Strawberry Pretzel Dessert Squares - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Strawberry Pretzel Dessert Squares

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
5
hr.
Servings

20 servings

Watch our video to learn how to make Strawberry Pretzel Dessert Squares. Find layer after layer of yummy goodness in this strawberry pretzel dessert.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Combine pretzel crumbs, 1/4 cup sugar and butter; press onto bottom of 13x9-inch pan. Bake 10 min. Cool.
  • Beat cream cheese, remaining sugar and milk with mixer until blended. Stir in COOL WHIP; spread over crust. Refrigerate until ready to use.
  • Add boiling water to gelatin mix in large bowl; stir 2 min. until completely dissolved. Stir in cold water. Refrigerate 1-1/2 hours or until thickened. Stir in berries; spoon over cream cheese layer.
  • Refrigerate 3 hours or until firm.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Strawberry Flavor Gelatin.

Variation

Prepare using PHILADELPHIA Neufchatel Cheese, fat-free milk and COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping.

Substitute

Prepare using 2 pkg. (3 oz. each) JELL-O Strawberry Gelatin.

Make it Easy

Substitute 1 pkg. (20 oz.) frozen whole strawberries, sliced, for the fresh strawberries. Stir into gelatin along with the cold water. Refrigerate 10 to 15 min. or until thickened; spoon over cream cheese layer. Continue as directed.

