Spinach Pasta Toss - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Spinach Pasta Toss

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
25
min.
Servings

6 servings, 1 cup each

Toss spinach, tomatoes, cheese and penne pasta for spinach pasta. With ingredients this good, you don't need much else for this quick Spinach Pasta Toss.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Bring tomatoes, pasta and water to boil in large saucepan; stir. Cover; simmer on medium-low heat 10 min. or just until pasta is tender.
  • Add half the spinach; simmer, covered, 2 min. or just until wilted. Stir. Repeat with remaining spinach.
  • Serve topped with cheese.

Special Extra

For a spicier dish, add 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper or hot pepper sauce to uncooked pasta mixture in saucepan before cooking as directed.

Substitute

Substitute 7 cups tightly packed baby spinach leaves for the bagged spinach.

Servings

  • 6 servings, 1 cup each

Healthy Living

  • Good source of calcium
  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Nutrition Bonus

Looking for a great side dish that can help you eat right? The spinach in this tasty side is not only rich in vitamin A but it also teams up with the tomatoes to provide vitamin C. In addition, the cheese is an excellent source of calcium.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 200
Total fat 3.5g
Saturated fat 2g
Cholesterol 10mg
Sodium 550mg
Carbohydrate 28g
Dietary fiber 3g
Sugars 4g
Protein 13g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 120 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was SO easy to make and so tasty! This was SO easy to make and so tasty! I used a can of Garlic & Onion seasoned diced tomatoes and a can of Garlic, Basil, & Oregano seasoned diced tomatoes (I doubled the recipe). I didn't need to add any other seasoning to it! The only problem I had was trying to fit it all in my skillet...my fault for not owning a bigger skillet.
Date published: 2009-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would definitely make this recipe again. I would definitely make this recipe again. My husband and son loved it too. The only change I made to the recipe was to add 3 cups of WW pasta, and two 14 oz. cans of italian style tomatoes. I also added 1/2 tsp of both pepper, garlic powder, and dried basil to the mixture before simmering it for the 10 minutes. Yum Yum!!
Date published: 2009-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is excellent. This recipe is excellent. I used two cans of basil, garlic and oregano along with 2 cups of water after reading other reviews. I used one box of Fiber Gourmet penne pasta which gave each serving an additional 18 grams of fiber. I served it with the Easy Parmesan-Garlic Chicken. Both go together very well. Yum yum yum!
Date published: 2010-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this recipe! Love this recipe! Quick and Easy to make! Got a bunch of friends hooked on this stuff. I absolutely love it. The seasoning on it is very light, so some may want to add to it. I think it's just right, not too overpowering. Easy to make, easy to eat. Everyone I've made it for loves it so far.
Date published: 2010-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A lot of people said that it was bland. A lot of people said that it was bland. I am going to use salsa instead of canned tomatoes, and I am going to add black pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. I may even use some ground turkey sausage. This should give it more flavor, and I will add more water. What do you guys think?
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This dish was edible, but definitely not on my list to make again anytime soon. This dish was edible, but definitely not on my list to make again anytime soon. The taste of spinach was very overwhelming (and Im usually a spinach fan) and I checked the noodles after 6 or 7 minutes and they were already soggy. Would have to revamp this recipe to try it again...
Date published: 2009-12-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from When I made this for my family it was very delicious, but mine did'nt turn out like the picture or... When I made this for my family it was very delicious, but mine did'nt turn out like the picture or the way I think it should have. Since it did'nt turn out, it only motivates me to make it again to keep trying to get it right. It was cook error not anything with the recipe.
Date published: 2009-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from To make this a little heartier, I chopped about 1 1/2 lbs. To make this a little heartier, I chopped about 1 1/2 lbs. chicken breast and cooked in Zesty Italian Dressing. Remove the chicken, and cook the pasta as directed. Add chicken and a small can of chopped olives before cooking the spinach. Served with a salad and garlic bread.
Date published: 2009-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just made this tonight for my kids and myself. Just made this tonight for my kids and myself. They ate it and didn't even notice the spinace. Just an FYI my kids are 4 and 2 and we only had a small serving left over. If my kids were older and ate more or my husband was home for dinner I would double the recipe.
Date published: 2010-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So quick and so easy, and a one pot meal. So quick and so easy, and a one pot meal. A great way to use up any shape pasta, and that bag of spinach in the fridge. This is so basic you could add anything to it, leftover chicken, sausage, olives, artichoke hearts, whatever you have on hand to mix it up.
Date published: 2011-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was pretty good. Was pretty good. I used pepper, Italian seasoning, and garlic salt, like suggested in the reviews. I used less spinach than called for (~5 cups). Would consider using more spices and maybe a meat of some sort next time. Overall tasty, fast, and easy to make.
Date published: 2009-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great! This was great! I added sausage to it to make it a meal and so my parents wouldnt ask where the meat was. It reminded me a lot of another recipe I've made a lot, so my parents enjoyed the change but were pleased that it was something still familiar.
