STOVE TOP Sweet Citrus Chicken - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

STOVE TOP Sweet Citrus Chicken

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

Makes 6 servings.

That age-old question of how to make chicken breasts exciting? Answered—right here in this citrus-kissed, stuffing-topped casserole.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400ºF.
  • Add hot water to stuffing mix; stir just until moistened.
  • Place chicken in 13x9-inch baking dish. Mix juice, sugar and butter until blended; pour over chicken. Top with stuffing.
  • Bake 30 min. or until chicken is done (165ºF).

Substitute

Substitute honey for the brown sugar.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with your family's favorite steamed vegetables.

Servings

  • Makes 6 servings.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size Makes 6 servings.
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 350
Total fat 10g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 80mg
Sodium 540mg
Carbohydrate 36g
Sugars 15g
Protein 28g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was the first meal I made after moving into our new home. This was the first meal I made after moving into our new home. A great meal! I think my 15 month old loved it even more than my husband. I added onions to the stuffing and placed navel orange slices on the chicken before cooking. When I make it again, I will make sure to take all of the white from the orange as it was a little bitter, but otherwise superb!!!
Date published: 2005-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I replaced the orange juice with apple cider as that is what I had on hand. I replaced the orange juice with apple cider as that is what I had on hand. It turned out very good - everyone in the family enjoyed it. Note - I did use a bit less chicken for my family and therefore cut the cooking time by 5-6 minutes. It turned out great - nice and juicy! As someone else said, I can imagine this would be great with pork chops too.
Date published: 2008-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My husband never says a word against my cooking, even if the dish is burnt! My husband never says a word against my cooking, even if the dish is burnt! I fixed this according to the recipe, and he ate two bites, looked at me and asked if we could order pizza!! I happily said "oh yes!" The dish was horrid tasting. Something about the way the OJ taste mixed with the stuffing taste was just not right.
Date published: 2008-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this several times, always with good results. I have made this several times, always with good results. The chicken is super tender thanks to the acid in the OJ, and the citrus flavored sauce is really good. The stuffing can get a bit soggy, just be careful when placing on the chicken. Served with some veggies, this is a great meal that even the kids like!
Date published: 2010-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the first recipe I have tried with orange juice and chicken, I have gave it to 3 people... This is the first recipe I have tried with orange juice and chicken, I have gave it to 3 people already. Superb- they will think you went to alot of trouble, only you will have to know. Best of all I had all the ingredients on hand. My husband thought I fussed for hours.
Date published: 2007-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from We were really looking forward to dinner tonight, knowing this was on the menu. We were really looking forward to dinner tonight, knowing this was on the menu. While the chicken was very moist and tender, the sweetness was just too over-powering, and the stuffing was a soggy mess. Just $$ in the trash, literally, b/c that's where it went.
Date published: 2008-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was just ok. This was just ok. While it was easy and the chicken was juicy and tender, I just didn't think the taste was anything great. Actually, the more I ate the less I liked it. My boyfriend loved it on the other hand, so I believe it is just a matter of taste.
Date published: 2007-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We tried this last night as the first of our week of meals from the magazine you sent. We tried this last night as the first of our week of meals from the magazine you sent. OH MY -- we both loved it. The texture is awesome and the orange juice bring a whole new life to boring ole' chicken... Will definately be making this again soon!
Date published: 2007-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had wonderful flavor, chicken was nice & tender. Had wonderful flavor, chicken was nice & tender. Be careful when adding stuffing though. Spoon it directly onto the chicken or it gets soggy. The juices in the bottom will thicken up & become almost a sauce to add to the chicken or stuffing if you like.
Date published: 2009-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! Next time, however, I will cut back on the OJ, as it was a bit too citrusy, and I will also bake the stuffing separate from the chicken - it got too saturated with the liquid. Serve with a side veggie and it makes a delicious meal.
Date published: 2009-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a fantastic dish. This was a fantastic dish. I did find that the stuffing in the bottom got a bit soggy with the juice, but not so much that it was unpleasant. My husband liked the citrus flair to it, and so did I. Our picky 6-year-old asked for seconds. :)
Date published: 2009-04-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe was good, but the chicken isn't very flavorful. This recipe was good, but the chicken isn't very flavorful. The stove top is very orangey!! But, overall, it was pretty good. I might use a little less orange juice next time, and let the chicken soak in it longer though.
