SURE.JELL Jalapeño Jelly - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

SURE.JELL Jalapeño Jelly

Prep Time
45
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
5
min.
Servings

about 6 (1-cup) jars or 80 servings, 1 Tbsp. each.

Heat things up on toast or crackers with a jalapeño jelly! Combine peppers, sugar, vinegar and fruit pectin for a delicious SURE.JELL Jalapeño Jelly.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Bring boiling-water canner, half-full with water, to simmer. Wash jars and screw bands in hot soapy water; rinse with warm water. Pour boiling water over flat lids in saucepan off the heat. Let stand in hot water until ready to use. Drain well before filling.
  • Place peppers in 6- or 8-qt. saucepot. Add vinegar. Stir in pectin. Add butter to reduce foaming. Bring mixture to full rolling boil (a boil that doesn't stop bubbling when stirred) on high heat, stirring constantly. Stir in sugar. Return to full rolling boil and boil exactly 1 min., stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Skim off any foam with metal spoon.
  • Ladle immediately into prepared jars, filling to within 1/4 inch of tops. Wipe jar rims and threads. Cover with 2-piece lids. Screw bands tightly. Place jars on elevated rack in canner. Lower rack into canner. (Water must cover jars by 1 to 2 inches. Add boiling water, if necessary.) Cover; bring water to gentle boil. Process 10 min. Remove jars and place u

How to Measure Precisely

To get exact level cup measures of sugar, spoon sugar into dry metal or plastic measuring cup, then level by scraping excess sugar from top of cup with a straight-edged knife.

Altitude Chart for Cooked Jams and Jellies

At altitudes above 1,000 feet, increase processing time as indicated: 1,001 to 3,000 feet - increase processing time by 5 min.; 3,001 to 6,000 feet - increase processing time by 10 min.; 6,001 to 8,000 feet - increase processing time by 15 min.; 8,001 to 10,000 feet - increase processing time by 20 min.

Jam or Jelly Didn't Set?

Every once in a while, you may find that your jam does not set the way you expected. If your efforts resulted in a runny batch, try our Remake Directions to improve your finished jam. If your jam still doesn't set, you can always use it as a glaze or syrup.

Handling Jalapeno Peppers

For hotter taste, leave in some of the jalapeño seeds. Protect hands with rubber gloves while preparing the jalapeño peppers.

