STOVE TOP Easy Chicken Bake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

STOVE TOP Easy Chicken Bake

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

6 servings, 1-1/3 cups each

Watch this video to learn to make our STOVE TOP Easy Chicken Bake. After just 10 minutes of prep time and 4 steps, this tasty chicken bake will be yours!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400ºF.
  • Prepare stuffing as directed on package.
  • Combine remaining ingredients in 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; top with stuffing.
  • Bake 30 min. or until chicken is done.

Variation

Prepare using reduced-fat reduced-sodium condensed cream of chicken soup, and BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream.

STOVE TOP Classic One-Dish Chicken Bake with Vegetables

Prepare recipe as directed, stirring 1-1/2 cups KRAFT Shredded Low-Moisture Part-Skim Mozzarella Cheese into the chicken mixture in baking dish before topping with stuffing.

How to Reheat Leftovers

Cool, then refrigerate any leftovers. To reheat, microwave each serving on HIGH 2 min. or until heated through.

Servings

  • 6 servings, 1-1/3 cups each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, 1-1/3 cups each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 410
Total fat 15g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 80mg
Sodium 910mg
Carbohydrate 36g
Dietary fiber 3g
Sugars 4g
Protein 31g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 30 %DV
Vitamin C 4 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a super easy reci, but it freaked me out that you didn't cook the chicken first. This was a super easy reci, but it freaked me out that you didn't cook the chicken first. (cause I am a freak about cooked meat). I took two chicken breasts, cut them up, then cooked them with some spices in a pan on the stove. Then I added it to the mixture. And still cooked it for the recomended time. Also when it was done baking, I added about 1 cup shredded cheese on top and put back in oven for another 5 mins. My family of 3 totaly loved it and we finished it in one night. We all had seconds. Best dish I have tried so far.
Date published: 2008-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was very tasteful and easy. This was very tasteful and easy. However, I think the 13x9 baking dish was too big. It was dry. I also would opt to bake it at 350 or 375 degrees as the stuffing mix got too hard but that may be because it was spread out so thin in the baking dish. Next time I will bake it in a smaller dish with a lid on it or aluminum foil. I think it needs covered as it bakes. The taste is wonderful though and I even made it almost fat free using low fat cream of chicken soup and fat free sour cream. It's on my favorite list.
Date published: 2006-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I will be quite honest and say I am a pretty decent cook. I will be quite honest and say I am a pretty decent cook. Other people would agree. I followed this recipe exactly and it was awful! I make a lot of recipes off this website and nothing has turned out this bad. I don't know what it was, but I didn't like it, my kids didn't like it, and my husband definitely didn't like it. I think it was just the combination of all the ingredients, I'm not really sure, but it was awful. I don't even have any suggestions on how to make it better, it was so awful.
Date published: 2005-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe many times and have also done some variations of it, sometimes I use one... I have made this recipe many times and have also done some variations of it, sometimes I use one kind of vegetable instead of a mix, like corn, or chopped brocoli, I have also used a low fat sour cream to save on calories and added 1/2 c of low fat shredded cheesein the vegetable mix. If I am running late on getting dinner started I have cut the chicken into smaller pieces like strips and it seems to cook in less time.It helps if I have a few chicken breasts cut up in the freezer just for those times.
Date published: 2008-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe! I love this recipe!! I have made it for years, but I often replace the chicken with ground turkey, because I can get the rolls of the turkey on sale for $1, which is much cheaper, and I find much easier than cutting up chicken breasts. When I use the turkey, I also like to use Cream of Mushroom soup instead of Cr. of Chicken. I also sometimes use broccoli instead of mixed veggies, because it's a GREAT way to sneak it into my kids! They don't complain about it when I mix it in with this dish!
Date published: 2009-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe. This is a great recipe. Mind you, you must make it with your own variations. I seasoned my chicken beforehand, garlic pepper, salt, etc. I also added minced garlic to the mixture and a review I read added a half a package of Liptons onion soup mix as well so I added that for added flavor. I also added shredded cheese over top when everything was done and let it melt before serving. Remember folks, add your own variations, don't follow every recipe you see to a T, make it your own!!!! ;)
Date published: 2011-09-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from We thought this was pretty good, I made a few changes per other reviewers comments. We thought this was pretty good, I made a few changes per other reviewers comments. I added some extra broth to the stuffing and layered half of it on the bottom of the casserole, and I added some cheddar cheese to the mix, reduced the amount of veg to about 1 cup, and I cooked the chicken first and reduced the temperature to 350 degrees for 30 minutes. The result - very good, creamy casserole! Even picky kids liked it (and ate the vegetables). No problems with dry stuffing here!
Date published: 2006-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have had this once when a friend made it and it was good. I have had this once when a friend made it and it was good. I made it last night and I sauteed my bite size chicken pieces frist with two cloves of chopped garlic for a little extra flavor before mixing everything together. I also added an extra 1/2 cup of sour cream for a creamyer dish. Lastly I added some grated Parmesan cheese to the top for extra flavor. It turned out great and added a little extra to the original! My husband loved it and claimed the garlic really made it pop.
