Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Strawberry-Swirl Cake

No referer *
Prep Time
35
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
45
min.
Servings

16 servings

Check out this video to see how you can make a Strawberry-Swirl Cake. Our Strawberry-Swirl Cake turns an ordinary box cake mix into something scrumptious.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Grease and flour 2 (8- or 9-inch) round pans. Prepare cake batter as directed on package; pour half into medium bowl. Add dry gelatin mix; stir until blended. Spoon half the white batter and half the pink batter, side by side, into each prepared pan; swirl gently with spoon.
  • Bake 30 min. Cool cakes 30 min. in pans. Remove to wire racks; cool completely.
  • Mix sour cream and sugar in medium bowl until blended. Gently stir in COOL WHIP. Stack cake layers on plate, filling with 1 cup of the COOL WHIP mixture and 1 cup berries. Frost top and side with remaining COOL WHIP mixture. Top with remaining berries.

Substitute

Prepare as directed with COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping.

Notes from the Kraft Kitchens

Thank you. We heard your feedback and updated this recipe to help ensure recipe success. To prevent the baked cake layers from sticking to the pans, generously grease and flour the cake pans (or line them with parchment paper) and allow for the full 30 min. cooling time before removing the layers from the pans. Also, be sure to swirl the two batters together evenly. If you live in a high-altitude location, follow the High Altitude Directions on the cake mix package and to help prevent the batter from overflowing, use 9-inch round cake pans.