Servings

  • about 6 (1-cup) jars or 80 servings, 1 Tbsp. each.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size about 6 (1-cup) jars or 80 servings, 1 Tbsp. each.
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 50
Total fat 0g
Saturated fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 0mg
Carbohydrate 13g
Sugars 13g
Protein 0g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 2 %DV
Vitamin C 15 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 0 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked perfectly! This is my second time canning anything and this recipe worked perfectly. That said I made a few changes for what I had on hand. I used a food processor for the peppers and boiled the peppers a few minutes longer to get out excess water. I used one red and one green bell pepper and about 20 jalefuego peppers (like jalepeno but hotter) to make it super spicy, 1/2c apple cider vinegar and 1/2c white vinegar. All the jars sealed and the jelly set up perfectly. It's so spicy and so delicious. I'm very excited to give this as Christmas presents.
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my second batch of Hot Pepper Jelly and it's even better than the last. This is my second batch of Hot Pepper Jelly and it's even better than the last. I used 70% jalapenos and 30% bell peppers. I deseeded the peppers, then put the seeds in a jelly bag and let it sit in the pepper/vinegar mix while it cooked. Gave it just enough heat without having seeds in the jelly. Love, love, love this recipe!
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my first time making pepper jelly. This is my first time making pepper jelly. It set up wonderfully! I didn't have green or red sweet peppers, so I used mostly jalapenos and a few banana peppers I had. Didn't seed the jalapenos (which would have been prettier), but my husband (who will be the main consumer of this) thought it tasted great!
Date published: 2014-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made it with fourteen unseeded finely diced jalapeno peppers along with 10 habanero peppers... I made it with fourteen unseeded finely diced jalapeno peppers along with 10 habanero peppers unseeded finely chopped (for a total of four cups). This works great on pork and wild game as a glaze while roasting or BBQing it, it however is warm or even hot depending on your taste. If you seed the peppers you cut heat down by two-thirds or so, if you want it hotter you can increase the ratio of habanero to jalapeno. I however think that few people will like over 70/30 mix.
Date published: 2006-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from loved this recipe. loved this recipe. flavor is Perfect!. BUT did not gel. i measured everything perfectly. i am making another batch and will use 2 boxes of SureJel. Further, I can use the failed batch, pouring over a block of cream cheese to be used as a spread for crackers and veggies. LOVE IT. <<< Response from Kraft Kitchens Expert, Wendy ~ There is a tip on the recipe for what to do if your jelly does not set. >>>
Date published: 2011-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used four cups of unseeded jalapenos minced in my food processor. I used four cups of unseeded jalapenos minced in my food processor. It makes a sweet/hot jelly that is perfectly tempered with cream cheese when served with crackers. I took some finished jelly to work and got rave reviews, even from people who had never heard of pepper jelly. I've made two batches so far and might even plant more jalapenos in the garden next year so I can make it to give as gifts.
Date published: 2009-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This jelly is good:1: Mixed with cream cheese for a dip at home or special events. This jelly is good:1: Mixed with cream cheese for a dip at home or special events. 2:for a different taste- good on hamburgers, ham sandwiches.with omelets, crackers, peanut butter sandwiches...everything I have tried it with has worked. I found this recipe in a package of surejell but have lost the recipe...Thank for this wonderful and versitile food.
Date published: 2006-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Directions error - reason for failure to set The directions on this site have the pectin and sugar additions reversed. The SUGAR is added with the fruit and vinegar and butter. This is brought to a full rolling boil. THEN you add the PECTIN and return for a full boil for 1 minute. This correction is based on the instructions that come with the Certo Sure-Jell pectin packets.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE the flavor of this jelly and its pretty easy to make but it just isn't setting. I LOVE the flavor of this jelly and its pretty easy to make but it just isn't setting. Anyone have any tips on getting it to set? I used 3 packets of pectin instead of the 2 that it calls for and I cooked it all on the stove for at least 20-30 minutes trying to get it thicker but it still isn't setting. Any suggestions? Thanx!
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flavor! Great flavor! Mine came out runny (I'm new to jellies), I'm going to try the remake recipe, but even the runny batch is delicious. Absolutely my favorite thing I've canned so far. Pepper jelly is one of my favorite holiday traditions and now I can make my own to share with family!
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Taste is excellent! Taste is excellent! I was very pleased with the amout of heat in this. However, the batch has not started setting up yet... this has me a little concerned as I usually use unset jelly as an ice cream topper. Don't think this one would work quite as well... :oP
Date published: 2007-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This jelly is AWESOME. This jelly is AWESOME. Try it with ***** cheese and crackers. I also ussed a couple tablespoons in baked beans and they were to die for.... It is great on grilled fish, chicken, and pork chops too. And it makes a great ******* gift around the holidays.
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a delicious recipe. This is a delicious recipe. Instead of only uing jalapenos, I added some hotter peppers. Habaneros, Trinidad Scorpions, Bhut Jolokias and Red Savinas. It turned out more spicey, but that is how I like it. This jelly goes great with cream cheese.
Date published: 2012-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this many times through the years. I have made this many times through the years. I use mainly red peppers and add about 1 TBSP of red pepper seeds to the mixture. After losing my recipe, I am thrilled to find this one...so very close to my original recipe. Thanks Kraft.
Date published: 2008-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this jelly and it is the best one around. I make this jelly and it is the best one around. Every time I take it somewhere someone wants to get more. Everyone raves over the taste and the colors, I use red, orange, yellow and green bell peppers, they make it even prettier.
Date published: 2005-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I need some help! I need some help! I used a food processor for the peppers. The green peppers turn out very watery due to being too processed. In turn, my jelly will not set! Is there anything I can do to fix this without having to make this again?
Date published: 2012-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Right on! I made another batch of jelly last night. I grated the peppers with my food processor and dumped them into my salad spinner to get out the water. I did that a couple times and finished the recipe. It turned out great!
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love this jelly but I can never get it to set up. I love this jelly but I can never get it to set up. I make hundreds of jars of jelly a year and this is the only on I have trouble with. 5 times I have had to follow the instructions for jelly that didn't set up!! help
Date published: 2013-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy and delicious Made this tonight, it was super easy to make and turned out delicious, wish I would have made this in the past years. Already anticipating making more before the peppers are gone for the season. Thanks for sharing!
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Although I don't think I boiled it quite long enough and it didn't set up well, the flavor was... Although I don't think I boiled it quite long enough and it didn't set up well, the flavor was wonderful and it has made an outstanding dip for our pheasant strips that we have frequently.
Date published: 2002-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made 2 batches set perfectly! Made 2 batches set perfectly! Mix with peanut butter and use as a glaze on chicken, wings or breasts! Glad I found this recipe! Used green and red jalapenos, and food processer too!
Date published: 2012-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I followed the recipe correct..step for step ---and for some reason it is not setting right. I followed the recipe correct..step for step ---and for some reason it is not setting right. Can I **** the jars and re-cook it at full boil for 1 more minute?? Would that help?
Date published: 2015-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is a keeper! This recipe is a keeper!!! Love it , the only thing I changed was peppers . I added 2 cups of jalapenos and 2 cups mixed banana,purple and green peppers growing in my garden.
Date published: 2008-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I HAD BEEN USING A RECIPE GIVEN BY A FRIEND, BUT IT TURNED SUGARY IF LEFT IN THE REFRIGERATOR TOO... I HAD BEEN USING A RECIPE GIVEN BY A FRIEND, BUT IT TURNED SUGARY IF LEFT IN THE REFRIGERATOR TOO LONG...SO, THIS YEAR I TRIED YOURS AND IT'S GREAT AND IT DOESN'T CRYSTALIZE!
Date published: 2002-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this many times, I use various types of hot and sweet peppers. I have made this many times, I use various types of hot and sweet peppers. Mix with ***** cheese for a excellent spread. It is very good spread on mexican corn bread.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is absolutely the best pepper jelly. This is absolutely the best pepper jelly. You do need to keep turning the jars while it is setting up so all the peppers don't just stay at the top of the jar.
Date published: 2006-08-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Delicious and easy but......... I made this for gifts at Christmas and yes it is easy and delicious but I was disappointed to have to remake it ..I would try a different recipe next time.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Delicious! Note to Jackie.Arnold re: her question - I didn't chop at all; I used my food processor to whiz up all the peppers, and it came out great!
Date published: 2009-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST PEPPER JELLY I'VE EVER HAD, I USED SERRANO PEPPERS THE FIRST TIME ABOUT A DOZEN, NEXT BATCH... BEST PEPPER JELLY I'VE EVER HAD, I USED SERRANO PEPPERS THE FIRST TIME ABOUT A DOZEN, NEXT BATCH GOING TO TRY 1 GHOST PEPPER AND SEE HOW IT TURNS OUT.
Date published: 2015-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful recipe! Wonderful recipe! The red peppers give it a very festive color at Christmas time. It is great over softened cream cheese topped with toasted pecans.
Date published: 2003-09-07
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_51962, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

501272:51962

>