Date published: 2009-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved that this recipe is not only great tasting but good for you, I added bite sized chicken... I loved that this recipe is not only great tasting but good for you, I added bite sized chicken pieces though, it added enough to make this an entre and not just a pasta salad. I am absolutely going to make this many more times. A family Favorite!!!
Date published: 2009-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe was very bland, I added onion powder, italian seasoning but that did nothing for it. This recipe was very bland, I added onion powder, italian seasoning but that did nothing for it. If I make this again, I would use more water because I had quite a bit of pasta sticking to the pan even after adding a 1/2 cup more water.
Date published: 2009-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this pretty mush as directed, but added 5-6 strips of crumbled bacon and a pat of butter. Made this pretty mush as directed, but added 5-6 strips of crumbled bacon and a pat of butter. Also took the Kraft tip of adding crushed red pepper flakes. It was very good, my husband and I ate the whole thing that evening.
Date published: 2009-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was pleased with my first attempt at this dish! I was pleased with my first attempt at this dish! It's very easy and pretty healthy. I found it a little bland and will add garlic and Italian spices next time. It would be easy to add grilled chicken or shrimp to it also.
Date published: 2010-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This dish was so easy to make and tasted great! This dish was so easy to make and tasted great! I did alter the recipe a bit. I added in about 2 tablespoons of the Kraft Philadelphia Cooking Creme - Italian Cheese & Herb flavor. The creme gave this dish that extra kick!
Date published: 2011-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added some fresh mushrooms and chicken breast to make this more "complete". I added some fresh mushrooms and chicken breast to make this more "complete". I also used only 1/2 the spinach... be sure you put the spinach in just before serving, otherwise it gets very soggy. Very good meal!
Date published: 2009-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is tasty. This is tasty. I added some chicken pieces that I had cooked in fat free Italian Dressing. I think I will make it again with plain diced tomatoes and add the spices I usually use when I make spaghetti sauce.
Date published: 2010-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This dish is seriously wonderful! This dish is seriously wonderful! It has sooo much flavor, and one wouldn't think so from looking at the ingredient list. It is perfect as is, but sometimes I add italian sausage for an extra protein boost.
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has become a staple at my house. This has become a staple at my house. It is quick, super easy and absolutely delicious! However, I've found that I need to use more than a cup of water. Even my son that hates spinach loves this dish.
Date published: 2009-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Really quick and easy. Really quick and easy. I added 3 cloves of garlic because it was a little bland at first. I used whole grain pasta instead and I added a little more water than they recommended (about 1/8 cups extra).
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good with additional seasonging. This was very good with additional seasonging. I added black pepper, garlic salt, and Italian seasonings. The combination of spinach, tomatoes, pasta and cheese was delicious. My kids loved it.
Date published: 2009-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was one of those recipes that I was not sure if the family would like, but wow! This was one of those recipes that I was not sure if the family would like, but wow!!! They loved it and it was easy and healthy!!! I made this with the garlic and herb fish and it was a hit!!!
Date published: 2009-07-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Pasta was pretty good, tasted a little bland at the beginning. The Pasta was pretty good, tasted a little bland at the beginning. Added some spices to spruce it up. Turned out pretty good. Will make it again, play around with the recipe some more.
Date published: 2009-05-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A large saucepan was not big enough to add the spinach. A large saucepan was not big enough to add the spinach. There was not enough liquid b/c the pasta began to stick to the bottom. It needed salt. Good thought but needs some tweaking.
Date published: 2009-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This tastes a great as the picture looks. This tastes a great as the picture looks. My family loved it! I did have to add a little more water but other than that, it was great. I also added a little garlic to the mixture.
Date published: 2013-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delicious and doesn't make too much. Delicious and doesn't make too much. I didn't have shredded cheese, so I stirred in a scant 1/2 cup of grated parmesan. Delish with a creamy texture! That's how I now make it.
Date published: 2009-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The pasta was a little starchy..I think I would put more water in next time. The pasta was a little starchy..I think I would put more water in next time. The spinach overpowered the flavor so I would use less of that as well. I did like it, though.
Date published: 2010-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I got rave reviews and will make again. I got rave reviews and will make again. I used the 2 cups of water and let it simmer to consistency I wanted. I added cooked chicken breasts and some sundried tomatoes.
Date published: 2012-06-13
  • y_2018, m_2, d_22, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_73
  • loc_en_US, sid_112862, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

548301:112862

>