Servings

  • 20 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 20 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 210
Total fat 13g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 40mg
Sodium 240mg
Carbohydrate 21g
Sugars 15g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 25 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 0 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was given this recipe at least 15 years ago. I was given this recipe at least 15 years ago. When we have a family function or other doings, I am asked to make the strawberry pretzel jellow salad. I also use the frozen strawberries, instead of fresh. This helps in cooling the jellow. If you don't stir thoroughly the jellow won't set-up properly. I also use 2 cups of cool whip. The recipe I was given asks for a layer of sliced bananas, on top of the cream cheese mixture, before you pore on the jello. It's excellent. My husband hates bananas, but loves this recipe. I would never make it with out the bananas. I haven't tried the other varieties of this recipe with different fruit, but they sound soooo good. I have not found a single person that didn't like this recipe. Try it, you can't go wrong!
Date published: 2004-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family LOVES this! My family LOVES this!!! The recipe I have is a little different from KRAFT. (1c. butter, 2/3 cup sugar +3 Tab. for crust, 8oz cream cheese.) You can adjust sugar/butter/cream cheese until you get desired flavor. I chop the pretzels in the food processor, much faster & easier. I also keep the strawberries frozen and then add it to the hot dissolved gelatin mix, that way it cools off faster. Also you don't want the jello mix too hot or else it will sink through the 2nd layer to the crust.
Date published: 2005-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The first time I had this was several years ago at a family gathering. The first time I had this was several years ago at a family gathering. My brother's girlfriend brought it, everyone loved it. After the brief hesitation when hearing the ingredients, it seemed to grow legs and walk off the table! That was her signature dish for several years, now their 22 year old daughter has made it her signature dish. She likes to experiment and mix it up occationally. Adding a layer of sliced, lemon sprinkled, bananas on creamcheese before the jello was interesting. Another good idea she tried was using Blackberry jello and frozen blackberries-that was really tasty!! Once she used the flavored soft creamcheese, I didn't attend that gathering but I was told later that it was gone before anyone had even had their dinner. In my family thats an excellent review, so I'll be trying that one myself!
Date published: 2005-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My grandma has been making this dessert for years and it's a family favourite. My grandma has been making this dessert for years and it's a family favourite. It's also great with raspberries!
Date published: 2004-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought this recipe was wonderful,however there is one thing that I do differently,to make this... I thought this recipe was wonderful,however there is one thing that I do differently,to make this dessert taste EVEN BETTER!! Instead of using pretzels,I use a graham cracker crust! The reason for this, is that the pretzel crust, is just TOO SALTY for my taste!! The graham cracker crust taste ALOT BETTER,and the flavors really blend together wonderfully!! I made this dessert for Memorial Day Weekend,and I had TONS of requests for making this recipe again for the Fourth of July Weekend!! Try the graham cracker crust version,you can buy a pre-made graham cracker crust right at the grocery store!You will notice the difference and so will your guests!!Graham Cracker crust is the way to go for this recipe!!I also put some Cool-Whip on top of this dessert,with a few sliced strawberries as well,it makes this dessert look so pretty!!
Date published: 2005-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of my favorite deserts. This is one of my favorite deserts. My Aunt Mary use to make it for me on special occasions in the summer time, and now I'm making. Everytime I make it for someone new I am always asked for the recipe. It's combination of buttery, salted pretzels & sweet strawberry & creamy filling is unlike anything else. It brings back so many memories of growing up in the summer time. I urge you to try this & start making some of your own summer time memories!
Date published: 2006-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My aunt passed this recipe down to us years ago. My aunt passed this recipe down to us years ago. She used a layer of chilled cherry pie filling on top of the cream cheese layer and then cherry or black cherry jello on the top. She used this as a party dessert and it is fantastic! Another thing she did was stuff a sweetened cream cheese and nut filling into fresh dark cherries and lay them into the cream cheese layer as an extra surprise for the guests to find in their dessert.
Date published: 2007-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strawberry jello pretztel deliciousiouness....lol I have made this recipe over and over again...it is always a great hit when you need to bring a dish for a party.....I add almonds to the pretztel base, and have always gotten rave reviews! :) I pretty much think that the only people who don't like this mix of sweet and salty are the ones who don't like strawberries to begin with...lol....I like the idea of adding the frozen strawberries to the jello, for decreased prep time, although, I live in Florida, and get fresh strawberries a good portion of the year, and think that it's adds to the flavor, but yes, also adds to the prep time.....I usually sink my bowl of strawberries and jello into a bigger bowl surrounded by ice.....it cures quicker...you just have to keep an eye on it so it doesn't get to thick to pour! :) I have one going right now...I wil come back and add a photo when it is done...:)
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I used frozen strawberrys and was concerned with the 'option' part. I used frozen strawberrys and was concerned with the 'option' part. the two bottom layers were good like normal, but my top layer jello never set. I waited over 45 mins, and it never thickened, so I just gently spooned it on the cheese layer and in the morning, it pretty much sank to the bottom. It tasted the same, but sure didn't look good. Next time I'll try to drain the strawberrys, and use hot water not cold? Any suggestions?
Date published: 2009-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is a regular favorite and very versatile! This recipe is a regular favorite and very versatile! You can use ANY flavor of gelatin and mix in ANY type of fruit. You can even use whole wheat pretzels for the crust if that's your druthers. One suggestion for the instructions: Make the gelatin FIRST. Once it is thickened (but is still pourable) THEN make the crust and the cream cheese/whipped topping layers and put everything together as directed.
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TIP: The creamy middle should be thick and you have to make sure the edges are sealed tight before... TIP: The creamy middle should be thick and you have to make sure the edges are sealed tight before you pour the jello over it. If the cream cheese mixture doesn't have a tight seal to the sides, jello will seep into the crust and make it soggy. I have made this a hundred times and never had the problem but that is the main thing to remember and that's the biggest rant I hear about this recipe.
Date published: 2013-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from While I have never made this, my sister in law makes it for practically every party she has, & it... While I have never made this, my sister in law makes it for practically every party she has, & it comes out great each time. To THYMEKEEPER--you probably shouldn't have used kiwi--I'm not positive, but I think it's like using fresh pineapple in jello--there's an enzyme in the fruit that interferes with the jelling process. Try it next time w/ just strawberries, & I bet it will work just fine.
Date published: 2002-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this recipe for every family function. I make this recipe for every family function. It was given to me by my Mother-In-Law. However, I substitute hot pineapple juice for the hot water and a box of frozen strawberries for the cold water. It adds a little more flavor than using water. Just make sure to set the frozen strawberries out to slightly thaw and cut them up a bit (I don't slice them, the chunks are just as easy to eat).