Date published: 2009-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I've made this recipe twice now... I've made this recipe twice now... once according to my own tastes, once according to the recipe, varied only for spices. The first time I left the sour cream and veggies out but added salt, pepper and lowery's season salt because of the bland warnings - WE LIKE SPICES. It was good. The second time I made it as directed, aside from adding salt, pepper and lowery's season salt (with cheese as suggested by the video). I liked it better the first time, my family liked it better the second time. I think the sour cream is a weird taste, personally. I feel like it needs more veggies to have some balance... there also is not enough stuffing to top a large casserole dish - beware the size of dish you use. I think next time, I will double the veggies, double the stuffing and I will finally like it as much as my family does. :)
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was pretty good...but a few tips--- I cut the chicken really small (about 1/2 chunks) to make... This was pretty good...but a few tips--- I cut the chicken really small (about 1/2 chunks) to make sure they would cook all the way. I also baked it for about 45 min and covered the top with foil half way through. Before baking I sprinkled the chicken with some pepper and celery salt to give it more flavor. Will make this again! One other thing- make sure your veggies are thawed! I ran them under hot water for a few minutes to get them thawed and warm.
Date published: 2008-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thought this made a very good meal. Thought this made a very good meal. I did take some of the suggestions that others made and slightly sauted the chicken with garlic, seasoning salt, pepper, and onion before adding to the pan to add some extra flavor. I also added 3/4 cup of sharp cheddar cheese to the mixture before topping with the stuffing. Overall this meal reminded me of a pot pie with stuffing. It had great flavor and was great comfort food and the whole family loved it!
Date published: 2009-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My super picky family devoured this meal! My super picky family devoured this meal! I did tweak it a bit after reading some other reviews. I cut the raw chicken into chunks, added some garlic powder, pepper, salt, and marinated it in the fridge for about 20mins. I added an extra spoonful of sour ***** and a handful of shredded colby ******************************** stuffing that it calls for, but it was a stretch to cover the entire top in a 13x9 cake pan. Next time I'll use two boxes.
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for dinner tonight and it was good. I made this recipe for dinner tonight and it was good. Not outstanding, but good. It was very easy and I used Savory Stuffing instead of the stuffing called for in the recipe. I also used pork instead of chicken. The kids loved it and my husband gave it an "OK". I'll probably make it again in a pinch. On another note, my favorite Stove Top bake is the Easy Layered Chicken Bake. The recipe is similar to this one but much tastier.
Date published: 2007-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loved this recipe! My family loved this recipe! I was a little anxious at first because some reviewers said it was bland, but it turned out great! I cooked my chicken first w/my normal seasonings and added canned veggies instead of frozen. I also used Whole Wheat Chicken Stove Top & added lots of finely shredded cheddar cheese. The bake time took 25 minutes. It was so delicious my son ate 3 bowls of it. We will make this again....Thanks!
Date published: 2010-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a great fall and winter warm-up meal, and it's especially useful this time of year. This is a great fall and winter warm-up meal, and it's especially useful this time of year. Use turkey-flavored Stove Top with leftover Thanksgiving turkey and add all the leftover veggies you don't know what to do with. It's delicious and it's a great way to clean out the fridge! I've been making this for a few years, but the original recipe called for half a package of dry onion soup mix. That adds a lot of flavor.
Date published: 2010-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A dear friend brought this meal to me after the birth of our 2nd child, and we enjoyed it so much... A dear friend brought this meal to me after the birth of our 2nd child, and we enjoyed it so much I've continued to make it for our family 7 years later. In fact, now this is the meal I take to friends. It's simple to make, easy to clean up, and I love that it's all in one dish! It's not fancy but it tastes so good. (We usually omit the veggies and eat them on the side). Gina Summerville, SC
Date published: 2005-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS RECIPE WAS EXCELLENT. THIS RECIPE WAS EXCELLENT. MY 4 1/2 YEAR OLD HAD 2 CHILD SIZE PLATES OF THIS! MY HUSBAND HAD A WHOPPING 3.....IT WAS VERYY GOOD! MAKE SURE YOU CUT CHICKEN UP SMALL ENOUGH SO IT GETS DONE, WE HAD SOME BIGGER CHUNCKS SO HAD TO NOOKE OUR PLATES....GOING TO MAKE IT AS A SIDE NEXT TIME AND OMIT THE CHICKEN, AND HAVE JUST A GRILLED CHICKEN BREAST ON THE SIDE. MAKE THIS AND YOU WONT BE DISSAPPOINTED!
Date published: 2008-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used whole boneless chix breasts, then added dry onion soup mix on top of them then added the... I used whole boneless chix breasts, then added dry onion soup mix on top of them then added the soup/sour cream mixture ( I cooked veggies separately) and covered it all per comments/suggestions that others have made. I cooked it for 1hr & 5min @ 400 degrees but for a family of 5....I made a double batch which turned out delicious! The chicken was awesome & I used 'savory herbs' by Stove Top.