How to Swirl Batter

Use a teaspoon to swirl the two colors of batter - it's the perfect size for lifting and pulling the two colors together. For best results, be careful to not swirl the batters too much or the color of the cakes will be all pink and not marbled.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 250
Total fat 10g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 5mg
Sodium 240mg
Carbohydrate 38g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 26g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 15 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake previously, and it was delicious! I made this cake previously, and it was delicious! I need help before the July 4th holidays--I made the cake today and need to take it on about a 2-hour trip day after tomorrow. I have it in the refrig in a cakebox. The cakebox will not fit in my cooler that plugs into the car lighter. Can I freeze the cake and let it thaw out on the way to the party? Thank you for any help as soon as possible. In addition to the strawberries on top, I will add some blueberries for the red, white, and blue.
Date published: 2008-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I actually made cupcakes with this recipe for a family dinner and my nieces and nephews were blown... I actually made cupcakes with this recipe for a family dinner and my nieces and nephews were blown away! They loved them, and asked for them for the next big family dinner. Also, my daughters had a blast helping to make them.
Date published: 2008-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I baked this cake for Easter Dinner and received favorable comments from everyone who ate it. I baked this cake for Easter Dinner and received favorable comments from everyone who ate it. Our Grandson Ryan had requested a Chocolate Cake for his birthday which was the following Sunday. On Wednesday evening before his birthday he left a telephone message saying "Granny if you haven't already bought the ingredients for a chocolate cake will you make the Strawberry Cake for my birthday?" Needless to say his Granddaddy was delighted, due to the fact that he enjoyed the cake so much.
Date published: 2007-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is great! This recipe is great! Mine looks nothing like the picture but it still taste wonderful. Instead of fresh strawberries I had to use frozen. I bought the ones with sugar added to juice so I could poor some of the juice on the bottom layer. It soaked it up & tasted wonderful. The top layer had streaks of juice running down the side though from the strawberries. I'll try to use fresh ones for the top next time though so this doesn't happen. Love the juice on the bottom layer though.
Date published: 2009-01-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Made this cake in a 9x13 pan to avoid experiencing some of the same problems that the other... Made this cake in a 9x13 pan to avoid experiencing some of the same problems that the other commenters had in terms of sticking to the cake pan. Unfortunately, it still stuck during the serving process. Also, the jello side does not rise...even put more batter in the jello side to compensate given the other comments regarding the jello side falling. Was able to cover the lopsided part with extra frosting. The cake flavor was not worth the sticking and falling problems.
Date published: 2007-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wanted to pump the cake up, so I followed the recipe for Kraft's "Best Ever Chocolate Fudge Layer... I wanted to pump the cake up, so I followed the recipe for Kraft's "Best Ever Chocolate Fudge Layer Cake" using French Vanilla cake mix and vanilla pudding (I left out the chopped-up chocolate). I added the strawberry jell-o like this recipe calls for, and I followed another person's recommendation to pour the white batter in the pans and then dot it with the pink batter and swirl. What I think would work better than that, or Kraft's method, is to alternately put globs of each color in the pans and swirl them together. The way I did it, most of the pink ended up on top. I didn't try the icing part of this recipe, but the pumped-up cake was great! Tip for not letting the cake stick: cut out a circle of waxed paper and put it in the bottom of the pan, and grease and flour the sides. Works great for me every time.
Date published: 2008-04-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My problem with this cake concerned the swirling instructions. My problem with this cake concerned the swirling instructions. I put the two batters side-by-side as directed and then swirled. Even though I took my time, the swirling remained uneven, with one side much more pink and the other mainly white. The two batters have different textures, and the pink side did not bake evenly with the white side. I will try this again, but this time dollop the pink batter on top of the white and then swirl. The frosting was delicious.
Date published: 2008-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this cake twice. Made this cake twice. The second time I made it my way, by putting the vanilla cake mix in the pans and then dropping in the strawberry in by spoonfuls and then swirling the two together. It came out great the second time because with the first cake with putting pink in one half the pan and vanilla in the other half it cooked unevenly even though I mixed it. One half of the cake did not rise as much as the other half. Did not look good even though it tasted great.
Date published: 2008-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I also made this cake for Easter and it was a huge hit! I also made this cake for Easter and it was a huge hit! I read other reviews about the strawberry cake part sticking to the pan. To avoid that, I poured a layer of white batter into the pan first, then I used a large spoon to drop sections of the strawberry batter in. I kept alternating batter until I ran out and it didn't stick! I used a spring form pan too which made it a lot easier to remove the cake. I also used store bought vanilla icing since I was short on time. I made this cake two days before I served it (at the suggestion of other reviewers) and by the time we ate it, it was delicious! My mother is a very picky eater and she went back for seconds! This was one of the best cakes I ever made. One other tip - when placing the strawberries on top of the cake, press them into the icing so that they don't slide off.
Date published: 2008-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of the best cakes that I have ever made. This is one of the best cakes that I have ever made. I have made it many many times! My family and friends love it! I had to make 2 for my grandparent's 50th wedding anniversary. Instead of using the two round pans, I used a regular cake pan since I didn't have 2 sets of round cake pans, it turned out really well and didn't take as long to prepare. I love this recipe and recommend it to everyone! It is so easy and pretty, everyone always wants the recipe!
Date published: 2008-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had friends over and made this cake for dessert. I had friends over and made this cake for dessert. Then I took the leftover to the office. Everyone loved it! The icing is wonderful and the cake is so moist. I love it! I did have a problem with it sticking so I'll use wax paper next time. I used sweetened frozen strawberries instead of fresh since they are not in season. And I will also probably use a full cup of powdered sugar and sour cream with 1 1/3 tubs of Cool Whip next time. Yum!
Date published: 2008-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my hubby for Valentine's Day and it was SO incredibly good! I made this for my hubby for Valentine's Day and it was SO incredibly good! We had recently picked fresh strawberries that I froze, I used those and the cake was really amazing. I also used 2 loaf pans in place of the round pans and I stacked them while layering the frosting and strawberries and the cake was really tall and really pretty....and VERY YUMMY! I don't think we had any crums left over when it was all gone.
Date published: 2009-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for my daughters birthday. I made this for my daughters birthday. It was wonderful. Except next time im going to swirl the pink into the white batter. The half and half thing made my cake come out extremely uneven. (the pink didnt rise as much as the white probabaly because of the jellos density). And the jello portion did stick to the pan but it was sooo worth it. I whipped up some cream cheese frosting from scratch to use. It was delicious!