Date published: 2005-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from i wish i would have read the previous comment because i used the frozen strawberries method and... i wish i would have read the previous comment because i used the frozen strawberries method and waited for it to jell overnight and it did not. i have to out and get another dessert for the party i am going to. <<< Response from Kraft Kitchens Expert, Wendy ~ If preparing the frozen strawberry variation, be sure to use frozen berries that are loose in a bag, not berries packed in syrup. >>>
Date published: 2009-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this recipe today to take to dinner with friends and their children. Made this recipe today to take to dinner with friends and their children. Even with the modifications I had to make to accomodate for a lack of adequate timing, this dessert was very good. It is extremely light, the crust is surprisingly good and strawberries are in season. What more can I ask for? Will definitely make again when I have time to do it perfectly. Kudos from my friends.
Date published: 2007-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This desert is always a winner. This desert is always a winner. Sometimes I change the jello flavor or even use blueberry pie filling on top of cream cheese filling instead of jellow mixture. At times I may add nuts or even some grated chocolate into the cream cheese mixture. If you use frozen fruit let it thaw slightly before adding them to jello. I have even made this recipe and sliced bananas between the layers.
Date published: 2009-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It must have been 15 or more years ago that I first had this dessert and it was a favorite then and... It must have been 15 or more years ago that I first had this dessert and it was a favorite then and now my children love it in the summer time. The Jell-O part is tricky because if you aren't watching closely because if it is not firm enough, it will leak all into the layers and if it is too firm it will be lumpy on top and not smooth, but when it is done correctly it is delicious!
Date published: 2006-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been requested to make this over and over again for family parties, BBQ'S and just plain old... I've been requested to make this over and over again for family parties, BBQ'S and just plain old dinner! My suggestion though is to follow it exactly...fine crumbs, not large pieces, chilled filling going to all sides of the dish so that the jello doesn't seep down. Make sure the jello is NOT hot...otherside it melts the filling and softens the pretzels! ENJOY! You'll LOVE IT!
Date published: 2006-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been making this recipe for quite sometime now. I have been making this recipe for quite sometime now. Since I am a diabetic, I have made several chages and it is still fantastic. I use splenda instead of sugar, along with the reduced fat cream cheese and sugar free cool whip. This helps me cut down on the calories as well as sugars. Whenever we are asked to dinner, this is the dessert that they want me to bring. Kathy
Date published: 2009-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was quite tasty, and not too heavy after a large meal. This was quite tasty, and not too heavy after a large meal. The textures of the pretzels, cream cheese and jello worked well together. My daughter and I made this together, and she was so proud that she helped! We used frozen strawberries ... and the jello did not set firm (probably too much liquid from frozen berries...) but it did not ruin it - it was still very good!
Date published: 2005-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My whole family loved this recipe. My whole family loved this recipe. I believe the pretzel crust is the way to go...my family thought I had made a crust with pecans instead of pretzels! I also used the Neutchefel cream cheese and lite cool whip...tasted great without the extra fat! My suggestion would be to mix your jello first and put it in the frig to set up for the 1 hour, and then make your crust.
Date published: 2004-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If you need a dish to take anywhere this one is so attractive and delicious. If you need a dish to take anywhere this one is so attractive and delicious. You learn after making the first one. You boil the water and while the jello is cooling you can complete the other steps. It cuts down on the time required. I use real butter and the butter mixed with the pretezels I thought had a wonderful taste. Unbelievably good and attractive.
Date published: 2005-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was worried about thedesert tasting too salty, so I used half unsalted and half salted pretzels. I was worried about thedesert tasting too salty, so I used half unsalted and half salted pretzels. Also, I didn't want to measure the cream cheese, so I used an one 8 oz and one 3 oz container. The result: only slightly salty and more jello-y than cream cheesy. I made one batch strawberry and another with berry blue jello and blueberries for a patriotic treat!
Date published: 2005-06-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Made this for Thanksgiving. Made this for Thanksgiving. Not sure what I did wrong (followed the recipe to the "T" -- sort of), but my Jell-O did not thicken. I'm disappointed, but I will try again. It sounds like a great recipe, but somehow didn't work for me. I used strawberries and kiwi, added 7-Up instead of water to get the "refresher" Jell-O result, but it didn't "Jell-O." Hmmrph.
Date published: 2004-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just love this recipe - but my jello just would not set up! Just love this recipe - but my jello just would not set up! Next time I make it I will only use 2 cups of boiling water and not the 1 1/2 cups of cold water. Does anyone have any idea what could have gone wrong? I even refrigerated the jello for approx. 2 hours before adding fresh strawberries and still after 6 hours did not set up. Still tasted good though!
Date published: 2011-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had the pretzel salad, as we call it, at a party years ago and had to have the recipe. I had the pretzel salad, as we call it, at a party years ago and had to have the recipe. Now whenever I make it people always ask for the recipe. It definetly has to do with the sweet and salty . Now when I make this recipe and take it to a party I make copies of the recipe and they are ready to hand out to whoever wants the recipe for this scrumptous dessert!!
Date published: 2006-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is always requested for every holiday menu. This recipe is always requested for every holiday menu. Esp Christmas and Valentine's Day. Throw in a few blueberries into the cream cheese for a red/white & blue holiday like July 4th! We like to double the cream cheese mixture, and also use frozen berries. Raspberries are excellent, either alone or mixed with other berries. AAA+++ in our house!
Date published: 2011-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made the desert just for kicks. I made the desert just for kicks. My family and I haven't tried it yet. The only problem I had was I wasn't sure when to mix the strawberries with the jello. It seemed liked if I waited to long the jello would be to firm to add the strawberries.Same problem with knowing when to add the jello mix to the pretzels.Were hoping it turns out great though!
Date published: 2005-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe for years, and with a diabetic in the family have "tweeked" it with them in... I have made this recipe for years, and with a diabetic in the family have "tweeked" it with them in mind. Instead of sugar I use Splenda, which measures cup for cup like sugar. Also, I use sugar free Strawberry Jello. Cool Whip is low in sugar as well, so everyone enjoys a healthy portion, and we don't feel guilty afterwards. It is delicious!!!
Date published: 2005-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My recipe is a little different from this but it's the same basic thing. My recipe is a little different from this but it's the same basic thing. This is one that no one should go without trying. It really is one of the best dessert recipes out there. And if you want something different from strawberries go for it. Put a layer of your favorite instant pudding on top, or use different fruit and Jello combinations.
Date published: 2008-06-02
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_160, tr_592
  • loc_en_US, sid_53033, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

500952:53033

>