Date published: 2006-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO i did 2 lbs chicken, 3 boxes stuffing(1 cornbread, 2 chicken), a can each of peas, corn, and... SO i did 2 lbs chicken, 3 boxes stuffing(1 cornbread, 2 chicken), a can each of peas, corn, and green beans (instead of frozen veggies), a pkg of frozen cauliflower and broccoli, a can of brocc/chz soup and a can of campbells chunky potato w bacon bits and the sour cream. WOW!! My boyfriend who doesnt like leftovers normally has been eating this for two days now!!! REALLLY GOOD RECIPE!!!
Date published: 2009-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from To those saying this is a very bland recipe, try using marinated chicken breasts. To those saying this is a very bland recipe, try using marinated chicken breasts. My local grocery store has fantastic varieties, I used cajun the 1st and only time I've made this...will switch to garlic & herb next time though, I think it would be a better fit. Oh, and make sure you S&P the veggies...and I like to add some crushed red pepper to the mixture, as well as the stuffing.
Date published: 2008-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked it but the vegetable were a little too al dente for me, I think I'd parboil or microwave... I liked it but the vegetable were a little too al dente for me, I think I'd parboil or microwave them until tender next time. I spinkled Mrs. Dash Garlic & Herb seasoning on the raw chicken before baking and that was a good move. I think the casserole needs to bake 30 mins. before putting the remainder of the Stove Top on the casserole, then bake another 15-20 mintues longer.
Date published: 2006-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had found the original one that is a little different than the one posted. I had found the original one that is a little different than the one posted. we had found it in a magazine, where you use 1/2 cup of the stuffing on the bottom of the dish. you layered the chicken & then added the rest on top. so you had a crunchy top & bottom. also I use cooked chicken since the 1st time i made the chicken was under cooked even after baking for 35 mins.
Date published: 2008-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made it the original way and then I changed it slightly. I made it the original way and then I changed it slightly. Instead of mixed veggies I put O'Brien Hashbrowns in the bottom of the casserole. Topped it with the chicken, added a jar of chicken gravy, topped it with the chicken stove top and sprinkled a cup of grated mozzarella cheese on top before baking. My family much prefers their veggies separate from their meat.
Date published: 2008-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe using Cream of Celery Soup, cooked turkey instead of chicken and Stovetop... I made this recipe using Cream of Celery Soup, cooked turkey instead of chicken and Stovetop Stuffing for Turkey. I also added 1 can of water to the recipe to prevent it from being too dry. Even though the turkey was already cooked, I put it in the oven for about 5-10 minutes to heat everything through. I've made this recipe twice and both my husband and I love it.
Date published: 2008-01-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The mixture of the sour cream, condensed soup and vegetables didn't really soak through the... The mixture of the sour cream, condensed soup and vegetables didn't really soak through the chicken. It kind of sat on the chicken, thick and lumpy and the stuffing on top of the chicken dried out. So what I did was mix the whole thing together after it cooked, (which made it very mushy because of the stuffing) then put it back in the oven and let the top brown up.
Date published: 2006-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The chicken took twice as long to cook since it was raw, but then again I forgot to thaw my... The chicken took twice as long to cook since it was raw, but then again I forgot to thaw my vegetables. I put salt, pepper, and garlic powder on top of the chicken before adding the stove top. Since I had to cook twice as long, I put foil over the dish so the stove top wouldn't burn. This had a great taste, simple to make. I will definitley make this recipe again.
Date published: 2007-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I tried this recipe because I had some stuffing to use up. I tried this recipe because I had some stuffing to use up. I was pleasently surprised with the results. I don't usually make recipes with convenience ingredients like boxed stuffings, potatoes, etc but I will keep this recipe around if I need to make something quick or easy. It would probably be a great recipe for my husband to make on the nights I'm working.
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipie last week and it has to be one of the easiest dinners I have ever made and... I made this recipie last week and it has to be one of the easiest dinners I have ever made and everyone loved it! I thawed out the veggies with water, put in a colander to drain and squeezed out any excess water with a paper towel. I was surprised at how good this tasted, since it took very little effort. Definitely making it again ~ thanks for recipe!
Date published: 2008-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The stuffing on the top was well done and virtually inedible. The stuffing on the top was well done and virtually inedible. The veggies were too hard and I threw out all the green beans and "crunched"the carrots and corn. It would have been nice to have some sauce that is shown in the recipe. I even cooked this on the center shelf of my oven. It was such a disappointment. We finally tossed it out and ordered pizza.
Date published: 2005-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We make a variation of this meal at least twice a month. We make a variation of this meal at least twice a month. We use cooked and seasoned chicken cut up, chicken gravy from a jar, and what ever veggies we have on hand, either frozen or canned. Mix it all up, top with the stuffing mix, stick it in the oven and wait for it all to heat up and the stuffing to get browned and crispy...everyone has raved over it!
Date published: 2009-09-11
  • y_2017, m_12, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_99, tr_458
  • loc_en_US, sid_76203, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

501781:76203

>