Date published: 2008-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had made this cake for a church gathering. I had made this cake for a church gathering. This was my first time preparing this cake and I didn't know how it would turn out. The response I recieved, however, was not what I had expected. Everyone raved about how delicious it. It was easy to make, however for the topping of the cake, I cut the strawberry in halves instead of cutting it up in slices. It made the presentation of the cake so much prettier.
Date published: 2008-04-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The taste was great. The taste was great. I did have problems with it sticking as other reviewers have stated. I made this for an Easter dinner and it fell apart so badly when removing them from the pans that it was unpresentable. We had to stop by the store and grab the quickest thing that they had in the bakery :-( We didn't let it go to waste, though :-D It made a wonderful after dinner snack and a super breakfast nibble :-)
Date published: 2007-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this was awesome ! this was awesome !!! it was very simple to make esp with the help of instructional video & tips. i made it for a friend's farewell party & am planning to make again for another friend's baby-shower. the best thing about this cake was that it looked really pretty & professional ... without any bakers' degree :) also tried with mango jelly crystals & fresh mango slices ... turned out super-nice again !!!
Date published: 2007-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this sveral times. I have made this sveral times. It is my husband's favorite cake in the world. I love it too. It is the best cold. I try to make it early in the day so we can have it after family dinner. Then my husband and I eat it for a bed time snack. The colder it is the better. The sweet icing goes so well with the tart of the strawberry. I have an 8 and 2 year old. We give it a ten. My family loves it!!!
Date published: 2007-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake with my 4 year old nephew by my side. I made this cake with my 4 year old nephew by my side. He loved slicing the strawberries. My family loved the cake. My very picky sister who never eats whatever I make did not believe I made the cake. She was at work and if it weren't for everyone who watched us bake the cake; no one would have believed we made this wonderfully delicious cake. Thanks Kraft for making life a little easier!
Date published: 2007-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just made this cake for my mom's 89th birthday party! I just made this cake for my mom's 89th birthday party! What a hit! It got rave reviews from the family. They said they would NEVER taste a cake that good from a bakery or store! I did NOT have trouble with it sticking to the pan - like other reviews I read. The swirl didn't come out as nice as I'd like (it was almost more 1/2 white & 1/2 strawberry cake), but great, easy recipe. Thanks.
Date published: 2010-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe twice in one night! I made this recipe twice in one night!! ( I had two easter destinations I needed dessert for) I had no issuses what so ever. No matter how non stick they say pans are, I always spray them. The cakes came right out of the pans. And the frosting came out thick and creamy. The cake mix I used had the high altitude instructions right on it. I also made sure to let the cakes cool all the way. : )
Date published: 2007-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my sons birthday and everyone LOVED it! I made this for my sons birthday and everyone LOVED it! I had a really tough time with the jello part of the batter sticking to the pan when it was done. I have made it twice more since experimenting and have determined that putting most of the white on bottom, then the pink and then drizzle the rest of the white and swirl will make it not stick so much and still has the marbled look.
Date published: 2008-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my daughter's birthday and it was a big hit even though I had a problem with... I made this recipe for my daughter's birthday and it was a big hit even though I had a problem with it sticking to the bottom I was able to fix it and no one knew I had a problem. I will make this cake again but instead of doing it there way I am going to put the white cake on the bottem then spoon the pink in and then swirl it. I'll let you know how that works. This is a great cake.
Date published: 2007-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for our Aunts 94th birthday and everyone absolutely loved it! I made this cake for our Aunts 94th birthday and everyone absolutely loved it! I brought this cake and a store bought cake -this cake was gone while the store bought one left standing. I thought I'd try something different besides chocolate all the time.My only suggestion would be-use a knife around the edges prior to removing so that it doesn't stick to pan- is a very moist cake!
Date published: 2007-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this, and when you use parchment to line the bottom of the pan there is absolutely no sticking,... Love this, and when you use parchment to line the bottom of the pan there is absolutely no sticking, just make sure you grease the pan before and add a thin layer of grease on top of the parchment. My favorite variation of this one is Margarita Jello-mix, topped with a key-lime frosting - sprinkle the top with kosher salt just before serving for an authentic margarita taste!
Date published: 2011-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I had the same problem others did with the jell-o side. I had the same problem others did with the jell-o side. It sunk while cooking and then it was impossible to take out of the pan because it was so sticky. My entire cake fell apart. It tasted good even though we ate it in crumb form! The frosting combined with strawberries is yummy.....I will use that part of the recipe again for another cake (like your Pastel cake).
Date published: 2007-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The cake was exceptionally good, but took me a little longer to make because my husband doesn't like... The cake was exceptionally good, but took me a little longer to make because my husband doesn't like sour cream, so I had to wait until he was out of the house before proceeding with the frosting! My strawberries were a bit on the tart side, so I added a little more confectionary sugar to the frosting. Other than that, everyone enjoyed it (my husband had seconds).
Date published: 2007-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loves the frosting we use it as a fruit dip. My family loves the frosting we use it as a fruit dip. I have added a few things to the recipe. I add sliced strawberry to the batter and bake in a 9x13 baking dish(I've had a few flops with making it as a layer cake). Once the cake is cooled after baking I cover it with sliced strawberries and then frost with the frosting that I add pureed strawberries to.
Date published: 2010-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my 6th time making the recipe. This is my 6th time making the recipe. It is highly requested among my husband's family!! We love it. In the middle I put a bunch of strawberries. I'm really bad at swirling and making it look good, so I use a 1/2 cup measuring cup and do one scoop of white then one scoop of pink, alternating until they are both equal. Beautiful cake and tastes amazing!
Date published: 2011-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cake was amazingly light n delish! This cake was amazingly light n delish! My sister baked it @ my house on Easter and it was sooo good, my mom got mad at me b/c I asked her not to take the last 2 slices home, since I didn't even get to try it. It went that quick!! Well, I'm baking one today and bringing my mom 4 slices tmrw to make up for Easter. :-) I'll let you know how mine came out!
Date published: 2007-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great! This was great!!! My son has been asking for strawberry short cake for a while. I made this for him on the last day of school, and he loved it MORE than the original strawberry short cake. I purchased sweetened strawberries. I poured a little of the juice on the cakes like one other person suggested. It was super moist. Would definitely make again!
Date published: 2008-05-23
  • y_2017, m_3, d_27, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_63, tr_423
  • loc_en_US, sid_105214, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

556536:105214

>