt to the grits than I had added. The grits was a little bland, but more salt will help.
Date published: 2007-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was fantastic. This was fantastic. Even though I am a Charleston girl I have never eaten Shrimp and Grits until this recipe. It was fabulous and I will definitely be making it again!
Date published: 2010-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is delicious and easy. This recipe is delicious and easy. For a little extra tastiness I cooked the grits in chicken broth and used some ******* seasoning when saut?ing the shrimp.
Date published: 2015-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I both loved this recipie. My husband and I both loved this recipie. I used 1/2 of a white onion and seasoned the shrimp with old bay and black pepper. Will definately make again!
Date published: 2008-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a fast and easy recipe. This was a fast and easy recipe. That uses ingredients that I always have handy. I didn't have to change one thing in this recipe. I was very tasty.
Date published: 2007-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome recipe. Awesome recipe. Very easy and quick to make. My family really enjoyed this meal. I am so happy because my finally tried grits and loved them.
Date published: 2006-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good but being a southern girl it wasn't quite spicy enough for me. This was very good but being a southern girl it wasn't quite spicy enough for me. Next time I make it I'll be sure to "kick it up a notch"
Date published: 2007-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had never made shrimp and grits together, but my entire family enjoyed this dish. I had never made shrimp and grits together, but my entire family enjoyed this dish. We all cleaned our plates. I will make this again.
Date published: 2007-01-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I was skeptical at first about putting the shrimp on cheesy grits, but I thought the combination... I was skeptical at first about putting the shrimp on cheesy grits, but I thought the combination worked well. Very tasty!
Date published: 2006-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I found that if you add 1/2 cup of chopped red peppers and 1/2 cup of chopped green peppers it... I found that if you add 1/2 cup of chopped red peppers and 1/2 cup of chopped green peppers it seems to be more authentic.
Date published: 2008-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from cooked grits in chicken broth added touch of creole seasoing and hotsauce to shrimp. cooked grits in chicken broth added touch of creole seasoing and hotsauce to shrimp. My new orleans born hubby loved it
Date published: 2008-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy shrimp & grits. Yummy shrimp & grits. My husband loved. I will be making again soon because it was very easy and great for any meal!
Date published: 2008-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is really good! This is really good! Very authentic...reminded me of the shrimp and grits I had when I visited Charleston, SC.
Date published: 2006-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added cajun seasoning to the shrimp while cooking and served with steamed green beans. I added cajun seasoning to the shrimp while cooking and served with steamed green beans. Easy and delicious.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this dish, I have eaten cheese grits my whole life - but love the variation of shrimp and... I loved this dish, I have eaten cheese grits my whole life - but love the variation of shrimp and spices.
Date published: 2007-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Recipe! Great Recipe! But like the previous person, I added Cajun seasoning (wouldn't have been as good without!)
Date published: 2008-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my family's favorite dish during shrimp season. This is my family's favorite dish during shrimp season. It is easy, taste great and just plain good.
Date published: 2008-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy to make. Very easy to make. Very tasty. The only complaint is it needs a gravy. I WILL be making it again.
Date published: 2008-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was one of the best yet! This was one of the best yet! I doubled the garlic and used a regular onion and it was great.
Date published: 2007-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ohhh my goodness! Ohhh my goodness!! SO GOOD! And way too easy not to make again. The cheese grits were awesome!
Date published: 2006-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe. This is a great recipe. My boyfriend absolutely loves it and request it very often.
Date published: 2007-12-19
  • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_92026, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

555922:92026

>