Date published: 2003-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was so simple and my boyfriend loved it! This recipe was so simple and my boyfriend loved it! I put the leftovers aside for him to take for lunch, but I came to find he ate the rest as soon as I walked out the door! I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Date published: 2010-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband doesn't normally like stove top stuffing. My husband doesn't normally like stove top stuffing. (He's from the south where they eat corn bread dressing) But he loved this recipe. He ate almost all of the stuffing himself!! I will definitely make this again.
Date published: 2003-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was yumm-o my 5 year old twins loved it too! This was yumm-o my 5 year old twins loved it too! I will make this agian for sure! It has a hint of citrus so don't let that scare you if you don't like citrus stuff. It gives it that hmmmm what is that flavor!?
Date published: 2007-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tasty and couldn't be easier! Very tasty and couldn't be easier! Loved the sweetness and the chicken was so moist. I didn't pound it and it turned out great. I'm making it again tonight for the true test, my 13 year old step-daughter.
Date published: 2008-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I read the previous reviews and did not add as much orange juice, I used light butter and light... I read the previous reviews and did not add as much orange juice, I used light butter and light brown sugar, I have a convection oven which made the chicken tender and juicy. I will make this receipe again
Date published: 2007-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used this recipe with pork loin and it turned out great! I used this recipe with pork loin and it turned out great!!!! The stuffing was just a little too runny because of the oj mixture, but the pork turned out delicious. My picky 3 yr old gobbled it all up!
Date published: 2008-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Add frozen green beans to make a complete meal. Add frozen green beans to make a complete meal. I used white grape juice instead of orange juice, but suspect orange would be better. But either cut the water in the stuffing or the juice - too runny.
Date published: 2007-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe many times. I have made this recipe many times. I did however use bone-in chicken and cooked it for hour. I also put the stuffing in the middle. My family enjoys the stuffy having the sweet citrus taste. :)
Date published: 2009-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good easy to make. Very good easy to make. Had a can of corn on the side of it. Next time I think I'll put in more OJ. You could take the stuffing and chicken more then anything. I would make this again.
Date published: 2012-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very easy to make, and very good. This was very easy to make, and very good. The chicken was moist, and the leftovers were great. It was a little runny, so I might use a little less juice next time, but still, very good.
Date published: 2007-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this with pork chops and Stove Top for pork and we really enjoyed having something a little... I made this with pork chops and Stove Top for pork and we really enjoyed having something a little different. I added a few dried cranberries and some zuchinni for color. RAVE reviews!
Date published: 2008-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and children raved over this...they finished off the entire dish in one night. My husband and children raved over this...they finished off the entire dish in one night. We are all happy to have a new chicken dish to eat and I am so happy that it's so easy to make!
Date published: 2009-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We really liked this recipe. We really liked this recipe. I forgot to pound the chicken, so we had to cook it for 45 minutes, but it still tasted okay. We only used 4 chicken breasts, and it turned out just great.
Date published: 2007-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I doubled the amount of the orange juice/brown sugar mixture and used 6 chicken breasts. I doubled the amount of the orange juice/brown sugar mixture and used 6 chicken breasts. I also browned the chicken on each side a bit before popping it into the oven. Yum!
Date published: 2003-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I didn't like this, but to be fair, my husband made it & I'm not sure how closely he followed... I didn't like this, but to be fair, my husband made it & I'm not sure how closely he followed directions. The citrus flavor was good, but the stuffing was really dry.
Date published: 2007-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy to make and delicous! Very easy to make and delicous! I do have a picky household and they thought it was too "orangey", so we will decrease the OJ next time. I thought it was great!
Date published: 2007-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good....whole family loved it...we are trying to cut calories so we served it over rice and had... very good....whole family loved it...we are trying to cut calories so we served it over rice and had steamed asperagus on the side.. But the recipe was excellant.
Date published: 2006-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a new family fave! This is a new family fave! It is absolutely fabulous! It has such a GREAT yummy flavor bursting in every bite! Oh, and sooo easy to make! Highly recommended!
Date published: 2007-06-09
  • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_42, tr_139
  • loc_en_US, sid_50367, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

506715:50367

>